(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

bbwow, dun worie la.. we understand.. older HDB flats better sound-proof? my foot lo.. hahah! i can hear very clearly what my mummy's neighbours do one! =)

yea. super duper active! I also admire the mother. sleep so late and can wake up so early to do chores! sigh..what to do. I tried to turn up the fan to create a louder 'white noise' to filter the sounds hopefully J wouldn't be awake by it. So far it's NO USE. hahaha...anyone got other suggestions? On music?

btw, the son will start to play his harmonica at 645am EVERYDAY. like he's going to competition like that..

btw hippo,
sorry can send me the birthday cakes links again? thanks babe.

bbwow, u poor thing. i think the new flats really dun have v good soundproofing hor. my bro n sis in law stay in punggol, they also say they can hear whatever their neighbours downstairs SAY...including the mother who keeps scolding her son!!

think u should bring up the matter to the police...

karrie,

yea. I can hear my neighbour scolding her kids also. hahah...haiz...maybe I'll try turning on music instead. see how it goes.

thanks for the link hippo!

today forum is VERY VERY QUIET. raining so all mummies sleeping?

Lyn finally had her 1st illness- fever(that is not brought on by vaccinations)! Woke up crying at 5am today, brought her over to my room n she cried and fuss, then realised she is very hot. Feed her milk, slap on a cool patch n gave her some paracetamol.
Dunno why she running fever leh, hope its beoz she is teething.. abit worried now coz we are leaving on sunday.

gingerleaf, what's her temp? my GP told me before, fever due to teething won't go up too high one. so u have to monitor closely.

maybe it's the weather...??

gingerleaf..oh dear... is fever v high? better go see doctor if dun subside later today. hope lyn recovers in time for the cruise trip.

chris.. same for sporty brig.. hope he recovers soon..

bbwow.. not sleeping cos of raining day lah.. 4me is 'busy' reading through post then now finish to post.. kekeke... btw, if still no action after u all talk to tis inconsiderate neighbour, then bobian, try the 'unfriendly' way, go report police, hopefully can 'tame' them down..

totoro.. hope ur headache okie liao..i jus anyhow kpo kpo didnt knw the figure is typo error, haha..

gingerleaf:
oh..poor lyn.Take note of her fever. If high fever & subside & comes again,u might wan to use a boiled egg to rub her body to see if it's "Mo Tan".

2 mths back,Shanice oso had high fever,up & down. Then my mil used boiled egg to rub her body & realised that it's "Mo Tan". & she used the "Mo Tan" powder to rub on her body to force out the heat.Was told by my mil that "Mo Tan" can be fatal.So muz be very careful whenever babies/kids hv fever.

gingerleaf: oh no. let her drink more water. nowadays weather erractic so she mayb falling sick due to that.
praying for lyn to recover soon!

cherie_bear: hey i ve that too when im young like 8yo? my mum rubbed boiled egg all over n said it "mo tan" too.. not sure if its true but my fever subsided after that!

thanks mummies,
will monitor her situation. Lucky she is a water tanker, so no much prob on the water intake.

Cherie bear,
what is mo tan?

Bad news for me:
I really want to cry. My heart is so heavy. My notorious, incorrigible Monster-in-law will be back this sat. I lost my sleep since last night when HB reveal this shocking news to me.

She has been staying at my SIL's place to recuperate. Now she is well and stronger than before! SO she is moving back to stay. Urrgh! My hands & feets break into sweat when i heard this.

Perhaps u may think i very exaggerate. But the emotional suffering & mental breakdown she cause me over the past 12years is enough to break our marriage and turn me into insane person. Dun know how to describe to you all!

I just get to know from HB that she is well-known in the Bukit Batok & CCK area of being a senseless person and very often OFFEND alot of people.

I am really very sad leh...why she must come back???

"Mo Tan" is due to heatiness in our body.Actually it's juz like normal fever,juz that at certain pt u will hv high fever & subsided & comes back again if u din apply the powder.Not only baby/kid will have,adult will oso hv.I had "Mo Tan" few years back & my mil took care of me. If u hv "Mo Tan",then hv to apply the powder to force out the heatiness & the fever will subside

Oops..forget to tell u,when u rub the boiled egg over the body to chk if it's "Mo Tan", u can see that the egg york is spikey & rough texture. & oso dun take rice or porridge & chicken if hv "Mo Tan" cos it will relapse.

Gingerleaf,
My God! Hope its not viral infection. It can take at least a week to recover. Very scary to hear BBs having fever. Do monitor her well. k? If her fever is above 38.5, give her fever medicine. Above 39.5, dip her in cold water to bring down the temp. Drinks lots of water. If can make barley water.

oh dear Jas. how come your MIL wanna come back to stay? Cause your hubby is the only son is it? sorry to ask, Jas is the one preggy one is it? Or Jacq?

gingerleaf,
oh dear. how's little Lyn! Hope she's feeling better. yea, nowadays weather is terrible. Imagine my MIL let J wear singlet even when it's raining! WAh lau. really no sense. She say cause J's sweating but babies sweat more than us ma! But can't tell it's so cold meh. do take care gal!

oh my jas! poor thing... dun worie.. sure wun tink u r exaggerating cos some MILs are poor evil-beings.. any chance ur hb can help?

gingerleaf, regardless mo tan or not, refrain from rice & eggs & chix! hugs hugs for lyn..

Bbwow,
Yes he is the only son. And i am the preggy one. Feeling so stressed now.

Chintz,
No way. My SIL ald says its very inconvenient to stay with them for long term. Btw, MIL ald create alot of havoc while staying with them. U see lah..

Jas, whoa! like that i think the best solution is to talk to ur hubby and see if there's anyway to solve the problem together..

chintz, avoid rice cos chinese believe it will worsen the fever.. as for eggs & chix, these are deemed as "du" (no good) by chinese physicians for fever & flu and will also worsen e condition.. =)

jas... then fm now u start 'practising' open & close ur eyes & ears..dun get stress, no good 4 bb wor.. no point let yourself/marriage 'yuan qi da shang' bcos of MIL.

cm..so today ur 'mad company' got give u prblm? good idea leh.. keep shhhhhhh then 01/09 dun come to work! let them knw wat is call 'urgent leave'!! kekeke... r u done w both kids' bd prepartion? (cos i knw u handle all alone)...

gingerleaf, hope lyn recovers quickly so that all of you can fully enjoy your holiday.

jas, any way to convince your MIL to stay somewhere else??

jas: oh no. sorry to hear that about ur MIL. she wants to come back on her own accord or bcos of SIL? can enter into an arrangement alternating between u n SIL? should talk to ur hb. now u preggy should not stress u too much.

bbwowo: ur MIL should dress J in warm clothing when raining! can get v cold one leh.

my MIl also same. loves to let yz wear thin cotton top + diapers only!!! but i insist my hb to call back n let him wear long pants when it rains..

chintz: yah my mum also say avoid chicken when having cough + fever. rice also heaty so porridge is better alternative. and also more liquid better to keep body hydrated.

bbwow ... somemore very fishy that children jmping in the middle of the night ...could they be 'dang kee' .. in hokkien ...those that let sprit to go into their body ?

So many people falling sick. Caelen's running also got worst. make him cranky. Hope all babies get well soon.

Junnie,
Thanks for posting for me.

RE: Baby 1st AID.
Sept Mother & Baby got write up on baby 1st AID. Good to know. Especially those preg with no. 2. Cos treatment for choking and CPR for baby is diiferent from toddler and adults.

jas,

sorry to hear about that. I have a lousy suggestion. If it's me, I'll just tell my hubby that MIL will add on stress or unhappiness to you and he wouldn't want that to affect pregnancy right. I always think being pregnant is the BIGGEST. haha. But your MIL strange leh, how come will be unreasonable one leh. and what is inconvenient to your SIL leh, can you apply the same reason?

chintz,
yea. Cause later 4pm knock off liao got team event so early TGIF for me! and being the new bird, NOTHING TO DO! aiyo grow mould

ecookie,
you going juniors league this weekend? maybe can see you there. haha

jovial,

DON'T SCARE ME LEH!!

but if the situation never improve. That's a good remark to say to my neighbour. "eh..how come go ppl jumping in the wee hours one. your kids on dang kee is it?" :p

bbwow,
not trying to scare you lah. But that happened to my sis's old flat lor. neighbour keep jumping at night, then on day when they come home late, they see from downstair that the neightbour uing weird colour lights and start to hear chanting. After a while, my niece starts to cry whenever she goes home lor. But it's not the kid, it was the adult lor.

zhen zhen, hm.....sorry ..I type wrong password ... ehhehe...will send out the correct password thru yahoo again ...paiseh

gingerleaf:
dun worry too much.When lyn fever subsided that time,is she active as normal?When fever high that time,is she very restless?

gingerleaf,
don't worry. sometime fever will rollercoaster. just continue to feed the fever medication and sponge her regularly while waiting. But do not let her catch cold. If she shiver, quickly wrap her up. We want to bring down her temperature don't want her to get hypo-thermial.

your PD from gleneagles ? If not, you can bring go KKH child emergency. High fever and puke and below 1 yr old should have priority. cost is $80 (includsive of standard drug). Seem like her got gastroenteris (forgot the spelling - something like astric flu)

gd afternoon

So sian , this weekend burnt got to work .
Any gg to Comex show look for me k .

Gingerleaf
U seeing YY Yip ?
Hope lynn will get well soon .

gingerleaf:
IC.Since she's active,then it's not "Mo Tan" le. Juz give her more water & sponge her regularly.

As my mil told me before that it can be fatal,that's y whenever those ard me wif high fever especially babies/kids, i'll be very concern. Hope u dun mind my meddlesome for asking so much.

Hope that she will get well soon.