(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

hippo, ok ok...will b awaitin for ur sms...
re: terrible 2s
is that true boh? haha...I wanna dote on him so much but he is testin my patience more & more often. Gotta whack his butt nowadays when he realli gettin out of hand. My mil said she wanna buy cane liao...den few days oredi I dun c the cane. So I "suan" her askin where is the cane? she said "oh ya hor...keep forgettin to buy" -_-

zhen zhen, i agree adults also got the same issue. So crossing my fingers now. Dun dare to give him manuka honey also in case trigger the cough more.

Hippo / Zhen Zhen : I strongly agree with terrible "twos" hahaha... Elvis getting naughtier. He can cried (1min), stop after a while (maybe becos TV program) then cried again when the show dun interest him. :p

Anyway I'm so used to terrible 2's.

How about anyone mentioned terrible 3's? hahaha.... Although not so serious than terrible 2's

eunice, I tink Travis is similar to Elvis. He can cry for something den even when we gave it to him, he will still continue cryin/whining. Now dat he is sick, mil tends to give in to him even more coz dun wan him to keep cryin & end up vomittin. So, I bcom the bad mummy dat dun give in or dote on him. sigh...

den it will come to gone case 4 and carry on to BTH 5 ... by 6 U got to give in and all the reasoning for scolding etc ... 7 they are too peng liao hahaha

aria jo,

Congrats!....

Any mummies interested in getting breadmaker ? Taka got sale on the zojirushi auto home bakery for $319 w free gifts ... .. Think might have further 15% until 11th oct... Shld be quite worth it cos I got mine for $299. It can make bread, jam, cake , pizza n cookie dough, pasta ... Even bao skin. Quite an interesting machine.

hippo,
glad u enjoyed urself at sentosa yesterday!
and im gonna bring zq to zoo tmr! hope can see panda bear.. haa

maisymouse,
wah! seems like a very useful machine leh.. so tempted to buy! got any link of the product description? is it very huge & heavy? wonder can i buy and bring back to BJ...

i got a doubt here.. i want zq to join hubby and me for dinner, so he can learn to eat better, eat our food and hopefully learn some good table manners..

but he usually have dinner ard 5pm and we will have ours at 7pm.. i dun wish to push back his dinner timing so late coz he will have his last milk at 745pm then zzz at 8pm.. then it's impossible for me to have dinner at 5pm coz hubby not home yet leh..

any suggestions mummies?

dodo: zq's dinner is really early. i tot sometimes i feed yz b/w 6-630 is already a bit too early. i guess u have to push back his bed time abit later in this case?
maybe dinner at 7 and milk feed at 830 then zzz time

dodo, wah...zq sleep so early ah? dats gd for u. cant realli advise on this coz travis hav his dinner ard 7pm when we reach home from fetchin him at cc. den he will hav his milk feed abt 9 or 10plus. dependin when he asks for it. sometimes he dun even take his milk feed & he doze off to zzz liaoz...

hippo, cannot go zoo but can go underwater world? so it's only land animals that they are pantang about issit? (sorry ah... i very blur when it comes to these things)

CM, you say until like that, then we have nothing to look forward to leh. means it's just downhill from here on!

maisymouse, i love the smell of freshly baked bread! but i can't bear to buy yet another thing for my house. i hate clutter!

dodo, it's a gd idea to get zq to eat with u and ur hubby. for us, hannah usually has her dinner at 7pm. then at 8pm she drinks her milk. hardly any gap, but seems ok so far. of course on the days that she really eats a lot for dinner, can expect that she won't drink much milk. but it doesn't seem to affect her sleep. can still sleep through the night.

mm, I will luv to get it but dun tink my hb will allow me to buy, plus I dun get to use the kitchen also. It will b fun to bake wif Travis.

ecookie, maruko & zhen zhen,

thanks for the feedback!
seems like zq has his dinner quite early hor.. i think i gonna push back his timings for all the meals, nap & snack.. maybe dinner at 7pm then milk at 830pm.. does ur kids eat what u all eat already? zq still eats porridge and noodles most of the time, maybe twice a week eat rice for dinner..

just now weighed and measured zq, he's 14kg and 91cm.. he was 10kg on his 1st bd, only gained 4kg in a year.. guess he's too active liao! haa

what health supplement u give to ur kids? coz zq gonna start school next year, wish to boost his immunity.. he only takes cod liver oil now.. so far so good la.. *touch wood*

dodo,
J has his dinner @ 5pm too. @ times when he is interested in our dinner (be it @ home or dine-out), we will allow him to join us and have abit of what we are having. Thereafter when it come to his milk feed @ 8+pm, we will reduce accordingly by gauging how much he ate during our dinner.
I guess if ZQ dines with both u & hb, his zzz time will be slightly delayed. U can gauge how to give depending what time he zzz and also how much he ate during your dinner.

dodo,
Lunch is lighter as compared to dinner. Most of the time rice is given during dinner. Lunch is mostly porridge, mee sua, kway teow, etc.
Not every of what we eat is given to J, we are still somehow quite particular.
For instance when we are out for dinner, we will give him rice w/ beancurd, some plain-fried veg.
If kids meal looks okay, I will share with him. He will take the spaghetti bolognaise n vitagen while I take the fried stuff like chips, nuggets, fried fish ball, etc.

eunice & cm, hahaha! looks like itz a scary road ahead... LOL.. terrible 2s, 3s, 4s and on and on..

zhen zhen, itz mainly the monkeys and the snakes and the tigers they are pantang abt.. kekeke

dodo, tink Travis is quite a glutton coz he always ask to eat wat we r eatin even after his meals. Dinner is either porridge or rice with fish, meat and vege. Actualli I won't restrain how much he eats coz he is considered under weight. :p The last time I weigh him, he is only 11.4KG leh. Quite a far cry from ZQ. kekeke...gotta feed him more liaoz...
re: health supplements
Normally I give him cod liver oil only. He is not very into manuka honey so I give him once in awhile.

dodo, hannah eats what we eat, except for the spicy and deep fried dishes. and 4kg is not bad already. hannah has only put on 3kg since her 9mth checkup. even worse right!

re: supplements
i've just started giving her multivits. cos she's been falling sick more often. before that, was giving cod liver oil and manuka honey.

doobom,

oic. ya, his zzz time will be delayed, which i dun wan to be too late also, think 9pm is the latest for me.

i usually give him 180ml for his last milk feed (the least among his 3 milk feed), to avoid his diaper explosion in the midnights.. haa

dodo: yz normally only have porridge when he 's at my mum place or when i cook for him at home. but for lunches at childcare, i think he got exposed to a wide variety of food like pancake, noodles, rice etc... weekends his dinner will be whatever we are eating. mostly jap food or even fast food. heheh

n zq weight is good! yz is ard 13kg only at 91cm too... hmm.. his weight abit stagnant cos he is down on-off with runny nose n cough from his sensitive nose. sigh

doobom, i'm like you. i still watch what i give hannah. so whenever we eat out, we make sure we order some stuff that is suitable for her. i also end up eating all the fried stuff from her meal, not that i'm complaining. i think that's the best part! hahaha...

maruko, the honey quite nice what. ur son dun like? my girl whenever she takes honey will say "pooh bear's favourite!". then she will happily gobble it down. so funny!

hippo, how com they r not particular wif sharks, starfish, sting rays...etc??? kekeke... :p

dodo, 180ml ah? travis onli had 140ml for his nite feed.

ecookie, yz is havin a gd wt. tink travis realli under weight. Not sure abt his ht.

zhen zhen, dunno if its bcoz of the rough texture coz I feed direct. Tried to mix wif water once n he finished all of it. BUT he down wif cough since den. So will give him again after he recovers from his cough.

maruko,
how i wish i have a glutton like Travis! zq dun like to eat, not even ice cream & sweet stuff.. strange right! his favourite is vegetable, he can chew the stalks of vege like celery, kai lan etc, but when i feed him chunkier meat, he will spit out or vomit.. quite hard for me to intro our adult food to him esp im not a good cook, not that innovative leh..

zhen zhen,
hannah sure can chew well! duno zq is lazy or duno how to chew, he will spit out those chunkier foods.. what brand of multivit u give hannah? fluid one?

doobom,
zq's has lighter dinner compared to lunch. dinner portion is smaller coz i worry he eats too much then indigestion esp he sleeps quite early leh.. i also restrain fried food for zq except fish & chips..

dodo & Maruko,
Oh no, my little naughty is having 300ml of nite feed. That explains the need for me to stay wakey till 11+pm to do the diaper change though he is in dreamland since 9+pm.

ecookie,
yz has good weight as well! i think childcare is good as they get to expose to many variety of foods and promote self feeding skills. does yz self feed himself for all the meals? zq only feed himself wi foods like bread, biscuit, sometimes rice (but v messy).. for porridge i still feed him..

no worry gal, i think all these are part n parcel to build up their immunity.. zq also has to go thru all these when he starts sch next year..

doobom: wow 300ml!!! yz drinks 240ml for all his milk feeds. but we wil change his diaper again at 11pm just to keep his genital areas drier and also to avoid explosion. sometimes if we change too early at 7+ pm cannot tahan till next day, will leak one.. hehe

dodo: nope, once he's out of childcare, we feed him for all his meals. for my mum, she wants to feed him, cant bear to let him eat himself. for me, its faster n cleaner so i feed him too hehe.

ecookie, 13kg is a good weight leh! anyway, too heavy also very siong for us right... haha...

maruko, i have given honey to her in different forms - drink, with cereal, as a bread spread and neat too. no problems with all forms. guess she's got a sweet tooth lah. but i've also stopped cos of her cough. dunno whether it will aggravate or not, but don't want to risk it.

dodo, the PD recommended pharmaton. it's a liquid version. didn't want pastille form, as i haven't intro-ed her to sweets yet. :p

and you're so lucky that zq likes veg! my girl is a meat eater. she will eat up all the meat first, then if still have space, she will take her carbs. will only eat veg if i mix it very well into her food. thankfully she likes fruits, so that compensates a bit.

dodo,
J takes nap once after his lunch, so gave him lighter. For dinner, quite ok since his milk feed is around 9pm.
If I dun give him that much of milk feed, he will not sleep well. I guess he's hungry. Tot of spreading n increase each of his day feeds, but mum told me that that amount he is taking is just right already.
Often, he will eat in between meals such as during my parents' breakfast, he will take bread. Abit like eat and eat...
He is very active with his kiddy rides going around the house, his playtime running around, etc. that keeps him fit. Haha... He is around 14kg the last time we weighed him.

zhenzhen: want to ask u huh, for this pregnancy, do you feel more pressure ard ur groin area? for me, i do and i voiced out that concern to my gynae but he said its common for some women esp for their 2nd pregnancy and also from 2nd tri onwards when the weight of the baby bear down.
just feel very uncomfy with the pressure..

doobom,

jerry is a milk monster!

zq has 300ml of fresh milk for breakfast, then 260ml (breastmilk + formula milk) after he wake up from nap, then 180ml (formula milk) b4 sleep..

ecookie,
Though my mum/helper will feed him for his meals, but we still give him his bowl w/ his fork & spoon. Scoop abit from the feeding bowl and then he will try feeding himself as we feed him. Over time, his 'aiming' gets better. Initial start, he will aim wrongly and poke his face with the spoon. Quite funny. Haha...

doobom, 300ml! that's A LOT!!!! no wonder u need to change him at 11+.

re: self feeding
agree that self-feeding is very messy, but if u dun let them practice, then they cannot be good at it right? hannah feeds herself most things now. the only thing i still feed her is soup. that one is just way too messy....

dodo, no need to stress lah. ZQ is growin well so no worries.
Havin a glutton like Travis can b a headache also coz we gotta eat secretly when he is ard in case he saw us eatin den will b screamin to eat as well.

doobom, wah...300ml? power...

Mummies giving their kiddos vits,
Is it on your own intent to give your kiddos the vits or the pd advise?
I ask the PD and she mentioned that it's not necessary coz most of which they required are sufficient from the milk and norm meals intake. Everything in moderation. So I am still procastinating about giving multi vits though J is taking cod liver oil daily.

ecookie,
same.. i cant stand the messiness & waste of food.. so try to feed him most of the time.. lazy mummy :p

zhen zhen,
haa! hannah is a carnivores and zq is a herbivores :p
zq loves fruits also, his fav is avocado and kiwi!

doobom,
same here! zq can never sit still! always on the run.. the only time he sits down is when he's having meals.. faint..
his makan time and food intake quite fix coz he seldom snacks, and whenever he see me snacking away he dun ask for foods also..

ecookie, ya! i do feel more pressure ard the groin area. and i feel the need to pee more often too! and recently, i'm starting to feel a strain at my lower abdomen, like my muscles are "complaining" about the weight of the baby. maybe with #1, i was fitter. with this one, all my muscles all turn to flabs liao, that's why have this feeling.

btw... i am really feeling VERY HEAVY this week!!!! i am starting to waddle. sigh...

dodo, zq's fav is kiwi ah? Travis tried once den he saw the black "seeds" & he said "eee" den dun wanna eat. he likes banana & apple.

re: self feed
Travis likes to feed himself but mil tries to feed him instead coz dun wanna mess up the table plus he takes a longer time to eat when feedin himself.

maruko,
i try to give him a wide variety of foods so he get to experience different textures of foods and also get to absorb all the nutrients.. just hope his "desire" of foods stronger :p i think im too lousy to make the foods look interesting, must learn from hapi fifi! hee

doobom, for me, i wanted to give hannah something to boost her immunity, cos she's been falling sick v often recently. keep catching bugs from everyone ard her. so i asked PD to recommend and he recommended this brand lor. just started giving her today only. see how it goes...

maruko,
haaa! when zq saw the black seeds he also "eee" leh! then hor he very funny, starts counting the seeds.. when he eats banana, he finish the banana and give me the "skin" and tell me "mama eat".. faint!

zhenzhen: good to know that im not the only one experiencing the pressure. getting abit paranoid... gynea said just rest more to alleviate the pressure.. hmm..

dodo: zq is so funny!! hahah

dodo, oh...hapififi is the creative mummy cook here? im lousy wif cookin as well but im very interested to learn. simply lazy. :p
zq ask u eat banana skin ah? hahaha...dats a gd one. Lucky Travis noes dat cant b eaten. kekeke...

dodo, zq is so funny!!

ecookie, don't worry too much lah. just relax and enjoy your pregnancy.

alright mummies, going off now! have a great weekend!!!

Dodo,

I am not sure if can bring to beijing, do u bring ur electrical stuff over? The size is maybe 1 1/2 times of an airport ... Quite small... It's a wonderful product esp if u don't own an oven but want to make bread n cakes for your kids cos u can use fresh ingredients , no preservatives n control the sugar level etc... It's nearly idiot proof... Just follow insructions strictly .. It even comes with a DVD to watch n all the equipment u need .. A measuring cup n spoon. In the night u pour the ingredients step by step .. Set timer n in the morning.. Viola! A 1 pound size breads pops up and the smell is heavenly. Btw, the 15% is for taka card holder... Need to check if it applies to the sale items in the mailer as well ... If so then it's really cheaper than what I paid