(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

sugar nut,
u so cute la! but v creative!

i brew the birdnest so no such bottles leh..
actually milkbag seems quite good coz not need to sterilise... hmm...

sugarnut: hi hi! u very creative leh!!!

dodo: since u got medela, i don't think u need to get avent cups also.. as in the selling point is u can pump directly to the cup and can feed directly too (without transfer)

and about the nurse, maybe we bumped into the same niao nurse hahaa

i think the lansinoh milk bags look good, tink i'll get that! mummies who used before, how many boxes u used up (50 sheets quantity)?

chintz,

but hor i feed from NUK bottles leh, so means i still have to transfer from medela bottles to a storage bottle right?

ya lah.. niao nurse, when hubby asked cant give more meh, they said no more stock liao

ya.. im now thinkg to buy the milkbag also.. but i scared i very clumsy may mess up the whole thing during the transfer leh..

Lunch time!!!

Zhenzhen,
Happy belated birthday to you! Your hb so sweet to have plan out everything for you.
I think I am experiencing the numbness on my fingers ever since I delivered. I never consult any doc or TM as I thot it's the result of never follow the don't touch water rule previously and hence water retention or something. After I was discharged from hospital then, I need to wash Kelly's milk bottle as I was home alone for the 1st week. Now, my fingers never feel the same liao .......

chintz
After you deliver the 2nd one, you can bu and ensure you do a good confinememt to get rid of all these problem I guess. That's what people was telling me.

Cups/bottles
I guess if they are made of plastic, they can't be used for too long!! I know some people using the glass juice bottle to store. I have been throwing them away as Kelly drink minimum 1 bottle to 2 bottles a day!

karrie,
u in 37 week already ya? better pack ur hospital bag now and get ready.. zq was delivered at week 38+ also.. dun bother so much abt the "suo sui" stuff, just DELEGATE! hee.. look forward to hear ur good news! wish u a smooth delivery!

chintz,

ya.. agree wi totoro, must have a very good confinement for ur #2.. coz u still have #3 and #4 to come leh.. haaa...

thanks dear! not exactly free la.. coz zq now playing wi my ayi.. she really very good, the luckiest thing happened to me when i here at BJ.. hee.. yup, just had my lunch.. very full and sleepy now...

totoro: u better get ur hand treated leh.. prolonged numbness is not good. i had a jab to clear the water retention away.

ya this round must do a good confinement liao. thanks!

dodo, same to u! hahaha :p

may i know how much is the cost for ur CL this time? this time MIL told me she cannot cook for me liao. I was so happy that i could finally engage a CL.. then suddenly she said, she'll ask if her sis wanna help me out or not for confinement food.

aiyo, i hope her sis is not free :p

so envy tat most of the toddlers here turn in so early. cherie at my mum's plc turns in at 10pm+ and usually wake up b/w 10am to 12pm. At my plc, no guarantee wor. Can sleep as late as 1.30am, yet wake up as early as 7am, then make up her sleep in the afternoon & can nap as long as 5hr!!! Come to nite time, sleep late again. really buay ta han -_-!!!

ponponta,
my hb is a late sleeper but not me. My 'engine" auto switch off at 11pm. But wif cherie ard, if she dun sleep, i also can't sleep. Very often, i'm like a zoombie accompany her. My hb either busy playin his PC game, if not turn in 1st cos he needs to work the next mornin.

dodo,
i also used the VIA cups as milk storage. I did read tat it shldn't use more than 4 times as mentioned by chintz. Stingy me saw tat the cups are still in gd condition (no out of shape or de-colorised) so din get them replaced & continued thru out my bf period. :p
Shld i hv #2, i will opt to use milk bags instead cos convenient & save storage space.

karrie,
u in 37 weeks liao ah. shld b popping anytime le, feel excited for u. hehe

totoro,
i also experienced 2 times numbness of my arms but tat was during confinement time. The numb so jia lat tat i can hardly carry cherie. I dun have any CL, basically my mum cooked at her plc & sent food over to me. then my MIL bathed cherie & washed her clothes. The rest i do myself, so touched a lot of water. So if we have #2, really have to take gd care of ourselves to "bu" back.

chintz,
so u fine to be taken care by MIL's sis? at least cheaper compared gettin a CL right? hehe

chintz,
i also raised the same qn as u!!! then my MIL said bring the tea out for a while 1st. Wait till not so cold then apply.

chintz, ponponta.. thks. his fever subsided last evening. now left w 'powerful' cough (he cant sleep well, whenever he coughed, he cried till vomit some milk/water.. is tat kind of dry cough, tink v itchy).. hmmm... so keep rubbing vicks on him... me on half day bring him for cardiac review tis afternoon... update tml..

chintz... during my time, CL for no. 2 alr 1.9K, was told if need to look aft no. 1 will b 2K. for no. 1 bb they alr charging 1.7-1.8k, these are malaysian CL, tink local ones more X thru agency. u can call up agency & chk it out unless u got friends to recommend good CL. btw, i also thot boy comes out more slower, but lance same as zann, both two weeks b4 edd. wat ecookie said is rite, hv to 'ting hua4' during confinement time, so nxt pregnancy wont feel the aches...

karrie.. pack ur hopsital bag now... wish u a smooth delivery too.

zhen zhen.. thks 4 the explanation... hope u get it treated soon..

hapififi, chintz, gingerleaf.. ya ya, thermal cooker works wonder - time & cost saving on gas/electrical bills! enjoy ur gai gai w aidan & friends =)

ok mummies enjoy ur TGIF & chatting... got to go now.

junnie,
glad to learn tat lance's fever has subsided. Just tat the cough, really an irriating one. cherie's cough also persisted for almost 1 week, finally gone yesterday. do update us on lance's review.

chersam, of cos i more keen to engage CL. oh btw, i most probably ask my mum to find 1 from indo and bring her over, so much cheaper.

if it's my mil's sis, wah, can't help much leh. just cook i think, like that i won't have much rest. sigh..

junnie, glad to know lance's fever subsided. hey, did u read about rubbing vicks on baby below 2? it's not advisable leh. if really need be, i think rub on our hands first and just slowly touch his body. not too direct yah

chintz,
agree tat a CL is better cos usually they bao ga liao. i see my frens those who got a CL were all treated like queens, so envy! hehe. Go Go Go, go get 1 fm indo & be queen. hehe

chersam, my mil is the real queen, she say yes mean yes. if she her sis can help, i LL loh.. can only look at the bright side, that maybe just need to give angbao to her. sobs.

chintz, yes yes,it is good to get CL..i also got a CL..but was $1.8K now heard is already $2K.. they really handle everything... i no need to touch water at all..wash face, hand also special boiled water.. haha...they helped to look after kids, do HW etc.. and u can be a queen...but hor, sometimes must deal with clashes lar..

dodo, no worry about cluminess..it is really easy to use.. i also a beri clumsy person.. but hor, if you are using NUK bottles, it can be used for the medela pump as well...u know, can be "screwed" on with the pump.. no need to get avent bottles..ended up with so many bottles...

junnie, good to hear lance fever is gone.. i also rub vicks on anders when he is coughing.. somehow another it helps.. i tink it is ok if you follow the instructions...

karrie, wow 37 weeks already.. better prep up your bag.. u still working next week? dun work too hard hor.. time to handover liao..heehee...

hapififi,

We seems to have a lot in common, I have pcos too n my older girl was premie too... My gynae also say I am those likely to give birth in cabs... Both girls delivered under an hr...
I collected loads of glass bottles as well ... Think e nurses r very sympathetic towards premie mummies ....

wa, u got the sack n seat! Looks cool... I already have another type of portable chair so can't buy.. u try on aidan see if he likes it.... can't managed to get Chloe to sit thru a meal too cos she refuse to b bound down.

does aidan eat plain or soupy pasta? There 's a type of colourful heinz dinosaur shaped or bellamy pasta that contains vege like tomatoes, spinach, beetroot etc... So even if give him plain n let him use hands to eat... At least he is getting carbo n veg.

dodo,

medela pumps can fit nuk, glass bottles or similar size bottles n can use directly w nuk teats... don't have to transfer.. Ya, those heinz glass juice bottles can be fitted w nuk or similar teats too... Mt A sells cheap tollyjoy caps dat fits e glass bottles in a pack. Medela bm storage bottles r bf free n q expensive.

zhenzhen, wow..your hb very sweet, u can get to rest for the day...

i also noticed after delivery, i felt numbness in my right foot.. but hor, doc say is becos i never excercise..

Hi mummies ! Have not got time to look thru the achieves. Was on MC the last 3 days so busy clearing emails and work. Now still coughing thou not as bad as last few days.

Zhen Zhen, Congrats ! best birthday present

How's the gathering coming along ? Decided on any venue ?

<font size="+1"><font color="aa00aa"><u>Gathering on 1 May:</u></font></font>
1) Jas + HB (Maybe) + 2kids
2) Tiffy + HB + 1 kid
3) Junnie + HB + 2 kids
4) Dodo + HB (maybe) + 1 big 1 small (in tummy) :p
5) chintz + HB + 1 kid
6) ariajo + 1 kid
7) bbwow
8) Hapi Fifi + HB + 1 kid
9) Twinkle_stars
10) Sugar nut
11) zhen_zhen + hb + 1 kid
12) doobom
13) chersam + 1 kid
14) ponponta + HB + 1 kid
15) hippo + HB + 1kid
16) Totoro + HB + 1 kid
17) Jovialz + HB (Maybe) + 1 kid
18) Gingerleaf
19) Ecookie

storing breast milk, here are some options that i had previously used:

lansinoh breast milk bags:
very convenient, use one time and then throw away, recommended for very busy moms. and also space saving however it is expensive, better to buy online or BP. i got tired of spending $$ on this, cause after a few months i felt very sayang since can one time use only.

glass bottles from hospital:
the cheapest option, i got some of these later from a friend comes with the caps. just need to sterile in boiling water after each use, glad my maid did this for me. so happy no need to spend $$ on milk bags anymore.

avent bottles with sealing discs:
since i use avent bottles, i bought avent sealing discs so i can transform the bottles to storage bottles, i also use these when i bring out baby. straight from fridge and into my bag, then outside i will heat it up and straight feed myra, find it very convenient as after the milk is warm just replace the sealing disc with avent teats, so no need to transfer from milk bag to bottle when outside. reusable.

dodo, yes yes.. agreed with MM, medela BM storage bottles are expensive.. i bought 3 for like $24..

chintz, no wonder anders stay in my tummy for an extra week... =( still anxiously waiting for him to be out.. i tink it is ok to drink chicken essence but moderately.. eat durian also help.. if you like durians...=)

karrie: wow exciting! better prepare ur bag soon, heard #2 normally come out faster than #1!
looking forward to hear the good news from you anytime now!

ponponta: wah, got CL like really very good. i think for my next one, i surely want to engage a CL too. my confinement was at my MIL last time. also quite tiring cos cant really order her to do things mah. :p

chintz: hope u can get a CL from indo think it ll be much easier for you cos now still got chloe to handle along with the newborn..

I was using lansinoh milk bag back then. I got bulk from amazon with promo then. I prefer this as I can store in feed size so that it's easy for my mum to just take one packet out and feed and can store flat (my mum's fridge space is a premium).

I don't have the problem of warming the milk outside as I feed 'direct from the source' when we go out.

madlynette, hi hi!!
thanks for sharing.
come to think of it, i also bought medela bottles before, while i was still using the pump. then not long after i bought the extra bottles, the pump broke down. darn! :p

so i think i'll see if all my avent + medela bottles are enough to be swopped around or not. then if necessary then buy milk bags. not as if my supply is a lot either :p

jovialz: how are you!? drink more water! im also abit down with flu and throat abit irritating like gonna have sore throat soon. bleh.

chintz,
just tell ur hb this time u will engage CL lor.hehehe

dodo,
Medela pump u bought will come with 2 storage with cap, right? cos last time i bought also come with it. then i bought another 3 more medale storage bottle. but in the end not enough and troublesome to sterilise so many storage bottles and milk bottles. so in the end, i bought storage bag, pigeon brand. v convenient.

ponponta,

i have been very busy with some long term projects at work, when they are completed hopefully can come to chat more, now can only lurk.

ecookie,
quick quick and drink more water. grab some lozenges if you can, don't let it develop into sore throat. Now I'm still taking cough syrup and medication to make my airway not so sensitive. It is vicious cycle ( Throat ticklish -> Cough -> even more ticklish / sensitive -> Cough .... )

chintz,
sigh..... u always left with no other choice becos of ur mil.

madlynette,
u mia for so long time.

gingerleaf,
where r u? how ur experiment with the mini shuttle chef?

jovialz,
hope u recover soon.

jovialz, 3 days MC,no joke leh.. glad to hear you are recovering now..

ecookie, aiyo.. u also kanna the flu bug arh? better see doc and get MC... =)

jovialz,
reminds me last time when i direct latch, myra tends to get hungry faster, so i pump and bottle feed, she can tahan longer, lol.

thanks mummies for all ur advices!

duno that NUK bottles can fit in medela pump leh.. that's good! i think i will do the same as chintz, recycle all my avent milk bottles.. then if really not enough will get milkbag.. my supply not that lot also loh.. :p

chintz, ponponta: hahaha i was thinking of the same thing too, if still sick over the weekend, the monday can get MC hiaks!

jovialz: yah drinking lotsa water till urine also clear one haha but throat still dry. no coughing yet, hope the flu will go away and just that. *fingers crossed*

one more ques.. for the NUK bottle to fix on medela PIS pump, is it normal NUK bottles or premium type? coz mine is premium milk bottles.. my sis just told me cant fix on leh.. thanks ya!

chintz,
alamak, drink also like that.. if never drink lagi worse right? i only manage to TBF when zq abt 3mths old.. then i think till 7mths need to supplement wi FM again.. my supply quite pathetic one..

dodo,
sorry ah..today, meeting from 9am till lunch! yes, that's the one but get the silicon one.. not the latex one hor..

regarding milk storage:
i use glass bottle. we're pro glass even aria's milk bottle is glass. milk bag are expensive in long run cos can only use 1 time..and i also dun know how much to get since dunno got milk or not..

for me, when we brought aria home for the 1st time, i asked hospital (raffles) for the glass bottle.. they dun give a lot , may be 5-6 bottles? nurse told me some ohter mummies want to express and keep for their new born. anyway, everytime i bring aria for PD check up, i will go to labour ward and ask nurse for bottles..so i accumulate quite a number..keke..i prefer similac bottles as it can store up to 120ml per bottle.

glass bottle is good in a sense even with numerous sterilisation, the chemical structure of the bottle will not disintegrate unlike plastic. in the beginning i use avent but after the BPA thingy, we swtiched all to glass.

yes, avent VIA cannot only reuse up to 4 times leh.. though when you sterilised you dun see any changes in the cup, but you can't really tell if there's any chemical leak. i guess that's why avent only advise use up to 4 times cos i guess atfer that they cannot guarantee BPA dun leak out.