(2007/11) November MTBs

S@L, olivetree,

At first, i also has this knowledge that polyclinic don't offer 6 in 1. But then, when i went there for my gal's jaundice review the nurse told me abt 6 in 1 and its cost too... maybe i didnt hear properly. thanks!

olivetree, i realised we had the same gynae
. she's really nice!!!! btw, have u gone for ur post-natal checkup? I haven't made any appt with dr wong yet.

regarding catering..
i also used mum's kitchen for the full month last sunday. i ordered 40 pax for 55 guests. i have very little remains. Just nice in fact.. the display is also quite nice.
I have around 8-9 guests who did not turn up which may explains why its just nice but if all were to turn up, the portion would be quite exact. so i would advise dont underorder too much.

Dokie,
Okie, will quote you when I'm ordering, thanks!

Tinkabel,
My massage ended on Friday..it was very good as the auntie relieved all the tension on my shoulders and legs. I wanted to do another 2 more days but auntie said I dun need anymore cos' my tummy has flattened quite a fair bit and I dun have wind or water retention. Ok lah..can save some money also =P Now I'm having headache on how to shed the last 2 kg..seems like the weight lost has gone stagnant!

What about yours? Hey, must take good care of yourself huh..

Dokie,
Btw..u mentioned abt bargaining power when ordering, what can we bargain ah? Free transport? Change of food items? Any idea if we can rent tables and chairs from them too?

Poissons which massage lady did u use? My tummy still big. very depressing. I don want expensive one as mine cost $120 per session. No more budget.

Poissons free transport definitely because more than 55 pax. I think u can rent table and chair. Ask them whether they can give u any freebies. Contact Darren. He seems better than the 2 others I had communicated before.

Dokie,
I used the one my fren recommended (Aunty Suridah), she charges me $40 for 2 hrs, only uses lemongrass oil to massage and then wrap and bind me after the session. What does your session consist? How come so expensive?

hi mommmies.

I don't mind 10 wailing babies...better than 10 wailing babies in a restaurant. We can be free and easy and can accommodate siblings too

sorry, can't post much as im super busy.

wonder how ueno is doing?

Poissons used aroma oil to do it. She is trained in pre and post natal massage and trained maternity spa etc. Recommended by my gynae.
$40 very cheap.
Can give me her contact? I discuss with my hubby before I proceed because I am afraid of some prayers ritual by these people as I heard from friends.

Cake & Coffee session (all are welcome)
Last confinement date in brackets
1)Cindy (3 Dec)
2)Dokie (6 Dec)
3)S@L (7 Dec)
4)Tinkabel (15 Dec - cant wait liao...hahaha - jus joking)
5)Gillian (09 Dec)
6) Plim (12 Dec)
7)Yoko (2 Dec)
8)Superhappymum(CF over!)
9)tweetypie (cF over)+ baby lewis
10) Rachel (CF over too!)

Really nice to see all the baby photos. This is my precious, Nicholas. His little nickname is "Milk Baby". Mainly because he is always attach to my breast so i will tease him by calling his nickname.

Baby Nicholas, 28 days old
1102793.jpg

sorry I pop in just like this.
I need some help here,
is anyone still doing confinement & employed a confinement lady,
is she good?
If you recommand her,
can help me ask is she's available in June 2008,
my EDD is 21/06/2008.
I was hoping I can arrage to meet one b4 they return home,
my CL just called to cancel her service,
cause her daughter-in-law's confinement clashes with my period.

Many many thanks.

Lengleng,
Wow! Ur 3rd one on the way ah?!?! Congrats! My CL is going back this sat but too bad, I asked her dil edd is also in late June/early July. So cannot liao.

Re: Massage
I am starting mine tomorrow. Also charging me $40 for 2 hrs. Hopefully she is good.

Dokie,
Din know some will do prayers. Sounds scary. Any way to tell? Do they do it b4 starting the massage?

How's everyone's weekend? I had a horrible weekend coz one of my breasts was getting more and more engorged but I just couldnt clear the milk, even when I pumped and massage. Had to go to KK hospital on Sunday morning and the nurse massaged it to clear the ducts. It was so painful I almost cried! Worse than labour. But after she cleared it, felt so much better. And she told me to pump every 3 hours to prevent engorgement again. Now the milk supply seems to have dropped.

I find breastfeeding really stressful. It's no wonder so many mothers give up. Rather than spending precious time with my baby, I'm busy pumping away. On weekend I was in so much pain I almost couldnt carry baby, so CL had to do all the feeds for me. Came close to giving up on BFing but I feel bad. Besides, hubby would probably complain. Really hope my milk supply will stabilize soon and I dont get engorgement again. I'm terried now.

Baby still looks a bit jaundiced since he came back from phototherapy last Friday. Does jaundice reappear sometimes? Hope his jaundice is not coming back again.

poissons,
ur massage is cheap. i just had my first massage 2 hrs ago. the whole process (massage & binding) lasted less than 1 hr & it costs me $60/session. she also use only lemongrass oil to massage & then wrap & bind only. she is recommended by my fren, 40 yrs exp & also works in a spa in orchard plaza. less than 1hr like quite not worth hor? dunno if i'm being cheated leh

S@L,
I juz called up studio loft to check and was glad that my pics are ready for collection! What about yours?

Twiggy,
My bb also do look jaundiced after being discharged. Do you need to bring your bb back to the PD for a jaundice review? I had to bring mine back to the PD 2 days after discharge and PD declared that his jaundice level went down and it's safe for me to feed him with my breastmilk. Thereafter I observed that his eyes are still a little yellowish, but these 2 days clearer liao. No worries.

Twiggy, your baby could be bf jaundice. Is ok. My baby is coming to a month and he still looks jaundiced. It will take 2-3 months to clear. don worry.

Poissons, thanks . Sms her already

Hi Leng Leng,

I must say my CL is good. I am extending her service to 1.5mth instead of usual 1mth. I last heard from her is she has assignment till May/June.

This CL is neat, clean and has a routine. Most importantly she is experienced and like a mum to me.. We can chit chat etc. But of course, she does her duties as a CL only. No additional duties like washing toilet, mopping floors. Just her part of work only.

Do you want me to ask her if she is available for you?

Hi pig07,
yes pls, how much does she charge per month?
So she doesn't wash toilet, mop floors, who did those for you?

I'm back in action after delivering on 27th Nov. BB was induced upon advice of gynae. Little Jaeanne came out after 2.5 hrs of labour. She weighs 3.95kgs and measures 52.5cm. It was a natural birth with epidural. So far she's been an angel, sleeping alot and feeding very well. She can tahan 5-6 hrs before waking up for her feed.

My breastfeeding experience has been good so far. Initially in the first few days, bb did not latch well. She can't seem to hold on to my nipple and kept slipping. The nurses at GlenE were not very experienced in this area and were of not much help. Only a couple of nurses were good.....i had a much better experience with the nurses at GlenE for my #1.....

Being a 2nd time mom...i wasn't so kan chiong and jus fed her formula after trying to get her to latch on...my first concern is to get her to poo out the meconium so as to prevent jaundice....the nite i came home, i felt my milk coming and i manage to pump out 20-30ml..which was quite decent....it was only until yesterday tat i think she caught the trick to latching...the problem with her is when she wans her milk, she wans it fast....and dun really wan to latch properly...so i will try to feeed her EBM and once she's half full....she'll then latch on properly and suckle to sleep.......

Ok....time for my massage soon......update again!

Congrats to all mommies who have just given birth..

Olivetree: Gracie is so chubby lei. Looking at all the babies, mine still looks so small lei. Perhaps he is small at birth ba. Still dare not let my maid touch him coz worried bb is too fragile and she has no experience in handling bb.

Sigh..my MIL who is doing confinement for me is down with stomach flu since yest. Vomitted all the food and drink she took, poor thing. Told her no need to cook for me, i can eat da bao food from hawker, but she insisted cannot. Think normal non-confinement food is ok right, as long as no seafood is fine right? Will ask HB to da bao dinner and let MIL rest.

WRT to BF: Me too, almost given up on BF. BB seems not to be getting enuff when i latch him on. Will cry for milk an hr aft i feed him, but EBM of abt 60ml can last him a gd 2.5-3hrs. I also din pump out at night, after feeding bb with EBM and change him, i usually doze off to bed. So, will be a gd 7-8hrs w/o pumping, think my BM wont last long liao:p

I wont be holding any full month celebration, only dinner with family members, will be giving out cakes though. Intend to celebrate when he turns one.

great to catch up a bit here...gave birth to baby Eliza on 30th nov, natural w/epi. she's 3.2kg. Thank God it was relatively ok, can't do without epi tho, really peifu mummies who did so...I was induced in the morning 930am, in delivery room at 5pm and baby delivered by 9pm.

Hi Leng Leng,

She charged me $1.9k for a month.

My maid will do the washing of toilet and mopping of floor.

As for mopping of floor, this CL will mop the kitchen after use. Like her part of work she will do. I guess most CL do not mop the whole house.

She will wash my clothes and baby clothes. she wanted to use my hubby's clothes too.. but we declined cos we dont want to overload her as well. Would rather she spend the time taking good care of my boy.

With her, i can set my mind at ease and sleep peacefully in the night for now. At least i have no complaint about her so far. she with me for 2 weeks already.

Hi Leng Leng,

I have asked my CL. She has assignment from 15May-15June.

However, as this is your 3rd one, she wanted to know how accurate were your EDD for your 1st and 2nd one. (just in case her assignment hasnt ended and you are due).

Let me know if you are interested to take her. I can pm you my hp number and you can meet up with her if you like.

Poissons,
My baby will be seeing Dr again only this Wed. His eyes and skin still looks quite yellow. I'm hoping it hasn't crept back up.

Dokie,
Ya, my Dr did say it could be breastmilk jaundice, that's why she ask me to cut out ginger from my diet. If still got jaundice, I may be asked to stop bfing for the time being.

Sowie,
I have the same problem w BFing. Can't tell how much he feeds when he latches. So when he stops, I don't know whether to wake him up and get him to drink somemore, or whether he really had enough. But expressing every 3 hours is very tiring.

pig07,
my CL does mop the whole house floor for me. she mops it twice a week, evey wed & sat. she also mops the kitchen floor every evening after having dinner.

it's a pity. my CL intends to retire soon. else i'll definitely get her for my next CF

dokie,
not to worry, i only paid u $0.40 more. btw, i haven start using yet, cos tomoro is my 1st massage session and planning to use it after finish my 10 massage session.

Hi Catherine,

Guess we are the more fortunate ones with good CL. I must say it's very hard to get CL whom can give us peace of mind and a kind of assurance we need during this period of time.I read that some has CL with different standards and patterns that can give new mummies headache.

wenyl,
thanks... Still searching.

Massage $40 2 hours, good ley,
mine was $45 an hour...

pig07,
is she local?
If her June assignment is in Singapore,
and she's not a local, she can't take me liao.
For my last 2 CLs,
they sweep/mop the whole house,
iron my hubby's clothes too.

We do not have a maid a home.
Last 2 deliveries is 2 & 3 days b4 EDD.

poissons:
Wow, your massage is really cheap. I paid $45 for 1 hr and 15 min. Insisted on 5 sessions even though Aunty Sadiah said 4 was enough. Me almost back to pre-preg weight already. Tried on my levi's over the wkend. And it...FITS!!! So glad...Must be the massage and the taking care of the bb myself. Gosh, I m getting crankier by day. This morning, I went back to sleep ard 10 plus after my bb fed. Then gosh, I must be in deep sleep, I vaguely heard my bb crying (shd be time for next feed...), but my body just refuses to wake up. Luckily, my MIL helped me with the feeding.

Castusnah:
Jia You with the breastfeeding...I also feel so tired to latch my bb on. So I solely pump out and feed him (at least my ILs can help to feed, while I steal a rest, haha) although it is ma fan in another way...Try to be disciplined and pump every few hrs to establish a good supply. I was so tempted the other day after we discussed about the milk powder on this thread to buy a tin, so that I can choose to be "lazy" at times. But I am glad I didn't. Now I am trying to build up my milk supply for his growth spurts. Just persevere on, I am sure you will make it.

Congrats to all the new mummies who just gave birth...

my sister told me her bb take 6-in-1 pkg in woodland polyclinic and cost her about $300+. anyone knows clementi polyclinic have 6-in-1 pkg too? last time i went to margaret drive polyclinic the nurse said they only have 5-in-1 and only certain polyclinic carry 6-in-1. any mummies know can tell me, cos i stay in the west.

i know quite a number of mummies in this thread are doing solely pumping out and feeding bb with EBM. I'm also doing the same, expressing every 2 or 3 hrly, until 11pm at night and 1 time in the midnight, then next expressing is ard 8 or 9am.

Am wondering if based on the way i am expressing now, will the amt of EBM increase over time or whatever i can express now is more or less stable already ah?

tinkabel, so good! u're already back to ur pre-preg weight! Your massage lady tat good ah?

Sigh, i'm so sad... u know huh, when i went for gynae checkup 1 wk after delivery, i only lost 3 kg (which is basically the weight of my bb!)... i've also gone through the massage, 1st session, can really see that stomach go down a bit... but then after 5 sessions, can still see the tummy

The massage lady advised me to wear my abdominal binder everyday (been trying to do that, except tat is off for a few hrs during shower till night time when i wear it back)... still dun see much improvements leh
sigh...

i'm also wondering abt my milk ss. i'm directly latching baby. i seldom pump unless baby took only 1 side. will my milk ss remain same or even decrease?

plim,
i am also feeding bb with EBM - but i am more lazy, as in i only pump at 3-4 hour interval, last one at 11pm or midnight, and next pump is at 8am. How long did each of yr pumping session take? I realise for me, its efficient with electric pump, but to empty totally, i need to resort to manual (w hands) most of the time. And the whole process can be long, 45min.

I sure hope i am doing it the right way..

for my case, I do notice milk supply went up, from the miserable 200ml to 700ml in total per day.. I hv been pumping for 2 wks plus.. of course it helps as i know how to operate my Medela PIS more efficiently now.. tho i still think it cant empty completely.. even after 30min.

lazykat,
Am using the Ameda Lactaline Dual pump. Of course, there has been an increase since i 1st used this pump 2 wks ago. But these few days the expressed qty seems to be abt the same (constant) leh...

i usually pump for 20mins each session. i don't know if i hv totally emptied my breasts, but usually after 20mins, my nipples wld b quite sore and a bit expanded from the pumping action... Also, by end of 20mins, nothing seems to come out already.
Of course, like what you said, if i press using hand after the 20mins, milk will still come out... so i guess mine not totally emptied, but difficult to empty it completely using pump right?

i am thinking if there are other ways i can to increase the supply?

lazykat, plim:
Yah I also express every 3 hrs, about 20 mins each time or when appears to have no more milk. Usually after my bb's feed, so that I try to be disciplined. And then one time during the night. There was once I was so tired and lazy. Simply refused to pump during the nite, so end up, my T shirt wet with milk next morning. So messy. So now, no choice lor,have to express once at least during the nite. Think my supply is about 700-800ML a day. But my bb also increasing his feed, from 60ML when he is discharged from hospital to 70ML. I just increased again yesterday to 80ML. Just worried I may not have enough milk of him. Hopefully my milk supply will also increase

Hey for mummies taking fenugreek, does it help increase milk supply? I bought but want to see if I can do without it. Dun want to take it unnecessarily.

sabrina, yes, i also realised yesterday that we had the same gynae! i had already visited her twice since delivery. once to check my stitch coz' it was very painful and then went to consult her on my mastitis prob.
i am gg for post natal checkup on 2 Jan. i agree that she is a wonderful gynae. always so pleasant and smiley. both my gals were delivered by her.

btw i just received the trial set of ameda pump today, look so complicated as compared to my avent manual pump. according to the manual, we only need to sterilize once a day as frequent sterilization can cause aging of the product faster. are u only sterilizing once a day??

catusnah, my gal was 3.485kg when she was born, last check, she was around 3.8kg, so that's why she looks chubbier. Eagan was 2.73kg at birth, hence u will find him less chubby. but he is tall for his weight! my gal was only 49cm at birth leh...dun worry about his weight yeah! so long he is healthy, eat well, good liao!

wrt bf: i felt this time experience is not so good as compared to my first time.
suffered from mastitis at early stage, and the lumps are still there, refused to subside even after i had completed the antibiotics. gynae said she might refer me to the Breast Specialist if there are redness on the lumps again.

my hubby also asked me to give up bf becoz of this. he din want to see me suffer from the pain and stress. but since i still have milk supply, i tried to perserve loh until my breasts give up on me.

wrt to pumping: i pumped once in the middle of the night to prevent engorgement and also to keep up with the supply. becoz of my mastitis prob, i only able to get 100ml every 3 hours, which is just sufficient for my gal.

i tink we should pump frequently to maintain the supply as the breasts work according to demand-supply theory.

i think there's no way of totally EMPtying the breasts whether it's latching or pumping eh? I tried to pump today but aiya, pump halfway, only 5 min and bb start to wail for food. so back to latching again. sighs.

tinkabel, i have yet to succumb to fenugreek coz i still can meet my gal's supply. but i took that after i delivered my #1, and it worked well for me, my supply increased immediately

olivetree, u were saying the Ameda pump (u're refering to the dual Ameda Lactaline pump right?) looks complicated... i totally agree with u... same thoughts came to my mind when i opened up the box... almost fainted when i saw so many different things to assemble... made it a task for my hubby to assemble for me :p

and u were saying to sterilize once a day only? er, then in between pumps how do u make sure it's clean ah? i'm sterilizing before every pump leh... the only parts i din sterilize (only did it once, which is the 1st time) are the 2 soft plastic cup-like thing at the top of the pump and also the 2 aeroela simulator (bought separately)... the bottle and funnel (and the white tiny piece) i do sterilize them every time leh...

did the person who loan u the trial set give u any advise on how to keep clean in between pumps if only sterilize once a day?

Fanny: There's 2 clinics at Dawson Place... is it Dawson Place Clinic or Alexandra Clinic?

Tinkabel: May I have Aunty Sadiah's contact no? Thanks

hi plim,

yes, i am refering to the dual ameda lactaline pump. i was very turned off when i see so many things need to be assemble.

i just got the trial set from Moms in mind this afternoon, yet to check with them on the sterilization part.

is the pump working well for u? was it a breeze using it? i have yet to use it, will try it tomorrow morning.

i am using avent manual all this while and it is so tiring to pump every 3 hourly manually. i tink my right arm muscles are getting bigger from the constant pumping!