(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

hey hippo, haha i giggled when i saw ur comment abt ur photo...sorry to disappoint u...but....but.....adri has been my eye candy leh!!!! LOL!! but adri is a copy of u, so it's ok right!?!

i think i might go get the allerhand. 2 babies' barangbarang, like too much to fit into my tote liao.

YL, he charges ard $50 - 60 for haircuts.. =)

karrie, wakakakaka! phew! lucky u never puke and waste $ on ur lunch.. hiaks.. i hope u can still take dinner though.. =P

finally had the chance to go down to the baby fair. got a new car seat for hannah (those high back booster types), so that i can upgrade deb to hannah's current seat in a few months time. also got a feeding chair, for when deb can join us at the dining table. and i paid a grand total of $1.25, because we had received some taka vouchers as a present. i love shopping. i love it even more when it's free!! hahaha....

but hapi fifi, i forgot to check the maclaren for you! so sorry... cos i was rushing to get all my shopping done in 45min.

Hapifif,

You be strong! The days will pass by very quickly.. K is progressing so well and drinking so much more.. so he should be out of NICU very fast! You can add me to your EBM delivery serivce too maybe next week when I recover.. cos now having laryngitis...

Junnie,
But the cheap disney tix not for us but just the Jap students. So you can imagine the whole Jap student pop was there! Every inch of the park seemed to be occupied.. my hb joined this super long queue which he thot was for a kiddy rollercostal ride..turn out it was a queue for a snack booth ... haha. Even toilet q was snaking long.

Aria,

Shouldn't be a prob not to change passport yet..I think Aria features are still very much there. Chloe's passport photo was totally different from current look as well, haha. For my own case, I was just given a warning to change my passport photo last time.
Ya man, so heart pain to pay $80 each time to update passport!! Hardly used too.

zhenzhen,
it's alright cos I've an appt with my gynae this thur to remove my stitches & her clinic is at paragon. So i'll probably pop over taka to take a look :) so happy that I can finally go somewhere other than Mt A! Haha

chintz,
I never rec your pm. I'll pm you the link instead.

Twinklestars,
you still hanging there? Jia You ok!

updates on Keagan:
Dr tan called this morning to update that K's feeding sorta regressed as he's constantly sleepy & doesn't want to suckle so the nurses fed him via tube again. He also did an ultrasound scan on the brain & so far so good :)

I just came back from hospital. Initially tried to latch K on but he doesn't suckle so ended up I pumped there. Thankfully the LC dropped by & she helped me latch K. I'm so happy to see him suckle on both breasts even though just for short while! So motivated now haha. Guess I will need a lot of practice to master how to latch!

Anyway, he will definitely not be out in less than 2 wks cos he has to finish his course of antibiotics. Just hope he can be out by day 15 & not any longer. Cos that is dependent on the spinal tab test results.

Mummies with maids,
any recommendations on maid agencies? Now toying with the idea of hiring one even though I'm pretty reluctant...

Re: eating chicken after caesarean
I've heard mixed reviews on this. Some friends swear that should stay away from consuming chicken after having caesarean as it will aggravate the scar. but my mum & some others insist it's perfectly fine to do so. Any feedback?

Hapi fifi,
Like i mentioned that day, it is really not advisable to eat chicken for the 1st two weeks. Chicken is very toxic...remember when we have cough or cold, chicken is out of our meals?

Regards to maid,
I took transfer maid. Brought my kids along to see if she can handle my kids. You just go "shop shop" first..bukit timah shopping centre/katong etc.

Twinklestar,
How's your condition now? Pray everything runs well for you & lucas.

This am, visit Dr terrence tan. He is indeed very patient & nice PD i ever seen. but really comes with big price lor. I almost faint when i need to pay up. swallow alot of saliva. Heartpain. But for the sake of kids' health, no choice. Think i need to go sell my buttock liao! hahahaha...

Jas,
now u are scaring me...we just paid the interim bill for Keagan's stay at nicu for the past 5 days & the amount was already close to $7k & this amount excludes nursing & doctor's fees which will be billed later! Gosh i can't imagine how much I need to pay in total when he's discharged! my own bill alone for the past month already close to $19000 :-(

Hapi fifi,
Wah! that's alot for just 5 days in NICU. Never mind. Meantime, you dun worry. Must rest & recover well during this confinement period. Then when everything back to track, you & me can go and sell buttocks! wahahahahahaahaha...

karrie,
yup yup, i have the allerhand bag also, very handy and i find that it's not that heavy even when i packed in lots of stuff (flask of hot water sometimes).. though it looks bulky..

hippo,
awww.. u are so sweet la!

zq's sensitive airway seems to be better managed.. maybe he slowly outgrow it like what his pd noticed.. hope it stays this way!

hapififi,
so glad to hear that Keagan able to latch on now! u must be feeling very touched...

as for eating chicken, i shared wi u that im a big fan of chicken rice wine right, basically i request my mama to cook that for me everyday :p so far no impact on my scar at all and i recovered quite fast.. the only stupid thing i ate was prawn! i had 3 sambal prawns during my confinement and passed it to YA thru my breastmilk and he had rashes all over his body and face! i was so scared and brought him to Dr Tan, he asked me whether i ate any prawn or peanut, only then i recalled & realised!
it's really a hefty sum... but what matter most is that mother & son are safe & healthy..

jas,
i LOL when i saw ur posting! hubby asked me what's so funny and i shared wi him.. he said u very cute leh.. haa..

Hapififi,
Btw, you can sell at a higher price, sure got takers! Me need to beg people somemore! Pengz! What the hell am i talking? hahaha...

jas,
u realy crack me up leh!!!
i also wana go and sell buttock liao.. zq's teacher just gave us a form today, asking us our intention of continuing his sch after this year fall which is ard sep.. if so, in order to secure a placement, i have to pay a deposit of rmb 10,000 by 31st mar.. and his total annual sch fee is rmb 47,000 (excluding the summer holiday!)... i also need to go and sell buttock wi u liao! wahaha

Hapififi, wa seh...I dun dare to tink of e total cost. So u also dun tink. Juz concentrate on pumpin for Keagan everyday. Gd to hear dat he can suckle ur breast. He is a little warrior. So no need to worry.

jas, hahaha...u wanna sell butt ah? Never jio. Me also wanna sell for more income. :p

I juz came back hm from bringing Travis to c doc. May I noe kiddos who hav used nimbuliser b4 got any side effects? How effective is it? Travis juz had his 1st encounter wif it n he is traumatized thru out. Doc said he has bronchitis. I'm abit worried.

hapi fifi, if u go on thu, must take it easy ok. dun aggravate your wound. and i ate chicken after both my pregnancies. the only thing i never take for a while was seafood. just in case.

jas, you're super funny. just sell ur yummy food la. sure got many takers.

maruko, when hannah had bronchitis, she didn't use nebuliser. but PD did suck out the mucus/phlegm, which she was super traumatised by. not sure which is worse...

maruko,
i think bronchitis quite common among young kids so dun worry much ya.. what meds are prescribed for the nebuliser? ventolin, atrovent & pulmicort? if pulmicort (steroid) is given, it's usually not advisable to take for long terms as it's steroid.

how long doc wan Travis to be on nebuliser? any reviews scheduled after which? dun think any significant side effect if not using it long term, the nebuliser is to loosen up and open their breathway.. let him have plenty of water after the nebuliser session as the med may linger in mouth & throat and may cause infection..

ya, kids will usually scared of this coz of all the smoke and the loud sound.. but after a while they shd be okay wi it.. maybe u can take a few puffer of that and show him "look, mama also taking it, it's not scary at all" "take deep breathe in, did u smell somethg nice there?" just bluff him and "gao3 xiao4".. then it will be over soon..

zhen zhen,
the PD sucked out the mucus!! that sounds gross.. i would have been traumatised if it happened to me! but i think maybe this is a faster way to get rid of the phlegm..

hapififi, i didn't eat chicken for about 10 days after both my c-sections. my mom told me her horror story so i didn't dare to do otherwise...basically she had a pretty nasty infection after she gave birth to my little sis and the GP she saw (cos gynae too ex) said that eating chicken somehow stimulates the production of pus in infections...that's why her wound was so badly infected...i hear liao scared!!

anyway, glad to hear that K latched on!! jiayou!!!

zhen_zhen, suction is really traumatising yah...mea had that when she was only 5 mths old...cried her lungs out and i had to restrain her...hahaha my hands were trembling after that sia...nurse said mummy looks really traumatised...she also had to use nebuliser for 1 week after that...hate seeing babies on nebuliser!!!

yahlah jas, sell ur food leh...sure a lot of customers one!

dodo, sounds good...i shall wait for sale then :p

maruko, yah dodo's advice is good..get Travis drink water after nebu. dun worry, mea had that when she was only 5 mths old and she recovered well after the nebuliser treatment. fussed a bit but singing songs helped and gradually she got used to it...even know how to adjust her nose in the mask and keep her head very still...quite cute lah.
it really helped loosen up the phlegm. just remember to do physio for Travis if the dr advises...baby tummy down on mattress, firm pats on each side of the back after each nebu session to dislodge phlegm...mea liked that part.:p

Thanks for e advice mummies. I noe bronchitis is common but hearin how e doc said juz make me worry more. Travis onli needs 1 dose of e nebuliser. Doc said since it's his 1st, will try n c how effective it is on him. His breathing much better now but still can c him takin deep short breaths. I told mil his condition. She say how com he always got air passage prob one? I said it's common among kids now den she say last time where got keep hearin abt this. Alamak...u mean the time when police wearin shorts??? -_- bth her.

Oh and doc didn't give ventolin. He gave bricanyl instead. Chlormine for his runnin nose. Plus another anti-inflammation med. Hope my poor boy will recover soon. He fell asleep on e way home. Haven had chance to give him any fluids. Later den make milk for him.

Zhen zhen, alamak...Hannah had her phlegm sucked out. Gosh...it's definitely much more terrifying den nebuliser. She is brave.

Karrie/dodo, thx for replyin fast. It helped to put my mind at ease.

Jas,
wahahahaha I nearly flipped over my precious bottle of expressed breast milk! LOL
aiyo I sell buttocks also nobody wants ah. Now everywhere also goes south...plus swollen elephant feet & ugly scar on abdominal too! Think should ask our hubbies go & sell...but then again, maybe no one wants mine too hahaha shhhh dun let him know I said this!

BB Lucas has arrived @ 5 plus via epi c-sect weighing 2.470 kg.

Was having contraction @ 6 a,m.
Went to the delivery room @ 8a.m. Cervix only dilated 4 cm @ 4.30 p.m .
Doc suggest c sect as my water bag burrst @ 9 a.m & was afraid bb will be in distress.

I'm gg to sleep , seeing stars as i did not sleep the whole nite ytd.
chat again tomorrow.

Maruko,
dun worry too much. I'm sure Travis will be fine very soon!
Just ignore your mil's comment. Sometimes i also dun understand these old folks. Why they like to add unconstructive comments esp when we are so down? Which mother would want her child to be unwell or unhealthy right? like my fil also. The day I discharged from hospital, I was already so upset & in pain. Yet he had to rub it in by saying I should have watched my daily diet etc..shouldn't eat spicy, fried food or coffee etc so that I can have healthy & normal pregnancies & children. I just one ear in one ear out. But in my heart also quite upset la

Home pc was spoilt n no access for me for past few days. Now using hb hp to surf.

Hapififi:just finished reading your posts. Very heartpain to hear wat u n k have to go through. Engorgement must be really painful for u, glad that the lc managed to help relieve your blocked ducts. Just have to be diligent in massaging n expressing to manage your milk flow. Jia you ok! Ur supply is good n will provide k w the nutrients he needs!

N k is doing so well in taking your milk! Im sure he will take more n more as the days passed. I have confidence in him! He will be a good fighter just like his mum!
Dont worry too much about the bill now. Sure its alot of money but most imptly is that they r well spent for k n your health . .
As for chicken, i was advised only to consume after 2 weeks cos its toxic in some way. So ask ur mum to cook that for u later ok?
Im so sorry that i cant give u any actual help as im pretty tied up w taking care of the boys. Will try to visit u soon when things r more settled on ur side! Mean time pls try to rest more though it will be hard from all the worrying. Still, must stay positive n take care of yourself ok! Only then can u take care of the boys well.
Oh, would like to be invited to view your blog too! Pm me when free ok?

CONGRATS twinkle_stars!!! 2.47 is a good weight!! have a good rest yah...

Hapififi, i would have cried if i heard such insensitive comments...just ignore them ok?

im glad i have understanding in-laws...dunno what i would do without them.

twinklestar: congrats on baby lucas arrival! Rest well n tell us your birth story when ready. N lucas is of a good birth weight for 35 w plus.

Maruko: hope travis will recover soon. Yz kena pneumonia previously n was put to nebuliser at kk. It really helps w his wheezing. Dont worry so much ok, the doc at kk was telling me its v common for tods to have bronchitis at some point of time.
N ignore your mil comments! Really senseless of her to say such things now.

Hapififi:your fil also one kind! How can say such things! Really insensitive. Ya just ignore him, no point getting upset over such comments.

Twinkle stars, congrats. Welcome to e world Lucas.

hapififi, aiyo ur fil also another 1. Ya lor dunno y they wanna say all these words to rub it in when we oredi quite upset. I juz noticed dat Travis is pantin hard again. Breathing at short intervals. Is dat normal? He is runnin fever also.

twinkle star, congrats!!! if i'm free tmr, i come by and visit ok.

maruko, lucky i wasn't there. my husband and FIL took her to hospital and it took 3 adults (plus the nurse) to hold her down cos she was struggling so hard! i think i would have been super traumatised. hope travis recovers quickly.

hapi fifi, if my FIL said the same thing to me, i probably would have broken down and cried in front of him. so insensitive of him, especially after all you've been thru. just ignore ok. we all know that it has NOTHING to do with your diet.

Karrie, ecookie, maruko, zhenzhen,
ya my fil can be rather insensitive with his remarks so I usually try to ignore haha. otherwise, he has been really kind & helpful with looking after Aidan & ferrying dinners for us :)

morning mummies!!

<font size="+1"><font color="aa00aa">congrats twinklestars on the arrival of baby Lucas!</font></font> rest well and have a gd confinement. do update us again!

dodo, great to hear dat ZQ's airways are getting better managed! yippie!
wah.. ZQ's school fees are making me feel faint..

hapififi, K is strong! hope he gets well soon on the antibiotics and u can cuddle him at home very very soon!
as for ur fil's comments, ignore ignore. we all know u have done a great job already..

jas, piangz! made me laugh like an idiot at my screen.. haha.. just jio me along too ba.. hiaks.. =)

maruko, dun worie too much abt travis ya? did doc do a blood test too? the last episode with adri in KKH was also due to bronchitis and blood tests showed she had a viral infection. was given ventolin and godknows what thru neubiliser too. i know itz very heartpain to see them struggling and scared but hang in there dear! he'll react well to the meds and get well very soon.. rem to feed him those meds dat docs give to open the airways.. sayang..

Wah! so early and get to see so many posts liao ah??
Early in the am, get to see good news too! Congrats Twinklestars! Rest well &amp; enjoy your confinement k?? Post a pic of lucas soon!

Hapi fifi,
Sorry ah. Lucky that your BM bottle didn't spilt out. But hor, i am amazed without the bb's suckle, you can generate milk leh! Really weida leh! Its your persistence &amp; determination.
Anyway, just treat your FIL comments in another way ba. He also worry for you &amp; bb. Just that old people doesn't know how to put their words properly. Otherwise, IGNORE k?

Zhen &amp; karrie,
Aiyo! If i sell food, i sure lugi one. I will put alot of 好料 inside. Then dun know how much to charge. So better not. I prefer to cook for whom i like. Can put 爱心inside too.

Maruko,
Be diligent to watch his behaviour too. If he is breathless, puff him. go by your instinct. if need be, go &amp; see a doc again. Otherwise, give his medicine on time &amp; drink lots of water.

Hippo,
Jio you for what? hahahaa! you no need to sell. just sell your branded bags can liao. hahahahaha..
Sorry dear, Can you hold on till next wed? actually intend to make super delicious jas version pig stomach soup for you(note: i dun eat pig stomach)...but i soo love it. Why i so thick skinned ah?? *puke*

jas! jio me ma. then i cn buy mre sneakily.. or jio my old man. then i juz stay hm n b tai tai! Hahahaha! oooh... i like pig stomach soup! hot n peppery.. smemre frm jas' kitchen leh.. *slurp*

Jas,
wah pig stomach soup! Yummy
think it will take quite a while for K to pick up his suckling skills. Nurses say he usually suckle for a short while or about 10ml then had to resort to tube feeding. So no choice la. I really force myself to express diligently every 3hrs, from day 2 in the hospital. Seems like his jaundice is back again &amp; might need to go back to phototherapy

Morning mummies...

hippo, doc didnt say need to take blood test but asked me to observe him for breathlessness. So far he seems quite better as compared to last nite. Fever also subsided liao. Previous PD gave ventolin to him but this time round, GP gave bricanyl instead. Tink it works the same except for different names.
My mil kept commentin abt his condition. Though I noe its common among infants &amp; toddlers, can't help worryin with her constant nagging. -_-

Jas, travis had his nebuliser at the clinic. So I dun hav at home. If he breathless, tink I gotta rush him to hospital liao, which I definitely hope not.
wa wa wa...pig stomach soup!!! I luv eatin it... :p *wink wink*

hapififi, tink like wat Jas said...elders dunno how to express their concern in better words. So juz ignore their comments.

jas, early in the morning you talk about pig stomach soup. make me "lao nua" only. haha...

maruko, glad to hear that travis seems better today. think our kids condition is usually worse at night time.

maruko, phew! good to hear travis is better.. *ignore MIL comments*.. there are reali more viruses and bacteria all around us for this generation.. sayang..

mummies...its really comfortin whenever I com in here to "rant" abit. Knowin dat I got all ur support n advice when I need.
<font size="+2">Thank you!!! Oct'07 Mummies ROCK!</font>

btw, may I noe wats the common interval time for feedin kiddos their med har? Coz normally I gave travis on a 6hr interval for 3 times per day. My mil insisted shld b 4hrly.

twinkle stars,
congrats! hope both baby and mummy are doing fine.. rest well and take care!

jas,
i want ur hokkien mee recipe!!!!!!!!!
and u always make me "lao nua" leh..

maruko,
u on leave today? monitor travis's condition closely.. also look out for signs of extremely lethargic and sleepiness.. dun bother abt ur MIL, sometimes they are overly concern and kanjiong themselve so just said out stuff w/o "processing"..

maruko, interval depends on the med. some states 4-6 hourly, some states 3 times a day. better follow the dosage stated. don't over-medicate.

hippo,
precisely! the sch fee is killing me, i sell buttock also cannot earn that money.. :p
so even though most expenses here are covered, but the sch fee is very exp, and hubby's company will only reimburse this when zq turns 4 yr old.. so im in a dilemma really, to stay or go back.. but he loves his school so much.. a big headache for me to make the decision..

maisymouse,
ok!i think i'm not changing her passport since many of you didn't and manage to pass the custom

twinkle star,
CONGRATS!!! welcome to join us as a mummy of 2 kiddos! Have a good confinement..

jas,
aw.. those staying in the west, very "xin fu".. get to eat all your good food orh...

dodo/hippo/gingerleaf,
yay! i'm going to get that 2nd hand allerhand bag from the mummy. She told me it's under 1 year and used less than 5 times. I hope she's telling the truth. I hope it'll come in handy for my KL trip!

dodo, no leh...I didnt take leave today since travis condition improvin. Mil said she will monitor him. If im home, tink she will keep lamentin abt it. So I tink I com work better.

zhen zhen, 3 times a day den how long shld the interval b?

sorry i side track abit.. any cheap &amp; good sentosa hotels to recommend? wana bring my boys and parents to have a 2 days stay there when i back to SG this may.. TIA!

maruko,
hope travis will recover asap. the first time aria got croup, she was given nebulizer too. she cried her lungs out and in the end hubby declared no more nebuliser.. we didn't even finish the course. hubby asked for alternative and we were given steroid to control the throat inflamation. very powerful steroid woh but heng she only need to take 1-2 tablets and her condition improve. when she caught a mild croup the 2nd time, we too ask for this steroid.. nebuliser is simply too traumatizing ah..