(2007/11) November MTBs

Poissons: And add on a rolex. Haha...

Garreth is so smiley and cheeky. He is so bah bah wor. Love the one he took with the Kangaroo, very natural. Guess u caught him at the right time & mood.

Ueno: Tks for the info. Already copied and paste it to my itenary.:) Any idea whr the factory outlet is located near? Am planning to travel to Sydney too. Still planning since it's free & easy.

cactusnah,
first time to Mel/Syd? I visited there also F&E few years back. From Blue mountains to great ocean road, St Kilda's, Darling harbour, most impt, pls hv lotsa fresh oysters and seafood there! yummy! I went to a wildlife park too, get to see small penguin since din want to wake up early to Philip island. Oh, and i went 2 a wine vineyard too.. many things u could do, when all else fail, juz shop around the outlets bah.

cactusnah,
u need to visit the Victoria market too, fresh fruit n veg. for the discount outlets, u can refer to the this link.
http://www.waterfrontcity.com.au/Retail/HabourTown/tabid/93/Default.aspx

sydney: been there many times too, u can go
Bondi Beach,Darling Harbour,Royal Botanic Gardens,
Sydney Harbour Bridge,Sydney Opera House. They have flea market on the sundays at Darling Harbor, it's really nice. i like to eat at the restaurants along the harbor too, very nice. Oops, food again! heehee..

sigh... talking about MJ... i miss MJ so much! My mj kakis still come to my house every weekend to play.. but not with me. they have enough legs, so i ask them to play first as i have to make bb slp (usually they start about 9-10pm)... then by the time bb slp, they haven't finish 1 pok... so i have to wait. But before they finish 1 pok, i sleepy already... so don't want to play liao.. hehehe it has been like that since 2-3 months ago! no more energy at night liao leh..

wah so much to catch up...wanted to post 2 days ago but no time..was still catching up...heh..

catherine,
Eliza sleeps abt anytime from 830-930pm depending on when she woke up from her last nap. i usually give her milk b4 she sleeps so sometimes if she's really sleepy she'll fall asleep drinking milk. she'll wake on and off, sometimes sleeps thru till abt 1130pm-ish when i'll feed her 120ml milk. she'll wake abt 4am-ish but will go back to sleep till abt 730am. occasionally will want to drink milk at 4am+.

i'm using a playpen to sleep cos Eliza's cot given by a friend was really too small for her to roll around. she was like poking her legs out of it!! so no bumpers cos the playpen edges quite nicely covered.

pig

thanks for your advise. maid just reported sick again. will go down to agent to confirm new maid liao.

poissons, nice photos, thunder thighs....

my gal doesn't like the brown rice with si shen leh, she will push the bowl away when my mum tries to feed her. how to entice her to eat huh?

baby yoghurt, hmmm, let me see whether i can get from carrefour suntec later.

ueno,
agree that eating at the resturants along darling harbour is a great experience, i still remember vividly my seafood tower.. oysters and all! Cactusnah, you will have a great time there!

gemini,
my mum also feedback to me. Now matt hates the brown rice with si shen after taking porridge. Cos I think porridge cooked with meat / fish is tastier and sweeter...

cactusnah,
melbourne's one of my favourite places. Backpacked melbourne and sydney in 2002 with my hubby during our dating days... Wow, our last backpacking trip was in 2005 to turkey and greece. Hasnt taken a long holiday since then, as we were relocating and me being pregnant... Enjoy your trip...

Re: Maid
So much talk abt maid makes me ponder if I shld get one. Now that bb garreth is getting more active each day, my mum is having a hard time looking after him..thot hiring a maid can at least relieve her of daily chores, so that she can concentrate her time only for my boy. She has also lost weight (though my boy is gaining!) so I feel very heartpain and guilty..

Those who has hired maid, can share which nationality of maid is better? My hubby is saying that I'm inviting more troubles for myself by hiring one..sigh..

sorry to interrupt but am looking to buy the motorised part of the yao lan. I'm thinking maybe some of your babies are too old to be sleeping in yao lan, actually not sure can sleep till what age??

If you have one to sell, please PM me. Thanks!

Hi all, thanks for being my "virtual tour guide". I've been to Sydney before but not my HB. So thot will be nice to go with him too. Ueno, thanks for the link.

Tinkabel: U can bkpack (Matt) & cover entire China too. Hee...

Poissons: I'm having a Indo helper. Find her quite gd so far. English also not that bad. Most imptly to find one who is at least higher sec education, else will vomit blood communicating. With her arnd, i can really spend so much more time with bb rather than having to do hsehld chores.

Brown Rice & Si Shen: Nvr let my boy try this before. Is it too late to start nw that he is on porridge?

Poissons: On the contrary, my MIL is putting on weight taking care of Eagan. Months ago when E was 7kg, my MIL also put on 7kg. She said ppl loss weight but she is gaining. Told her at least ppl know i'm not ill-treating her. Ha ha...

Hi Pig07,

ya some maid agencies wont be involved so much for the transfer of maids. Depends on the agency. Apparently the bigger ones might not provide very gd service while some smaller ones will help u out more. For eg, if u wanna send yr maid bk to e agency 4 a transfer, while deciding on another maid, some agencies might require u to pay a daily sum to compensate for the lodging, food,etc of the maid tt u sent bk until she finds a new employer. If u decide to send the maid bk home, some agencies wont even cancel the maid's work permit for u.

My mil also told me tt nowadays maids prefer to work in Taiwan and HK cos the pay and benefits are better there. So those who come to Spore now, r usually those who cant find work in the 2 countries. So quality not as gd as b4.

Poissons
Hey! G looks very adorable! I like the pic taken w the kangeroo. He looks so macho! haha!!! As for which nationality of maid is better, I think there r pros and cons for each nationality. Nowadays bringing in maids fm Myanmar. Gaining popularity. B4 u hire a maid, do some research 1st abt all the legal matters,etc. Check this out. I find it very informative. =)

http://singaporemaid.blogspot.com/

Jay, its true that the pay & benefits in HK are better. I dunno abt Taiwan. From my hubby's fren, HK laws stipulated that a certain amount of rest days for the maids and plus not to mention that HK homes are so much smaller than our HDB flats!

Poissons, i understand what ur hubby meant by "finding trouble" but no choice rite especially u heart pain seeing ur Mum loses weight. As our babies get more active, its quite jialat to keep up with them!

Pig, like you i also wanna bring Claire to Gold Coast when she is in her teens. That she might be able to enjoy the theme parks there! I love Movie World!

Hi Poissons,
that's a kangaroo.. belongs to garreth or the studio? Pics taken at studio loft right?

Hi Jay,
I asked my sister's maid why she didnt want to go HK instead. she said pay is higher and off day. But she claimed that they cant get a loan from agent one for working in HK. The maid will have to pay up the lumpsum of say 8 months salary to be there.. and unlike some epmloyers in singapore, most of them will want the maid to pay for their own shampoo la, their own medical when unwell..not sure how true this is.

As for trouble hor, i must agree its kinda of true in certain aspect. Imagine a stranger coming into our house to stay with us. then gotta boh4 kui3 (in hokkien) to teach them etc. then lots of social problems also. I couldnt take it when my maid arrived in oct07 last year. cos Kiros hasnt arrived and then i feel so weird to hve another person tagging along me especially i wasn't working at then. Then my sister quickly took her in as they fear i kenna pre-natal depression. Then after i deliver, she is still not upto it.. then my sis asked me to exchange with her lor.. now my sis's maid looking after kiros and mine with her. But cos i am staying at my mum's house, so i see both maids everyday. With a 3rd maid coming September, i will also leave all training to my sister.. spare me all this.

Bur again hor, when they are used to us liao hor, and we are used to them, it's kinda of good to have a maid.. surely less conflicts with hubby.. such as housework will be spared etc...Getting a good maid or not sometimes luck also play a part. Read so much about crazy maids etc.. i also scared liao..

personally i prefer filipino. At least there is no pork issue. and also the language. Plus i personally feel la, they are easier and smarter to learn things. but that would also mean they are can be more 'cunning'!? some indon can be good also.

So if wants to get an experienced maid, but fear that they have came to sgp before, maybe can get those having worked in other countries like Dubai, malaysia before. At least they wont miss home unlike first timers.

Can get quite bad if they miss their husband and children. Get singles lei, also scared they cant help with kids, get married ones, also scared they will miss their kids.. sigh.. problem.

but there was once the agent asked my sister a qns, would you rather to have a maid who is smart or would you rather a not so smart maid? Wouldn't a not so smart maid gives more problems? I think there is some truth in it also la.

Hi Mambobb,

the yoghurt we toked about is YOPLIAT BABY YOGHURT.. in cups and serve straight.. no need to cook or prepare one. Just that it can be a bit hard to get.

If you are getting, be sure to look out for the name BABY Yoghurt. it comes in pack of 4 cups.

cactusnah,
I think twice now about bringing matt with me ard china. Cos we went to Nanjing, the luggage was full of his diapers, clothes, bottles and baby food. My back almost died cos I was baby carriering him through out. If i intend to climb the great wall with him, i really have to go train it out 1st. haha...

YOPLIAT BABY YOGHURT:
mummies, pls post some pics on this so that if i come across in the supermarket, i can buy for cailyn to try.. heehee.. oh... only at carrefour and cold storage huh?

cactus, the last time I went Sydney, we bought the see sydney card - 1 day pass. That day we super KS, took a ferry ride, the speed jet, visited sydney zoo, the aquarium & went up the bridge tower. I think we cover 3 days' itinery in 1 day haha!!

pig, now my hands itchy for mj liao
seems many of us like mj just that hard to get kakis nowadays.

langlao3:usually she will hv half of the yogurt,will add apple,grape,kiwi etc into it too so turns out to be quite alot fro her to finish.

the rest will store in airtight container for next day use

Hi Mambobb,

i managed to take a pic of the cup lid. It's not very clear. There is a cardbox packing, which i have thrown, for the pack of 4. It has a baby face on it.

I found a link to yoplait.. but its to the australia one. packing looks a bit different.. but almost there.

http://www.yoplait.com.au/baby/

the ones in singapore are probably 2 cups of banana flavour and 2 vanilla in a pack.

1615182.jpg

weishy, the 1st time i add fruit to the yogurt, I blended the fruit together with yogurt & the end product became very watery.

pig, yeah let's find ano 2 kakis heehee...

poisson,
i like G in the last pic, very powerful look!
great shot!

re: mj
wa, now on the topic of 'dry swimming' ah... haha... i used to hv friends coming over to play mj occasionally too, now with #2, rarely liao... haiz... now can only play with family members (hb side) on wkends niah... hehe... ya, mayb hv a gathering to play mj? kekeke

re: maids
it's really not easy hving a stranger staying with u... my maid with me coming to a yr and i'm sitll not used to it... haiz... think no 'chemistry' btw us... and today jus faced some problems with her... SIGH...

pig: thanks for the pic and info
.. will go and try to find.

mj session:
not easy to get hold enough legs to play coz all of us are staying in different area. I think most of the mummies here are staying in the west area like redhill etc.. haha.. maybe u mummies can try to have a mj session together.. ohohoh.. and ask all the daddys to look after the bbs.. haha

Talking abt MJ, i felt so ashamed that i dunno how to play coz i got God of Gamblers (I literally grow up with mahjong) as parents.

Plim, pat pat..

Pig, even though Hong Kong pays better but the ppl there in general re not chin chai like us & they like to max their money also... So, i m not surprised if they get the maid to pay for their daily necessities.

I shudder to think of one day that i need to get a maid to look after Claire and stuff. My Mum told me that i need to have a maid if i have a 2nd child. I do agree with her but i dunno whether i can deal with the stress or not coz i m quite a picky, fussy & impatient person to begin with.

Re: Hats
Guess mummies with boy boy especially will be very interested. Cos I so hard to find nice boy boy hats here. Most shopping centre have more varieties for girl girl but not boy boy.

Gloomybear, but at least you get to enjoy singing. Haha….doubt my son can fall asleep like that. :)

Re: Baby Yoghurts
Didn’t know its hard to get! No wonder I don’t seem to see it so far when I go to supermarkets. Thought must get it from certain place. Me too, never seen it at CompassPoint or Hougang Point.

Poissons, Garreth is smiley. I like the one he took with the Kangeroo. He like saying, “Hey, come over! Why are you sitting so far from me?” Heehee….

RE: MJ
I am no expert too. Though I used to play with my friends till wee hours. But the amt we played is so insignificant that some of my gambler friends said we are wasting time. Hahaha…

Re: Maid working in HK
I heard from my maid before. She said though the pay is high in Hong Kong but the employers are very fussy and particular. Like what K@ye had said, they will max their money. And they will spot check every single area and if they spotted dust, they will ask the maid to clean again.
They will expect them to clean the house spotless. Not sure how true though.

We did give them shampoo and shower foam but I heard that they are supposed to get their own daily necessities themselves? Any mummies who have maid have any idea on these?

Gelyn, but no matter what... HK homes are much smaller than ours unless its those super rich homes lah!

Based on my cousin's fren who is a maid agent. She told me that we have to provide the basic essentials for the maids and that includes, shampoo stuff, food & board if the maid gives pattern and ask for particular brands, ask the maid to pay for it themselves!

On maid hor, my cousin's fren sent me a transfer maid sometime back to help my Mum. I was quite lucky as this maid knows how to speak Mandarin & she is very particular abt cleanliness and stuff. But too bad, someone else got her and my Mum decided not to get a maid eventually coz she buey tahan the amount of water used in cleaning her house!

pig07,
i was interested in getting the PIGEON snacks, but i saw tat there is sugar inside, so din get. but seems like alot of teething biscuits has sugar in them.

MJ:
wah u all make my hands itchy. it's been a long long time since i played mj. i used to play mj almost every weekend till wee hrs or even the next morning. now with bb, sleep is my top priority. hahaha. yah i rem there r quite a few mummies staying in Redhill/Bukit Merah/Queenstown - me, fushiastar, Grace, k@ye, langlao3, poissons. maybe we can arrange a mj session during daytime & let our HB take care of bb. get them to serve us drinks too! hahaha

2 nites ago, i dreamt tat i'm preggie! wah, when i woke up, i was so traumatised. i keep thinking if it's real or not. then i also touch my tummy to cfm. seems like i'm really not ready to get preggie so soon. i'ms so scared just thinking of the constant nite-wakings!

Seems we have a discussion about maids. Here are my two cents:

Recommendable to get a maid who has experience, preferably one who has worked in the middle east. This, I'm told is because the maids who have worked in the middle east are well trained..the Middle eastern's really make the maids work hard (to get their money's worth?) and this in turn makes the maids appreciate it more when they are working for you because it would be much easier compared to working for the latter.
She will also want to stay in Singapore because climate, food and people are similar to phillipines...not like in Middle east where it is a harsh contrast.

Maids from HK although have experience tend to be bit more cunning...they know a lot of tricks that they have learnt from other maids in HK. I am wary of those.

New maids have pros and cons....some people prefer a fresh maid so that they can train them from scratch. But only do this if you have the patience of a goddess. Otherwise you will be repeating instructions over and over and supervising constantly!

I think its important to establish rules early. So you should treat them like an employee and give them a 'interview' when they arrive. List to them your requirements and standards. I did this with my maid, I told her that she will be treated very well, all I ask of her is to stick to the standard that I expect and the basic rules which I have laid out.ie: NO Lying, no stealing, no hitting the baby...etc...no black face (hehe I didn't say that but....)
As for the day to day chores you will have to monitor and just advise them on the 'best' way to clean the floor etc...
I can still joke and chat to my maid because a happy employee is a good employee, soo important.

I also told her from the beginning that I will provide all her basic needs but I will not pay for anything that she personally wants, like a particular brand of lotion...etc...

So far, I have had no problems with my maid. But that could be because I am a SAHM so I am always around so she doesn't have a chance to do anything. But I often leave the baby in her charge if I have to go and take my other childrens to enrichment etc....So there has to be some trust there. I have installed CCTV too, just to be safe.
But I don't think we should tolerate unruly behaviour. If my maid is always falling sick or giving me black face I will send her back immediately. Its important that you can get along with your maid otherwise you will both be miserable.
I

Catherine, i dunno how to play MJ...
But i like ur idea of getting the hbs to serve us leh!

Plumsource, i do agree with you on the maid. Mabbe i will keep this in mind the next time if i really ever ever need a maid!

Kindermusik:
any mummies try this before? I would like to try their trial class, is it worth it? The main branch is at Tanglin Mall and they have a co-operative with a Beehive Monte Kids at Tampines. So thinking of giving a try.

Catherine: I opened my eyes wide when i saw yr post. Coz i also dreamt of being pregnant last night, so coincident! Some more my stomach already quite big in my dream. Also touched my tummy this morning to confirm, bo lei. Ha ha...so bo liao.

Message and told my HB and he laugh. Then i think bk what leads to my dream. Suddenly i recalled coz yest Eagan was jumping on my HB's stomach and accidently jumped on his ** and my MIL, "Eagan, wait u have no di di, mei mei ah"

oh forgot to mention about them showing black face.

My maid went and showed me black face for a week until I couldn't take it anymore so I reprimanded her. Asked her why and was it because she was unhappy...all the way through I was very stern....partly to show that I wasn't pleased and also because I was angry.
I told her that she was under my roof and had to play by my rules. Why should I feel awkward in my own home? How would she feel if someone did the same to her? She said that sometimes she finds it hard to greet her employer because 'some' employer also have black face. (meaning moi???)
So, my last resort was...no excuses. Just don't give black face to me period or pack your bags.
Since then, I've had no problems and even get a cheerful 'good morning' when I wake up. I think sometimes you have to flex your muscles and let them know who is the boss. Otherwise they will just carrying on as they were. Thinking its fine.
Be patienc, be strong, be understandable too.

Catherine:
Does that mean your dream is 'telling' you something??? maybe no.2 is gonna be coming soon...

Does anyone know the what the lines in the inner thigh of baby means? (me and ueno debating)
Does 2 lines (creases/folds) on baby's top inner thigh means that your next baby will be a girl and that 1 line means it'll be a boy?
Please enlighten hehe

K@ye, I bet you know the answer cos its old cantonese myth. Your mum bound to know!

K@ye: Now then I understand. We did give them the necessities. At least now I know that if they request for certain brand, then they have to get it themselves. Agency not very clear on this. :) Why do you mean by give pattern? As in attitude problem?

Plumsource, that's a good advice. Will take note too. :)

plumsource,
one line is BOY, two lines is GAL.

Cathering/Cactusnah,
Hehe..i also dreamt of being pregnant..two times somemore, I think I too stressed liao, want a gal badly..cos' my cousin is expecting a gal (already got a boy), and my sis juz got a boy (already got a gal)...dunno can join their "club" or not :p

k@ye,
i also laughed at my own idea. imagine the HBs one hand carry bb, the other hand serve us drinks. hahahaha.

cactusnah,
wow so qiao! Jovan also jumped/stepped on Daddy's p**** before. he also said the same thing as ur MIL. hahaaha. AND he's jumping in pain when he said tat =P

poissons,
wow u dreamt of being preggie for 2 times ah?! aiyo, dun stress lah. u already got cute baby G.

plumsource,
pls dun scare me. i dun wan #2 so soon. i wan to get back my sleep first! regarding the lines on baby's thigh, (to add on to poissons comment), i think 3 lines means the baby should go on DIET! hahahaha

tmr i going to leave bb Jovan in my HB's care. infantcare center closed for National Day & i cant take leave coz i got a really impt project dateline tmr. dunno if he can handle. now i getting v worried.

poisson,
Does Garreth have 2 lines then???
Then u can try for your gal!!

Anyone done the ring test...also I heard makes very good prediction.

Heres how you do it:

Tie your wedding band or gold band to a strand of your hair, drop onto the palm of your hands for 7 counts.
Dangle the ring over your palm give about 1inch gap from your palm and ring.
hold perfectly still and the ring will move by its own accord.
If ring goes in circle means Girl, back and forth means boy.
First time u do it will be for your first born, second time u do it (u must do the 7 counts inbetween each) will be for your second child...etc..
Must include each time u have been pregant (miscarriage or termination)

Actually its a lot of fun, and so far I've had the same prediction each time!!!

plumsource,
Garreth has ONE line, on each side of his thigh..SIGHZ..dat's why so stressed. Always wanted to have a gal, cos' gal more kuai and can dress up!

Poission: Dun be so stress la. But think G has more than 3 lines right? Kee kee...

plumsource: This is the first time i heard of the ring method to predict the gender of the bb. Gonna try.

plumsource: i heard abt the lines thingy on the thigh... 1 line means boy and 2 lines means gals.

there is also another saying on inverted nipples.
inverted nipples = gal... not inverted nipples = boy.

my gal has 1 line on her thigh and inverted nipples... so meaning what leh ha??
keke

wah really busy these days, so much to catch up here...

ueno, thanks pls share ur experience with me when u get back from US okie?? I'm still considering if i shld bring aaron along...
i will be there for 2 weeks on a package tour..
have not brought him out of sg yet, so kind of worry that i will not be able to handle, e.g. long flight, food, bathe, etc..
how do u manage??

cactus, nice meeting u too..
luckily u rem me, else i will be so paiseh..
hehe yes i booked on tat day too, how long is ur trip?? still dun feel good leaving aaron here leh..haiz

poissons,
garreth is so cute leh...
seeing so many nice studio shots here, i oso feel like doing it for aaron but worry cant get him to smile and cooperate leh...is it difficult??

ahiyo... my girl has 1 line + not inverted nipples + look like ah boy.. all the above indicate will hv a boy wor~.. still dont want to put too much hope on it. hahaha

poissons,
u sure G has only 1 line?? Haha..

plumsouce,
u r still thinking abt those lines? Hmm, ur really thinking of the 4th child..hehe

zzz,
im going on F&E holiday so its up to me to plan, and im quite good at packing n unpacking luggage plus i feel that going on a holiday, its no different from me taking care of L everyday. i look after him 24/7, its just a different country only. No problem!plus i get to shop, even happier!

wah... I read about most of you, trying for next baby. Jia You!!! hehehe

Re maids:
There is a website I found from one of the forum mommies. Very helpful. When I get a new maid, I have house rules printed and time table. So, from the 1st day, rules are implemented. I would also tell them, since I am the employer, she would have to do things the way we are used to. If she has a better way, she can tell me and I will decide. If I don't like it, I will tell her to do things my way ;)
Here is the website. She even have houserules translated from english to Indonesian!
http://singaporemaidinfo.blogspot.com/2008/06/list-of-house-rules-by-are.html