(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

Hapififi,

Last time Joey had a neighbour in NICU who weighed only 1.3kg and 20+ mths old only... his mum did the same thing ... go to hospital daily to deliver EBM and managed to nurse him back to health. We kept in touch with them 1st few mths and at 3rd mth he was so chubby you won't believe he was a premie. YOu CAN DO IT!!!

Btw, my friend had delivered a 34 week baby at MT A too... the NICU nurse are super nice so don't hesitate to ask them for help. They even led her to a room so that she can stay in the hospital to pump instead of going back home to and fro to deliver the milk.

maisymouse.. am sure hapififi feel more comfy aft reading ur useful post =) how's jpn holiday w the kids??

totoro.. how's kelly doing @ sat's disney on ice show? lance was soooo excited he refused to sit.. but gotta get something for him to munch during breaktime if not he 'buay tahan' lor..
eunice.. u also.. ur two boys ok @ the show?

ariajo... so ur hb changes his mind & all of u going to kl?? tat's good =)

karrie.. u mean 'small & cute' =D *puke*.. kekeke..

I was catching up on the archives:

Regarding strollers:

Hapififi,

XLR main advantage is it can attached car seat directly. The seat is slightly bigger and the fabric is warmer so good for countries with cold climate.

You can save money to get the Quest (advantage is ligher than XT)if let Keagan use the Combi for the 1st 3-6 mths since combi padding is more cushy for newborns and he can face you.

Otherwise XT is a good buy. If not wrong hypermart and Cheong Choon sells abt 15-20% cheaper but if you can get from department stores having 20% storewide, you can get addition 5% of bill eg in JL etc. Baby Hypermart also have cheaper older models sometimes.

Tiffy,

Ya, prob best is to selling away the old stroller so that you have reason to buy a new one. ;)

Otherwise, since sherry hardly used her stroller, it should be still in gd condition. Let baby use until abt 3-6 mths then can switch to your daytripper. Anyway, 1st few months sometimes pp hardly use strollers but prefer to carry baby...Gd idea to get the buggy board, then don't have to carry Sherry.

Junnie : I din really enjoy show. tink too many characters though I knew everyone. kinda of complicated. I still like the plain old mickey yrs ago.

Elbib was crying to buy the toys as usual. U can hear him scream :p

and make things worse, it was raining from b4 show starts till show end

Hapififi: I was teary when i read abt K & feel happy that he has started to suckle. It's a gd sign. With the care of the nurses & PD at NICU,am sure that u will be in gd health soon. Dun be too stress. U nd to take gd care of urself b4 taking care of the 2 boys.

Junnie,

The trip was exciting and eye-opening and quite eventful.

Went to Disneyland and Sea with the girls and my mum.

1stly, Took Narita express train to shinjuku and had 1 hr delay cos there was an accident.. think someone jumped on the track.

then , in disney, it was some school hol and they had special cheap pass for students... so there was literally hundreds thousands of pp. Never seen so many pp in my life!!

Then coming back, bad weather caused 2 connecting flights to delay and the captain made us wait onboard for them for nearly 3 hrs. Agony!!

But overall was fun!

maisymouse.. wow... really an eventful trip 4u & the gals!! sooo crowded.. u all managed to cover most attractions @disney/take pixs w the characters? heng got cheap pass.. cos expenses @ jpn v high loh...

eunice.. raining when u all go arh? lucky when we on way was drizzling but it stopped when we reached.. i find last years's princess one nicer.. cos tis year's one sooo many characters.. younger kids might not know wat's happening.. i dun allow zann to buy the books too.. soo X..

jas, U dun want to consider doing confinement catering as a side business aiyo i also wish to do some thing too maybe can work together ??? *.*

hapi fifi, keagan is so clever can suckle liao.

aria ... U can take her pics 1st ...by right at age 2 they need to change pics ...

Junnie no the school holidays are differ from SG ... they only start on 5th Apr and carissa keep asking us to go back to SG !!!

MM yr post is so comforting to Hapififi ...
heng U come in now just in time for her info too
Yr Jap trip is F&E ??? or package ?

aria jo, aria needs to apply for NEW passport. I found out that Matty needed to reapply cos the ICA lady told me they no longer update photos.

Admitted to Mount A again after visiting my gynae this morning due to amniotic fliud low & cervix 1 cm dilated.

Went to taka to do last min shopping then headed home to pack my hospital bag.

Doc came just now abt 6p.m checked & said tat my cervix is 2-3 cm dilated .The VE is so painful.
He'll sent me a detailed amniotic fliud tomorrow morng 8 am. If the water level is less than 5 , he'll advise me to go labor.
Hope bb lucas & i can hang on longer.Anyway , will do whatever best safest for the bb.
Now really hv to be obedient & have complete bed rest.

Happififi
Thks for yr advise , doc chong did the strep b test jus now .
You rest well , dun worri too much ,k will b in gd hands of Dr Tan.

My HB is not feeling well ,having stomach flu & fever sigh . Hope he recovers soon.

Aria,

don't think need to re apply passport until the custom officer tells u so.. Usu they will stamp on ur passport to change etc. Chloe manage to go thru custom but then her photo was abt 1 yr old.

twinklestars, oh dear...do rest well. hope you n lucas will be safe. im sure doc will do what is best for u both.

mm, matty's case needed to reapply cos his passport photo was taken when he was only 6 mths old...so different from now!! but if Chloe's photo was taken at 1 year old, should be fine...cos their face dun change that much after that..

Karrie
I'll rest well thks. Praying hard tat i dun go into labor tonite at least else i really dun noe how to handle it alone . i keep telling myself think positively & also tell lucas to co-operate .

aria, i dun intend 2 chg adri pp photo unless they tell me 2. Hee.

twinklestars, pls rest well! Be guai n leave ur work alone 1st hor. gambate!

dodo, wanted 2 ask u bt kept 4getting.. r both boys ok? m vry worried 4 zq esp cos of e bad pollution due 2 the sandstorm in BJ nw!

Zhenzhen, Karrie, gingerleaf,
thanks for offering with transport! Will keep u gals in mind should I really need help :)

bbwow,
dun blame yourself! My Hubby bought the cabbage but I haven't used it yet. Will probably only use as last resort haha even the lactation consultant told me not to use too

mm,
glad that u enjoyed Tokyo! I miss there too...
Thanks for your timely advices & experiences! Wow both of us are really almost identical in our medical history & birth experiences. U are my inspiration! U must have been through hell back then!

Re: engorgement
I went to see Sister Kang, the lactation consultant at Mt A this afternoon. Her hands are really super strong & powerful! Managed to help me clear most of the block ducts. I almost died in pain haha. Then I saw Dr Tan. He told me Sister Kang is also his wife's 'life saviour'. Said his wife commented engorgement is even more painful than giving birth without epidural, and wanna chop off the breasts! Exactly how I felt too! I was so relieved immediately after the session. But unfortunately, those stubborn ducts keep coming back. Have to keep massaging & pumping diligently.

Re: Keagan
I'm so happy & proud of his progress so far. On sun, he was still taking 5ml milk. Then mon morning he increased to 15ml. When I saw him in the afternoon, he could drink 20ml before my eyes! PD said will try to increase his feed to 40ml on tue. So happy. Looking forward to latching him soon :)
only bad news is dr tan said 2 weeks is the minimum length of stay in nicu. It can be 3 or even 4 weeks...well guess we can only take a step at a time. I'm happy as long as there's progress each day.

Twinklestars,
rest well. Hopefully u won't go into labour so soon. But if u really do, trust that you are in good hands. Besides, i think Lucas is of a good weight & week 35+ is not too bad already :)

will help u keep my fingers crossed that your strep B results is negative!

Dodo,
ya I was also worrying for zq & your family when I read about the sand storm. Hope everything is alright on your end! Must minimize stepping out of your house

twinkle star,
rest well gal! hope baby can hang on longer.. all the best and it's good to keep thinking positively! everything will be fine.. take care!

hippo,
thanks for concernmy dear! the boys are doing well.. he still goes to school as usual, he loves sch so much that he will remind me to pack his bag and he will place it beside his papa's office suitcase before he goes to bed at night.. haa!
the sandstorm on sat was horrible and it coupled wi a grade 7 wind! i was literally gonna be blown away by it, im big ok! but the wind was so so strong that i couldnt stand still and almost fall down a few times.. lucky i was alone and not wi the boys then.. phew!

re passpor photo:
zq had his 1st passport when he was 3 weeks old.. changed another passport when he was abt 1 yr old coz looked totally different.. think YA gonna change his also coz his was newborn photo!

mummies good night, gonna have my awfully chocolate cake as a supper before i sleep.. very sinful! and this explain why im still so big.. :p

I started having very swollen feet, ankles & calves after delivery. They look like elephant legs now! So scary! Am I the only weirdo who have this after delivery? Before I give birth, I was perfectly fine & no water retention.

I cannot imagine I never lose a single gram after delivery! I mean K is small but he still weighs 2.08kg mah. Then minus placenta also. How come I never lose a single gram? Is this unusual? *scratch head*

in case u are wondering, I used the same weighing machine in mt A. I weighed myself on the day I delivered (just before I went labour room) & I weighed myself again yesterday

morning!!

dodo, phew! glad to hear the boys are doing okie.. zq is so cute.. if only adri is like dat.. she puts on a sulky face every morning b4 school and yet she doesnt wana go home after school!! argh.. hahahhaa

hapififi, i had swollen feet and calves due to water retention prior to and after delivery.. hmm.. wat u can do is soak the legs in warm water with rock salt okie? do check with the gynae just in case they dun subside. mine didnt go away till almost 2 weeks later and anti-water retention meds! tsk.. and my boobs went down south after dat too..
and for ur weight? dun forget u were so slim my dear! plus plus the breast milk! so take ur time okie? dun stress over this now..

Junnie,
Well, hubby v reluctant but agree to go because naia’s behavior is getting better..at least we more or less know her pattern and timing and I can settle her to sleep quite easily at night.. but I really don’t know how things will turn out in KL. Hubby though agree but he kept saying don’t regret. He told me he’s going for the reception and after that bring Naia to bedroom liao cos she sleep as early as 8pm leh.. I might not be able to sit through the entire wedding dinner because aria sleeping time is 9plus.. so, really cross my fingers and pray that my girls behave well throughout the trip ah.. planning to stay at midvalley for shopping trip and then 2 nights in Ipoh before taking direct flight from ipoh back to Singapore.

Karrie/maisymouse,
Yeah, I think must make new passport cos aria change quite a lot. We make that passport when she’s close to 1 but then she was quite chubby then leh.. now, slim down a lot..so, I think must change.. If I don’t change what if the Malaysia custom don’t let us in? will happen or not?? it’s very silly lor. Ever since the biometric passport, any change of particulars, must change passport and pay $80!! Hubby said, wah, like that how many $80 must pay till 18 years cos the look changes a lot right?

Hapififi,
Wow, wow!! You have lots of milk ah!!! Keep it up.. can start to offer to aidan!! Then when he fully accept the milk, you can save lots of $$$ !!hehe..yay! keagan is going to be get very well soon!! I had post water retention too.. I was quite surprise myself too cos I thought it should be before and not after… I look uglier after I deliver.. face and body so swollen ..haha…

Dodo
Ooh….envy! awfully chocolate cake, awfully sinful..haha

twinkle star,
all the best! whatever it is, hope bb lucas will be born safe and sound and grow as chubby as jiejie..

Gd morning mummies...
wow...so many posts to read thru...

hapififi, its great to hear Keagan is drinkin more now. Keep pumpin
He will b out of NICU in no time.

twinkle stars, Lucas comin??? will b waitin for ur gd news...

dodo, awfully choco cake!!! Indeed very sinful too...kekeke...but simply irresistible. :p

quick peek before I go meeting.

hapi_fifi,
thank god you haven't use the cabbage! else I become 'zui ren'. glad to hear that K is feeding better now. he's our little warrior!

re: passport
really must change huh? we brought J overseas when he was one and the passport photo was 6 months old, the custom officer didn't say anything leh. we're bringing him to Bali in May so may have to prep to change if needed.

morning mummies

hapififi:glad to hear that keagan has bn suckling well & taken more bm. Keep it up. Am sure that Keagan will discharge frm NICU soon.

dodo: glad to hear that the sand storm has not affected u all so far. Do take care

twinklestar: best wishes & hv a smooth delivery.

dodo,
i just read abt the sandstorm in BJ..wah... that's scary..luckily your boys not with you.. faster come back to Singapore ah...

morning all

ariajo.. nvm as long ur hb willing to go w u & aria... the rest 走一步看一步.. enjoy the time w ur family =)

cm.. oic.. so u all coming bk to SG in april?

dodo.. unless necessary to go out, if not keep the boys in door for time being.. weather is so unpredictable all over the world now..

twinklestar.. all the best & smooth delivery for u & lucas.. keep us posted ya. hope ur hb getting better soonest so tat he can welcome lucas w u @ the labour ward =)

hapififi.. u must b seeing many 'stars' when the LC help u to massage..*sayang sayang*... all is worth for lil kegean cos his milk intake is increasing! 忍忍忍 & 加油 =)

junnie,
btw, how do you manage to bring so many barang barang to holiday ah?? my maid ask me how to bring so many things, bottles, pump, diapers..haha.. actually i really dread packing you know.. should i bring enough to last 2 days and buy from KL??

thanks for concerns!

actually we din find any difference here coz of the sandstorm leh.. only that morning the sky is orangy, after which it cleared up by the strong wind.. now the weather turn warmer, cant wait to bring the boys out for some outdoor.. wana bring them go strawberry farm, great wall, some countryside mini hiking.. but gonna depend how's the wind also..

dodo, reali ok ar? cos the reports said HKG's pollution index reached dangerous levels due to the sandstorm.. but happy that everything's fine for u! phew..

aria, i like my allerhand backpack.. i have to insist on carrying it even though my hb will wrestle it from me cos he tinks itz heavy for me to carry now. but i want to carry cos it balances my back out! my front is too heavy le.. this is one of my best purchases

dodo.. tat's great! weather not so cold anymore & u guys can hv some outdoor activities.. cant imagine everyday stepped out must 'bao mi mi' =D

ariajo.. no need to buy in KL lah.. u jus going for short period.. save $$ ok =) jus pack sufficient clothings for the gals... u r bf.. lagi 'sin-nang'.. no need carry FM.. envy envy..

allerhand backpack is good! One of our best baby purchase too! really free up ur hands. Its better than a tote coz u have to balance it to one side with ur body.

hello mummies! been MIA for few days juggling with work, 2 sick babies. bosco started to cough again after back from genting. and chloe had high fever over the weekend. both of them are still recovering...

hapi fifi, i have just finished reading ur posts on Keagan. so glad to learn he's drinking more now. you are my inspiration! i'm sure bb is a little warrior too. jiayou babe. we're all here for you. we love you!

bbwow, what?? pornography for my blog? heheheh

hapi fifi, i want an invite to read ur blog too, i'll pm u

karrie, im pretty sure my co needs more talented ppl like u. let me know if you wanna join okie?

re: passport photo
chloe's photo was taken when she was 6m, just used the passport last week seems no prob.

i think bosco's photo has more problem as the officers tend to take 2nd deep look at him while going thru custom. his passport was done when he was 2m

happi fifi,
so glad to hear that keagan is doing well

Jia you !! Hang in there, gal!

aria jo,
pei fu u're bringing 2 gals to KL...I dun even want to bring Jav with us whenever we go overseas...too troublesome.

dodo,
I was worrying about you and family when I saw the news on tv regarding the sandstorm. So glad to hear that things are not that bad at ur end. Luckily the wind clear up the sky well. But prepare some masks at home in case it gets worse.

aria, mine is the same model but in red. got it 2 years ago. price b4 discount was $168. then with robinsons sale & my vouchers, i got it for 80+.. (in case u are wondering, i went to my blog and search for my purchase on this.. hahaha! my memory ain't so good..) u must look at the bag's condition. it does look new to me though.. maybe check with the seller when was this bag purchased?

chloe, shoo shoo the virus! hope everything's fine!!

hippo, junnie & sanbebe,
thanks for the concern! so touched that u all still think abt me & family since we so far apart... *hugs*
seems like SG news reported on this quite seriously ya.. but i dun feel any different leh, maybe im indoor most of the time? the most serious sandstorm and wind was on last saturday! and hubby just had his car washed on fri! should take a pic of the car to show u all.. couldnt imagine how dirty can a car be! wahaha..
yup, got some masks at home but the boys reluctant to put it on, expected loh.. so i din force them also..

chintz,
oh dear.. hope chloe & bosco recover soon!

hi mummies. I'm supposed to be marking but am so brain dead from 4 hours of teaching...come here to take a break...

dodo, glad to know that u're fine despite the sandstorm...media tends to exaggerate rite...even the BKK demonstrations also, my mil just came back to BKK, said it wasn't half as bad as reported on the news lor!!

hapififi, happy to hear that lil K has been drinking more everyday
pray that he recovers from infection soon and can go home sooner rather than later!

twinkle_stars u better oredi? guai guai and rest well ok...

chintz, heheh...thanks for the vote of confidence...i'm not that talented, took so long to be familiarised with my subject areas...after 5 years in govt sector, dunno how i would fare in private sector after this...but i would look forward to the fact that there would be NO MORE MARKING until 2-3am, or even the next morning!!! now, i'm just enduring till end of the year...will only tender resignation in sep or oct.

Hippo, allerhand backpack really good? i've been using a tote...and it keeps slipping off my shoulder...esp when i carry bb. the only thing i worry abt backpack is it's so hard to reach for things like pacifier...

Hi hippo

i remember u go Monsoon for your haircut, can i hve your stylist name? in deperate need to get a good hair cut nearby work.

dodo, i was worried cos ZQ got sensitive airways la.. and! pls la.. the nicest mummy here calling us nice? hiaks hiaks! :p

karrie, rest ur eyes rest ur eyes! feel any better? next time pass u my photo.. so u have eyecandy to look at.. *PUKES*.. LOL!
and yep.. the backpack is good dear. think dodo also using it. gingerleaf too..
handsfree!

YL,
the monsoon i go to is at novena square. look for jimson but do make appt ya cos his schedule can be quite tight..