(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

re: causeway point,
we always love going to the ichiban sushi! i think some of the staff can recognise chloe. but so long never go liao...

Chintz : I strongly believe so as Elbib has really fine, black silky hair
I drink alot of soup too

Wah... now I realised CP is causeway point. Me morning super super blur :p sorry.

ecookie,
yaloh, seriously speaking, i also very scared she will be too stress with the house rules i set but i think i have to do it to prepare her mentally but will not really apply it so strictly lah.. and i doubt she will remember 100% of it...but the house rules will serve as a good reminder to her..

actually at the end of my session with her, i told her that she is consider part of the family already since she's alone in singapore and we're the closest to her. so if she's not happy in work or in trouble, she must confide in me and i will try to help her and i told her since you took such huge loan to work here, pls make good use of this second chance of employment and do your work diligently. You will be appreciate in heaven and your employer.. I think she was a bit teary leh when she looked into my eyes.. Don't know if I have strike a cord in her heart or what..

ariajo, if i ever decide to get a maid, will ask u for ur ultimate maid house rules. but re photo, the maid did it behind my aunt's back. think she went to take from their photo album. every time i hear about these stories, i get super paranoid about getting a maid. will tahan for as long as i can.

tiffy, mm, on lah! we go ichiban. yayayayay!!

eunice,
ohh. eating chicken rice bb will have black hair?? i ate a lot of that, not because i crave for it but because it's easily available and no need to think what to eat..wahaha.. i hope my bb will have black black SILKY hair and lots of hair! aria's hair is not black but brown and she still have a streak of gold hair that doesn't go away since birth! everyone commented how nice it is (like highlight) but actually it can associate with bad eye sight! not a very good thing. luckily PD mentioned her eyesight is all right.. phew! i was borned with defect eyes, so very worried i pass it down to her leh..

aria_jo: maybe she teared when she rememebers the many pages of instructions she signed on previously! haha ok just kidding. im sure ur maid will know that you are a nice person and hopefully will reciprocate in return. i think with maid, can only treat them w respect n fairly and hope they do the same back.

zhen zhen,

Ay, since you work at RP , have you been to admiralty park? There is a nice mangrove walking trail where you can see monkeys. There is a sakura buffet restaurant at the park too. Nice pond view.

chicken rice: alamak, i seldom eat those leh. cos i dun have any cravings for chicken this time round. but think suan le, my #2 sure got v little hair like yz, sianz. ha

ecookie, u are funny!

disregard of house rules, can only keep wishing and praying they don't do anything disgusting behind our back!

ecookie, same la. i think chloe's didi also another botak bb! see my hb u know liao LOL
but luckily chloe's hair grow after a while

zhenzhen,
well, if you can do without a maid, better to be without lor.. we have no choice
MIL told us she cannot handle the 2 kids by herself and hubby not willing to send aria to childcare! he's one of a kind one lah.. with a maid, of course the quality of life for us might be better (provided no maid problem) but it's still better without a stranger at home i feel.. i have to lock one of my drawer from now onwards and cannot anyhow put money/wallet everywhere liao..

haha, yeah, if you ever get a maid, i can pass you my ULTIMATE HOUSE RULE!
but you must know how to read bahasa lah..hehe..but then dun worry. my gf really did a good job, the house rules are written in both english and bahasa...hehe..

chintz: hhaha just want to make fun of aria_jo abit. ehhehe
yah chloe got nice lovely hair now! dun cut her fringe anymore ah! better warn ur SIL!

mm, no leh. i never really venture ard the area. i just go to school then go home. usually just bring hannah to bishan park, which is right beside my house.

aria jo, u need another tagalog version! who knows mummies here need to hire phil maid

oh btw, i think there are some agencies start to bring in myanmar maid too?

ya, ecookie,

so funny ! what you say is true: treat them w respect n fairly and hope they do the same back.

I have also seen a lot of employers treating maids badly.

Seriously, I know letting maids gossip with their fellow country pp is not a good idea but imagine we go oversea and work and not allow to talk to your kind... sometimes employer do neglect the mental health of their maids.

maisymouse, zhen zhen,
u REALLY want Ichiban sushi? cos tomolo nite i going to amk hub ichiban sushi. my hb birthday n i give him a treat. now i just finish making oreo cheesecake, not sure successful or not cos 1st time do, usually do lemon cheesecake. I don't mind having sushi for lunch if u 2 want it, zhenzhen like jap food hor.

mm, i agree with u on their mental health part.. tink i will go crazy if i go overseas and cnt talk to "tong xiang"!! haha..

aria, u have "informed" her abt ur house rules so let her do things her way and c how it goes lor.. 24 pages is reali long but i m sure u r not those abusive employer so no worries la. she is rewarded in heaven and so will u!! =P

zhen zhen, i m a klutz! walk also can fall down. sports? wat sports? hahahaha.. i have sprained 9 of my 10 fingers, both ankles and many more injuries. and no sports were involved.. imagine?? hiaks!

chintz, i like ichiban sushi too.. haha! good value for $ sushi bar chain compared to sakae. quality is better. but damn smelly!! tsk tsk..

ecookie, wakakakka! pls la.. yz's hair will grow. just give it time. rem the longest time when adri was "xiao san mao"?? ha!

ariajo, my hubby ask me to consider being SAHM after #2 arrives. but i dunno leh. i like my current arrangement now. but if i intend to continue working, then i probably need to send to kids to ILs place (cos both of them are retired + maid). dun think my mom can handle 2 kids on her own!

hippo: haha me still waiting "patiently" lor. yz coming to 2 years liao! adri's hair is sooo nice n long now! sometimes after a nap, yz hair all standing up and sparse look v mad. hb always say yz is like wearing a russian hat. hah.

tiffy, so nice! baking cheesecake.. yumz yumz!

zhen zhen, i'm waiting for the day to come where my hb asked me to be SAHM! haha

ecookie,
hahaha... may be too overwhelm with my house rules until cry??haha...but i have a feeling the previous employer a bit "kebo" lah.. when she first came, she dare not sit down and i keep telling her to sit down on the sofa which eventually she did and she told me she had never sit on a sofa before and a bit uncomfortable.. she said she always sit on the floor when she worked with her previous employers! i think her indo employer and previous SIN employer must have asked her to sit on the floor. and her breakfast is at 10, lunch at 3 and dinner at 10pm!! i told her 10pm is supper liao, not dinner! and i think she was taken a back when i asked her to eat with us on the same table (though one of my house rule is to take out a portion of her food seperately and not sharing with us).. i hope she will really appreciate working with me man..

maisy mouse, zhen zhen,
choice for restaurant in cp: Jacks, swenson, Mouth, Dian Xiao Er, Crystal Jade, breeks, delifrance, pastamanian,ichiban sushi,ramen.

chintz,
mine is no-bake oreo cheesecake.

chintz, zhenzhen,ecookie,aria jo,
OREO CHEESECAKE will make ur saliva drip or not.

aria jo,

ya lor, some singaporeans really not human la... 3 pm eat lunch 10 pm eat dinner? wake up at 4am... sleep at 1am... that kind of thing... sigh

Aria_jo : huh? her previous employer's eating habit / timing for her so late one? kekeke

my maid will sit with us when we eat. if any guest, she must go kitchen to eat.

share some house rules leh... see if we the same :p

maisymouse, ya i also ever heard employer who give bread for all 3 meals everyday. if the family dine out, the maid will also bring slices of bread to eat at the side. so ke lian.

and, she used to sleep in the kitchen! can only sleep at 1-2am, when everybody has gone to sleep...

now she's with my friend, so much happier!!

chintz/aria_jo: sometimes i hear these stories then also feel like im seeing the other side of the coin. actually alot of employers also not nice to maids one. sigh. no wonder some maids "retaliate"..

zhen zhen, me also waitin for hb to tell me to b SAHM. hehehe...

Tiffy, my saliva dripping...quick courier a piece over :p

re: maid
I tink sometimes we cant b too lax wif maids also...they tend to take advantage. Tink my maid most fortunate one. My mil will cook meals, help wif Travis, let her eat whole fish for meals, buy her fav food for her...etc. Alas, this maid of ours still not satisfied. We allow her to use hp after Travis sleep & chores done. She is still not appreciative. Sigh...
ariajo, do observe ur maid for the 1st few mths...if possible, never ever leave her alone wif aria.

chintz,
hahaha..tagalog version.. i must fine a phil collegue to do the translation..wahaha..actually i don't want to hire phil cos in laws cannot really speak english but they can speak malay. and phil need to give off day and are more well expose. so, i have never thought of hiring a phil.

hippo,
yeah, apparently she already know most of the basic things so minimal guidance leh.. she can clean very well, much better than my FIL..hehe.. i can see she really put in strength to mop the floor and not the sloppy type. i hope it's not for show lor.. i think 1 mth later, i will have a employer-employee feedback session with her..hopefully it's all abt praises and not complain..

zhenzhen,
why not? your ILs got maid somemore. but i will choose to bring back home every day so that at least at night can play and interact with our kiddos and teach them things. the 1st 3 years are really the golden years and we must really cherish them! the book i read (positive discipline) said many parents commented that they complained abt terrible 2s but they soon realise that the first 3 years is the most precious and passby so soon and the most fun and challenging! i will realy cherish these 3 years with aria and my no.2 after that, they will have their own friends and develop independence and mind set and start to argue with you.. not so fun anymore..hahah..

oh ya, 4got to mention this prev maid of mine actually made use of Travis to watch her own TV channel. Coz I subscribed BabyTV for Travis to watch & the maid changed to MALAY channel instead. It was mentioned by my mil initially. I brushed it aside until 1 day when I'm at home den saw her watchin wif Travis. -_-
She even dare to switch on TV to watch while ironin clothes.

maisymouse/eunice,
yalor..i was quite shock to hear that.. lunch at 3pm? will get gastric or not? then dinner at 10pm?? really a bit too much lor..

eunice,
haha..can, so, you also have the many pages of house rules? sekali it's the same..

maruko,
yeah, never.. someone will always be around with my maid and girl. actually her major tasks is house work and not so much to help take care of my girl for now.. may be when my no.2 is out, then she might have to help my MIL more on taking care of aria. I hope by then, aria is easier to handle, motor skill mor "jai"..haha..

tiffy, ya. i like jap a lot. we go jap restaurant so often that hannah can say udon, soba and chawanmushi. haha. but i'm perfectly fine with the other suggestions too. you and mm decide ok. i'm gg to bring hannah for class soon. will check on location after dinner. and bring a piece of oreo cheesecake for me tmr!!!!

ecookie, tiffy, i told my hubby maybe for the first sem, i just work 1 day a week. then send the kids to my ILs place for that 1 day. after that, i just take it 1 sem at a time. work once a week sounds quite shiok right? hahaha

chintz,
that is so "kebo"! my hubby said we cannot deprive the maid with food and sleep. must have proper mattress and pillow and have a good rest, then they can focus on their work. a food and sleep deprive worker how to work right?

zhenzhen: so shiok!
i also want.
anyway after #2, i will go back after 2.5m ML and use my remaining ML + leave to take mon+tue off for as long as i can. my last count, this arrangement can last me another 4-5 mths ahha
then i decide again if i want to get a nanny for #2 or i quit..

i mean mon+ fri off so for the 3 days im working , my mum can take care of #2 for me..
but not sure how receptive my boss is towards this arrangement. will touch base with her again.

ariajo, i try to minimise the number of days my ILs look after lah. cos my MIL not very easy to communicate with, and always does things her own way. now they are also looking after on 1 day. then my mom look after 1 day. i find that is the best arrangement. they get to spend time with hannah, but not THAT much time.