(2007/11) November MTBs

thanks ueno ... u still puree-ing now for L?

kaira likes textured stuff ... so i usually dun puree...juz mashed or slow-cooked till very mushy.

hmmm, k, me try again this weekend. see whether she likes it.

ueno,
they send me this nice little package with 2 satchets of rice cereal + FM to my address, prob that explains why it took so long.

I haven't tried lentils yet, but i tried sweet peas last wkend, even tho i dun eat them! And a qtr of egg yolk

K@ye, plim,
we take that off line ok?

lazykat,

re: cooking for your little ones
right now i still puree the veges and store them as cubes leh... i dunno how else to give her variety as i cook only on wkends... it makes it difficult for me to do marketing and juz prepare a little bit for them...
am thinking if i can cut the vege into chunks (e.g. brocolli florets), steam it and store it directly into freezer... when i need it then i take out until it is at room temp then jus mash it into their porridge (more texture unlike already pureed)... is that ok/workable?
want to ask how you all do it?

Kat, sure!

Plim, think shd be ok. Its the same like pureed food except not in puree state.

plim,
i also dun puree the food to my boy liao. Dun think you need to steam them and store in freezer either. I presume you cook porridge for your gal? That's the case, juz add the vege last when the porridge is abt to be ready lor. That's what I do with broccoli, spinach. For carrot, potato, sweet potato (the harder ones), I dump them into the stock for the porridge (in my mini slow cooker) and let them simmer..when the porridge is ready to be served, juz mash them up and feed together with the porridge.

poissons,
ya, i cook porridge... but the problem is, if i want to give her variety of veges. for the wkends meal, i end up buying different types of vege (all in standard qty) leh... and i can only add a few pieces of each type into the porridge for her and the rest of the raw veges how ah? that's why i tot of steaming and freezing them up to store :p

k@ye, think u're right lor, they are juz like freezing puree... hehe

plim -- for my case, end up the rest of the veg, the parents eat lor...heehee.

but sometimes i make kaira eat the same thing for a few days in a row...heehee...

Grace: Eagan is now on Friso Gold 2 and is taking it well. Can call their office for free sample. They gave me the 900g tin for Friso Gold 1. Friso Office: 6419 8484 or their sales gal Joanne: 9029 4685.

Ueno: Congrats for the "Red Alert". Hee...

plim, I also only cook for Mischa during the weekends but I make it a point to hv at least 2 varieties of vege for her meals.

ACtually no wastages for me even though I only use a little bit her. What i do is cut the vege into cubes, chopped etc depending on what vege. Then i will pack them in freezer bags for my mum to cook for the weekdays. I change the variety every week cos cannot possibly give different types everyday.
BTW i freeze them raw, not cooked not steamed.

I will throw in the vege, fish, rice into the slow cooker, i dun cook them seperately.

As for the extra vege, i will cut them into bigger pieces and cook for the entire family or for my son. Since Bella can also take those food, there shouldnt be any wastage.

So far i hvnt been really advanturous in the variety (like i hv nvr tried lentils, squash etc) but my fav is pumpkin and spinach cos they make the porridge real sweet and tasty. Now that Mischa is more willing to take solids, I will prob try out more kinds of vege.

Sharon, if u r really interested to check out right brain trainin, u can try iGenius. However, I am not saying that its neccessary. Just giving another option.
But since u work full time, reading to ur child might be more effective.
Just 2 cents worth.

Anyone knows if baby can take green lentils?
I should have bought red ones, but i took the greens. How? Its sitting on the shelf...

For me, my baby is still on NAN2. But, we r cheapo parents. We buy the powder from M'sia.

Plim, I saw that the new NAN2 in SG includes lactosbacifilius.

k@ye & suzzanne:no la of cos the parents take care la.for diapers hey hv themselves too.anyway aircraft hv limited like 5 pieces only!!!!!!!so guys better bring ur own

thanks Gillian - i would check both of the schools out... and yes i agree that reading is effective. Sometimes we both got so tired after work that we would only play with him for less than 30mins (so guilty!) but we will try to do as many activities we can over the weekend with him.... ; ) am still learning on how to be a good parent!

cactusnah,
Jovan is also taking Friso Gold. where do u get them? do u have any lobang like lazykat? hehehe

lazykat,
does "ur fren" sell Friso Gold? =P

Weishy, SQ gave only 2 pieces of diapers during my last trip to HK. Anyway, their diapers quite cheapo... Diapers wise, i will definitely bring one. I think i bought like 4-6 pieces coz it was a 4hr flight.

Suzanne, i think u got to bring more just in case!

Gillian, talking abt buying milk powder from Msia. B4 Claire was born, he said we can buy milk powder & disposable diapers from JB. I was utterly against the idea coz its a hassle for us to travel to JB, he quoted that its cheaper there.

Anyway, i also dunno why he changed his mentality. Few mths back, i told him if he wants can buy milk powder from Msia, u know what he said,"I dun trust the milk powder from Msia." I was pretty surprised by his words.

I think as long as the milk powder dun give problem, buy from where also nevermind.

Gillian, K@ye - we bought NAN HA2 from KL and JB before and so far nothing happened. I was told apparently some of the milk powder sold in Singapore actually comes from Malaysia, just that they change the packaging. Not sure how true is it though. K@ye I agree with you as long as the milk powder has no problem, it doesnt really matter where you get them from.

Catherine: I dun have any lobang for the mlik powder lei. But i recently opted for home delivery service which has the buy 5 get 1 free promo. But they're only doing it for the 900g ones and not 1.8kg. I did the maths, it is still more worthy to get the 900g with free 1 tin 900g FOC. Still trying to source for lobang. My friend has lobang to get cheaper milk powder from her PD for all other brands except Friso.

And whr do u get yrs? It is most exp in Cold Storage ($32 for 900g) and found KKH pharmacy selling at the old price ($28), NTUC ($30).

Lazykat: Let us know if u have lobang for Friso. TIA.

Mega Birthday Bash Dates Suggestion!

1st Nov 08
1. Plumsource
2. Kaye
3. Mambobb
4. Langlao (prefer)
5. Poissons (cos 15 Nov is my boy's exact birthdate, need to celebrate for him with my families)
6. Grace
7. Mandy
8. Teng_Family
9. Gemini19
10. Cactusnah
11. Plim
12. ueno

Venue suggestions:
1. eXplorerKID
- Downtown East
- $24.40/child
- minimum 15 kids
- http://www.explorerkid.com/bdaytrips/bdaytrips.aspx

2. Gymboree
- Tanglin Mall

3. The Little Gym
- Forum Shopping Mall
- http://www.thelittlegym.com.sg/parties.htm
- Sat Dinner only: 530pm - 8pm

4. Go Go Bambini
- Dempsey Road
- http://www.gogobambini.com/party_terms_conditions.php

5. Fidgets
- Turf City
http://www.fidgets.com.sg/parties.html

I went to Explorer kids last weekend. The place is big, but very very crowded. They have private room for parties and a cafe. Normally prices are $22 per child for 1hr and $4 each half hour thereafter. Adults pay $1.50 entrance fee and additional fee of $5.90 for the ball zone and rope climbing (for older kids).
I went on a saturday, super busy ....exhausting just watching the older kids running around! Not sure if its suitable for our little'ums. There are areas for smaller children and babies but it is quite small. Does the $24.40 include food?

On Milk powder, i think its better to buy 900g if possible coz they gets dry very fast and usually FM for less than 1 yr must be consumed within 1 mth even though the expiry date might be next yr.

Sharron, for NAN HA 2, the milk powder is made in Switzerland & packed in Msia.

k@ye and sharron: i'm using nan2 for my older girl and just checked the tin, it just says that it is made in switzerland.. doesn't say packed in malaysia leh although i know that nespray and neslac by nestle is packed in malaysia.. is it only nan ha that is packed in malaysia and not nan?

Hmm, let me go home & check my milk powder tin again coz i remember seeing that.

But i think its normal practice, like Pampers, Made in JApan, packed in Thailand.

cactusnah,
you can get FOC friso 1 ah?
i actually called up and ask the other time but got rejected. reason being that they are pro-BF so would prefer mommy BF the kiddo instead of get FM for stage 1.
i told him i dun hv supply mah but still kena reject.

and yes, my gal now on Friso 2 and i also deal with them direct for the buy 5 get 1 FOC tin & delivery. prices still cheaper for sure. but only can buy once a month lor.

anyone bot FM from Msia?
any idea how much cheaper is the pricing compare to here?

cactusnah,
i recently bought a tin of 1.8kg Friso Gold from NTUC for $51. i was thinking of getting from Carefour coz got free delivery for purchases >$150. i got POSB card so 5% off $52 would be $49.4 for a 1.8kg tin. thanks for letting me abt the 5 get 1 free promo. din know abt tat at all. how much is the 900g?

k@ye,
gee i already bought 1.8kg leh. Jovan could finish a 900g tin in 2 weeks although he's not on full FM. since i going to stop BF soon, so we bought the 1.8kg tin.

Mummies, i just called the Nestle Singapore customer service hotline. The lady told me all their NAN HA milk powder are imported from Switzerland. They are manufactured and packed in Switzerland. As for Malaysia, she is not sure if they are packed locally because they are different companies. She told me that the NAN HA2 can be given to the child up to 3 years old be it whether the child has allergy or not.

catherine,
friso 5+1 + FOC delivery is at $150.
so work out to about S$25/tin.
it seems that carrefour's deal is much beta, since you can still get the 2% rebate and FOC delivery.

normal 900g is $30; pretty much fixed price across the board, except for those high end supermarket which charges extra (like Isetan or Cold Storage)

Dear all,i bought ENfalac for a friend b4 in bkk and its half of sin price.According to her which she always buy from MYS....she says its the same as those selling in MYS.
MAybe if u hv friends or collegues going hehheheheh ask them to bring some back.
Packaging is in box not tin.

seems like the later date for NOv babies birthday bash is rather quite and little,any sugguestion too my friends?
Me not in sin so not sure where to hv it that'll be fun for our little ones

will be back in NOv though

Cx only give one set of diaper bag(1 diaper,mustela diaper cream and face cream(small tube):p

Kitty: Yup, my gynae's asst registered me with Friso during my pregnancy and Friso called to offer a tin of Friso Gold 1 to me. Din buy other brands to standby as was on TBF then. So guess they made the right move to offer me FOC coz Eagan's been on Friso since.

But since nw that Eagan and my details are in their system, they no longer bother to follow-up and no more FOC for trial for step 2. Ngiah ngiah..:p

K@ye: I usually buy the 1.8kg milk powder and scoop out some and put in tupperware to ensure "freshness". I also pack each feed into the milk powder container each morning so it's faster and cleaner. Not advisable to open the 1.8kg tin each time u need to make milk coz they said will "lao hong".

Grace: No worries, hope Ash will get a suitable brand. Hmm...u'll start feeling the pinch when she goes on full FM. Afterall it's been FOC for the past 8 months huh. :)

Weishy, like that ah... Next time i must fly Cathay Pacific to HK liao.. SQ dun even have diaper cream, let alone Mustela brand!!! And their air tic are the most expensive than other airlines!

cactusnah,
right! But like my hubby would say, I spent so much on my Avent Duo and Uno, so I got to make the money's worth. I suspect, I need to intro 1-2 feeds of FM soon. My hubby still give more even though now that Matt doesnt drink finish. My heart pain. Waste my breastmilk... Sigh... Men!!!

ya, some people have doubts about milk powder from M'sia and I also know about the difference. Guess its up to personal preference. As for cost savings, its about SGD 8 per tin.

We buy the Fm from there cos my hubby is M'sian and his family members r all there. so, we buy from the same shoppe.

sharon, I registered for shichida in May & was told me the wait list is till Jan/Feb nx year. Then my friend told me if put $300 deposit will be faster. The staff thr din tell me so I din put deposit
My colleague's girl (2yrs+) registered after me and got to start in Oct.

plim, I only puree to make pasta sauce now.

dreamer, I blend the lentil then cook as porridge.

RE: Milk Intake
I realise ashlee's milk intake now reduced to only abt 2 feed of 220ml per day. Issit too little for proper development? She starts with milk, cereal(with1 scope milk), porridge, milk then porridge or porridge then milk.

gillian,

understand.
i also wana get from msia but since pregger till now baby's almost 9m, i've NOT even step back to JB yet

SGD8 is quite significant if buy in bulk...
but any idea how many we can get MAX?
where's the best place to get it?

i dunno but its this small shop that my sister in laws buy from and i just follow. in fact, this is the 1st time he's drinking milk powder from msia.. cos always too inconvenient to load back. this time someone came to visit so we ask them to send to us.

Dun think there's a max no but i'm not sure too..

langlao, this is so unfair! How could your colleague's kid got a place first??! So typical commercial gimmick! Thanks for the heads up - i will check out both Shichida and iGenius.

Gillian - i agree, its up to personal choice when come to FM. Like i mentioned before, i bought 3 cans of NAN HA2 from KL Carrefour and JB Jusco before and Ashton is ok after drinking them. I bought them at about RM65 each. i think there is a limit when come to diapers and milk powder from Msia.

Any babies out there are using walker now? My PD told me not to use but i still let Ashton try. He seems to like it though, crusing around the house and i guess the nanny is kindda of relieve when he is in the walker as she can do her washings!

Also do you guys believe in TCM for babies?

sharon, I am not sure why the different treatment at shichida but it could be due to the age different so diff class.

I have a walker at home but my spoilt brat is very clever, she will curl up her legs so we can put her in and if we force her, she'll cry very loud. In the end, we brought it to the nanny, hoping she'll guai guai and sit in it thr. She does the same to the jumperoo.

ya, will he?
coz i know my gal sure will put everything into her mouth!

the other day her daddy tried to wipe her mouth wif tissue n she so cleverly stuck her tongue out and managed to get a tiny piece into her mouth (which freaked her daddy out!!)

but i just let her be lah, swallow a tiny bit of tissue is no big deal... muahaha...