(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

hi mummies who asked me qtns..
hmmm...bb got fever means somewhere got infection, 4 my case, suspect UTI cos simple urine test @PD clinic shows urine 'dirty', hence PD sent urine 4 culture @their lab(at least takes 3 days). once cfm bacteria growth, ie, result positive, will hv to opt 4 proper treatment(my bb results shows 'klebsiella pneumoniae' & 'enterococcus species' - two types of bacteria). commonly treatment is do ultrasound kidney, mcu, dmsa then c how bad condition b4 action taken. as my gal has UTI reflux prblm since 9mths old (also started fm high fever, after various tests then found out) kkh said operate asap, but we r reluctant to let my gal go-thru ops @such young age, so we seek 2nd opinion @nuh (tink i hv mentioned her case b4 alr in our thread archive), PD said bb chances of having reflux is high. (reflux, ie, the valve not strong enuff causing urine to backflow which eventually will affect kidney, so hv to tk long term anti-biotic to reduce chances of infection, if serious case will hv to operate). for my gal, she got both side reflux & she took the anti-biotic everynight (dosage depend on wt of kids) (called trimethoprine - not sure of spelling) fm 9mths to 4years, hv to do regular chks (urine test/ultrasound, mcu, dmsa) throughtout tis period, lucky her last chks last july shows ok, so can stop the medication, but still hv to go 4 chks every half yearly, i dun knw when then the chks will stop, probably when kids grow older, cos the doctor @hospital says tis prblm will gradually outgrown by itself, if after certain years of anti-biotic still no improvements, then hv to operate. the worst part is we thot buying insurance 4 my gal when she abt 1years, who knows she got tis reflux prblm, until today, cant buy insurance.hv to wait until she totally clear fm hospital record then can buy. luckily, we bought for bb as soon as he can buy. cos is really v taxing if going regularly to hospital & cant claim. now bb taking anti-biotic (vercef) fm PD till we arranged for ultrasound & mcu.

wow, i hvnt really run thru the posts tis two weeks, now u all talking abt bb 'crawling'??? tat's v fast leh... mine now also cant turn fully, oni half way thru cos 'too heavy', he's 8.6kg @4mths+!!

wah, so nice to see sean boi and aralyn dating! esp since its not too long after valentine's day

gingerleaf, ya haha, my hubby always make funny comments and he makes it as if Sean is the one talking like tt lo..haha

hi mummies, for those who are still bfing? how long do u intend to bf? I feel so tired already wanted to stop at 4mths. For those who stop bfing by taking pills? Are there side effects? Heard that there wun be milk for the next bb? Also, will menses come immediately if i were to stop bfing? sorry to post so many qns.. i feel so confused, my friends encourage me to continue but my family see me so tired so ask me to stop.. haiz..

hi mummies, i am fr the nov thread, pardon me, u were talking abt the jumperoo...may i know appx how much it is in S$?

am based in hk but going back to sg soon...so dunno to buy here in hkg or in sg... the info on price will be very helpful!! thanks much.

ponponta, i am still bfing. intending to start weaning from 6 months onwards... kekeke... that's what i intend to do lah, but dunno can make it or not... i heard taking pills to stop breastmilk will make the breast shrink.. that's what happened to my hubby's sister. i think it's better you stop the bm by natural. i think you can decrease the times of pumping per day... i think i read it somewhere, abt 2 weeks you should be able to stop the bm flow...

my opinion is that dun stress yourself out too much... if you think stop bfing, you will feel less stress, why not? dun let others affect you.

re breastfeeding: I intend to stop breastfeeding after 1 year but dunno if supply can tahan till so long or not...
same as frostyfiona, i will stop naturally by decreasing pumping n latching on.

n first thing i wanna do after stopping breastfeeding totally is to do Lasik haha

cannot wait for 1 yr to pass......

ponponta, ya.. i oso heard taking pills to stop breastmilk will shrink those boobs.. use cabbage instead.. really works. put it in e fridge and use 1 piece on each breast whenever there's engorgement. should stop in abt 1 week or so.. more natural and u dun have to worry abt any side effects.. =D

wow! sean & aralyn dating liao le.. hmm.. paging for dodo.. anderson & adrienne shd go for their long-anticipated date soon.. haha!

breastfeeding:
i intend to stop after 6 months. the first thing i do after i stop totally is open a bottle of wine, can't wait

some of my friends encourage me to BF as long as possible, up to 1 yrs or 2 yrs. but i don't think i can make it, so i set at 6 mths. my initial deadline was 3 mths when i first started but since it was going well, i extended to 6 mths. i think it should be up to you to decide when you want to stop. agree with frosty fiona, its better not to feel stress when you are BFing.

gingerleaf
play yard is 4 panels. when i put on the bumper mat, there's space left on the mat which is just nice at the moment coz i think my boy gets bored being in the play yard sometimes, so i put him on his tummy on the play mat, outside his play yard n he can look around, beyond his 4 walls! :D

at the moment now, the 4 panels is sufficient for him but can b a gd idea to get 6 panels, to fill up entire bumper mat when baby bigger n need more space to roll around lor..

fitty_nut
my boy also likes to explore my face n pull my hair. n his sharp nails n pincer grip on the hair is really v.ouch! v.hard to pull his fingers fr my hair once he caught it, have to tug n tug! :D

gingerleaf/unice
haha... so cute to see ur two babies meeting up! :D

unice,
my hubby n i also v.botak when young, so our boy now super botak! wonder how old will they start to grow more hair!!! :D

these past few days bb sleep time v.terok, have to carry n carry him to sleep. put him on the bed, he refuse to be pat to sleep. so worried that he's cultivating the habit of wanting to be carried all the time whenever he sleeps. this morning, actually let him cry out a while, see if he will calm down on his own on the bed, it didn't work! sighz... so tiring to try to put bb to bed.

thanks gingerleaf and unice! appreciate it!

toys R us in hong kong selling for HK$1299. based on current exchange rate, its juz slightly cheaper than S$239.

but the chinatown store definitely cheaper! unice, may i know the name of the chinatown store? in this case, i prob will buy when i go back to sg... thanks much!!

garden_dreamz,
a play yard is much better than a playpen. Much more practical IMO. Think I might wanna get one too. Now wondering where to put in my living room... doesnt seems to much living space left.

jacq, garden & fitty,

we had his hair shaved on his full-month... think his hair grows quite fast but only the top and front portion, the back portion grows quite slow...

hippo,

ya man! i cant wait to see da yan xiao mei nu also leh!
sean & lyn is the 1st "couple" here, super puppy puppy love.. hee :p

hubby involves in the spore air show these few days so will back home very late... gonna be tough days for me... my mama very nice, cooks food and my dad brings over to me.. so touched.. sob sob *0*

hahah.
unice, does sean's papa do hsework n feed baby in the nite? If dun have hor, lyn dowan sean liao, gg to target anderson instead.

dodo, back home late better than not home ma. =D
I cannot imagine march my hubb gg to be very bz with exhibitions, oso gg to be back home late la, then june gg to leave me alone with a dog 2 cats and a baby for 2 weeks, and germany oso, 2weeks or more!
The thought of picking up everybody's poopoo oreadi made me sianz half..

And I have to tabao my own dinner oso.

after a big round of 'passing baton' since tis morning 9am over the phone with various dept of child's clinic/specialist @nuh, , now finally managed to 'squeeze' appt for bb @nuh tis friday together with his sis (routine ultrasound) of cos, bb will b treated as new patient.. but dun tink can do mcu same day, need further arrangement, jus to consult specialist 1st...

wow... another 'couple' meeting soon - dodo/hippo??? so cute lyn/sean marked 1st couple!!
i must quickly post bb photo & start 'looking' 4 his 'gf'
hahaha..

ponponta...dun tink if take pill will cease bm for nxt pregnancy... my friend currently mother of 3 boys, also bf no. 1 & no.2 during ML only, then hv to tk pills to stop due engorgement & rtn to work. now her no. 3 (now only 7wks) is on TBM, no prblm at all. tink depend on individual. of cos, if u hv enuff supplies, is the best to continue as long as possible, good for bb.

2day i on leave, at least can "breathe" a little after cny & busy weeks. managed to browse thru those posts tat i missed out...jus saw the video clips tat gingerleaf given, cant imagine got such malicious person!! hope the maid got her punishment severely & hope the bb is keeping well, poor ting.

dodo, so sweet of ur parents! =D nvm, airshow very fast over liao le..

gingerleaf, u very funny leh!! i can imagine e time when all living beings in ur house decides to poo at e same time.. OMG!!!

re: baby botak..
i shaved her hair off on her 2nd mth.. haiz. up till now only got 3 patches growing lor!!! really ???O?Ѭo!

hello mummies! how's everyone?

i've just stopped work as a full-timer and will be starting part-time work in apr. really looking forward to spending more time with my dd. she's growing and changing so fast! already can turn and wriggles around a lot. must be more vigilant now.

gingerleaf/unice, so funny to hear of ur babies being "match-made"! hehe...

junnie, will be praying for a speedy recovery for ur bb.

hi mummies, so tired. worked from 7am to 7pm today. on days like these i wish i could be a SAHM simply because i miss bb so much. sometimes i wonder, i spend so much time with other ppl's children...how abt my own??? hai...better not think about it....make myself depressed only.

re: babylegs...i bought 3 pairs from bbtinz and it's great. somehow the black/white stripe ones make matty look very notti hahaha..

junnie, hope your bb gets well soon...

thanks for the comment on my blog gingerleaf haha lyn looks so darling too. really wanna hug her.

gingerleaf
if ur house have enough space for the bumper mat, then have a play yard lor... just sit it on top of the bumper mat, better than a separate play pen which occupy space beyond the mat. heehee...

u better hope everyone at home dun poo at the same time when ur hubby away, sure karang kabok one. poor thing!

re: baby legs
mummies who bought them, is it v.warm for baby to wear them? must be air-conditioned environment then can wear right? other than aesthetic appeal, what are the practical reasons for using baby legs? just curious coz like its so popular, but i dun really know y, other than that its super cute! :D

hi unice,

accompany my fren for lasik surgery today..
was advised dat we can go for one after 2 months from delivery leh...

so is it true? told me it's ok even if bf as long as after 2 months..

wanted to go for lasik last year but when i finally decided upon it, was found pregnant..

hi mummies who put babies on car seat,

do u put any head/neck rest for ur babies?

bought one but it was kinda "useless" as it din fit well and made baby uncomfortable..

drove baby alone yesterday..(she's v rarely driven alone) and when i reached home, she was asleep with iterally the whole head dropping down to one side.. so heartache..

how do any mummies manage with babies driven alone? pls advise thanks

gingerleaf, haha,
ya Sean's daddy does help in housework n feeding Sean!! haha..but not sure if Sean will grow up to be like his daddy...

karrie: dun be depressed,
spend quality yime on sats n sun wif Matty, he sure very happy..

Dreamer@hk, if u still wan the Chinatown contact:
cheong choon store tel: 65323855

Jacq,
really?? wow thats good news lei if we can do lasik even though bf after 2 months!!!!
i will call up the doc and enquire more tomorrow...will update u if u interested

garden_dreamz,
its abit warm to be worn in non-aircon areas.
But I find it useful as in, when I bring her out, I can juz dress her in a onesie, then if go into aircon areas, juz put on the babyleg, no nid to bring extra pants, or dress her in longsleeves.

hi mummies, thanks for all your advice.. My breast is so lopsided now.. It used to be 1 breast twice the size of the other. But after having mastitis, it become 3 times the size and i cannot fit into my clothes.. So i have heard that pills will shrink the breast.. And thought of trying, dunno if it will go back to the original size.. coz a bit cumbersome with big lopsided breasts...heehee

morning mummies... yesterday send my sister off to france to work for a yr... and my poor nephew is crying away when seeing my sister walking in without him.. keep asking for mama mama... ah yo... i see liao so heartpain.. yesterday 3 plus then managed to coax him to slp...

karrie: dun be sad... just try to spend quality time with matty on weekday nights & weekends.. im trying my best to do so too.. by the time i reach home everyday its already 7+ and baby will be asleep by 9pm..

re babylegs:
hee, just want to ask if its okie for boys to wear such babylegs too? all along thought its more for girls hee.. like those leggings we wear ourselves.. :p

correct me if im wrong.. im v suaku...

frosty fiona; wah so sad to hear that ur sis n her son will be apart for a year...

ur sis must be v sad herself.. i cant imagine myself apart from my baby for too long...

jacq: baby head rest
hi, i still used one for my baby. though it doesnt really fit well with the car seat but my baby's head can fit into it just nice.. ha.
still using cos sometimes the driving can get bumpy and thought it'll be better to hold his head as his neck still not so steady..

yah... i was thinking to myself, i cant imagine i have to leave my boy for so long... i cant even bear to think of having to leave him in SG and so i am delaying my holiday plans. I tell my hubby go holidays I die die also want to bring my boy along! Cannot go without him...

my poor nephew... really cry his heart out yesterday...

garden,

agree wi gingerleaf on the usage of bblegs and i think it's also good for them when they learn to crawl, serve as a protection from the friction

eccokie,

bblegs definately for boys too! im sure karrie agrees wi me!

modelling by anderson.. haa

1254222.jpg

so cute anderson

dodo, in this pic, anderson looks more like ur hubby lei....

jacq, I just called up the Lasik doc...he said as long as we have our first mense, we can do lasik....
but up till now, i still dun have menses....sigh....