(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

re: fish
my MIL is the direct OPPOSITE! Everyday she cook fish for J! I told her not to give everyday cause will induce phlegm but she told me it's nonsense! and everyday she make porridge with standard ingredients - Fish, carrots, brocolli! I know too much carrots also no good!
Jayden has been guai guai eating the same food for months!

totoro,
I'll try to transfer to you tonight ok. I also find the token very troublesome. hahaha

doobom,
seems like response for this friday's lunch is slow. i agree that we postpone our gathering if we don't hear from more mummies by tomorrow :)

doobom: i will try to take note. for now, yz ate fish 2 days, pork 3-4 days + veg porridge 1-2 days a week. i normally use 2 types of veg for porridge. should be ok bah..

now also more n more traditional, heeding my mum advices like dun let his lungs get cold so will rub vicks on his chest when he sleeps, wear jacket+socks in shopping centres, cut down pear and other "liang" fruits, try to keep food warm when feeding etc..

bbwow: ur MIL very lazy leh. at least can change the type of vegge right? carrot eat too much not too good cos it contains something that will make babies yellow..

n think can intro pork/chicken to J by now?

doobom,
yup, moderation is the word. oic.. thanks for sharing on this, me same as u, think the more the merrier, sometime will simply DIY and mix lots of mixed vege for bb! haa :p

gingerleaf,
is it? oops.. din follow that thread, may i know how much to transfer? really must dig out my token liao!!!

bbwow, i know how it feels. hug hug for u.. it's the same old MIL story. it's never ending one hehehe...

nowadays, weekend i also never add fish to chloe's porridge liao..

my MIL can even told my hubby, "wah, fish is not cheap ok.. i buy good fish for ur daughter.. 她 (Chloe) 不知道多喜欢吃鱼啊?"

chintz,

hahahaha..yeah..I cannot complain also. When she started J on fish also never even tell me! So weekend I try to make vege / pork porridge for Jayden instead. Recently tried the ABC pasta too. I also dunno how to tell her to start making other meat cause hard to make small portions. Her adult dinner already taste horrible so I can't expect a good meal for Jayden. She's lucky J's not a fussy eater ok.

ecookie,
making vege porridge, what other vege will you put other than carrots and brocolli? seems like not much choice leh.

oh yea..anyway I top up $100 to my MIL allowance ever since J started on solids. So she shouldn't be complaining about fish not cheap. :p

side track abit, anyone know how much is La Senza bra selling in Spore huh? I saw here selling 3 for RM159, not sure good deal or not, wana get some new bra coz im still wearing those wireless one and my breasts sag like duno what liao.. sigh..

next sat i will fly back to spore wi bb, just bb and me! coz hubby will drive back.. very look forward and gan jiong also! :p

bbwow,
for vege besides broccoli & carrot, i also use french bean, long bean, celery, leek, xiaobaicai, spinach, pumpkin.. i also think very limited leh, i tried tomato once and zq got bad rashes.. so dare not try again.. other mummies got any other recommendation for vege?

was reading this thread. i've a spooky story to share too. recently,1 of my friend/colleauge passed away. the night he passed away, i think he came to say farewell. i feel extremely cold in the room but didnt "see" anything. my hubby saw a dard shadow and my bb was looking at the shadow direction too.

bbwow: i rotate among a few vege too namely
-brocolli, asparagus, spinach, sweet potato, cauliflower, green peas, kailan etc.
i never feed much carrot n pumpkin for the longest time cos MIL n mum commented it makes the baby yellow..

stock: any mummies making stock for the little ones? how to make pork stock. ive been making veg stock for the past 3 mths. think yz is going to get sick of the taste soon!

dodo,

oh yeah..french bean and long bean sounds good. mostly are greens and carrot and pumpkin are the only orange ones so usually I'll like to add some 'color' to the porridge. hahaha
I tried pumpkin before and J LS like mad! so I stopped. I heard tomato is quite alkalic (is there a word?!) so can't give too much. thanks for the tip!

ecookie,

I also know this common logic. That's why I subtly hinted to MIL to not give carrots everyday but she didn't get it.

re: cut hair

any mummies can recommend where's a good place for a baby hair cut? J needs some serious trimmings to his lalang!

ha mummies,

tks for the advices. Brig not taking any fish yet. But he take quite lots of carrots. But not physically eating all, i use carrot for soup base and let him eat a small pc here and there. He took tofu on althernate day for protein. I tihnk carrot is for VitA, so now i alternate with pumpkim too. He likes pumpkin alot. Now changing his sweet potatoes to jap sweet potatoes that is not organge in colour.

I think is my fault la, bring him out when he is not too well last week.

Ya, he is alway in long sheelve when in shopping centre, rubbing of vicks everyday too..

veg:-

bb can take cauliflower, chye sim, kailan too.

chicken-

I think i will prefer pork to chicken when brig starts taking meat aft 1 yr old. Chicken noe seems to be jabbed.

bbow,

yr son real good, brig will not entertain the same kind of food 2 days in a row.. if your MIL takes care of my ah brig, she will faint
haha (me v bed, sorry)

oh ya, i use asparagus & green peas too.. zq dun really like green peas but he loves beef, so i always mix these 2 together and he will guai guai eat the peas... :p oh yes, corn as well...

bbwow,
J LS coz of pumpkin huh? it's very nutritious vege, maybe u can try to intro to him again? but in small quantity 1st... J really very guai, eat the same food for few months.. zq quite hard to please.. fussy eater!

re: long bean
i just tried it last weekend, and my porridge is so bland :p chloe loves brocolli+pumpkin combo..

what's a french bean?

and cauliflower.. is it ok for bb? i thought cauliflower is 'windy?

about carrot/pumkin.

I dun think it will really cause bb to be yellow. Cos brig took almost everyday. He will have vit A and Vit C veg everyday. And Vit A vegs are usually orange in colour.

I think is cos excessive Vit cos toxcity. BUt is Vit A from Meat souce and not plant souce.

But i have not really do any indeapth research n this leh.. no time.. haha

polaris,
spooky!! but then it's ok friend won't harm you one lah..the coldness is all of a sudden and sure or not see shadow..scary leh..

regarding carrot: actually it's harmless to eat them everyday. it's just that it will make the skin yellow only.. no other side effect. consulted doctor on this before.

recently i start to put in the ganbei cos aria doesn't like to take porridge.. now her intake is better.. she loves cereal! she's taking barley cereal from healthy times now..

chris: heard that chicken induce phlegm, so may want to avoid that for brig for the time being.

bbwow: let me know where got good hair dresser for babies too. yz lalang also need trimming!

chintz,

cauliflower is windy?? i dun know leh.. cos brig dun really like. I just like to give him multi col veg cos all cols veg got different nutrients mah

at least most of your babies aren't too fussy & will eat porridge. my fussy little food 'connoisseur' isn't a big fan of porridge & he seems to get sick of food which he gets to eat often! poor me have to crack my brains & stretch my lousy culinary skills to cook new dishes! aiyo, why can't he just eat whatever's on his plates?

bbwow,
besides carrots & broccoli, you can also try green beans, frozen peas & corn, cauliflower, spinach, asparagus, tomatoes, sweet potato, pumpkin, potato, parsnips, celery, cucumber, eggplant

for tomatoes, remember to deskin & deseed before cooking for babies! i usually saute the tomatoes with unsalted butter to make the sauce for baby's pasta.

re: pork stock
i buy those pork bones for boiling soup & add some pork ribs, sweet corn, celery, cabbage, onion, potato, carrots & boil for about 2 hours. then i will eat the ingredients & freeze the stock :)

oh now that i see hapi fifi post, the ingredients for stock still got taste. i always throw away everything after boiling it for 2+ hr leh. shit wat a waste!

hapi Fifi: babies can take butter now already?

hi aria
my hubby saw the shadow and was very near me.
I know my fren meant no harm but still scared. i've been sleeping with lights on for few nights.

hapi fifi,
thanks for the tip. I thought cucumber is quite 'liang too'? what's the diff between green peas & frozen peas? I trie corn before. Scrap until the hand numb!

dodo,
yea, I do give him pumpkin in small portions now and he still LS abit after that. Still monitoring. how you cook your beef? I tried once but the beef smell was too strong for him.

ecookie,
yea, I'm waiting for anyone to intro me a good dresser. ha btw, how you cook the green peas? Blend first then cook?

re: chicken stock
I just learnt the recipe for my gf. She cooked for J over the weekend! You see how pathetic I am. She used chicken bones and boil for 2 hours. Then remove the meat from the bones and continue to cook, add potatoes and carrots and further cook until vege soft. It was so yummy! I ate J's porridge instead and he made noise. :p

gingerleaf,
got ur email and replied!

ecookie & gingerleaf,
thanks for the feedback!
think the one i saw shd be their normal range... i will just get it bah, since good support is my main concern now! haa

re bb haircut,
i need to bring zq also! his ah wang hairstyle grow back to his "beetle rockband" hairstyle.. his hair grow super fast loh.. and my mum and hubby already warned me not to cut his hair myself again..

so far for new foods, i've given leek, celery and fresh peas, not the frozen kind and chye sim.

also those heinz babyjar, for 10mths above got all kinds of ingredients so maybe i also given her more new foods than i actually know. haha! she can finish the whole jar for lunch or dinner, its those bigger ones. inside is more 'chunky' than the smaller jars one.

remember i sent an email to MCYS on Monday ... they replied

Dear Ms XXX,

We refer to your email dated 25 Aug 08.

The employer may pro-rate childcare leave based on the duration of employment. Details on how this can be done will be made available later. You are not required to provide a reason to apply for childcare leave.

Details regarding the transitional period (i.e. between 17 August 2008 to 31 December 2008) are still being finalized. We strongly encourage employers to voluntarily provide eligible employees with the extended maternity leave and childcare leave, and the Government will reimburse the extended maternity leave for babies born on or after 17 Aug 08 accordingly; and also reimburse childcare leave for children aged below 7 as on 17 Aug 08 accordingly. If the employer grants the full entitlement, the government will reimburse accordingly.

For information on the recently announced enhanced Marriage & Parenthood package in Aug 2008 (e.g. maternity leave, childcare leave, infant care leave, etc), you may wish to refer to the Marriage & Parenthood website (www.family.gov.sg/MnP), the Ministry of Manpower website (www.mom.gov.sg/MnP) or contact the toll-free hotline, 1800 223 2229.

Should you require more information on the statutory benefits provided for under the Employment Act, you could visit the Ministry of Manpower's web-site at http://www.mom.gov.sg/publish/momportal/en/communities/workplace_standards/employment_standards/the_employment_act.html or call 6 4385122. However, if you need to meet and consult with our officers in person, you may make an e-appointment using the following link : http://app.etools.mom.gov.sg/eindex.aspx.

Yours sincerely,

Chong-Tan Sok Peng (Ms)
Senior Labour Relations Officer, Employment Standards Department
Labour Relations and Workplaces Division . Ministry of Manpower . Fax (65) 65354811. http://www.mom.gov.sg.

bbwow: i soak the frozen green peas in water then squeeze it slightly so the skin separates itself from the pea. then throw the de-skinned peas into slow cooker. peas is v mashy when cooked! no need blend!

ok i think i should try pork stock this weekend. been procastinating for too long!

wow, from food to soup to bra! hahaha.. wat have i missed??

i must go shopping for new bras too!! cannot take it anymore.. itz not only my family who noticed the "downgrade". .my colleagues noticed too.. omg.. hahaha.. maybe shd take adv from gingerleaf.. put sticky tape then wear push=up bra! power.. hahahaa
btw, bras from Blush is gd too!

dodo, found ur stuff already? still alot to unpack?

totoro, u feel better now? bosses are like that.. out to irritate.. ! =) hugs..

For dinner @ home, since we alternate fish & loin, we juz add in 1-2 more veg. to their porridge/brown rice.

Veg. such as broccoli, cauliflower, spinach, pumpkin, carrots, potato, green peas, corn, tofu, etc. With this listing, itz gd enough to alternate all these in a week.

For orange-gy food such as carrots, pumpkin, we give the most 1-2 times a week.

Beef can be only taken when we are out via food jars that I grab off the shelf immediate. Hee... =D

To avoid heatiness, we boiled green bean soup w/ sweet potato n serve as noon tea time for babies over the weekend. Say amount of 60-80ml of it given on saturday. Note, no sugar added.

ecookie,
i started on butter a few weeks ago only. remember to use unsalted ones. i read those angmoh recipe books like annabel karmel & gina ford. they say can introduce butter & olive oil wor.

re: soup
last time i will puree the ingredients & freeze too so nothing goes to waste! haha but nowadays, i want to introduce more texture so will finely chop the veggies instead. so end up, i eat all the ingredients in the soup.

re: green peas & frozen peas
in fact, i read somewhere that frozen peas are just as nutritious, if not more than the fresh ones because they are frozen on the spot to preserve the freshness. i will steam till soft before blending the peas / corns. before aidan turns 10 mths, i used to sieve the peas / corns after blending cos the 'skin' quite tough to digest & sieve till my hands numb too! haha nowadays, i just serve after cooking & blending