(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

hapififi, thanks!! i have a endo thermal cooker at home.. but also white elephant.. hb prefer to cook using stove cause faster.. even slow cooker he also dun like

hippo, enjoy your shopping in HK, 买东西吃东西..heeheee...

chersam, cherie really sleep very late... saw your post.. you and your hb also late sleepers? maybe she want to play with you... i am trying to get anders to sleep before 9pm so that he can wake up before 730am.. if not, i have to wake him up for infant care....but napping he not very good..nap 1 time for btwn 0.5 to 2 hours depending on his mood...

karrie, which week are u in already? on ML? when is your EDD again? how are u feeling?

ecookie,
ya loh.. he dun like to eat but like to sleep.. maybe he too active, running & climbing up & down his every waking moment, so tired easily.. wahaha...

tiffy,
ya.. so at night we will watch movies

true, he wake up really early! hubby very poor thing coz he's the one who attend to him and feed him breakfast while i continue to zzz till 8am when he's going to work.. but when small bb borned, i will not have such "luxury" anymore.. :p

hapi fifi, thanks for sharing. prob will invest one on the thermal, since it's so convenient.

dodo, chloe's sleeping time about zq. by 9pm sleeps liao, til 6am. my alarm rings, she also wakes up to greet me! i just hope during weekend she could wake up later :p

ponponta,
but i find use stove i gotta spend at least 1 to 1.5 hours to cook the porridge in order to get the texture i want. then gotta keep stirring & watch the fire. sometimes i forgot about it while watching over aidan & i ended up with burnt porridge & black pot! haha and you are so lucky that your hb cooks!

hippo,
enjoy your HK trip! dun forget to share share good finds when you are back :)

dodo,
zq doesn't like eat but at least he likes to sleep so you can get more 'rest' & 'me' time. aidan doesn't like to eat nor sleep! he can go without afternoon naps. he usually sleeps around 830-9pm & wakes up at 8am. but recently, he has been waking up around 7am. once he's awake, he never stops moving until it's time to sleep at night. i'm super tired! heehee

chintz,
that's the prob ya! they dun bother weekends & PH! sob sob.. and once his eyes open he super busy! will fetch his daddy specs for him and my slippers & hairclip for me.. must find ways to wake us one!

hapi fifi,
aidan dun wan nap at all huh? he really very energetic! his battery more long lasting than energiser leh.. if u try to nap beside him, will he sleep? ya, i notice nowadays they wake up earlier leh.. zq last time wake up at 7-730am.. now 630-7am.. hope it's not getting any earlier!

side track abit.. anyone knows how much the Avent VIA cups sells at Spore? i saw BJ here sells at abt S$16 for the 10 VIA cups packaging.. duno cheaper or not.. wish to buy and store my BM.. thanks!

hapi fifi,
enjoy ur lunch & gai gai!

dodo, zq does that too? haha.. chloe will also fetch my specs for me once she gets down the bed. bth!

dodo, sorry i hv no idea on the price. but is storing in the cups better or at those bags? last time i didn't buy any. just keep in the bottles! :p

hapififi, aidan is like energetic bunny.. but the amazing part is he dun eat much, never nap yet so energetic.. haha..
enjoy your lunch...

dodo, ZQ so sweet.. still help you get specs, slippers etc...he is a good helper!!

chintz,
ya la, BTH right.. wana fake sleep also cannot.. coz he will die die wan me put on the slippers!

i duno leh.. last time i also store in those avent milk bottles.. but got prob stacking them up in fridge leh.. so now thinkg to buy the VIA cups since the cover is flat can stack up.. as for milk bag, i never use b4 leh.. still prefer cups coz can be reused...

dodo, need to find out.. i used to store in the cups but later on i bought milk bottles to store them in the exact qty for feed, so if needed to just warm up and can feed liao. heehee.. excess will be in milk bags.. =)

ponponta,
he's being KPO! he "force" us to put on specs, slippers and hairclip only then he contended.. if we fake sleep and ignore him, he will put the slippers on my face!

ponponta,
oic.. but coz i use NUK milk bottles leh.. then use Avent bottles to store, so i still need to transfer the milk.. so i just store whatever amt i pump out in a bottle each time..
is milk bag "user friendly"? easy to pour out? cant be reused right?

dodo, chintz: zq n chloe are so cute. they want you guys to wake up fast fast to play with them! for yz, he'll roll ard himself if he sees me asleep, only when i wakes up then he'll bring my specs to me haha.

dodo, yes.. the milk bag very easy.. just pour inside and can zip up (like those ziplock bags)..easy to pour out... but can only used 1.. it can be stack on top of each other, save a lot of space... cheap too!!

ponponta,
is it??!! cham, i used the Avent milk bottles to store my BM one whole year when i expressed milk for zq!!! only sterilise everyday.. it's the same few bottles that i keep using leh.. din know cant use for that long..

ecookie,
yz so thoughtful la! let mama sleep longer... very good boy!

ponponta,
coz i very clumsy, duno will pour the milk out all over the place or not leh.. really very easy to use huh? cheap also? i got impression it's costly leh.. how much per pc huh? thanks!

ecookie, YZ so good boy.. wait till you wake up den bring specs..

come to think of it,anders will either cry to wake us up if not he will hit us until we wake up.. so violent..

Dodo,
I tried many times napping next to him but doesn't work. Actually I'm the one who wants to sleep cos I'm so tired. He just sit on the bed & play with my face & body until I can't sleep! Haha. I also wonder where he got his energy from, given that he hardly eats anything!! Sometimes if he's really tired, he might take a power nap of less than 30min haha

That time I bought the avent cups at metro. Maybe it was on sale cos I rem paying less than $30 for 20 cups (ten 240ml & ten 200ml ones) & comes with 2 avent spoons. I used them to store milk then after I stopped bf, I used them to store soup stock & purees for aidan :)

dodo, i think ponponta meant cups, not bottles? i also confused now.. hehe

i also pump at the right amount and just reheat whenever need to feed. i see lotsa mummies use bags. have the same questions like u too! is it easy to pour? bla bla bla..

what's the bag brand that is recommended ah?

chintz, i used to use VIA cups..but because it cannot last for more than a month, i switch to storing them in Avent milk bottles and milk bags for excesss...

Dodo,
I think the avent via cups can be used to store milk & food leh. At least that's what written on the packaging & in avent website. Like u say, it's convenient cos got measurements. Plus can put the container in warm water to heat up the bm or purées too :)
reuse & recycle! Help save the earth! Haha

ya hor, just read this ->
VIA Cups are sterile-packed for immediate use and can be re-sterilised and used again. We recommend using VIA Cups no more than four times, then dispose/recycle.

chintz, haha,, thanks! i read something like that... so i feel guilty for using so long... dunno if sterilized too much, after a month.. become out of shape..so throw away liao...

Oops!!! I never read that part! Haha but ok la, aidan is still growing fine ;-)

Dodo,
u can also collect those glass milk bottles from the hospital when u deliver. That time I collected over 50 bottles & use them to freeze my bm. Just need to buy the covers (which are also sold in gleneagles). The nurses very nice. Ask me to take the glass bottles cos they going to throw them away anyway.

Ok I really go to go now. Tata!

hapi fifi! how come u collected 50 over bottles? wow.. oh is it bcos aidan stayed there for jaundice treatment?

i remember chloe only drank 2-3 times at the hospital, and they gave only 2 bottles upon discharge at TMC!

hapififi! wah 50 over glass bottles?!?! can i get some from u if u still have them?? i dun mind paying for the caps coz i know they're quite ex...

ponponta, me in week 37 now...not on ML yet, next week is my last week at work...EDD is 20 april...still got so many 'suo suo sui sui' things to clear at work plus all my marking...

glass bottles:
oh yah i collected like ard 10 when i discharged. the nurses asked me to keep and initially i got no BM so yz drank alor FM 1st few days so got a bit of these bottles. but i didnt store my BM in them after awhile cos i still prefer storing in avent bottles. just need to reheat n feed. i very scared of bateria entering when doing the transfer ha

Mummies! advices needed again..
how often can i drink those chicken essence?
is there a way to improve my backache?
this pregnancy like a lot of acheness, sometimes headache, backache, if not neck pain. and today i got all 3 hit me at once -__-

i think i didn't BU enough after deliver chloe. when she was 3mths old, i already carried heavy stuff and boxes while moving house. could it be the cause ah? aiyo..

karrie, so excited for you leh!!

last time i delivered chloe at 38 weeks leh.. not to scare you, but i hope you've got ur hospital bag ready, just in case

and many mummies told me that girls will come out early, while boys enjoy being inside mummy's tummy for a while more hehe

chintz: poor thing, sayang u!
i think can drink like one bottle every few days bah, mayb 3x a week. think everyday will be too heaty.
u need to bu more for this pregnancy!
my mum also said i ll know for my next pregnancy cos i moved ard alot during 1st few mths after delivering yz.. i hope wont be this case...

hi mummies. thanks for all the birthday wishes. my hubby's present to me was to take care of hannah the whole day. he even did the laundry and washing up. hee hee

then he took me to bakerzin for lunch, so that i could have my favourite desserts.

one of my best birthdays in a long while. would have been even better if i'm feeling 100%. have been feeling quite nauseous recently. more so than with my last pregnancy. hope the feeling goes away soon.

Junnie, carpal tunnel syndrome is when the nerve in your wrist is being pressed or squeezed. For my case, the result is that I feel some numbness in my fingers.

Gingerleaf, your trip sounds very “eventful”. Glad that you and lyn are feeling better now. Poor gals!

Jas, hope danson is alright. Poor baby! And thanks for the tip. Guess for me will be even easier, as Hannah will be a lot more independent by then. But I’ll probably need to keep her on a leash, so she doesn’t run away!

Chersam, hope cherie is ok. Maybe you should start putting a mattress under her sarong from now on. Just in case.

Dodo, zq sounds like he’s going to be a very good kor kor. I’ve already started telling Hannah about baby too. When I ask her where’s baby, she will lift up my top and pat my tummy. Then she will dig my belly button, to try and make baby come out. Very funny!

Hippo, enjoy your HK trip. Can shop and eat to your hearts content.

Wah… some of your babies really sleep very late ah. My girl sleeps before 9pm. She used to wake up at 6plus, but now she’s been sleeping till about 8am. Means I can sleep in a bit more. Happiness!

chintz, your aches could be due to bad posture. why don't you get one of those lumbar support pillows for your chair. that's supposedly good for your back and neck.

zhenzhen: glad u enjoyed urself! ur hb very sweet la! ok we've heard a lot on bakerzin in this thread lately.. and im starting to think of the cheese cakes again! :p

what's ur favourite desserts btw?

ecookie: serious leh.. i think now i GET it liao.. so mummies who is TTC, best to BU a lot now yeah :D

zhenzhen: ur wrist prob, was it due to pregnancy/birth giving? i had mine too, and it's still on and off coming back. the orthopedics said mine was due to the water retention on the wrist!

zhenzhen: u could be right. my office chair is really lousy! and mostly i get backache while at work. weekend is ache-free

re: avent storage bottles,
im all confused now! so it means avent normal milk bottles can be resued many times but not VIA cup huh?

thanks ponponta for the link of milkbag!

i also tried to get some glass bottles from TMC when discharged, but they also very niao.. gave me 3 nia..

chintz,

ya, i got a medela PIS this time.. but duno medela got BM containers or not leh..

gal, for ur backache prob is it due to the sitting posture? and maybe u can try pre-natal massage?

I also used both glass bottles and milkbags to store BM last time. The glass bottles are mostly from KKH (TPS) and the bottles are quite clean. But when my boy was admitted for jaundice again, I requested for more bottles, those nurses at the ward gave me v dirty ones, with milk stains at the bottom, and some metal caps v rusty. I dare not use.

But after awhile, I start to improvise on my own bottles. I even use birdnest concentrate bottles (Hock Hua type), and the Nescafe Gold (small bottles) to put BM. They are about 250ml to 300ml I thk, can store about 2 feeds. So he also get to taste birdnest and coffee from his milk!

So go buy more birdnest now and stock up the bottles!