(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

ladies, would like to ask if your child walking in tip toes (if using walker). Long ago I heard pple saying disadvantage of walker becos of this reason. However I also grew up with walkers and so do my siblings & nieces, so dun see any problem using a walker. However, i noticed that my gal is walking in tip toes when using walker. Will this problem rectify when she offically learn to walk? It's quite worrying me at this time.

Lyn is tiptoeing abit too, but she have never been in a walker.
i dunno issit inherited.. coz sometimes when I walked barefooted, I tip toe alot too, then my nanny say I walk like a ghost.

CM, your co so jialat, think you should look for job elsewhere leh. or you can apply again and again and again until they grant you childcare leave.

OCT bash pressie, what pressie to buy? aiyoh.

ok must transfer to totoro now....

gingerleaf: so funny your nanny. LOL
Btw, didn't you try to correct it? Mayb keep reminding yourself both foot must be land on the floor.

chersam, itz normal for babies to tip-toe cos they are still exploring their own muscle groups and boldy functions.. what you can do to prevent this from being a habit is to guide her foot down patiently everytime she does it.. dun worie!

one excerpt i found:
Walking on Both Tip Toes

The most cause common is idiopathic toe walking (no known cause), also called habitual toe walking. Walking on tiptoes is quite common between 10 and 18 months when children are learning to walk. In some children it simply becomes a habit, when asked to walk normally they put their heel down on the ground before their toes. It's just that when they're not concentrating they seem to revert to walking on their toes.

I have just check with a few gov site ... ok as for this rejection i gotto check with MOM Tel: 64385122 ... they told me that the employer CANNOT reject a child care leave ... they also CANNOT ask the emplyee to produce any child MC etc ... i also have a website on this ...

As for the 6 days ... is for this Whole year 2008 ... we should have 6 days altogether ... if a person work till july or august you only have like 4 days altogether ... is yr last day is in sept or oct den you will have 5 days in year 2008 ... and so on .... if the employer is kind enough to give you all those leaves ... the gov will repay them in OCT 2008 once the rule is out in black and write ....

F***** S************ see la ...

No I have not gone in to ask the reason for the rejection ... i belived they will say that i still got lots of things that are not done yet ..... well if everything do liao den i come for what right ?????????? i am planning to tende r next which as i want my last day to be on 05/10/2008 ........ den now how ?????? see la I really dun no what to say man ........

gingerleaf,
got mine lah ... party over liao remember
... anyway, getting for my sis.

hippo: Yes, i do see pple around me walking on both tip toes. They do land on their feet except that more weight exert on the toes. So when they are walking, you will find that they are sort of "light weight" kind, a bit of 'floating" feel... mayb tat's y gingerleaf's nanny describe her as ghost.

Though my gal now havent even start to cruise, when putting her on stand position, 1 of her feet sure in tip toe and I have to keep correcting her.

totoro,
i've transferred $18 to your acc liao.

By the way, this child care leave must show any proof or can just take without showing any? Is it applicable to father? sorry ah, i very blur blur..

aria jo ... dun need to show proof and not only that the employer cannot ask for any proof too as we are entitled one .... dun even need child MC ... its a totally differ thing PLease make this RIGHT .... for yrself

Sharon, that's unreasonable of your employer. I thought according to MOM guidelines, 4 days of childcare leave are to look after children who fall sick and the other 2 days are no-questions-asked? My school is also like that--my colleague wanted to apply for child care leave to celebrate his kid's birthday and was rejected on the grounds that "we have to be accountable to the parents of our students". Then what about our own kids?? There was also one such case in my mil's school.

So I think Singaporean employers, yes, even the civil service, have a long way to go.

cm... if u really need to go on leave 01/09 then tell them straight, be it childcare or ur own leave, wat's the prblm right? ur company so funni leh... if employee's family need urgent attention also cannot go meh?? where got such ting one? they duno 'work can never finish one meh"?? lucky u going to resign soon...

chersam... ya, tink no need worry, once bb can walk on their own, they'll 'auto' dun tiptoe (only for slight cases which bcom habit then hv to correct)..

jas.. hope ur friend's bb is ok, remind me of the video clips w maid abuse...wonder tis maids got 'brain' or not?? bb r so fragile, how can they do tat? so wat did ur friend do to the maid now?

CM, please go and reason out with ur boss! this is so ridiculous lor.. and the government is paying for 3 days (out of 6) for this childcare leave lor! poor gal..

cm,
thanks for the info. really dunno what to say abt your boss. haiz..working in a company own by a family really not very good. i got a gf who had nasty collegue (boss's wife)..all the story she told me really want me to smack her (the lady boss)...

RRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR ....

Menes here ... and moodless to work ... S*******F**********F***********S************RRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR

Junnie,
My friend is sending her back today at 4.30pm! Hopeless leh...she has such a good life here. No need do housework everyday..just concentrate on my friend's toddler and sometime on the bb only. Too bad, she dun know how to cherish. It makes me shiver when i see the video.

Haizz! really makes me think twice whether should i let my no.2 be taken care by a nanny whom i never know personally in next year. Hard decision for me leh.

CM,
Wau lau! yr co really good leh. Its hard working under a family co. Alot of politics one!

jas.. good 4 her since she duno how to 'zhen xi' the good employer...glad the kids no need kana 'torture' by her.. as for nanny, may b u wanna go chk out the environment (if possible) b4 putting bb there loh, tink better than maid ba.. if u really in need of one caretaker than bobian, if not can look after by own family members the best.

cm.. cheer up.. already half day gone.... v fast can go home liao!

so sian arrr..raining sooo heavily how to go out 4 lunch, hiaz.. but still hv to go out...
catch up later...

CM,
I think u can ask ur boss for the reason.If there's no urgent work for u to do on that day,he can't possibly reject ur leave.I think u can log complain to MOM if he reject ur leave w/o any gd reason.

gingerleaf,

i dun know leh,,, he never really recovered from the last cough, it just gotta worse..

doc got no choice but to put him on antibiotic cos the infection is near to brain...

sometime wonder how come other babies dun fell sick so easy but brig alway gor cough and will spread to lund.

ALthoug doc mentioned is cos the dad has childhood asthma .. but why brig got all the bad gernes from us??? asthma from dad, ezema fr mummy.. sign

chris: oh no hope brig will get well soon. i think there is alot of nasty virus going ard recently. some of my friends are down with cough too..

CM: i think u should go n check wat s the reason for rejecting ur application of leave. let them know you are entitled to it!

chris: i realise cough very hard to fully recover.yz has been nursing a cough for the past 1 mth! this week being the 4th week! its better but not totally fully recovered. he will cough a few times still a day and u can hear the phlegm!

thats why getting him the powder to see if it helps in dissolving the phlegm

PD says must avoid crowds and keep him warm. cos the cold can make them have runny nose = more phlegm and also dry air irritates the throat more..

thanks gingerleaf & hippo for the bash timing! better note it down.

CM, your co is HORRIBLE. IF I were you, I tender on the spot! what shit co is that!

chris, poor brig! ecookie is right.. must keep him warm even if he doesnt like it.. dun expose the chest to cold air..

bbwow, np!

oh no, our tough brig is sick.. poor boy! sayang..this is consider secondary infection? better watch him closely yah...i dun mind you sister coming along but not sure abt the others..

Chris, must let brig take anti biotics k. i know some mummies do not like to feed their child that, prefering the child to fight it off with their own immune system.

I know this isnt related, but a few years back, one of my cat fell ill with fever, then it escalated into high fever v fast, and next day bring him see doc, he got middle ear infection liao, then I think it was menigitis, and he went deaf coz "brain fried". Almost lost him then, and it was v v bad. Luckily recovered after taking antibiotics for a v long period of time.

hmm ... i am not going to ask them i will keep very very shhhhhhh till den ... i will just dun come hahaha ... i am goign to tender anyway kekeke ...... buy i want my $$ for 1st OCT ... how ??? si when can i throw my letter ???

nate ... ya i reply you liao .......

sick man no mood to work at all liao ...........

i think if baby get secondary infection, pd usually prescribe antibiotics and it's best to take. but for normal viral fever, should let baby fight it and developer immunity. Normal viral infections takes roughly 2 weeks to heal and if more than 2 weeks, still no recover, go and consult pd/doctor again. Aria fell sick a couple of times already and the worse was when she got rosella. the fever really went on off for 2 weeks and we let her fight it off. Only fed her those medicine that is suppose to help her feel better like baby panadol, cough syrup, running nose, etc but not antibiotics..

it's really no good for young babies to take too much antibiotics. if not, the body will be too reliant on it and will not know how to fight it naturally. this is what happen to my niece.. when she was young, her nai nai took care of her and her family doctor always prescribe strong medicine and loves to give antibiotics. everyone think he's good, sickness heal very fast but they don't know the long term effect. my poor niece now always kena high fever and always had to take antibiotics leh.. the latest incident she had to be admitted to hospital and even the pd there told my SIL that he will not prescribe her antibioctics (unless no choice) due to her history of taking too much and body dunno how to fight liao..

aria_jo: so scary.. this is the 2nd time yz is sick. the 1st time is before he is even 1 mth old. fever n sore throat so he was admitted and put on course of antibiotics. think he is too young then n PD didnt want to risk it.

and like wat u said, for this time round, PD said he wont prescribe antibiotics but let him recover from the normal medicine..

yaloh, when she has fever, a lot of times sure escalate to high fever one.. and her cough will drag on for so long and finally have to go back to that family doctor to take antibiotics again... so, now, my SIL slowly try to adjust and "train" her not to take antibiotics..

yaloh, when she has fever, a lot of times sure escalate to high fever one.. and her cough will drag on for so long and finally have to go back to that family doctor to take antibiotics again... so, now, my SIL slowly try to adjust and "train" her not to take antibiotics if possible..

Still here surviving although I'm really PISSED **$##$#@@## with my boss again!!

Junnie
thanks for pointing that out on the amt. I think I look at numbers until I siao liao + the stress from my stupid boss!! It should be $53 instead of $55.

spocky story
I always believed that children below certain age has the 3rd eye to see things. If I suspect anything, I will sternly raised my voice and asked them to "F*** off" and don't disturb! Sorry a bit violent here as my blood still boiling even though I have yet to step into office this week!! Am glad that the 7th mth would be over soon.

Birthday Bash!!
It's next week!! Wow! so fast hor!
Can't wait to see all the babies and we really need to PLAN PLAN PLAN liao ha ha

CM
Sorry, did not manage to answer your call again! hee that's my 2nd phone lah so sometimes did not bring it with me! Don't lat dat lah .. still fren fren okie!! SMS or email me, so I won't missed it.

Lunch meet-up on Friday?
I may not be able to attend :-(
Got to trash something out at work.

Babies who fall sick
Sayang and get well soon.

Updates
Kelly have 7 teeth liao ( 4 on top and 3 below) Now she smile, can see all the whites!! But she still as noti! ha ha

Noon Mummies...

Babies w/ cough
For that coughing period, maybe can avoid giving fish to babies. Wait till cough gets over. Replacement of fish can be such as tofu (beancurd), etc. Intake of fruits, veg, n water is juz enough. Avoid giving heaty stuff like brown rice.

Advice we got from elders, no harm heeding. Juz some of what we went thru last time round when the boys caught cough virus then.

Oh yah, regarding the maid
Really sad to hear such things.
sometimes I also wonder how would an outsider stand if there is a baby that cries non-stop! Even ourselves would get frustrated when we don't understand what they want sometimes. Unless the person can really tahan the cries and not get frustrated and have very good anger management, if not things would sure turn out the sad way as these people knows that babies can't talk! That's why some people say getting a good maid is like winning a lottery!
Don't know I make sense or not!! still a bit sotong now with the headache!!!

Intake of fish
'Everything in moderation.' Sources that I learnt from to avoid daily intake of fish as fish are phlegm-prone.
For this reason, we alternate fish n loin for the boys' dinner.
*Sorry if I have repeated this again here.*

doobom ... might not be able to join too ...forgot that i took 1/2 only not full day ... hmmm but see how la where are you going ??? still can be arrange ...

Lunch in town
29Aug08 (Fri)
1. doobom
2. CM + kids + helper
3. hapi fifi + aidan

OK, if low response by thurs nite, then we shall call off n wait till to catch up during birthday bash then.

Anymore mummies & babies to join us?

chris,
hope brig will be well soon... hope to see him on the birthday bash!

totoro,
i will transfer the $ to u soon k! sorry, duno where i pack my token, cant find it now.. argh...

doobom,
yup, my mum also told me too much fish will induce phlegm though im not sure how true is it but better heed their advice, better play safe than sorry... but my mum also asked me not to give tofu too frequent leh, cant remember whats the reason, think it's the "clay" or "hardening chemical" thingy?... hmm..

dodo,
Yes, thatz about 'Everything in moderation'. We used to give fish almost everyday for about 2 months till the boys caught the cough virus. Then we were 'taught' about the fish causing phlegm prone thingy. We 'improve' n switch to alternate days for fish. As for the beancurd, we dun give often as well.
Anyway, as we do seek TCM advice, we were also taught not to mix too much veg. for a single meal. 2-3 veg/meat a meal is gd enough. Furthermore, they are still young n with their gentle little stomach. Hmmm...
I was silly enough to think that 'the more the merrier'. Hee... The more, the more nourish the meal is. So I am wrong/silly to think that way. =D