(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

morning mummies! I delivered my baby gal this morning at 5.32am. She is 2.98kg, 48cm.. It's a super fast delivery till it caught me by surprise.

Just settled my stuff at work and start my leave in the afternoon, celebrated Lleyton and shanice's bd together at CC. Thot can rest for a week before delivery.. But...

Ok, Here's a brief summary of the birth story:
1.30am doze off after watching survivor.. woke up to switch off lights. Felt mild and bearable contractions ard 5 to 10min apart but not too sure.

1.30am -3.30am couldn't sleep so surf net to check if they are labour symptoms. Decide to lie down and rest.

4am waterbag suddenly burst, with light red show.

430am rush to kkh.

5am put on laughing gas. Contractions abt 1 to 2 min apart but only 3cm dilated. Called for gynae.

5 to 5.30am feel urge to push. Gynae arrive, say fully dilate. Bb out within 1 to 2 pushes.

Too fast to react, cos the real pain came only after waterbag burst. Got all 3 symptoms within so short span. if not fast enuff gynae say may deliver at home liao.

sugar nut,
CONGRATS!!! u caught me in surprise, so fast lleyton's mei mei come into this world liao!!! Wah, speedy delivery experience indeed, i wish my #2 also got can come out tat fast too! hehe! have a good rest ya! btw, wat's mei mei's name?

not to forget to wish my SIL - <font color="0000ff">ZQ happy birthday!!! May u stay healthy, smiley &amp; sweeeeet!!!</font>

Thanks thanks! We are probably to name her Leanne. =)

Happy Birthday ZQ! I was running through my head who has the same birthday as Leanne in Oct babies.. So it's our cutie ZQ!

My advise to 2nd time mummies.. delivery can indeed occur v fast. Dun ignore any symptoms!

sugar nut,

CONGRATS!!!
big welcome to Leanne! u share same birthday as zq gor gor..

happy to know that ur labour such a smooth &amp; fast one! have a good confinement and post pics of Leanne soon ya, wonder does she looks like Lleyton?

chersam, gingerleaf, sugar nut &amp; zhen zhen,

THANKS for the birthday wishes! i had conveyed it to zq.. haa.. and he heard "happy birthday" so many times today and he kepe repeating "bird-day" :p

we went to Beijing Zoo this morning and i was so delighted to see the panda bears!!! i was more excited than zq, coz they are so so cute la! bui bui round round one :p

zq dun really fancy panda bear.. but he fancies this panda bear soft toy, so i bought 1 for him and 1 for an an.. lucky it's the small one that he likes, big one v exp loh.. haa

3092019.jpg

3092020.jpg

maisymouse,

thanks for the info!
hey, i think it's a very good buy leh. it looks very slim neat and handy. and the way that u described how the bread done sounds so easy! im really v tempted now!

yes, we brought some electrical appliances over to BJ last time round but it was thru sea freight.. gonna check whether can bring here thru air freight or not.. gal, do u know does isetan sell this as well? coz i got some vouchers.. aiyo, i think i must get this liao!!!

CM, tiffy, ecookie &amp; maruko,
thanks for the birthday wishes!

petit gars,
sugar nut have a pair of boy &amp; girl, her elder son is Lleyton borned Oct 07, Leanne is her 2nd kid

i was reading yahoo online news and read this article abt the difficulty of PSLE Maths paper. this is one of the question, and at the 1st glance of it, i duno how to solve this at all! and i think if i really seriously start work on this, it will take me ages to solve as well.. im really Maths idiot.. gosh, din know that PSLE standards are incredibly hard now! how can i keep pace wi it to coach my boys next time??!!

"Jim bought some chocolates and gave half of it to Ken. Ken bought some sweets and gave half of it to Jim. Jim ate 12 sweets and Ken ate 18 chocolates. The ratio of Jim’s sweets to chocolates became 1:7 and the ratio of Ken’s sweets to chocolates became 1:4. How many sweets did Ken buy?"

dodo...oops, this is her 2nd... dunno why I have an impression this is her 3rd...lol... i must seriously sort out the kids here...still so clueless with some...:p

sugarnut

congrats and that was really a super fast delivery.

Hiaz, it's one of these rare day that my girl seems to be able to sleep through the whole night and yet i can't get to sleep no matter how i tossed and turn. Wonder is it stress ! And yet i know i'm so so tired. This feeling is so so frustrating. Another 3 plus hrs and i need to prepare for work liao.

CONGRATS Sugarnut on the arrival of Leanne! wat a smooth &amp; fast delivery =) have a great confinement! i know y it is so sudden! cos ur stupid boss is such a meanie, bb wants u to MAXIMISE ur maternity leave.. ha!

<font color="aa00aa">happie bird-day to ZQ! and happy anniversary to the mummy &amp; daddy! =)</font> dodo, ZQ is reali a photocopy of u now! hahaha.. anyway, y all pandas like dat one? like to show their backside to pple.. ha! the last time i see them in HKG, they did the same to me!

totoro, y are u still awake! poor dear.. drink more coffee to get thru ur day ya?

mummies, can i check for those who went for the OSCAR test, wat were ur results like? it was 1:16000 for adri which means the chances of DS were very very very low and the results were fantastic. however, tis time round, itz 1:375. normal is 1:300. which means baby has 1 in 375 chances of DS. i m very worried and wonder if i shd go for the amnio test at 16 weeks though doc says the readings are normal. haiz.. sorie if i spoilt any1's morning mood..

hippo: i cant rememebr my oscar test just remember that time my gynea said its normal and i just take the report home but never take a 1nd look liao. will go back check again..
amnio test will be accurate but there is a risk involved here. u want to discuss more with ur gynea and ur hb abt doing this test?

ecookie, thanks dear... gynae is optimistic abt the results cos 1. the results are considered normal though borderline &amp; 2. from the scan pics, can see that baby's nose is not flat which is one of the physical signs of a DS. amnio test carries a 0.5% risk of miscarriage. discussed with my hb and we both would rather be cruel now than to be cruel later. (u get wat i mean?) but i wana wait for my next checkup to have a detailed discussion with my gynae b4 making any decisions to go for amnio or not. sob sob..

hippo: yah better go have a detailed discussion with ur gynea again. can you bring forward the discussion so u have more time to consider before making the decision to take the test or not? u r currently in ur 12 weeks?

gd morning mummies...

dodo, I read abt it also. Tink the syllabus r gettin more &amp; more difficult. Soon they will b learnin algebra in primary school liaoz...Or mayb learning chemistry?

totoro, how com feelin so stressed?

hippo, I cant remember wats my OSCAR readin liaoz...when will b ur next checkup? If gg for amnio will set ur mind at ease den go ahead lor. Dun worry

btw, where is ur office har?

ecookie, =) i m now 13wks+.. so dun wana drag too. i m actuali pretty positive though i know if results show otherwise, i wun hesitate to do something abt it..

maruko, xie xie! i calculated le.. the risk of DS is 0.2%. the risk of miscarriage with amnio is 0.5%. i will take the 2nd risk if the next visit to the gynae doesnt go well.. =)
my office is at alexandra!

Sugar nut,

Congrats on your smooth delivery of Leanne!

Dodo,

The pandas so cute! Gingerleaf... So funny hor... Looks like it was wearing a big black bra!

ZQ looks so adorable w his little panda...

Hmm, I don't know if isetan sells lei... If I go next time will let u know if I see it .

Hippo,

My oscar test Reading for chloe was abt 1:200... We decided we will keep her no matter how she turned out so we didn't do the amnio test... My gynae sent us to dr tc chang for fetal counselling and he went thru the detailed scan n concluded that bb shld b ok. So don't worried too much... My friend told me her friend's amino test show bb could be DS but turned out bb was normal.

dodo, i was telling my hubby that the PSLE question ok what. still can do. then i tried and i got the wrong answer! doh!! hahaha....

totoro, how come cannot sleep? very stressed huh? hope you can survive today!

hippo, didn't do scan for hannah. scan for #2 was very good... 1:20000+. altho thinking back, i probably wouldn't have done the scan for #2 if i had thot through it a bit more. because for me and hubby, we would keep baby no matter the outcome. besides, read a lot of cases where baby considered "higher risk", but turned out ok leh.

but ultimately, you have to be comfortable with your decision. i think amnio carries a higher risk than 0.2% tho. perhaps you should talk to your gynae more first, before making the decision on whether to do amnio or not?

hippo,
i'm sure your baby will be fine! dun worry :)

i didn't do any triple test or oscar when i had aidan (think gynae only measured neck fold thickness) &amp; most probably not planning to do for this baby too (if i want to, i need to do so within this couple of weeks). cos like zhen zhen, hb &amp; i also think we would keep the baby no matter what. so i tot better for me not to do any test &amp; simply hope for the best! but can't deny that a part of me also worry about the 'what ifs' scenarios too. anyway, let's think positive &amp; be positive &amp; everything will be positive!

ariajo,
congrats on arrival of naia!

sugarnut,
congrats on arrival of leanne too! wow very fast &amp; smooth delivery indeed!

last time hubby &amp; i always tot of naming our girl (if we have one) Leeanne too! cos surname is Lee so tot called Leeanne quite cool. hahaha. but recently, we've been thinking maybe should name baby 'Nadia' if baby is a girl. cos 'Nadia' means Hope &amp; the name is actually 'Aidan' spelt backwards! wahahaha i'm so lame. but i tot it will be cool &amp; meaningful. let's hope i will have the chance to use this name! heehee

hapi_ fifi: i think nadia is really cool since its aidan spelt backwards!! nothing lame about it! hope u will have the chance to use it too!
ur 1st tri coming to an end soon?

thanks maisymouse, zhen zhen &amp; hapififi for your kind advice! =) i have just brought fwd my next visit so let's hope the scans then will show something more positive! keke..

hapififi, i hope u have the chance to use Nadia! cos itz reali meaningful! very nice.. =)

hippo: yah stay positive and ask the professional for advice!

hapi fifi: brainstormed some names but still have to count the strokes after delivery so nothing conclusive yet..

Morning mummies:
back to work after 2.5 days MC last wk.

Happy Belated Bday to Adri &amp; ZQ. Wish both of u stay healthy &amp; cheerful always

Aria jo:
congrats on the arrival of Naia. Take Care &amp; hv a gd confinement.

Sugar Nut:
Congrats again on the arrival of Leanne. Ur birth story was indeed a fast one. We were still talking abt it if u will deliver on 10/10 &amp; u did
Hv a gd confinement.

hapi fifi, wow! it's cool if you can name your #2 nadia. then you have an interesting story to tell her about her name! too bad hannah's name spelt backwards is still hannah.

Hippo... dun worry too much with the oscar reading (is this the same as triple blood test?).... mine was 1:120 &amp; 1:150 for my both pregnancies. I went for the amnio for my 1st pregnancy....and the results turn out fine. I even went further to Prof Ananda for his detailed scanning to double confirm it. When I am having Marcus, even though I failed the test... I decided not to go for the amnio, cos ultimately, i know the blood test is not accurate.... it may not prove anything.

Morning mummies...

Hippo : no worries la... maybe it's not as bad as u tink
Sorry to spoil yr mood. Is amino acid test necessary? Pls ask yr gynea. There's a risk for taking tat test.

Maisymouse : Tat's the spirit. No matter if the bb is a slight chance of DS, you have the rights to keep the bb alive

Hapo fifi : kekeke great choice name. Elbib was spell opposite of bible :p kekeke.. not Anti Christ just tat we must tink of a special name tat starts with "E". We are a family of "E"

<font color="ff0000">Congrats Sugarnut!!</font>

petitgars, hee... too sure if triple test is the same as oscar but shd be similar ba! =P but thanks dear.. reali calm me down further.. =) the kids are so big now! i can imagine how u must hv worried then!

eunice, no worries dear.. thanks! u are not spoiling my mood la. for practical reasons, i might not have the same views as some mummies but i still value life alot! =) i know pple are entitled to their own views..

hippo, tink I share the same views as u. Would rather be cruel now than to be cruel later. Anyway dun tink u will need to b cruel lah. Ur baby will turn out to b juz fine.

oh mummies,

If you have mini birthday celebration for your oct bb, can consider getting dim sum for the party. We had a small party for chloe yest and ordered from yumcha express. Food is pretty good. We ordered extra mains of seafood fried mian xian and fried rice, they came with generous toppings of scallops, prawns and fish etc. My friends love the food and were all eager to bring back the brochure menu.

I just had some leftovers for lunch and feels like almost as good as eating at the restaurant cos the food comes in microwavable paper box that is able to retain steam and made the reheated food piping hot. One of the few times you wished there were more leftovers..keke

Here's the website if you are interested:

http://www.yumchaexpress.com.sg/

Been busy with work, with my ah brig etc etc. Brig starts a new cc, hope he settles down soon.

he has suddenly reached the 'terrible 2' stage aft his 2nd birthday. He favourite worlds nowaday, is "I dun want", "No", "finsh this song first", "I want to do XXXX this", "i want to sleep in my bed".. all the 1 want... i dun want... sign..

But he is charming in his own way. Whenever i had "itch" "pain" he will bring me his CB cream.. Hee hee

Aria And Sugar nut,

Congratulation !!!!!! Take care of yourself during confinment ok.

Hippo,

Dun think too much, in many cases, it is only false alarm. DS do have sertain physic that yr doc should be able to spot easily. Dun think too much and be positive.

Just make the decision that you are comfortable with.

cheers...