(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

mummies: just want to check how long should we change teats and pacifiers?
yz's teats like abit milky like that, not sure if its common or if its time to change?

avent only got up to #4 for teats? if the flow need to be any faster need to cut the hole bigger ourselves isit?

ecookie: i think the recommended one is 3mths.

aria: wah the nurse at raffles is very generous ya..

oh, i use NUK caps.. 1 cap cost abt $2. i ahve abt 40 bottles, that's like $80!! i've seen very cheap caps but i scared the plastic very lousy..

i keep at most 25 bottles of frozen EBM because i prefer to give aria fresh EBM (not thawed ones). whenever any bottle more than 3 months or 4 months, i will throw away the milk though i was told we can keep up to 6 mths..

fresh EBM an be stored up to 2 night. by the 3rd day, i will transferred to freezer if aria is not drinking it. so far so good. so, even monday she gets to drink fresh EBM (unthawed ones) cos on friday i will store the EBM in the lower chill compartment and take out on monday to warm. never spoilt before and never once she had diarrhea because of this.

chintz,
5-6 not a lot leh.. i heard thomson give like 10 bottles? my gf told me cos she got it from there..hehe.. so, when raffles nurse give me 5 bottles, i was frowning..hehe..so, everytime we drop by hospital for her check up, i will be thick skin and go up and ask them for more..keke..

re: caps
so the caps that are available in stores, confirm can fit those glass bottles we get from hospital? are their size the same?

jovialz. chloe's HC now is 48.5cm. she looks very tua tao when compared with her some of her playmates (similar height)

chintz,
NUK caps available at kiddy palace... yes, can fit.. you know the baby juice. i think can fit those too.. i use some to keep EBM also when i ran out of hospital glass bottles.

ecookie, i tink change teats every 3mths.. mine already used for 6mths, tink time for change...

any babies still on pacifier? how to wean them off? anders very dependent on his pacifier ever since he go to infant care...

madlynette, do join us for a chat when you are free....

ariajo, i tried to freeze the excess BM before and bring it to the lower compartment to chill before warm and feed...but hor, it got such a wierd smell that anders refused to drink..so if got any excess BM after 2 days, it will be thrown away...=( feel so wasted...

ponponta, chintz: thanks. i think i very slow in changing his bottles, teats, pacifiers etc! just changed his bottles cos his bottles like used for the past 7-8 m liao!! *bad mummy*
then noticed the new teats(size 2) that came with the bottles like very clear wheras his current ones abit milky. current one used ard 4m liao. think better go n get new one this weekends. same as his pacifiers.
whenever i want to get new pacifiers, hb sure said its time to wean him. but i dun have the heart leh. somemore he used it only during sleep/nap time.

ponponta, ya those that fresh EBM that never frozen for 2 days, i also throw away liao. i wonder how come ariajo still can transfer it to the freezer.

btw, chloe still on pacifier too, but only for sleeping. sometimes i try to 'cut down' by not offering her pacifier. sometimes ok, other times she'll ask for it.

chintz,
I remember someone mention that she use those brand 'essence of chicken; bottle to keep BM for early days when baby don't drink so much at one go.

hehe, when I buy tee-shirt for Caelen, I'm more worried about if the 'head opening' is big enough then the lenght and width. I guess since from birth his head circumference is in 95%, so more at 49cm+ should be ok (still 95%).

ecookie, dun say that lar, i also have not change the bottles at all.. only teats and pacifiers...but hor, my teats even though used for 6mths not milky leh.. still pretty clear..but my GF teats is very milky..i dunno why?

any mummies still sterilizing? i already stopped since he turned 1YO..

jovialz, u make me curious abt anders HC.. coz he always big head..that time went PD, she was saying..wow, so big head.. must measure..heehee.. but that big head is inherited from the daddy..the daddy is used to have nick name as tweety bird..haha...

chintz: yz also dependent on pacifier for sleeping. come night time, he will want the full package. he will ask for 'du du" for pacifier and "cho cho" for his smelly beanie! ha

ponponta, i still sterilize, thinking that so convenient. the device also still there. no need to keep first, keep liao later still have to dig out from store room :p *lazy mummy*

jovialz, ya just now sugar_nut popped in to share her creative storage with birdnest bottle n nescafe gold bottle! hehehe

ponponta: im still sterilizing though my hb been pestering me to stop but i think i may start by sterilize once e day only when he turns 18m..

ponponta, hehe i must take a look at ur 'tweety bird' at the next gathering hehee

the nurse at poly also kept silent a while after she said chloe's head big. then she looked at us both.. and said. oh, ok lah. cos parents also big head!!! if parents not big head, then we'll get worried :p

ecookie: yz so cute
premium package ah!

chintz/ponponta,
oops, i think i mentioned wrongly. the EMB can be keep in the lower compartment for 3 days. I learn from one mummy one.. so, friday to monday is 3 days.. and all EBM has this oily (chou4 yiu2) smell unless is it really fresh from source.. if the EBM does not smell sour, it's ok but of course cannot by 3rd day, if not consume must moved up to freezer liao.. you dun believe you try 1 bottle and keep for 3 days. bring to freezer. next day, thaw it. it's smell the same lor as in oily smell..hehe..

chintz, hi-5! I also din know must change teats until someone mentioned about changing teats in this forum.. that was like maybe 1 yr later.

Mine dun use pacificer, but he likes to bite on the bottle milk teats and press them in for fun or after he finished his milk. I thk he takes that as pacifier substitute. But when the milk teats start to tear, I have to replace, otherwise it drop off and he swallow then jialat!

I still sterilise also.. used to it liao. Maybe I scared I dun wash properly, so at least sterilise can kill more germs.

Btw, do the bottom of your milk bottles have white stains? I use bottle brush to scrub but sometimes still got have some white colour stuff below.

I also still sterilize once a day for Caelen. Partly because I'm using the microwave type, so it's perpetually 'store' inside the microwave. If take out, also got no place to keep :p

chintz: hahhhahah the part where the nurse kept silent look at u guys then said chloe's big head is ok cos parents got big heads is very funny lor!!

sugar_nut, i dun have prob with the white part at bottom of bottles. u want to try rinsing with hot water 1st? maybe those are hardened undissolved milk powder?

sugar_nut: last time when i scrubbed a lot, also left a lot of white stains. it looks like scrubbing stain to me. then i learnt about the BPA thingy that we're not supposed to scrub the plastic as that will cause the chemical leaking.

so now i always wash shortly after feeding, if no time, at least rinse away the milk and soak the bottle with water first. then wash with soup, etc etc and sterelize (same thought as u, in case i didn't clear the bottles properly :p)

oh.. so not supposed to scrub at all ah?

chintz, u and HB's head v big meh? haha.. the nurse v humourous leh.

I thk lleyton's head also v big.. cos' until now he sometimes still cannot balance.. run or walk half way can suddenly trip one. Sit down also can sometimes topple.. like humpty dumpty.

sugar_nut: u r even more humourous! :p
but it does seem to me that lleyton got big head too, see from ur blog!

and about the scrubbing: im not very sure also leh. that's wat i read. so i also think since i never scrub now, probably it's okay for me to use the bottles for more than 6mths hehehehe

*cheapo mummy*

chintz.sugarnut,
change to glass bottle lah..then you can even pass to no 2, no 3.. and you dun have to be afraid of scratches on the milk bottle or chemical leak..keke...

aria,
noted on the silicone nipple shield!

re: changing bottles & teats
zq stopped using bottles when he abt 8 mths old.. so i only change his only bottle (to make milk) once every 3 mths.. as for teat, lagi dun have to change coz he not using it! hee.. then for pacifier, i change every month.. he also uses it when he's napping/ sleeping.. it's a MUST to him, think if w/o pacifier, he cant sleep at all.. and everytime when i bring him to bed for his nap time, he will pass his pacifier to me, instructing me to wash for him before his "consumption"! faint..

re: big head,
i long time never measure zq's HC liao leh.. later go n measure and update u all.. hee.. coz he was borned big head, but now seems ok leh..

chintz/sugarnut,
cannot let them unsupervised when drinking milk lor.. so far aria didn't throw leh.. she will pass me the bottle once she finishes..hehe..but must be around to monitor her lor. play safe. i take this time as a resting time for me. other time, she will be busy walking here and there ..hehe...

aria_jo, then I cannot even rest liao..haha. I normally take his milk to quickly do some stuff that can be out of sight, like quick shower or cook / eat lunch.

chintz,
no lah..haha...but i sure hope she is.. or at least more yiu1 ya3 than my niece.. my niece i will pengsan.. she can climb poles like a monkey! headache!

sugarnut,
i see.. usually i do thing when aria is taking a nap.. else need to ask FIL or hubby to look after him then can do my things.. but does lleyton has a habit of flinging the bottle away?

aria jo, he will just leave it one side when he finishes when lying down.

But sometimes we use one as his water bottle, then he may sweep it off his high-chair if he is naughty.

sugar nut & aria,

how i wish he wans to drink from bottle!!!!!
he sees milk bottles like see ghost like that, duno why... so i got no choice to spoon feed him eversince he abt 8mth old.. recently he's better to drink from cup, but to drink 200ml of milk still abit challenge, so usually i will spoon feed him like 70% then cup feed 30%... can be quite messy initially, but they will slowly improve loh.. i really hope didi will not give me such prob! can u imagine other than his normal meals, i still have to feed him for his milk.. faint!

after all the feedbacks on breastmilk storage...

im thinkg of 2 options:

1) buy medela bottles that can be fixed on my breastpump. so after each pumping session i just store in fridge. but i think medela bottles not cheap lah. later on transfer to NUK bottles for feeding.

2) buy Avent milk container. transfer from my medela breastpump after expressing. then use Avent teats for feeding later on.. no more NUK bottles (but the prob is i used to NUK bottles liao leh)...

my main objectve is to minimise the "transfer".

how ah mummies? can advise me which way better?