(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

karrie ... hope U can find one PD soon but dun worry too much now ... cos maybe he is just growing a little slower

dodo U really very you xin in BJ still send flower to hapififi ... U are putting a smile on her face

Jas thanks thanks thanks for taking a little care for hapififi
thanks for the red date tea she needed now must be super sweet and yummy to her ...

karrie ... he recovered over the night liao AMen
today also no V kekekeke oh yes have U got yr soap liao ? its ok if U have not just take yr time

CM, nope not yet, been busy although it's school hols...i'm only free very very late at night hahahaha...but thanks so much for putting it with your in-laws. I'll try to collect by next week...mebbe after my CCA at Safra Yishun

let me know ur account number also yah...or u want me to pass cash to your in laws? I forgot how much the soap is..?

Thanks mummies!
You are all very sweet :)

yup, dodo's kind gestures really touched me & brightened up my day! Jas' homemade red date drink also 'melt' my heart. And also zhenzhen who dropped by to give me an abdominal binder so that I have a spare one to change! Plus all the mummies here who are sending me lotsa positive vibes to pass on to K...really very grateful & appreciative to everyone :)

Karrie,
ya my Hubby took block leave till next friday so will probably borrow his dad's car & we can deliver bm to hospital. When he goes back to work, guess i'll either take cab or trouble his dad to fetch me. But has to work around aidan's school time too cos also has to send him to & fro school :)

not sure whether there are any PDs who specialize in children's growth. Perhaps can check with matty's usual PD or GP if there is any referral to specialists in hospitals? I dun think it's too a serious issue cos he isn't really that short, but I reckon it's always good to get a second opinion & give u a peace of mind too :)

cm,
glad that carlson is alright now :)

CM, glad that Carlson has recovered..wat a relief.

Hapififi, sigh really tiring for u...that time when Mea stayed on in MAH for 1 more night after I got discharged, I already found it tiring to pack the BM and transport it to MAH twice a day. But good that your fil is willing to help...and I hope someone is helping with Aidan during your confinement? You also have to care for your wound...although the pain subsides after 1 week, you have to take care not to strain or overtire yourself for at least 2-3 mths...that time i notti, carried Matt when Mea was only 2 mths old...and after that my wound HURT bad time again....I learnt my lesson.

Matty goes to AMK SBCC..I asked Dr Chan about it and she said likely to be genetic cos im 'small-sized' myself. But that time he was still 3rd percentile. So I didn't pursue further. I found out that Mt Elizabeth SBCC has a growth assessment package at $598 including the major tests and consultation, not sure if it's any cheaper than KKH...I was thinking, if follow-up is needed, would KKH be more affordable? have to go ask around.

happy sunday mummies!

hapififi, dropped in to check on keagan's progress.. very heartpain to hear wat he's gg thru but u are all very brave warriors and i m sure he's inherited this trait from u. please hang in there! he'll be out of nicu in no time with all the mummies' blessings.. reali so sweet of dodo, jas, zhen zhen and other mummies who have shown u so much love. i m so touched and happy to read we have reali lovely people here! HUGS babe. u are always in my thoughts and prayers.. gambate ya!

karrie, i read abt mt.E SBCC's ht assessment in ads in those parenting magz.. shd be the same as wat u are talking abt. i was tinking of bringing adri there too. anyway dear, has matty's height increased by 5-6cm over the past year? cos i read that it's the avg growth and that kids should be on the correct ht increase if they hit 5-6cm a year..

CM, phew! glad to hear carlson is better.. hugs hugs and sayang..

ecookie, jio me along if u need to get the money to get the loot. cos i need the $ too! wakakkakaka! but i can forget it liao la. cos hb will definitely put me in a 4 or 6 bedder if i continue to buy anymore b4 ayden is out. LOL.

doobom, hahaha! i also wondered if it was considered his and your good or bad day.. but he totally deserves it.. hiaks. thanks to our brave mummy who dares to stand up for herself! =)at least u know for sure he'll be super super buay song after leaving the place and u have the last laugh! datz wat matters most! LOL

hi mummies just came back from the airport ... came in to see hapififi and K and also came in to feel the warm and love we gave to each other ...

my kids and hb all misses SG and want to go back ...but hahaha i still dun want to go back kekekeke

Thanks all Carlson is well and noti again

hapififi,
u are most welcome my gal...
i hope Keagan is doing better today... and u are home now hugging and kissing Aidan, he must be very happy to see mummy and soon he will be able to cuddle didi as well!

gal, it's assuring to know that Dr Terence Tan is Keagan's PD. he's good, like what ecookie said, he's very detailed and sincere PD.. i think he's a kind and warm PD who gave zq immediate attention and treatment when he was unwell and had those wheezing attacks.. and i couldnt thank him more when zq had a bad attack while i was preggie wi YA and hubby away at Beijing.. he's very good and u can ask him all your queries and im sure he will be happy to answer.. sometimes chatting wi him makes me have a totally different thinking and view of parenting issues.. So Keagan is in good hands, he will be alright soon!

jas,
u are so sweeeeet... im sure ur piping hot red dates tea warm hapififi's tummy & heart as well..

CM,
glad to know that Carlson had recovered! but still, drunk him wi lotsa of water ya!

ohh... it's always the case right.. when we sent our parents back to spore from BJ, we wanted to go back as well.. how long more u gonna stay at Indonesia?

karrie,
the Mt E growth assessment package is very exp! can buy many tins of milk powder with that money leh.. paisay im cheapo mummy :p
maybe can check wi KKH? i believe they shd have somethg similar as they are specialised wi women and kids? how abt matty's weight? does his weight increase as well? zq's weight stagnant for months! not sure whether is it normal..

dodo i will be here till Latest mid Nov this yr .. haha i dun want to go back only the Carissa Carlson and my hb wantto go back ekkekekeke

last time Carissa's weight also stagnant for almost a yr when she turn from 1 to 2 & 2 to 3 but PD said its normal ... and she is well too

Hapififi i forgot that U are going home this morning ... take care and rest as much ok ... yes happy Aidan can see mama already ... clapsssssssss he must be very happy and U can have a good bed to rest as well
so happy for U K is already in good hand so U rest well ok ... so that U can talk talk talk to K tomolo when U visit him ...
and and and is Singapore RAINING ??? please dress well too when U go out ok

hi mummies. I hv been missing 1 week cos maid went home n today back. Hv took 1st 3 days to take care of my boys. Sigh I've been getting more inpatient.

Cm: glad to hear carlson recovered.

Happi fifi : congrats on keagan arrival. Dun worried too much.
elvis also in NICU When born. He has lung infection as well. Quite a teary sight as tubes all around. I also bring my tiny little bm to him. Rest assure yr boy is an warrior n soon out... Kekeke nurse also gave me a reason y bb lung infection.

Cos bb c-section is bringing bb out of tummy cos water can't compress out tat y bb has too much water causing infection. Noting too worrying. Soon u will see keagan getting well Soon. All yr efforts will be worthwhile.

Rest more. Eat more. Drink more

ya I was discharged yesterday. Relieved that I finally no longer have to be confined. But somehow I wasn't happy at all. So strange to leave without K. Then when I reached home, Aidan started having high fever again. So tiring. He seems to be having fever or cough or flu almost every other week!

To make things worse, I started having engorgement since Sunday 3am. Super painful & even after pumping 30min & massaging with hot towel, my breasts were still hard as rocks.

Went down NICU at 9pm to visit K. Thankfully the nurse there was very kind to spend 1 hr helping me clear my blocked ducts but sadly, only temporarily. The engorgement came back again at 2am & i was in so much pain. Think I shall call lactation consultant later to fix an appt.

Also met up with the PD at NICU last night. He was really patient & spent 45 min explaining about K's condition to us & it was already so late. Actually K wasn't having normal lungs infection. He had pneumonia. So on antibiotics to clear it. Then it was tested that he was infected with Strep B virus (thru me - even though i did the tests twice - 1st time infected but cleared with antibiotics & 2nd time I tested before I delivered, I was cleared) so could be due to my prolonged rupture of membranes that caused this. The strep B virus is a type of blood infection which could further develop into meningitis. He would need to stay in nicu for 2 weeks to clear the virus then do a spinal tap test check if he has meningitis. Very very heartpain & worrying to hear all these. It's already so painful for an adult to take the epidural jab at the spinal area. What's more for a newborn to undergo such suffering?

Seriously, I do not know where else i can gather more strength to overcome all these right now - I am in physical pain due to my healing abdominal wound, my engorged breasts, lack of sleep & rest. I'm expressing every 3 hours & waking up twice in the middle of the night to pump. Yet, I also have to constantly worry about the health of both my boys..there is practically zero confinement rest for me.

Sorry for the long & negative post. I feel a bit better now. Will try to continue to be strong & positive! Chant chant chant :)

hapififi, pls dun say sorry la.. we are all here to lend u a listening ear and moral support! u are our super brave heroine mummy!
strep b infection... it so painful to hear wat lil' k is gg thru right now. and urself too! from all sleepless nites and pain. shoo shoo away the pain and speedy recovery to both K & aidan! the PD is reali nice and professional so i m very sure K is in great hands. pls dun overtire urself ya? u have to be strong for the 2 kiddos ya? biggest hugs and POSITIVE Chant now! *shoo away virus! may both be healthy & happy!*

hapi fifi, i know it's tough, but try and get as much rest as you can. engage as many of your family members to help as you can. if you need any additional help, you can always call me. seriously. perhaps i can help to make 1 BM delivery for you during lunch time every day? that will free up 1 trip for your FIL. let me know ok...

eunice, you must be happy that your maid is back?

Hapi Fifi,
一切都会变得更好. Nothing could be worse le, expect good news n things flowing in k? Every bad things will be over soon. Remember after thunderstorm n rain, a huge colourful rainbow shall come upon us. Stay yr positive mindset n life will be much better for you, that's for sure!!!

U must rest as much as you can. Please wear socks at all times. Anyone helping u wz Aidan n yr confinement now?

Btw, I can prepare lunch or dinner for you in the meantime before yr cl comes. This can also help to free up yr mum's time too. Do let me know. 不要客气.

Zhen, that's so thoughtful of you to help her deliver the BM.

Dodo,
your flowers definitely touches her heart.

Happi fifi,
This is the period that you need to stay strong and think positive. I'm sure keagan is in good hands and he'll be well in no time. I know it's so painful to hear and see keagan go thru all these treatments, but it's for his well being. Though the spinal tap chest test will be painful, but he is too young to remember all these. He will grow up to be a very healthy baby.

To reduce or clear engorgement, you can use hot towel or bottle filled with hot water to roll and massage your breast before you pump BM. I used this method to clear my block ducts. Remember to use your hand to massage (squeeze) hard (use all your strength) so that you can see the milk being squeeze out from the ducts. It's very painful but you need to endure it.

Do take some rest in between the day and don't overtire yourself, ok?

cm,
Glad to hear thar Carlson is fine

Eunice,
Phew! you can finally take a rest now since your maid is back.

hapififi,

stay strong my dear like u always do!
gal, i know it's very straining both physically and emotionally, but u must take good care of your health.. try to get some rest if possible, just be alone, play some soft music,close your eyes and empty your mind, even it's just a 15mins power nap, u need that.. to recharge yourself..

mummies here are super sweet & caring, i feel the great warmth as well though im so far away.. so gal, just rope in any help when u need it.. it's too much for u to handle all these yourself.. i agree wi jas, 明天会更好!

as for the engorgement, u can call TMC Mrs Wong Boh Boi for massage (62514090), she's good.. and u can share wi her your situation and i believe she can suggest some ways to help, so meantime u can still keep your supply coming in and manage your Bs.. gal, dun over-express or turn to higher power just to clear the engorgement, coz this will cause much friction on your nipples and may result in cracked and bleed nipple later on, i had this and it's very painful.. and it makes expression of breastmilk even more difficult later on.. jia you gal! i wish i can help u more.. just shout out here or email or call us when u need any help.. we are all here for u!

Happi Fifi,

Sayang, it must be really hard on you. Be positive. Keagan is a strong baby, he will be fine, some some hiccups during his starting point. Theier nerve and skin r not so develop yet therefore will not feel pain as what adult do.

If engorgement get real bad, maybe u can get a LC home to help you?

For aidan, dun worry too much, during this period doc r seeing 30% more kids getting sick, is the weather and environment. Try to give him some Vit C and maybe brew barley, chestnur or jiu hua for him. I overdose brig with Vit C during this period. since overdosing of Vit C has not side effect, i just give him more as the weather is real bad.

Maybe u check with the hospital if they can do video conference for you in the NICU, so that u can check on K 24/7 through internet. SGH has such serivce, im not sure abt Mt A. If they do have it, you can rest at home and monitor K too at the same time.

Im sorry, i cant help u at all, time is really tight for me, really wish to visit u but have to fetch brig aft work most of the days.

Yesterday another night without hubby. Not too bad. At least, Aria didn’t give me much problem. Naia though restless the entire night but still manageable.. Carried her, pat pat and put her back to me. But my sleep was disturb lah.. But at least Aria (the bigger baby) managed to sleep and woke up once for milk only… Hopefully tonight the same. Can’t wait for hubby to come back tomorrow ah!!

Junnie,
Yaloh! When both of my girls making fuss in the middle of the night, I thought of you and wonder how you cope when your hubby outstation.. Salute you! I took you as an inspiration. If Junnie can do, so do I!! hehe.. I read abt Lance notti acts..so funny!! Hahaha.. Sometimes, don’t know whether to laugh or angry..haha…

Hippo,
Woohoo… Exciting. I can’t believe I had given birth 5 months ago!! Time flies…

Tifanny,
So, your kids still not sleep through? Actually Aria eat ok. But don’t know why still hungry. But I noticed if she ate egg for dinner, she can last a bit longer. The thing is she doesn’t like meat so much. Sometimes fish also must smash v v small. She loves eggs (all kind) and fish ball, fish cake. She can eat these 3 food everyday!!! I really have a headache to not let her eat fish ball and fish cake all the time..haiz..

Totoro,
Did Kelly manage to sit throughout the Disney on ice show? Aria did and I think she liked the show v much. Think can bring her see more theatre shows in the future!

CM,
Seems like Carlson vomited quite often. His reflux problem still not ok yet?

Karrie,
OMG, Aria is shorter than 81cm! How? Need to go for assessment? But then if she inherited my gene, she will be petite till she reach puberty leh.. I was the shortest throughout my primary school life but caught up when I was in secondary school.

<font size="+2">Hapififi,</font>
I thought 2kilo is quite a good weight for a premmie! You did well, mummy!! You know my ex-team leader gave birth to her son a few years back and he only weight 800+ gram!!! And he miraculously survive! Hang in there. Ooh… im so tearie when Keagan opened his eyes to take a peep at you.. What a sweet moment…Do you need Fridge-to-go to transport your BM to hospital? I can loan you my spare bag but I stayed in Punggol wo.. Need to trouble your hubby to get it from me if you want to borrow mine..

If you’re having engorgement that means you have lots of milk. You just need to manage it. BM is v good for premmie. So DO NOT GIVE up breastfeeding ok? When I had aria and naia, I have no confinement lady. For aria, I had to handwash her clothes and bath her. I was angry at hubby on insisting no confinement lady (my MIL and him will help me) but later on, I realize at least I can do things according to my wish. It was very tough for me when I had aria and when I had to work so hard for the milk. Hapififi, I know it’s v tough now for you, juggling between breastfeeding, the wound pain the also heartpain. But I tell if you brave through this difficult time, you’ll be so so proud of yourself… No choice, we give birth to them, we have to endure all this. That’s why people say, Mummy are very “wei da”! Our love for our kids will conquer all ok?

Call me if you want to ask anything abt breastfeeding. You have my number? . I felt like I can write a small article abt it..haha…I managed to BF Aria though having 2 inverted nipples and for Naia, I exclusively pump (because she doesn't want to latch) and managed my over abundance of milk supply. You know when you have no milk and you have lots of milk, you need different method to manage them and I had went through both successfully!! So proud hor

My SIL suffered bad engorgement too when she was first discharge from hospital. I rushed to her place (very near mine)in the middle of the ngiht when she declared she’s going to give up BF and take the pill. When I saw her 2 breast, my jaw dropped! They were really like rocks man! So big..I jokingly told her (also to encourage her), I “lao nua” if I have as much milk as you! I helped her to massage the breast to clear the ducts. The moment I clear one and move on the other, it blocked again. That’s how fast her milk flow was.. But thankfully, the next day, the engorgement came down and though her breast was hard they were no longer painful. I was glad that I managed to talk her out of it and she managed to total BF her boy for 4 months!

<font color="ff0000">JIA YOU HAPIFIFI, GO GO GO !!</font>

hi mummies!!!

popped in to check on K's progress.
re: engorgement. hapififi, you gotta keep massaging your breast. I know how painful it was! Mine was so hard, I asked my hub to chop off my breasts! hahah. yeah really. It was that bad. My hub had to wake up in the middle of the night and use cold cabbage to massage. and finally the blocked ducts were cleared!

after reading all the kind gestures from the mummies, I feel so lousy. you all are so nice! hang in there mummy and bb k! I think the least I can do is to wish both mummy and the two boys well. can't impart any 'knowledge' to you as I didn't bf for long and didn't have c-sect. jia you jia you k!!

re: height
I always worry for J also cause he's always on the 25 percentile line and his dad and granddad are very short!

hippo,
one more week to see bb ayden right? all pain is worth it when you see him in your arms!

ecookie,
I wanted to get the ruffled wallet with zip around intially! both designs are same price. so in the end choose the button clutch. hehehe...don't expose my shopping spree leh. kekekke

re: J's swollen eye
brought him to see PD on Sat and he was found to have slight eczema! So now on medication and thankfully the swell has subsided. luckily it's not a sore that needs to be removed. phew

doobom,
read on that indian guy also. some ppl are just plain rude regardles of age, gender, race. opps.

and for some unknown warped reason, my company has blocked some of the mummies blog and I can't view the updates.
the reasons they provided is so stupid lor!

like chintz's blog - they blocked because it's "pornography"?!?!?!

and dodo's blog - they blocked because it's "suspicious content"?!?!?

morning all

ariajo.. hahaha.. can consider b a LC nxt time... =) yes, 妈妈是伟大的!!

jas,zhenzhen,dodo.. 你们最棒!

hapififi.. so teary to read wat u &amp; the boys r going thru now.. jus remind urself needa b strong no matter how difficult it is now.. cos the boys need u... everything will b in plc soon. thou i nvr bf b4.. i knw how painful is engorgement.. pls 咬紧牙根 &amp; keep massaging.. the blockage will clear... u knw Keagan's PD &amp; nurses/doc @nicu r expert.. at least u feel more at ease... ur little boy will knw every1 help him 打气.. he'll 加油 too. pls seek help as required at this moment... no need feel paisay b it to ur family members or to us mummies here =)

cm.. glad carlson is back to active self.. phiew =) today also schl re-open in SIN.. over ur side also same?

karrie,ariajo.... dun talk abt being shortie leh!!! u both shd look at me la.. i shd b more worrying then any1 leh.... kekeke.. u both shd feel more relieve now right =D btw, i tink may b ur kiddos hvnt reach growing spurt.. as long they r healthy &amp; active.. shdnt b any prblm.. of cos, if still feel insecure.. can always chk w the specialist..

enunice.. welcome bk..so u hv been bbsitting last wk =)

hippo.. once again.. happy counting down..

twinkletsar.. how r u? go home alr?

bbwow.. u too.. dun worry abt j's ht ya.. look at me look at me =D i dun expect mine to b v tall but at least similar or taller than their daddy can liao =D so is ecezma on j's eye's area? jus ensure he dun go rub his eyes when apply the cream..

junnie,

heheh. you're very funny and positive. zann takes after you.
yup. we apply only when he sleeps. but he gets irritated like I'm disturbing him in his sleep. keke

junnie,
hehe.. true. what's more important than being healthy right??? at most for my girls, ask them to wear heels!hehe..

you gals never fail to cheer me up &amp; make me so touched. all of you are my source of strength!

zhenzhen,
thanks for your kind offer. as of now, i think one trip a day should suffice. bcos i'm expressing about 50ml per 3 hourly but Keagan is only taking about 5ml every 3 hour. last night he could suckle and I saw him finished the 5ml milk. so happy. sometimes when he couldn't suckle, the nurses will just feed him through the tube.

Jas,
once again, you are so kind to offer your Jas Catering! haha. it's ok. my mum is staying with me until the CL is here. so she's helping me cook lunch &amp; look after aidan, while my fil's maid will cook dinner &amp; fil will bring over for us :)

Sanbebe, dodo, chris, aria jo, bbwow, junnie,
thanks! yup. i have been using hot towel to massage my 'rocks' before pumping. my hubby also helping to press really hard to unblock the ducts. just summoned him to supermarket to buy cabbage to relief my engorgement. hopefully the man doesn't come back with some funny vegetable! heehee. i have also made an appt with Mt A's lactation consultant this afternoon so praying hard that she will be my "breasts saviour"!

bbwow,
so funny when i saw your co blocked chintz's blog bcos it's "pornography"! wahaha must be due to Bosco's sexy body lah :p

re: blog
actually i also have a blog for my boys, which i only share with my family &amp; a few close friends. dun wanna publish the link here, so if you are interested, do drop me a pm &amp; i'll send you the link ok?

hapififi,
wow, so fast keagan can suckle and drink milk. it's a good sign. i'm sure he keep growing and be out of NICU soon!! Right now, you eat lots of nutritional food so that your milk will contain good stuff for him! hehe..

hapififi,

I can bring u to hospital every monday n wed coz lyn not with me. Let me know if u need help k, dun worry abt the trouble. Im v free on this days! =D
Other days also can actually, but will have to work ard lyn's lunch, which is before her lunch at 12-1pm or after that. Let me know. Its really no trouble at all!

Oh!! Dun use cabbage!! It will reduce ur bm flow! Its some reaction from the cabbage on the breast. Alternatively, u can take some cold water n pour into a clean diaper n place it on ur breast.

happi Fifi,

glad that u r feeling better. He is sucking now, which is good.. Ya, dun use cold cabbage, is one of the method to stop BM.

jas, hey... you should consider doing confinement catering as a side business.

hapi fifi, glad to hear that keagan has started to suckle. that's really good news!! and ur already pumping 50ml. wow! maybe u might be able to feed aidan the excess?

Hapi fifi,
Ok! Relief to hear that your mum is there to assist you. Rem also not to carry Aidan for at least this week. If not your wound may rupture! sounds scary? keke! But just hug him will do.
Eh...your BM supply comes very fast though! Good that its "engorge"! hahaha..hopefully your LC will relieve your pain!
I am so happy that keagan is drinking BM. now is 5ml, tmr 10ml, 20ml, 30ml....200ml! yuppee!

Zhen &amp; Gingerleaf,
What catering la? I'll be mad to do this for a living. Plus my cooking skills is not up to standard to be a caterer.

Happififi

Quite busy today, but just want to come in to check how are you doing.

I am really sorry to hear abt Aidan and Keagan's state and your engorgement. No joke, you must be feeling terrible, but but but, please stay strong for your 2 boys.

Your situation is quite simialar to me 2.5years ago when I delivered Andrea. I had to go home without Andrea as she need to stay behind cos of her Jaundice. On top of that, I had super bad engorgement too, like you said, hard as rock. When I express, nothing comes out!!! I almost went into depression as I gave myself alot of pressure becos I wanted to give Andrea BM very much as I do not want to shortchange her. I want to be fair to her as I gave Lucas too.

I had no choice, so my friend gave me a freelance Lactation consultant - Betty's contact. Few hours later, she came, and she helped me to express with my pump... To my surprised, the milk just flow and flow. Conclusion: I suspect that I had relaxed knowing that Betty is on her way to save me and also, I realised that the way I position my pump is incorrect all the way since Lucas' days. Betty tilt the funnel side way and aim around the ducts, and the milk just flow easily. She didnt even had to massage hard for me!!! Hope your Mt A lactation consultant can resolve your engorgement. My advise, just RELAX and do the necessary calmly.

Good luck to you and your 2 handsome boys.

awww.. so sweet of gingerleaf and jas and zhen zhen and other mummies.. i see liao i super touched.. hugs lovely mummies!

hapififi, u are LOVED and well taken care of. so all the more must gambate okie! gingerleaf is right. NO cabbage! i used cabbage to completely stop my milk flow the last time. so better dun use it ya?

jas, do catering la! cooking skills not needed anyway? can u tell me which woman enjoy confinement food?? even if nice, eat for 1 mth also sian la! hahahaha..

gingerleaf,

I didn't know cabbage will reduce BM! perhaps that's the reason why I only managed to bf J for a month. And all this while I was wondering how come my supply so low! but hub only massage once leh.

bbwow, dun blame urself, i oso didnt know initially. I was engorged badly n i used that too! lucky i did once only. after that i used diapers

ok. I hope hapi fifi gets to read this before her hub gets the cabbage. anyone has her number can inform her? thanks!!

hippo, gingerleaf,
I learnt something new today. hehe. feels like a first time mummy.

today is so cold . such a nice time to sleep in! and hours are trickling by!!

what happened to all the qian bian questions?

hi mummies, just had lunch...popping in to see how hapififi n K are...gal, I really hear you there about being in constant pain on top of worrying about the health of the babies. you're doing really well, dun feel sorry about feeling down now and then, it's normal...

was about to offer transporting the BM for u like zhen_zhen...heheh. I also stay rather near Mt A, so it's not a problem. I'm usually ok in the late afternoons after school...so if you ever need extra help you can call either of us!

ways to relief engorgement...if mummies remember I was a victim of engorgement for a while...so much so that i kena mastitis thrice...well, from my limited experience...i found that very hot showers help (massage in the shower) and immediately after that pump. an alternative to hot towel was the rice sock...i used smaller socks for this cos the size is just nice...the heat keeps much longer than towel and it's not wet...so that helped tremendously. like tiffany said, relax....

bbwow, dun feel bad, actually u're not wrong there, cabbage does relieve engorgement but it's more to manage oversupply...

aria_jo, aria's height may still be ok! cos the chart of girls is different

dodo, yahloh v ex leh. i so heartpain to fork out that amt of money....that's why searching for alternatives.

hippo, im not sure if matt's height increased by 5-6cm...must go and check...hmmm...

junnie, u where got short??? u 'jiao xiao ling long' ok???!

my cousin's wedding is on 17th april. do you think i can get the passport done in time? so silly of me. i totally forgot that naia needs a passport ah!! anyone knows how's the procedure like?

hapififi,
so happy that Keagan able to suckle now, he definately able to drink more in few days time as he's getting better and perfecting his skill now.. meantime just keep on eating nutrional food &amp; drink lots of soup &amp; red dates tea to boost your supply.. can freeze the 1st few days milk as they rich in columstrum? then feed K after he discharge from hospital?

hope the LC relieve your engorgement and give u some useful tips! oh ya, remember not to let r hubby massage TOO HARD on the Bs.. i had very lumpy breasts few months back and was unable to express much coz of that, so i asked hubby to pressed real hard so they will disperse.. who knows i kena bruise inside when i consulted a LC here.. she said hubby applied the strength too much and wrongly, so end up bruises of the tissues and made the outflow of milk even harder.. im not sure whether this apply in your circumstances or not, just wana share this wi u.. agree wi karrie, hot shower &amp; massage helps lot also!

aria,
i think still in time. i got YA's passport done online and got it within 3 days (during my 3 days hospital stay)! u can take her photo urself, just make sure white background.. think shdn't be a problem

ariajo, not too late. apply for naia's passport now. should be able to get within a week. can do it online. then when ready, need to bring naia down to ica to collect.

bbwow, hee! dun worie la.. silly ger!

karrie, go check go check while u look for alternatives to the exp. examination!

aria, confirm in time! takes only 3 days if done online.. plus cheaper to get it done online too.. =) rem to "fix" an appt online when they email u to tell u dat ur passport is ready. takes less than 15 mins to collect cos u beat all the Qs!

Hi Hapififi,

Congrats on the birth of Keagan!!! You did it at week 34!!

Don't worry about his infections, the medications will make him well again in no time. We really have the exact prob. My strep B also caused my older girl to have lung infection even tho I was on antibiotics and cleared by doc.

Dr Tan was also Chloe's pd. I went thru nearly an hr talk with him on the 1st night and I was really worried and couldnt sleep. He was telling me about the possibilities of chloe inheriting thyroid probs and informing me the consequences etc. He is a super nice and popular doc but he is also extra cautious so he will rather do more test to confirm or exclude all possible stuff to play safe. So just take it as a informative session and Keagan is in his good care cos he will make sure he is covered in all areas.

Regarding cabbage leaves to relief engorgement, I find that it worked for me. Yup, it's to manage oversupply and temporarily soothe the hard rock melon!
Otherwise you will really feel like choping them off cos they hurt so bad!

Basically, I think to relieve engorgement: 2 principles:

Hot towel compress/ shower and relax just before feeding or pumping to stimulate milkflow.

Cold compress (ice pack or cabbage etc) to sooth/reduce flow in between feeding/pumping so that the milkducts won't get blocked and cause your breast to harden cos there is no way out for the milk.

Remember not to massage too hard cos will overstimulate and cause lots of pain and abrasion. The TMC NICU nurse had a wonderful way of relieving the blocked duct... she used 2 fingers index and middle and gently tap around the breast to knock out the kinks in the blocked milkducts.

Try to ask the nurse or LC to help you with the block ducts.. they should be very good at it. Mt A LC gave my friend cabbage leaves too.. no harm asking them if they have.