(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

paisai need advice here.. for those mummies renting out their house.. my current tenant wan to extend the contract for 1 more year and we are more than happy coz they are v good tenants..

however they request a reduction of $100 in rental due to the mkt now and we are fine wi it. but my agent told us his comission is half month of the rental which i find that it's rather alot coz my initial contract is 1+1 year.. and all he has to do is just to let us sign the extension contract.. any mummies know is it a normal practice to demand that? TIA!

dodo, from my knowledge, it is their practice but u can always "bargain" wif them one since they onli extend for 1 yr instead of 2. So perhaps u can let ur agent noe if he/she will accept half mth instead. If not, u can pretend say will look for other agents to rent out ur place & dun wanna extend wif the current ppl liao. :p

dodo... it's a normal practise for agents to charge half a month rent of commission for one year rental renewal... it's in the contracts...but you can always try to negotiate with the agent...

Sigh... Guess it's norm for the teachers to neglect. But I really cannot tolerate the hygiene part.

Ecookie,
Yz's mucus dried up? That's really bad.

Just thinking aloud. Are we gonna have a xmas gathering like last year? Maybe can hold a week or two before xmas?

maruko & petit gars,

thanks! it's in the contract huh? i better go and flip thru it later on..
ya, will try to negotiate wi him.. if he can maintain the rental at original px then i okay to give him half month comission, now reduce $100 a month, then i shall bargain wi him..

Jovialz... do you still have the contact of the mover you recommend on this forum before? Do you mind giving me again.. cos i misplace it. Need it urgently...thanks

anyone has mover's contact? Thanks.

Dodo,
re: gathering
I'd prefer 27 Nov (Fri). Bcos on Sat, I've gynae appt in the morning, followed by my cousin's kid's birthday celebration at noon.

Petit,
my contact is the same as maruko. Can't help you.

Update on Caelen,
fever never came back up after medication fro
the family doc yesterday afternoon. Did not develope to cough. Would say he'd recovered Liao. Thank for mummies concerns

zhen zhen and sugar nut
I'd mailed out the clothes today before 5pm. If by any chance you'd managed to take any photos of the little in them, do send me ok?

hapi fifi & maruko,

i prefer 27th nov also.. ok, let's see who else wana join us

Gathering:
Date: 27 Nov 09 (Friday)
Time: To be confirmed
Venue: To be confirmed

1) Dodo
2) Hapi Fifi
3) Maruko

Mummies, any suggestion on time and venue?

Pls count me in!!!

Gathering:

1) Dodo
2) Hapi Fifi
3) Maruko
4) Petit_gars

Can’t sleep, so decided to catch up on all the posts that I’ve missed.

Chersam, Hippo, actually we didn’t even know about the existence of the twin until the detailed scan. That’s when they spotted the second sac and embryo. So it obviously stopped growing at a very early stage.

Maruko, don’t stop Travis from his milk yet, even if he’s drinking a lesser amount. . He still needs milk for a quite a while more. Besides, think the milk expiry date is quite long right? So should be able to last.

Chintz, good to hear from you after so long. Don’t worry, Chloe is not the only one who’s acting up. Hannah is also super clingy to me. Only wants me to look after her. But I realise now that I’m spending more time at my ILs place, she’s getting better. Perhaps it was really a case of me spending so much time with her, until she doesn’t want anyone else.

Petit gars, sounds like you have your hands FULL! Hope both your kids recover quickly.

Sugarnut, Leanne’s jaundice sounds quite bad. Need to monitor for 2 months? And don’t feel bad about going out during confinement. I went out to pak tor with my hubby 2 weeks after I gave birth to Hannah, cos I couldn’t stand being confined at home. Think I will do the same with this one. Hahahaha... Fortunately, both my ILs and parents aren’t strict about confinement. In fact, it’s my mom who suggested that my hubby take me out, because she noticed that I was so moody.

Jovial, chris, hope your boys recover quickly!

Twinkle star, long time no “see”! Do try to rest more ok. Don’t work so hard and neglect your health.

Dodo, hope you and zq recover quickly too! Then can go and enjoy the snow.

Ariajo, your description of naia very funny leh. Looks like she’s not very “lady-like” at the moment huh? Haha...

Eufrasia, maybe you need to talk to your hubby? Think it’s important for parents to be consistent when disciplining kids.

Mm, it’s good that your girl’s school has such a visit. And don’t worry, I’m sure she’ll pick up the whole money thingy soon enough though.

Re: money
Must tell you something very funny. The other day, my hubby went into my daughter’s room after her nap and she had just pooped. So he said “let’s change your diaper”. You know what is Hannah’s reply? “Pay me money first!”

Re: Christmas gathering
Onz! Since I can’t make it for the 27 Nov gathering. Agree to have it 1-2 wks earlier though. Closer to date always very busy.

gd morning mummies...

zhen zhen, how com cant sleep? gettin too excited?

re: xmas gatherin
I dun mind to join but will prefer it earlier. BTW, do we need to bring any exchange gifts? How much for the gift den?

dodo, u got any suggestions for the meetup place?

morning mummies! finally my mth end come to a closure. i have been working almost 12am for the past 2 nites (in office!). Din see cherie for 2 days too, missing her so much, aim to leave on dot today!

now goin thru the archives...

Gathering:

1) Dodo
2) Hapi Fifi
3) Maruko
4) Petit_gars
5) ecookie

chersam: oh dear, work till so late? quick go home and sayang cherie today!! my closing only started this week!
today will be the most busy day. hopefully can close smoothly and go off early..

morning mummies!!!

Gathering:

1) Dodo
2) Hapi Fifi
3) Maruko
4) Petit_gars
5) ecookie
6) hippo

chersam, good for u! i m still stuck the mth-end close. and to make things worse, i scalded my fingers yday with hot water yday and had to go off half day! tsk tsk..

bbwow, *ABISH!*

re: mac monopoly
reali can OPEN ur eyes and search for the one with Sentosa Cove cos confirm only got one. cos i got 2 marina bays when i ate mac for dinner on mon. hahahhahaa!

zhen zhen, hahahaha! chen hao gotta pay $$$ to change soiled diapers? ha! hannah is so cheeky!

chintz,
miss u too! u returning to work soon right?
regarding terrible two, i expect cherie to be nottier but turned out she is better behaved. i have been pleased with her behaviour for the past 2 weeks. Previous 2 mths were terrible! every evening at 1 point of time sure throw temper. Nuah on the floor & cry, dunno wat she wan. Now no more such drama scenes liao. But then hor, she is still as jealous as before. Dun wan my mum to carry my nephew, machiam Ah Mah only belong to her 1 person nia. bth!

petit gars,
how's marcus now? rashes gone?
oh poor tiffie, did she sprain her ankle during the practise? hope she recover in time for her ballet exam. And And, u like gals so much ar?! same as me!!!

cherie bear,
hang on! ur ML starting soon!

sugar nut,
hope leanne's jaundice go off soon!

jovialz,
LOL at ur strategy for the fortress!!!

twinklestars,
as usual u are always so busy, do take care ya! wah, short getaway to bangkok arh? ya, take this chance to eat & shop to ur fullest! keke!

dodo,
ZQ & YA look alike! both so handsome!

hippo,
adri got her nice features fm both u & ur hb lar, not all fm ur hb lar. ur mum too humble to praise her own daughter lar. hehehe!

chris,
oh, brig's runny nose same as cherie's case, she had it for 4 long weeks (p/s: 4 visits to doctors). hope he recovers soon!

ariajo,
hahaha, u & ur suggestion on the condom! but hb dun use tat =D

hapi fifi,
so qiao u leaving for BKK on same as twinklestars. u bringing aidan along?

eufrasia,
anthony & cherie not "room mates", i delivered at GlenE =)

bbwow,
i think some teachers using such approach i.e to let the child cry & stop on his/her own. BUT i tell u, i can't accept this method becos i will feel heartpain! Lucky for cherie's sch, the teachers are always pro-active, will attend to crying kiddos immediately. share with u my fren's experience. my fren once witnessed her gal crying but the teacher never come attend to her, instead carryin another kid who is not crying. then the teacher spotted my fren standing outside the window, immediately put down the kid & attend to her gal. So fake this teacher! perhaps u find a chance to speak to J's teacher on their views on handling such crying cases.

zhen zhen,
hannah so funny and soooo cute! LOL!

ecookie & hippo,
haha, i thot both of u already done with ur closing, so just started ah. Jia You Jia You!

hippo,
oh dear, y so bu xiao xin? how is your fingers now?

maruko, this pregnancy, i haven't been sleeping very well. very often wake up in the middle of the night, then cannot go back to sleep. fortunately am not working since sep, so can still rest during the day.

hippo, ya lor. she's so cheeky nowadays. come up with all kinds of nonsense. like she told my FIL that she doesn't need to wash hands before dinner as she uses a spoon to eat. how? so young and already can "talk back".

zhen zhen,
tho hannah "talk back" to ur FIL but is in smartie way! =)
come to makan, remind me of cherie. my hb wan to feed her cake & the cake was placed in a bowl. then hb's intention is to feed her using his hand. cherie upon seeing the cake in bowl, ordered my hb to get a fork, meaning must eat with fork!

chersam, poor gal...do knock off on the dot today & go back sayang cherie. She will b waitin for u wif open arms

hippo, how did u scald ur hand? *sayang* apply loads of aloe vera gel on it ok?

zhen zhen, oic...do rest more while u can :p

*looks at hippo innocently*

chersam,
wah...your friend's teacher also abit fake leh. if they want to stand firm on their teachings they have to explain to us lor. I can understand the discipline part la. but mucus flowing is like hygiene leh, which I cannot tolerate.

re: talk back
Yesterday J requested to put 3 of his soft toys at the back of his buggy car. We told him can't attached as it will fall off. Then we suggested to put in his seat and he shook his head and said "put behind better" So we thought hard why he insisted to put the soft toys there. Then hubby recalled his fav kiddy ride - Barney & friends.
nowadays when come to meals, my MIL will ask J "Want to eat?". He can still reply in Mandarin "等一下“ meaning wait for a while! really stumped us.

morning mummies!!!

Gathering:

1) Dodo
2) Hapi Fifi
3) Maruko
4) Petit_gars
5) ecookie
6) hippo
7) bbwow

I don't mind having the xmas gathering on this date since dodo is here?

chersam & zhenzhen:
Thanks gals... Fever & rashes have subside for Marcus... the only thing he present me with a sexy, deep husky cum phlegmy voice this morning... hahahahaaaa.... Tiffie is getting better... she sprained it in one of her practice... her ballet exam coming...so gotta heal in time

And I am no doubt loving girls more than boys... cos boys are so 'cool' and rough... i can't stand him attempting to wrestle with me every night..leaving me with scratches, bruises and lesser hair... he finds it funny though. Girls are different.. i still get my kisses, hugs and sweet nothings day and night from my 6 yr old gal...but then... i still love them to bits

hippo:
Oh no... have you applied antiseptic cream on your hand? must be careful careful ok
hope it's getting better now.

Dayan got fever at 3am last night. ald subsided. But he looks very restless. I am very paranoid now when he is down with fever. Remember the fit epi just in Sept? I am very fearful. Watching him like a hawk now while he sleep.

You mean on 27th Nov gathering, we celebrate Christmas liao ah?? Anyway, i am thinking of celebrating Danson 1st year old bday on 28th Nov (his actual is 12th Dec). Is there a myth that we can't celebrate too early for 1st year bday?

Got any recommendation for 3-D Barney cake? Must be yummy!

Petit, glad to hear Marcus gettin better. Tiffie will b able to perform well for her comin ballet exam. Dun b too stressed over it.

Jas, oh no...Dayan got fever? Poor babe. How r his wounds now? u watch him like a hawk but muz also take care of urself hor.
Mayb u can check the 3D barney cake wif hippo. Tink she ordered one for adri if im not mistaken. Didnt hear of any myth abt 1st bday though.

Jas,

hope Dayan gets better.
When is Danson's lunar birthday? J's 1st birthday we celebrated 2.5 weeks earlier but that was for lunar. think it's ok to celebrate earlier but not very 'auspicious' to celebrate later.

jas: yah wat i heard is not to celebrate later but earlier is fine!

hippo: oh dear, how is ur hands? apply some aloe vera gel if possible to sooth the pain..

Maruko... my gal is very committed to ballet... i remember she is so happy to get a distinction for her last year pre-primary level... and she's the kind that will practise her stretches and dance daily at home... Only my inlaws cannot understand my gal's passion....keep asking me to change her class to piano...Shucks man... they dun understand all kids have their own passion to pursue other than studies... and we parents need to identify and recognise it... and provide them with all our support.... sorry to rant here... cos my fil just gave a STU*PI* remark....

bbwow,.... thanks for your contact
was so surprised to note majority movers dun work on sundays...and this mover you recommend told me he dun need to come down to take a look at the items... he just gave me a $100+ vague quote... is this the normal practice?

hippo,
apply some antiseptic cream on ur finger. Be more careful in future okie.

Jas,
Hope Dayan recover fast. give him more H2O.

Zhenzhen,
oh, it suppose to be twin for ur 2nd pregnancy hmm don't think too much abt this anymore. Any sign of bb coming out soon or not?
Hannah is really smart. Can request money fr her daddy in exchange of changing diaper.hahaha

bbwow,
Danson lunar bday falls on the 31st Dec 09!!! hahaha...i doubt anyone is free on that day.

Tiffy,
What are you preparing for Sherry's trip to Macau? How many "long john" you bought? I blur leh...date getting closer.

Hapi fifi,
Actually i intend to ask my chauffeur to pick it up fm you on next wed. But i dun mind to meet up for brekkie if you are fine with it. Must not be tiring for you though. k? we can have mac...then sekali we can have sentosa COVE!!! hahahaha.

petit_gar,

not sure if it's standard practice. but my dad commented to me that he's cheaper than the mover he found so in the end use this guy. and overall, my dad is pleased with his service. he's my hubby's company mover. so I think he does outside as sideline.
who knows maybe he thought you're my hubby's relative. kekekek

bbwow... yah...i mentioned your hb's name...a dn maybe that's why i get this rate.... keke :p must really thank you for this recommendation

I just asked my dad. He quoted my dad $40 to move a big fish tank. Outside quoted my dad $150. When they arrived with 2 ppl, they realized not enough manpower so he engaged 2 more ppl to help out but no extra cost. In the end my dad gave him $50 ($10 extra) for goodwill.

think you'll need to describe to him the things you need to move and manpower so as to minimize dispute or misunderstanding.

hope it helps!

don't thank me yet. skali his service not up to your standard. but from my dad's comments, sounds good. he intend to use this mover again when they shift in to their new place in Dec.

Jas,
I nv bring any long john. Going to put layer of clothing on Sherry as what the mummies here suggest to me. I bring 2 pullover, 5 longsleeve T-shirt and 2 jeans n 2 tight pants.