(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

change avent teat to no 4,
since i started to intro solids to myra her milk intake went down drastically, i was so worry but i tot that its becos she dunt like the taste of the stage 2 FM that we also intro, then i had idea maybe if we graduate her avent teat from no 3 to no 4 things would be better, and true enough, since we change her teat, her milk intake revert back to its normal consumption. relief!

ecookie,

yea maybe! Yesterday I went to taka nursery room and chatted with Jul & Dec mommy. The Jul bb didn't teeth until 8 months so I think it's really up to individual baby.

frosty,
my boy only act hero. See PD still can laugh. then once enter injection room he cry liao. hahah...

I dunno if it's the teething that's causing him to wake up more often or reject milk. But lately, he resume back and finally back to sleeping thru. Last feed at 10pm and can last till 8am. I hope it's back to normal!!!

Anyone try feeding cereal with bottle? I'm contemplating, just to let him get used to the texture first. Since he's rejecting the spoon. I heard about rejecting bottle but never THE SPOON!

chintz, I think if I ask the father to go and buy accessories for his car, he sure won't hesitate...But for a Bjorn, at this moment, I am sure he will come up with idea not to buy one...

see,madlynette also thinking about no.2...I guess we all have to think to have no.2 to fully uterilise what we buy now.

Btw, gotta the bumper mat from SSW. My husband was asking you, "Huh,you buy already?"

Bbwow, maybe you mix more FM with the cereal and make them watery. Raph also have some brown rice in his FM.

<font face="Comic Sans MS">madlynette - seriously huh? u changed the teat size and she drinks better? ok, i'm trying on my gal tonite. hopefully it helps! aniway, our dotters' names almost alike. yours myra, mine's nyra, hehe.

bbwow - my nanny used to do dat! w/o telling me somemore.grrr. but she mixed with FM lah, so it's diluted. u can try the feeding bottle. u know the one with the spoon inside so when u squeeze the bottle the spoon comes out. looks a bit kang-kor to me, hehe.</font>

hi mummies, thanks for your compliments haha. tempting to get the thermals rite? yah the BP is still on, I think it's quite a good deal. much cheaper than getting from the stores.

zinterz, i brought him to the Singapore Teachers' Union pool coz it's very deserted. We were the only ones there. Only thing is changing facilities are very old and not very clean...but ok lah. I rather that than squeeze with the Saturday crowds at public pools.

ecookie: hahahahah that is why i chose a pool which nobody knows of...minimise any possible collateral damage hee :p we kept telling him to poo only after the swim. he cooperated :D

aria jo, hahah that's coz u only see my shoulders lah. flabby tummy still there, altho i m back to pre-pregnancy weight. i think our bodies can never be the same again loh...

bbwow: i read on babycentre.co.uk that putting cereal with baby's milk in the bottle not recommended coz might cause choking, and doesn't help bb to learn to swallow solids properly... so you may wanna consider...

karrie,

yea lor. that's the brown. Cause he won't learn the ability to eat from spoon. But the thing now is he's rejecting the spoon! anything from the spoon he rejects. but if we give biscuits / apples by hand, he eats it! so headache lor!

bbwow
i think your bb has the 'self wean' personality, he prefers to feed himself rather than have someone spoon feed him. perhaps let him use his hands to eat his cereal? yeah i know very messy but i have heard some angmoh parents prefer their bbs to 'self wean'. so each meal is a messy affair.

i dont know if 'self wean' is the right term to use? they will let the bb play and explore the food and even the parents will eat their meals at the same time. hehe. very independent hor.

karrie,
matt is so cute!!!!! so sad, cant see him on 1st anymore.

re feeding
Anyone tried feeding baby with the tv on? When I 1st started feeding lyn, I had the tv on with baby einstein. I find that her attn on the tv makes it easier for me to spoon food into her mouth, altho books reccomended its best to keep meal times a quiet affair with no tv on. But the former works for me.

bbwow,
I know what im abt to suggest is messy, but maybe u can try putting cereal into his mouth with ur fingers? Use a finger n dig some cereal n feed him, if he accepts, then u can try for a few more days till he is okie with cereal then u can sneak in a spoon.

madlynette &amp; gingerleaf,

yeah. I don't mind trying. Anything to get him to start accepting the spoon.

I realized I entered the wrong word. what is "That's the brown". ahahha I mean that's the problem!

re: weight
at 6 months, my boy is only 7.2kg. Abit small hor! doc say 25 percentile but still ok. I'm really worried about his growth.

madlynette, ecookie, sugarnut, carol and unice,

I have to cancel ur orders n refund the $, coz the wipes will not be in till 2nd week of may.

Hippo, Im still taking ur order tho, coz u stay so near me.

Madlynette!!!!!!!!
I was abt to lay papers for the dog when I saw ur picture on Life! for V day edition!
Hahahah.
Why u never smile one!!

gingerleaf
very uncomfortable photo shoot, some more angry with HB at that time and while the photographer shooting us, myra eck eck eck in the background, and i was worry her eyes hurt by the bright studio lights, aiyoh....hehe...so my smile become very cramp lor.

you use my face for your dog poop, how appropriate, haha!

gingerleaf, thanks ah! =D

u r very observant leh! want to lay out e papers for ur dog liao, still can see who's on it! power... haha!

madlynette,
nonono!!!!!!!!!
I never use ur paper! i was abt to use when I saw ur face! So I kept it! Hehe. Its next to me now if u wan, if dowan, then I will throw it back to storeroom.

chintz
Life was looking for 4 couples who are in love and in the arts. hehe! me and my hb were chosen for fine arts, the other 3 couple are from dance, drama and classical music. so we had to take photos and answer some questions about how we juggle our personal and professional life. both the guy and gal must be in the same type of arts...it was for valentines day, you all probably too busy with your dates.....hehe like gingerleaf, now than see the article.

madlynette,
tsk tsk, how can i still use for the dog now i seen ur face on it. so rude!
Im gg to dump it back into the storeroom n keep it under the pile n forget abt it, so next time if i use unknowningly, wun feel so bad. Hehe

gingerleaf, tink if u ask me &amp; dodo, we'll both say they are good.. dodo n i went there for e pregnancy shoot &amp; recently i brought Adri for her photoshoot as well.. she was cranky &amp; crying etc but maryann let her take a nap 1st, have milk when she woke up and they even helped my hubby n myself to buy lunch since we'll both be needed to take care of her.. then they proceeded with the photoshoot and pausing when adri goes bonkers again.. so to me, she's very very nice.. n she wun ask u for payments till the photos are ready, except of cos for the deposit! i hvnt gotten my photos though but i m sure they'll be ready soon!

u know how some people can rub others the wrong way? either maryann irritated this person who complained or vice versa lo.. (guessing only la!)

Oh I was looking for photoshoot too, and i got one of my friend to do it as he's a pro photographer. So since i know him, i am sure he won't "hurt" my baby during the shoot. Price wise, he has not get back to me.

My baby recently started to stick out his toungue!! and started to do razzing with his tongue! Any babies doing that? Kinda shocked as he seems to show his mischief now. Crossing my fingers...

I am planning to let him try avocado soon. Anyone has given their baby that before? Cereal, I am still putting it on hold, waiting till he pass his 6 month age 1st.

I just got my neck float. How did your babies take the float? I have a feeling he may find it a nuisanse.

meow, I think it is normal for babies to explore their tongue now. Mine also brrrb his tongue. and when he see that mummy can do that, he laugh so loudly and after I stop, he continues....

My boy like avocado..but ensure it is really ripe.

me so busy after come back office, haiyo.. then somemore got to take unpaid for the last week tat i stayed w bb lance @ hospital, cos no more leave liao. so fm now till end jun'08, i'll hv to take unpaid leave whenever i need to b away fm office

fyi, brought bb lance for uti fllw-up ysterday, urine test taken but wont hv result till nxt visit, PD said no news fm him means good news, so i told him i dun like to hear fm him too!! then he said bb heart seems got funny noise, ie, after normal heartbeat there's a 'whoo' sound
jus to make sure bb is in good order, he scheduled him to see cardialogist today
, so again, today me &amp; hubby got to send him to nuh for cardiac appt. taken ECG &amp; it shows ok, then cardiac PD said tis sound is not common, but not to get alram, it cud b a hole in heart which some babies do encountered, but will outgrown as they grown. so ordered an echo-scan today also. we waited so long for the scan as we r 'squeeze' in patient by UTI PD. tink bb lance not so lucky lor, after the scan, cardiac PD said there a little hole in bb's heart
but no big deal, come back 1 yr later for review, can do scan @ 2yrs old. hiaz... though she kept stressing is not a big problem, but tinking of 'a hole' in bb heart jus dun make us feel easy lor... really 'duno wat to say'.. then PD got say bb wt abit on 'high side' cos he gain wt again, now 9.7kg @ 7mths....

my son is infected wif Bronchiolitis.. so angry wif kk hospital. tue send him there again to use oxygen nebulised. he cry and cry till whole face red and no energy!!!!!

ok just wanna voice out my anger, here the story.

last fri morning, brought my son to PD (SBCC) to see doc due to cough and flu. doc gave 2 medicine for flu and phlegm. went home... afternoon suddenly got high fever 39.4, abit lost. my neighbour suggest me to send him to kk. so brought him there. reach kk, nurse assist him and gave me Paracetamol. Fever subside... see doc told him my son condition. nv say much just ask him to open mouth and hear his lung. prescibe.. 3 medicine Paracetamol, flu and another to drip nose. No cough medicine!!! Reach hm my son fever came up again and again which lasted till Sun. I call up kk emergency hotline and told them my son conditon. They say wait another 5 days if dis continue den come back again to take blood test. I scolded the nurse and say by them my son fever will already affect the brain!!! stupid nurse...

seeing me so angry and keep asking them, my neighbour to lend me another thermometer. my neighbour suggest i go see another PD (his son PD @ bishan) so mon brought my son there. I told PD my son got bad cough and flu. @ that time my son was playing wif his finger and putting them inisde his mouth. So the cough is not veri "real".. PD say suction not necessary now... but if by wed still conditon bad den call and do. So went hm... again no cough medicine.

Mon night.. my son cough and cough till wanna vomit. his nose like block... so has hard time breathing. so we drip his nose to clear it... tue morning his cough was so bad.. dat he just sleep and sleep dun even wanna drink milk. normally he drink 180ml now he drink 60ml... dat evening i suggest we bring him to kk again. the nurse was saying dis show he was distress while sleeping. doc see him... i told him the whole story.. and guess wat he say.. he definitely
has a bad cough!!! so meaning the 1st doc can't detect the cough lah.. so my poor boy has to blow the oxygen nebulised.....

dis time cough medicine is given... now after 3 days my son has recover after taking the medicine. but the cough will continue for at least 2 weeks.

Thanks for the mummies advising me to let my boy try warm water.. hope this work..=)

Hi Junnie,

When my boy is ard 2 mths, PD also mentioned that his heart is pumping too fast so suggest my boy to hv a heart scan. After the scan, result is the same as BB Lance..."little hole in his heart". But the PD told me not to worry and said the hole will close back when he is older . He ask me to go back for review when he is 6 mths old. So I hv an appt with PD this sun to c whether he need another scan to cmf his condition. the worst thing Im worry is the hole will still be there cos I have a history of it .. But we just hope for the best..OK.. Nw my boy is cmin 7 mths at 7kg..*HUgz*

Annie,

Dont be angry liao... Hugzz... sometime those PD just hear what u said and prescribe the medicine .. even u tell them yr boy is coughin but sometime when we r at the PD ctre our boy seem ok to them .. Grr

annie,

Oh gosh, I wonder how these doctors got their license! How come they couldn't detect the cough and listen to what you have told them, ie the Cough! It really makes pple mad. I'm so sorry to hear that you've had such a bad experience.

Poor Kayden...hopefully he's feeling better now.

Junnie,

Not to worry too much about the hole in the heart. Actually every baby is born with a hole in the heart but it closes up after they are born. But some didn't manage to close up so the hole is still there. It'll eventually close up by itself as baby gets older.

My hubby also had a hole in his heart till he was in primary school. He was quite weak when he was young but became very strong after the hole had closed up. He loves sports and very good at it. The hole didn't affect his life at all.

annie: feel angry for u.. how can these doctors not know what they are doing! hmm.. lucky ur boy on way to recovery..

junnie + pinky.. im sure its as what sanbebe say, the hole will close up on their own once babies are bigger.. meantime dun worry so much.

gingerleaf: i read abt feeding session being quiet too.. so now i normally raised hishigh chair to dining table level and feed him beside the dining table with no distractions. no tv no distracting with toys etc.

and i dun allow my hubby to play with him during meal time too..
but of cos lah, if MIL ard, she will call his name to get his attention lah. damn irritating

a

ecookie,
yah, I read abt that too. But I didnt follow, and luckily it turn out fine, and infact, I tried feeding her in a quiet enviroment but she was all figety. I still prefer to fed her with the tv on, so she'll be distracted by the tv and I can sneak in a few more mouthful. Heeh.
Btw, orders for wipes is cancelled.

Junnie, poor Lance. have to go thru more scans and watsnot. hope he will recover well and fast!

annie, aiyo! it must hv been super irritating man... poor thing.. dun angry liao ya? take gf care of bb!