(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

I'd also changed to glass bottle (evenflo with Nuk's teats). Surprisingly it doesn't break that easily as my dear son once threw the bottle from the playpen onto the floor and after through inspection, no crack at all

ponponta,
i just asked my sis. she's using Medela PIS Adv and NUK premium bottles also.. they cant fix on leh.. the NUK bottle u mention is those normal slim type is it? mine is the Premium one..

ecookie,
i never see NUK milk storage bottles leh, only those normal milk bottles. and 1 already costs $13! if i got many bottles to store in fridge very "zhong4 ben3" leh..

dodo, looks like option 1 to me. moreover some mummies said NUK bottles can be fixed on medela pump right?

what's the pro in NUK bottles ah?

sugarnut,
usually aria would be lying down on the bed or her pram when drinking milk. you mean lleyton drink milk in his high chair?

dodo, yes yes.. that is the medela bottles that i bought..i have 10 of them + 50 milk bags..enough to last me thru 6 months BFing era..

jovialz,

hee.. i never see evenflo glass bottles b4 leh.. can i fix NUK premium teats on it? does it "break" easily? coz glass bottles sounds very fragile to me leh... :p

coz i got some Avent milk bottles on hand.. i think 6 of them.. sigh, very luan now...

dodo,
I'd got my evenflo from amazon. Saw kiddy palace selling them here too (but didn't check the price). Caelen threw from play pen onto the floor and it didn't crack at all.

If you already have the avent, then don't waste can continue to use lor. Have you tried whether the teats for your new nuks bottle be fix on Avent since both also wide neck ?

chintz,

my sis intro NUK to me, and i think zq takes it well so i just stick to it.. i like the shape of its teats.. got a few times i let zq tried on Avent teats, he almost choke.. i guess most prob he used to NUK teat liao..

ponponta,
u got 10 medela bottles! then must have spent a bomb ya! where u bought the bottles?

jovialz, didn't know evenflo bottle so cheap! i always thought glass bottle is ex! :p

dodo, can get medela bottles at KP. if im not wrong, mothercare also selling, i got 4 of them, needa buy new avent bottles when it's near to due date.

chintz,

paisei, forgot to reply u on confinement lady...
she charged me $2k.. exp hor, so heartpain.. my mama wana do it for me but i think it's super tired on her, coz she has to take care zq for me, if she still needs to take care small bb and cook for me, very xiong! then this time round i wana rest at nights, coz last time hubby and me took turn to wake up for zq's midnight feed.. very tiring.. small bb will sleep wi confinement lady, i will only wake up to latch him on or express milk loh...

sugarnut,
water you still feed from bottle? can try sippy cup or straw cup liao... we reserve milk bottle for milk only..save of the teats also..hehe..

dodo, no prob. our thread got too many topics liao :p thanks for sharing.

my MIL said during confinement, can 'deposit' chloe at her place from mon-fri so i focus on the little bb. weekend bring home cos hubby can help to take care. let's hope she won't change her mind again :p

so ur CL will bring lil bb to u when he's awake for milk, and then carry him back to sleep with her ya?

dodo,
Not too sure how KP is selling the glass bottle. I guess is about $9 since normally such things are more expensive in Singapore than in US. But no harm checking it out. If I happen to go pass any KP, will check for you too

chintz,

oic.. but u can bear to part wi chlow for so long? i think u will miss her very much right... but she's very kind to offer that, so u can rest well and focus on small bb

ya, that's what she said.. she will carry to my room so i can feed him then after feeding she will bring him back to her room.. my sis's SIL recommended me coz she had v good experience wi her, hope it turns out well.. heard too many daunting experience of CL.. *fingers crossed*

jovialz,
wah so nice of u!!!!!! muacks!!!!
can help me check can the evenflo bottles fix on NUK premium's silicone teats if not too troublesome for u... :p
$9 vs $1.. really alot!

yah.. normally at home we use the straw water bottle, but my mum still prefers to give him bottle. and we also use bottle to fill water cos' when he wakes up for his sleep, he will reach for his bottle to drink.

dodo, wat about u? u mentioned that ur mum will take care of zq for u, that means zq will stay in JB with ur parents? while u are at ur MIL house to do confinement. is that right?

sugar_nut, my ILs also prefer to let chloe drink water from milk bottle leh. weird, everytime i prepare straw bottle for them, they never let chloe drink. come home the water still full. now i also lazy to wash and prepare for them liao.

think elderies scared they choke while drinking water too fast is it? (from straw)

NUK premium is wide neck bottle right ? Don't think can use for that. I'm using the NUK standard neck bottle cap and teats.

chintz,
i will do my confinement at my mama's house..

jovialz,
yup, NUK premium is the wide neck bottle.. aiya, then this option out liao.. thanks gal!

dodo, oh u changed plan! nice! btw, how u bring small bb to malaysia when he's only a few days old? passport can be done?

chintz,
ya, so we need to make his BC and passport once he borned! hee.. then usually it takes 3-4 days.. so either i stay at my MIL's place that few days or i continue my hosptal stay loh..

dodo,
you c-sec right? then better choose a monday or tuesday so that dun eat into weekends? may be can check with whether can expedite the passport process for bb. then you just stay 3 night at hospital and discharge and straightaway go back to JB.

wow.. thread moving so fast.. cannot catch up...

dodo, just curious.. since the NUK premium is wide neck, can it fit avent teats? i like NUK design..avent very plain and boring.. heehee...

yes, i spend a bomb on the medela bottles.. got it from robinson..but no choice lar, got that time express until very shiok, and the consumption each time is like 240ml...really feel like a cow.. wahaha...

jovialz, i am like the old grandmama..sylvester cat also prounced on tweety..me like to be chased.. heehee..

chintz, hi-5!! my ILs also love to use the milk bottle to drink water.. somemore teat #2.. scared he will get choked...

aria,
duno yet leh.. gonna consult my spore gynae again when back to spore.. if his advice is c-sec, then i will choose a "better" date to minimise the waiting time for passport.. ya, i also have the same thinkg wi u, after the 3 days stay, straightaway head to JB!

ponponta,
ya.. when i use Medela PIS, i also pump till very shiok leh.. hee, if not im preggie then, i think i will continue to pump! :p
wah! anders drinks alot!!!

chintz,
I forgot how much I paid for the shuttle chef. Was abit kiasu, bot it when lyn just started out on purees. =p I got it from bps!

Hapi fifi,
I cook 5 scoops(friso) of jap rice and used 300ml of water, plus broccoli, young corn, minced beef and pumpkin. It cme out very sticky and thick, like a gooey paste and lyn loves it. Woohoo! I never back up la. Never thot abt it.
Thanks for the tips!

Dodo,
I used via cups. But have to change after a while coz on the box it says must change after ard 7 uses. Plus u need to sterilise b4 use. Milk bag is cheaper I think. Unless u dun mind and use the cups all the way w/o changing.

just wana vent here!

zq had declared his FOOD WAR wi me since last night.

porridge - pui! rice - pui! mee sua - pui! fruits - pui! bread - pui! biscuit - pui!

only food he takes now is milk + cereal.

no sign of teething and sickness at all. still can scream on top of his lungs. still can run fast and climb up n down.

i BTH already. just let him sit on highchair now wi no TV, no one entertain him. wan to let him know that he can never come down to play if he dun eat! super angry now! ARGH!!!!

wow, so many posts to follow !

well, well, all these talks on bf and milk bottles, hahaha...just like wat we discussed when we were pregnant

dodo,
do keep an eye on zq when you grounded him on his highchair. My hubby's cousin's son (same age as our toddler), just fell from his highchair last week and big bruises right under his eyes. Lucky thing is he didn't hurt his eyeball. It was a close shave. This fella was trying to climb out of the highchair when mummy wasn't looking.

Btw, jav also declared his food war these few days. He didn't eat his lunch and dinner!! Sama sama !! Is it a phase that they have to go through at this stage?

karrie,
i've thrown away the glass bottles after i stopped breastfeeding & i lent my bottle caps to a friend so i can't lend to you.

re: glass bottles
the glass bottles i collected from the nursery were the empty used ones (which they would throw away anyway)...the nurses not so nice give so many bottles with milk! haha

mm,
wah both your gals are preemies? how many weeks premature are both of them? is chloe more premature than her sister? i very scared if i have a 2nd one & he/she even more premature than aidan, who's already born at week 34. i can't imagine if any more earlier than that. it was quite a traumatic experience, esp the milk feeding & jaundice parts!

i let aidan try on the sack n seat at home but he was very determined to get out of it! haha anyway, i will still lug it to HK & see how i can make him sit in it! it's really very compact & light.

dodo & sanbebe,
seems like zq & jav are behaving like aidan! but i doubt they will break aidan's record. my boy hasn't been eating any proper breakfast, lunch & dinner for 2 weeks! this has sort of evolved into a routine cycle every 2 months! in fact, he hardly eats anything & drinks very little milk. super headache. but i'm trying my best to take it easy since he's still as active & poos well.

I'm trying to attain the level of "zen-ness" whereby I won't be affected by whether he eats or drinks or sleeps. Haha but it is very very difficult to reach this level!

Just want to share with you gals these extracts I read:

“When a happy, active toddler suddenly develops picky eating habits, it’s more likely to be a sign of self-assertion than a sign of sickness. Since rebellion at the dining table is a normal accompaniment of toddlerhood, don’t try to fight it. Chances are you won’t beat it anyway. Instead, give up without a fight and let freedom of choice ring for your little rebel which eventually may decrease his need to rebel.”

“Toddlers are notoriously fussy eaters. In fact, most children go through a phase of refusing to eat one food or another. Though it may be a headache for you, refusing foods is actually an important part of growing up because it is one of the first ways your little one can begin to assert their independence. Picky eating may have less to do with the actual food than his need to push the limits of your authority and to assert some control over his life. This is why pressuring a child to eat often backfires.”

“If it seems like your toddler is always trying to get out of meals, rest assured, when they are hungry, they will eat! Some toddlers graze all day, which makes them less hungry at meal times, others don’t want to take time away from playing. The most important thing to remember is to relax. If you have real concerns or they are losing weight, then of course it is important to speak to their physician, but usually, your toddler is just being a toddler. It’s extremely important not to turn mealtime into the most dreaded time of the day. When that happens, there are no winners.”

Dodo,

relax, is a passing phrase only. Dun wory... dun be angry w him, he can sense yr frustration and unhappiness, he will be affected. If he is hungry, he wil want t eat. Sometime as adult we also dun feel like eating without any reason.

re, g;ass bottle,

I change all brigbottle to glass bottle too, i order from mum fairy, can use for all standard teat. They have silcone protector if you are worried if they will break it. So far brig is ok, when ever he finished his milk, he will stand up and hold on to the bottle till i 'save him'

Brig,

think h really asthamic, i called the PD, he told me to put him on his inhalr, just one day, he no longer coughing...

hapififi, orh i see...it's ok then, i think i'll ask the hospital for the used glass bottles then, and then buy the caps off some mummy here.

i feel like changing to glass bottles also. over long run, think will save money on having the keep changing the plastic ones rite, even the BPA free ones also dunno whether 100% safe not.

dodo, how is zq doing? eating more? think like hapififi says, he's just asserting himself...take it easy and dun stress urself out ok?

oh yah i was having contractions throughout friday nite n sat morning. was supposed to attend my school's sports day but decided to monitor the contractions instead....luckily subsided by evening...heng ah im not ready for bb to come out yet, coz daddy got a gout attack so he's practically an invalid now. can u imagine a heavily preggy lady in the throes of labour n an almost-crippled man hobbling on a walking stick hurrying to MAH...gonna be a funny sight i tell ya.

karrie,
i saw those caps selling in kiddy palace too. can't remember how much. maybe around $1.50 to $2 each? quite ex if buy a lot :-(

oh dear, your hb got gout attack? hope he is better now & can recover soon else it will really be quite a 'comical' sight like what you said! try not to exert yourself or walk too much these few days :)

Hapi fifi,

No, Chloe wasn't premie... she came out at 37th week.. so don't worry... just that your 2nd one should be a short labour too.

Karrie,

Get the caps from Mt A pharmacy.. not too ex... 1 big bag.