(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

Sugarnut,
I'm also interested in the gymboree class, my boy will be 6mths old on Apr 17.

Interested mummies:
1. totoro_bb
2. Jacq
3. dodo
4. Eilcare
5. Velvet
6. sugar nut
7. gingerleaf
8. jojer
9. madlynette
10. strawberrymum
11. bbwow
12. zhen zhen
13. garden dreamz
14. aria jo
15. unice
16. sanbebe
17. Annie
18. ponponta
19. ueno

gymboree class: i think i ll give it a miss.. my intention was to start sending him only when he's ard 9mths+.

gingerleaf: tot u had my email addy? no mind, i PM u liao.

JG: im interested in JG too.. keen to find out more too..

Hi annie,
I am enjoying the time spent with my boy, wouldnt trade it for anything else in the world. Hehe.. I love it. What abt u?

hi ueno,

Although i enjoy the time spent wif my boy and watch him grow up but i find it too tiring sometimes... my mum help out sometimes, dis sun is my mum last day working. Now i'm still thinking whether shd go look for part time job and let my mum take care of my boy.

But me veri particular abt my boy development and etc.... scared if my mum take care will end up having conflict.

how wat do u think???

garden dreamz,
I know. That's why I don't read Dr Sears book. He's the attachment type and Gina Ford is CIO. I can't bear to hear Jav cries so I closed his window and door, on the aircon and off the baby monitor.

Jacq,
I heard JG is good but expensive. Oh JG is Julia Gabriel. Here's the website:
http://www.juliagabriel.com/

JG has classes for 6 mths to 3 yrs. They call it Playnest and Playclub.

annie,
So you are thinking of sending your son for the Playnest? Is it the bilingual or Mandarin one?

Ueno,annie,
I'm also a SAHM !!!
I like being with Jav but am feeling very tired at times. Now backache and sleepy..but all is gone when I see him smiling or looking lovingly at me

ecookie,
Join us for the Gymboree class lah !! I'm also thinking of sending Jav there when he's a bit older or can crawl but I join the trial to see how they conduct the class and whether Jav likes it.

sanbebe

Ya it's the playnest.. I plan to send him to the english one. At home his grandparents speak mandrian wif him. Only me and my sis speak english wif him.

I start to miss working life but like u say whenever i saw kayden smiling or even crying make me totally forget abt working life. Just wanna be there for him... touching!!!!

annie,
If you are quite particular regarding your son's development, then I think it's wise not to let your mom look after him. There bound to have conflicts. My sis always have conflicts with my mom regarding this too. Which is why I choose to resign and look after Jav myself.

I agree it's very tiring but I guess it's a trade off that we have to take.

Baby Fair,
There are many booths such as Moms in Mind, Mumfairy, Glen Doman flash cards, Nestle, AIA, Prudential and blah blah blah....I just bought 2 baby shirts for Jav. The rest of the booths were so crowded and long queues.

I saw totoro queueing for Nestle products but the queue wasn't moving at all. There were so many people buying the Nestle products, each of them carried so many cans of cereals and jars of baby food.

sanbebe
i read both Gina Ford n Dr Sears. so in the end, i decided to let nature takes its course. look at it long term... in years to come, once my boy grows up, he won't want that much attention fr me anymore! :D

annie,
playnest pretty ex but pretty gd. its parent-accompanied, right? unfortunately, i'm working by then, so unable to send him there, no one to accompany him during the lessons.

annie/sanbebe
i'm also like both of u, pretty particular about the development of my child, but unfortunately financial constraints, so can't be SAHM. can be a temporary one for now, so gonna maximise whatever time i've with him, once go back work, much as i like to dictate his development, i've to leave it to the mercy of his caretakers already...

sanbebe

I intend to send him to Forum br.. playnest schedule, it's 3 times weekly 1.5hr. Hope by May or early June i save enough $$$ to send kayden there. Actually I find 6mth old abit too young to join so by den 9mth shd be able to sit and crawl will be much more fun.

I also wanna buy the Nestle but buy 4bottles of jar food need to Q so long, much as well forget abt it. I wanna sub Mother & Baby mag but the free gift Huggies pampers OOS.

garden_Dreamz

yup it's parent-accompanied. u can ask ur parents or caretakers to accompany ur bb to the lesson mah.

HI ueno,

im going to be a part time SAHM too.. planned to work every morning only. MIL will take care of BB in the morning (3x), huuby (2x) and weekends will be taking care of him ourselve.

Re : Gymboree,

Personally, i feel a class size of 15 is too huge. the max number of baby per lesson for BB lesson till now is only 10 which i feel over crowded. I feel the optimal size should be 6-8 only.

Re: Solid food,

Can anyone advise if taking sweet pototoes (using the cube frezzing method) will cause 'gassy' bb. My MIL is nagging about the method i use to prepare BB food... she said pumpkin and sweet pototoes r v 'windly', must eat stright aft steaming.. cannot be put in the fridge. I notice BB poo poo more often, about 2-4x a day aft he started on pumpkin and sweet pototoes.

Im so sick of her coment... sign

Any insight..

garden_Dreamz,annie/sanbebe ..

Me too.. im very particular in BB development.. i think im v fussy.. even toward his food and milk intake. My MIL everyday siad he had not enought milk .. when i take care of him.. he only drink 5x 150ml per day.. my MIL will alway siad that he is hunger aft 3 hrs. Whatever noise BB made is = to hunger. SHe think she understand BB more than me.. said he misses her, or BB misses my BIL (her elder son) etc etc... but funny never miss his mummy...i just let her be.. haha

She said i must left BB with her some nights to try out if not he will not be adaptable.. i dun care.. i will not...

though of ogoing oversea with BB and hubby during end of april, just worry if BB can take 7 hours flight at 7th month.. any suggestion. My MIL wants me to leave BB with her.. but i decided .. if BB not going .. im not going..

annie,
i agree with sanbebe. I am also very particular abt my boy's development thats why i choose to take care of him myself.
I also plan to send my boy to JG in Sep for their last term, by then he will be 11mths old. I am also choosing the Forum br but im going for the 2 times weekly 1.5hr.

garden dreamz: yah i read gina ford too.. tried CIO few times when he's 4 mths old..but after awhile also feel that he s just a baby.. when he becomes toddler think wont want my attention so much and babies grow up sooo fast. so its back to rocking him to sleep again ha.. but perhaps he knows we are willing to rock him so he "co-operates" as well.. normally rock less than 10 mins he'll fall asleep and we can put him down in his cot liao.

sanbebe: i scare i go for the trial and will be tempted to sign up.. but seriously i feel that babies benefit more from 9 mths onwards when their gross motor skills more developed. my colleague who sent his daughter there show me pixs and they really have a lot of activities like a mini gym for the babies, climb upslope... etc very cute..
financial constraints is also another factor lah.. think want to save up for JG

JG: talking abt JG im very KEEN cos heard so many +ve feedback abt it. same as annie, thinking of sending for english class playnest.. but again will want to wait till baby older say at least 9 mths old bah.. ")

chris: ur MIL is just like mine! esp the part any noise=hunger! so scared that she'll over-feed my boy when i was abt to go back to work back then.
but i was v firm and insist that she stick to a schedule (i make her write down feeding time) and prepared the milk powder in ready-containers.. so far she stick to what we say lor so stil okie..

but sometimes her comments make me sianz also.. like whenever i come back from work will dash to baby and say "mummy here!" and he'll always smile w/o fail.. and she will always ask my hubby: did baby smile?? (is there any doubt??!?!)
lucky hubby always answer" of cos, baby likes mummy best!" hiaks.

i'm a SAHM too! but only for a while more. next mth onwards, i'll be working part time (2 days a week). i feel very reluctant to go back though, after spending so much time with my daughter the past few months.

but the good thing is my mom will be looking after her. she knows how i want my baby to be looked after, and respects my instructions. so i'm really blessed in that area.

totoro, thanks for the info on float. didn't realise it's quite far away though! i will ask my hubby to drive me down one of these days.

chris, i also use the cube freezing method. i don't see anything wrong with it. but pooping 2-4 times a day is quite a lot ya? does he poop so much when he's taking other foods?

Went to the baby fair at 12pm. Look around the BK to look for you all, but too many people until I blur also. My husband at first don't want to go, but ended up he met 3 couple of friends. Didn't get anything because after seeing the Nestle queue, Sianz by half already

Chris, ecookie, My MIL different from yours. Baby cries = want to sleep. This 2 weeks I am on my ML, then Raphael didn't actually sleep for very long, always taking short nap, Then she said because of me around that Raphael always thought that I am going to bring him out. Therefore cannot sleep.She always want me to leave Raphael at night for her to take care and Ask me to go holiday without him. Of course, I said NO to both her requests.

This few weeks I have several meetup at night, then Raphael did cry. I think he wants me. But my MIL always insists that because he just hungry or sleep or get startle so he cry. In the end, she will always said, " He is ok with me lah".

I try all my ways and means to make Raphael always prefer me to anyone else. Therefore, I will try to take care of him at night and spend most of the time with him even I am working. Must make him superglued to me.

Perlicia ... yes i think bb wants you too ... cos if my boy sleep with me he will sleep all the way till morning ... but if with the maid den sometimes he will wake up ... same for my gal she is 5+ also like tt keke hahahahaha ... the child is OURSSssssss ... hahaha

i want to join the trial class too ...

was at the expo but only saw annie as i needed to go to the church service ... hope to see your gals and bbs soon ...

chris

Re: Solid food,

personally i find poo poo 2-4x a day also quite alot. my mum told me sweet potatos are good get rid of dirty things inside tummy.

same same lei, my mum also when my boy cry = hungry. den i told her maybe he's sleepy but she dun believe. but within 10min while i carry my son he fall asleep. u noe she say wat... bb cannot sleep so much lai. my son wake up 730am by 10am he feel tired i find it ok mah.

den ah... she like to feed my son watever fruits or food she like. aiyah... say too much make me more ANGRY!!!!

ueno

I heard JG waiting list super long must faster enrolled.

ecookie

my son will be 9mth during June, maybe we can send them to JG together at least when i go there not so boring.

sharon

Re: expo fair

I find the fair so so only, nothing much to buy. tot got pampers etc... if i remember correctly, last yr jun i went to a bb fair @ expo got sell pampers,sealer, drypers etc... but dis fair like nothing lei.

need ur opinion.. next week i'm going genting wif hubby and bb. u think we shd drive up ourselve or take coach. to me wif bb 6mth old take coach troublesome. how???

is JG really very good? is it possible to go and observe what they do, before deciding whether to put bb there?

perlicia, when bb is young, mummy is their whole world. the smile my bb gives me is different from the smile she gives other people. there's no doubt who she loves best at the moment. haha...

annie, i personally feel driving up will be easier. u can stop whenever you want. unlike coach, which only makes selected stops. just my opinion.

Ueno,annie,sanbebe,

welcome to SAHM club.. hehe.. it's a joy to watch ur kids grow and amuse u doing their "first" time eg. First flip, first crawl.. etc.. I quited to look after my first till now the 2nd.. it's a little addictive! haha..

Re :expo fair,

nice meeting u gers annie,sanbebe,madlynette and totoro.

i didnt go to expo fair.. instead went to book fair and spend $80+ on my kids stuffs.. Singapore money getting smaller manz.. onl a few stuffs can cost u so much money liao.. hubby complainning it's hard to live in sg!

annie,sanbebe,garden_dreamz

all parents are like that one.. my mum and MIL also.. baby cry only ask it is time for milk? baby face got milk rash says must clean properly.. baby suck thumb says u never give him pacifier?? wah lau.. i duno repeat how many times jerric hates pacifier..

Annie,
i think it's better to drive up..like wat zhen zhen says can make pitstop without restrictions.In coach scared u disturb other pessengers when bb crys la.. very inconvenient one.. I bring my boy go genting when he is abt 1 yr old.We also drive up.. throughout the whole journey just sleep and wake up drink milk play toys den sleep again.. easier to handle.Dunno kay will be okie duing the journey cos he quite young leh..

chris,

i also heard from my MIL cannot take too much of sweet potato and pumkin.. cause "wind".. can eat a few days once but not everyday la.. babies at this age watever food u give must be moderate.. cause their stomach is very small to contain.
Before u introduce solids how many times does he poo? Usually babies will need sometime to adjust to the new food.. so it might not be surprising that they tend to poo more often.. but if this continues for sometime u might wanna stop giving him that particular food and monitor if bb still poos that often.

Jojer

nice meeting u too..
next time can organise gathering for SAHM. I think it's good to let bb to mix around wif those same age as them.

my dad say if take coach later my son poo poo the passangers all faint!!! my son poo seriously very smelly. even adult poo also not dat smelly.. haha

u let ur son sit car seat or u carry him??? my son cannot sit still in the car seat. when nap time need me to carry and ta ta den will fall asleep.

annie,

ya.. should let them mingle more.. we also can chit chat more! haha..
i let my boy sit car seat.. driving there must be careful leh! But if need be maybe u wanna bring along a sling.. if he wans u to pat u put him inside and pat lor.. more secure..
Now going causeway takes more time with the tight security.. better be prepared!

annie: okie lets go JP playnest together if possible.

also think quite reasonable for baby to want to sleep aft being awake for 3-4 hrs.. they are babies mah. still cant go for long hours w/o sleep yet!

perlicia: ha i understand leh.. i wanted my boy to prefer me over others too *evil laugh*

HI all,
tks for all the feedback.

I stopped sweet potatoes and pumpkin aft 4 days each.. had to try for 4 days for allergy. Now he is on avocado only.

Sending his rice for grinding, will be collecting only today.

Before he is on solid, he only poo poo once a day.. but after a started on sweet potoatoes and pumpkin... he poo poo more.. avocado is ok..

Will be stopping pumpkin and sweet pototoes for the time before since my rice arriving soon.. going to start of cereal soon...

But will be going back to work on tew and wed.. so will not be around to feed BB personally to guage he intake and response. V reluctant to let MIL do it.. cos no matter how much he takes also not enough. maybe start later on wed.. where i will be clearing leave till fri... haha

YA... i also like my BB to supergule me..

Thank everyone.. feel much better..

annie,sanbebe,jojer
re: MIL
MILs are hard to deal with in short. my MIL dun seem to be v.keen to take care of my boy (she's v.direct n harsh plus dun understand needs of pple, so end up alot of friction) when i return back work. but i've no choice coz my parents r working n my hubby dun trust my maid to be alone with the bb at home. then, both hubby n i can't agree on which side has more 'bad habits' to learn. so i've sort of decided that once he reaches 18mths, i'll send him to childcare, so whatever bad habits he picks up, i can afford to scold him. unlike if he picks up bad habit fr my MIL,niece, i can't say that he can't follow MIL/niece coz its family members, how to tell him not to model after them? wait end up more conflict between adults...

jojer,
yap, my baby has milk rash which is so so common n my MIL always ask why he has rash n claims that her son (my hubby) didn't have that at all. so tempted to tell her that in her eyes, her own son and daughter are perfect angels - dun cry / give trouble as babies (if only such textbook babies exist!!!) and tat she didn't take care of them 24/7, so she is in no position to compare her off-spring to my boy.

annie,
on that note, i thus dun think i can send my boy to JG. coz i've no one to send him there (my maid can accompany him but no one sends them there) n plus, JG emphasizes parental involvment, thus i think other caregivers are not as ideal as parents. unless i be SAHM!!! :D

garden_dreamz:the 3 times must be during weekdays? if not think i wil schedule 1 session during weekend and i ll accom while the other 2 times will be my mum bah..

yah hubby n i has decided to send our boy to childcare once he turns 18 mths. think its the best arrangemt for us..

Happy Saturday!

Annie,
I think driving up is better too, coz u can plan ur trip better n its much more flexible as well!

jojer, annie, sanbebe , mad,
aiyer, I didnt get to see you all! So disappointed! I reach there 11plus, and when I contacted mad, she's already home!

Ended up only met totoro, chintz and unice.

chintz,
chloe is sooo cute! Both chloe and kelly are such smiley babies! She kept biting the bib, and hid half her face in the carrier. SO CUTE! jhehehe. And ya, really can see her papa face swell with pride when taking her pictures. Hehe. She must be a daddy's gal!

The fair this time is boring. Not much to get too, and things oso not very cheap. Wonder how come this year no friso booth.

re JG,
I always dream of sending lyn there! But its really costly right?

sleepy saturday...

re expo fair:
ya i agree, nothing fantastic... only bought a mustella barrier cream at $10.50... got some freebies as well... aiya, i was there quite late so din manage to meet up wi u all, only chintz & chloe
this couple haven make up yet, both still as sulking.. haa :p

re gymboree trial:
sorry mummies, i think i will opt out coz my colleague has a free trial for me... but i would love to meet up wi u all, we shd organise a gathering soon k!

re introducing solid:
started my boy on rice cereal, he loves it... and i just started him carrot yesterday, have some doubts here, do i still continue to give rice cereal? can give him for the same meal or different meals for vege/ fruit puree & rice cereal?

ecookie
playnest is on weekdays, no weekend classes. that's y i can't send him there. so sad...

haha... u n ur hubby same as ours. meantime, once i go back work, i'll just grit my teeth with bb being at MIL's/parent's place (if my mum happen to be not working tat day). as long as he's growing fine, i close 2 eyes, once go childcare, at least no conflict from both sides! :D could face abit of transition woes for bb n me but in the long run, hopefully he can learn to be independent. childcare means alot of $$ spent in that area, hence can't afford JG.

been really busy hence not much time to post...see that everyone is discussing about gymboree, childcare arrangements, being SAHM and relations with in-laws.

like ecookie i think i'll only send Matty for gymboree only after he turns 9 mths... think it would be more relevant then. for now, he's pretty happy with his cloth books, toys and jumperoo :D

i really wish i could be a SAHM. every morning can't bear to leave him esp since he looks at me with that lil puppy dog expression...and now he's gettin so close to the maid...the only thing that i can do but she can't is breastfeed him. So that is like our only bonding time on weekdays, that little night feed at 10-ish. really can get tiring since i usually have marking to finish also, and gotta wake up by 5.30am the next day. *panda eyes* So SAHMs, you're definitely making the best decision ever.

Looking at some of your experiences with the ILs, I'm glad mine aren't overbearing or negligent...I'm happy to say I can totally trust them to oversee things when I'm not around

I started my daughter on gymboree at 4 mths plus. She is at level 1, another boy is in our class.
She really enjoys the play time there and the instructor is really good.
By the way, went for the baby fair on friday, nothing much maybe because we already know what to expect. Seen a lot of mom to me buying almost everything and anything.
The nestle queue was damn long. Waited forever to purchase my simple four items and they only have 1 blardy counter for payment.

garden_dreamz: sigh.. only on weekdays ah.. then abit hard leh.. that means even if i send him there, i dun get to accom him at all ?

hmm.. in this case will assess again...

and yah same as you, me just close one (sometimes, TWO!) eye and let my MIL continue taking care of him for half a week.. cos at least i know she cares for baby genuinely.
but once he turns 1 1/2 years old, will send to half day child care near my mum';s place and she ll take over taking care for weekdays daytime.

just took my boy for his 2nd pnuemo jab and he weighs 8.5kg and 68.5cm near 5 mths old.

forgot to ask doc which percentile he;s in but i reckon should be on the high side. ha

Jojer

Think cannot bring my boy car seat.. b'cos got 6pax going and sitting in the car. if my boy sit in the car seat the rest like no space to sit.

I intend to buy the sling during the fair but try and try find it veri loose.. dunno why!! in the end bought a carrier. so i will carry my son in the carrier throughout the jounery.

my PIL going also... won't even let them carry my son. not dat i'm selfish, it's b'cos my MIL dunno how to carry my son. She nearly drop him!!! if anything happen to my son i'm going to divorce wif my husband.

ecookie

when i abt to enroll JG. i let u know ok

gingerleaf

dun worry we will meet up soon!!!

totoro_bb: u very onz leh.. go back again to subscribe mag. wat mag?

will prob going to give e fair a miss from all ur feedback.

JG: looks like cant enroll bb since oni on weekdays. btw, am curious on the cost. went to the website but cant find the cost. anyone can share?

ecookie: ur bb is growing v well
unlike my petite girl who is oni 6.8 at 5 mth plus. ha

hey all: am excited to share abt my "adventure" yesterday. hb and me brought bb clare to watch movie! just felt like catching a movie so went online to book the seats nearest exit (in case of "emergency"). and chose the timing outside the feeding time :p
thankfully, she slept almost thru'out the movie!
I enjoyed the thrill of bringing her to the movie more than the movie haha

as for IL problem, dun hv any cos my MIL is working. mum doesnt want to take care of bb. so i dun hv any issues with that. but the con is whereever we need or want to go during the weekend, bb has to go with us, no one to help to look after. and on days where we hv many programs, it can be reallee tiring on the little one. Guess there is always a trade off..

ecookie
i understand playnest is only held on weekdays and must be parent accompanied, so i can't send him there lor! :D u wanna send your child to whole day childcare or half day? if ur mum can take care, need not send him for childcare mah..

jacq
ur girl really v.cooperative during the movie outing! :D who is taking care of ur girl when u go work, since ur MIL working n ur mum dun wanna take care of bb? i'm also like you, weekend, if we need to settle any errands, baby have to follow. tiring on bb n us! :D

went to baby care festival at expo, made a booboo becos BK do not serve bfast! so stomach growling liao until lunch.

met totoro, jojer, annie, sanbebe,
aiyo all the babies so cute together,
will post photo soon...we had a quick chat and then off to get the goodie bag which is not so fantastic, hor.

i only got some toys from GROWING FUN they have a 3 toys for $12 bin and a $10 toy bin. so i got a total of 4 toys for $22. not bad. mostly puzzle toys.

i didnt get to see much cos HB was rushing me bcos his stomach growling liao! so angry with him liao! everytime i pass by a booth he say "faster, faster". i think he dun want me to spend $$.

by the time gingerleaf sms me i have left already liao.

oh mummies,
i made a big item purchase this weekend! i have bought the bugaboo bee, they are going to deliver tomorrow. i think it will be good investment since i commute a lot on public transport and go out alot, not only to shopping malls but also to art openings and art events and meetings, almost every weekend and weekday evenings, so i think this stroller is suitable to my lifestyle. i hope my bb will only need this stroller.
costs $999.00 card member discount cannot be use. Yah i know so ex hor, last night i could not sleep until 4am thinking about it
in the end i also bought some accessory from amazon.com to make the seat more comfy, will arrive about 2 wks time.

all this while i have been using my hand me down peg perego which i like a lot but it is not practical if i dun have a car cos it is so bulky, so i have been taking the taxi a lot.