(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

bbwow,ecookie,

Re:Babies Haircut
there's one called Junior Legue at parkway Parade(level2), and UE square as well. I always bring my elder one there to cut his hair.As for Jerric, i will trim his hair myself.. save money.. keke..

jojer,

thanks! I'll also bring J to PP too when I visit my mom over the weekend. Haha. ecookie, we can go together!

hapi fifi,
how you blend the corn? sorry for asking stupid question. as for the peas, you also blend the skin?

bbwow,
For green peas, we steam n blend them.

Hapi_fifi,
How do we prepare eggplant? My mum is not really keen in it as she mentioned some adults have problems with digesting eggplant/brinjal not to mention babies. I m keen to intro it, but no idea how to go about preparing.

ecookie,
I din make soup stock. My mum kinda against stocking up ready made food in fridge. Tried once n kenna scolding n nag till I give up. Haiz...

Plenty of mummies prepare soup stock for babies. What is it for? Have it with porridge?

Perhaps I should do something about the recipe for their dinner? Coz theirs are kinda standard.

Mon, Wed, Fri
Boiled rice porridge w/ loin n veg.

Tues, Thurs, Sat
Steamed brown rice w/ steamed fish n veg.

Veg. that requires to be steamed n blended (e.g. peas, corns, etc), we serve on tues, thurs n sat.

Rest that can be boiled 2gether w/ porridge for mon, wed n fri. Broccoli, Cauliflower, spinach, etc.

doobom,

got such variety very good already. Mine is standard mon - fri, carrots, brocolli & fish!

the corns you also blend with the cob?

ecookie,
Yes, green bean soup w/ sweet potato is considered 'liang'. We give only once a week on weekend. Coz of the heatiness in milk, cereal n brown rice, we give it once a week to go with the against-heatiness. =D

chintz,
Mum n helper prepare the soup. Juz called mum n asked her. Add grean beans to the pot of water, boil n stir occasionally. Halfway thru, add in the small cubes of sweet potatoes. When almost ready, try out the 'cookness' of the sweet potatoes. Be the guinea pig of it prior to letting bb try. ;P

bbwow,
Nope, we get the corn out from the cob manually n blend them. If for convenience, we oso juz boil them with rice porrdige but din serve. The porridge does have corn taste. yumyum... =D
Sorie, I seriously think you should talk to your MIL to let J alternate other veg with fish. If not, u buy the veg. n tell her to give on which day n wat lor. Hmmm... U plan @ nite, n tell her what to give J for porridge when u fetch J over in the morning. Thatz what I do b4 leaving for work every morning.
Hopefully ur MIL can be cooperative n listen. >.<

bbwow,ecookie,
np.
Remember to take number to queue.

Re:cooking stock:
I usually prepare simples ones like pork ribs or chicken stock. I will buy the chicken bones/ pork bones or lean meat fom NTUC. Wash them and remove the skin or fats.Drain them in hot water before putting them in the slow cooker. Then add hot boiling water and use HIGH heat to cook for abt 3 hours.When done remove the bones and filter the stock to remove the excess oil.Wait till cool then pack and freeze them.
This are simple ones. If u wanna add more taste can put one dry scallop into the porridge together with the stock plus ur veges.

Hippo, I requested for Gain IQ 2 weeks ago...still no news..I think I will buy one to try later

Totoro, transfer you the balance already. pls check

I am so blur, i always thought the bash is 2 weeks later...oops...is the date change???
So, must buy present between 15-20 dollars izzit?
Pls advice. Thanks

Fish can cause phlegm?

oops u gotta copy n paste the entire link into your browser :p

can our babies eat rice already?? matty has tried pasta, couscous and porridge only.

matty photos really cute, luv that tigger pic! you guys put him in that position??? the PS black background ones are really nice as well!

Wow, so many food recipe and vegetables that most of you have introduced. Me tried the nestle instant porridge both the salmon and the veg ones and she hate it! only like to eat home cooked porridge! So no short cut for this lazy mummy ha ha

will update the payment tomorrow okie! if not, wait blur blur see wrongly again!

CM,
family biz is like that one. I ever heard of 7 days AL before and everything else including bonus depending on boss one. They like they give and no such thing as year end or end of accounting period.
Looks like the new measure by govt is preventing a lot of female looking for a job now! My friend told me even before the annoucement, she was always asked abt whether is she planning for a 2nd one blah blah blah, I think now gonna be worst! what's your plan after your holidays?

No one keen in celebrate express huh? Free shipping to US address so only need to pay vpost charges.

karrie,
WAH! Matty is so cuteee... So chubby. Luv his cheeks. *pinch n hugz* =D
Hmm... I feed Jerry bits of rice when we dine out. Coz he 'eh..eh' when he cun resist our food. He has even had his share of french fries. OOspp...

taking abt rice, brig been eating rice daily cos he dun like cereal. So everyday will be rice, macaroni, porridge, mee suan, mee for hm.. haha

but is alway headache to cook soup. Need to rpepare 7 kind of soup everyday till i faint...

can any mummy add on my list-

soup base - lentil or split pea or mixed pea or soy bean

type of soup :-

water cress with red date and wolf berry
winter melon with red date and wolf berry
shark fin mealon with red date and wolf berry
parnip, carrot and pototes
celery, corn
sweet pototoes with a green veg
pumpkin w a green veg...............

what else.

He had not eat corn yer, only use to brew soup.

just saw matty pictures...wah, so cute!! he's very chubby and so smiley in the pictures. was it the lilo sticth ear he's wearing or eeyor ear? hahaha....

morning!

karrie, mattyboo is soooooooooo cute! muacks!
i also feed adri rice.. cos she's 'crazy' one.. dun like her own food.. ha! french fries, bread etc also.. keke

Cm, i work from 8.30 - 6pm.. sob.. 5 days work though.. =)

i just tot of something this morning..

"listen to the rhythm of the falling rain..
telling me just what a fool i've been
that i have to go to work just the same
when i could have been sleeping... "

grr... zzzzzzzzzzzzzz....

morning mummies!!!

gRRR!!!! someone tell me who I can complain to, town council or police?? Today at 6am, finally hubby couldn't take the noise from upstairs and went up to speak to the neighbours. and guess what? they denied!!! Then the mother asked the daughter who is jumping around? *thinking that the daughter will say no* and she said kor kor!!! (I think the stupid mother forgot that kids don't lie!) 6am jumping up and down, dragging chairs for no reason!!!And after hubby finish talking, they continued again!!! horrible parents!! I want to sell the house but can't!!!

morning mummies:

karrie: matty is so cute!! he looks more like you hor!

bbwow: i think u should complain to town council 1st.. they are so inconsiderate!!

CM: haha yest never say bye bye to u guys.. :p

my mum commented that yz has grown slimmer and i take a look at him n think its true leh!! so sad. being ill really sucks!

never really weigh him to confirm as my mum is pantang. sigh.

oh yes karrie,

matty boo is so kawaii lor!!! Think he slimmed down too?? lost the baby fats. haha

ecookie,
it's ok la. as long as YZ is still happy and healthy.
yea..wonder if town council will help or not. it's a pain to live with them.

bbwow, ecookie
I bring my son to Junior league hair salon. Find it qt good, v baby-friendly. they hv qt a few branches. Usually, I'll go to the one at United Sq. The one at Suntec is v popular too. and of cos PP.

bbwow
it's not town council. they are only in charge of common areas. My neighbours are also like that 11plus pm also can slam door, and drag chair, etc. and it often wakes clare up cos it's in the masterbedroom. I'm so v tempted to go to talk to them.

hippo, so funny. i feel like getting back to bed myself. weather so condusive for zzzzz

bbwow, why your neighbour like that??? hope town council can do something about them. so inconsiderate!

Morning mummies !!

Sorry, I've been lurking all this while....too lazy to post.

bbwow,
Complain to police. Town council can't do anything.
Police upon receiving your complaint will go to them and make a record. Hopefully this can scare them off.

Just last wk, my neighbourhood committee members came knocking on my door with a police, asking if I've anything to complain or not happy with. They actually went to every household to ask. I complained to them regarding one of the household staying on the upper floor singing karaoke with full blast and the police took down the particulars and commented that they've received a number of same complaints too. I think they really went up to warn the household cuz no more karaoke liao.

zhen_zhen,

I really dunno.
My hubby still tell her nicely "I understand kids like to play but 6am is still when ppl is sleeping!" The least she could do is tell her kids not to jump!

krissie,
my neighbour also jump and drag chair at 11pm but J too tired so night is ok. IT's the morning 6am that irritates me cause we're all still sleeping! and you know babies are in light sleep during this period so any noise will wake them up.

I have the most evilish urge to ring their doorbell at 3am and see how they feel. sighh..

sanbebe,

really ah. but that's because it's disturbing other neighbours too ma. noise pollution. our case is abit different leh.
will the police entertain?

eil, thanks...will find time to buy something for gift exchange.

So good weather to sleep at home today and play with our babies

bbwow ... hmmm poor you and yr family ... hope bb dun get affected from that ...

oh man whata day to sleep in ... so feel like staying at home ... on the way to work aiyo ... jam all the way cos of chain acdn. on the road ... hmmm

chintz &amp; zhen zhen, =)

perlicia, realise abbott quite slow in response.. i just requested from dumex 2 days ago n they called liao.. no sound no pic from abbott.. ha!

bbwow, hugs.. dun be too angry.. i hope u can settle with them.. there are kids involved so situation quite tricky. i dunno abt others la.. but my mum &amp; grandma are used to waking up at 4.30 - 5am in the morning to do their housework.. they dun make much noise but adri's sleeping patterns are tuned to theirs. she wakes up ard 6am nowadays. so can u imagine in another 2 years time, she might just be like those kids who are disturbing ur sleep now.. i'm not saying this is right la.. but adults will do all they can to prevent disturbing pple.. but kids are kids lo.. they dun lie, neither do they know how to keep their noise level down.. actuali the jump up &amp; down i can understand.. i can't understand the dragging of furniture though.. and at 11pm? hmm.. dun be angry okie? i hope J is fine and this will be resolved soon..

thanks mummies for the compliments about matty :D

totoro, no leh he automatically took that position one :p

ario jo, those are stitch ears. actually my bro n sis in law bought for me from tokyo disneyland but somehow matty ended up using it hahaha...

garden_dreamz..can...i'll pinch n muak his cheeks everyday one...even the neighbours also wanna carry him n touch his cheeks...he's a social butterfly sia.

ecookie, that's what everyone says...heh. then when i look at my own baby photos, yah...he really does look like a mini-me. hurhurhur...but i was a FATTER baby :p

bbwow, yah he lost a bit of fats after his bout of high fever...but it may be good coz he was really getting too chubby hahhaaaaaa

Ok so now i know can let matty try rice...i was scared that he might choke on it...

re: bad neighbours, like sanbebe said, can complain to neighbourhood police post one...of coz, before u do that, try to talk to them nicely lah. sometimes they're not aware....

hippo,

yea I can totally understand that it's just kids nature. But I feel that parents discipline plays a part too. If they allow their kids to jump at any part of the day, then there's no way to control them liao.

My hubby still kindly told them it's ok to make noise for the rest of the days but try to keep the minimum at that unearthly 5-6am. That's the LEAST we could ask for. the prob is they denied and even in that wee hours and late nights, they still allow their kids to do whatever they want. I believe with some discipline, it can be somehow controlled. I don't think you would want adri to be jumping up and down at 6am right?

oh yea, once another neighbour dog was barking non-stop and we overheard the husband above complaining. Then we just shouted above, "Not as bad as yours la!" hahahah...gives us some form of anger relief.

I heard that older HDB flats has better foundation on sound-proof. Is that true?

sorry...today very grouchy. Taking care of baby already not enough sleep and we have to live with such neighbour for the next 2.5 years before we can sell! *pulls hair*

bbwow, of cos i wun let adri jump ard at those hours.. ha! my mum would have smacked her b4 i do cos all of us were disciplined like dat too.. hahaha.. i agree with u on this point lo... haiz.. wat to do? spare the rod &amp; spoil the child... btw, those kids dun need to zzzzzzzzzz one huh?