(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

ben mum.. can understand!! sometimes i'm so pek cek with my gal tat i also scolded her.. then she will jus stare at me and look so innocent.. then i will sim tia how come i scold her... hiaz...

pinkyj, mine cried more when i scolded him har....peng...at least urs try to look innocent...sighs...really wan to throw him away liao....

ben mum.. hahhaa... but there are times also where i scold her and she cried even louder.. then must do the breathin exercise to relax and count to 10.... act they are quite poor thing also.. cannot talk only noe how to cry to communicate.. then i'll be okie liao.. ahah.. when she starts to cry again will breathe and count again...ahahahahaha

lol...watched this earlier....someone pasted on my fun wall...i laughed my head off....i must say she is really good....LOL

thanks pinkyj....i am almost going bonkers....thank god for my MIL who comes over everyday to help out in the afternoons. else i think i will freak out soon...

rxsti, angel,

i prefer to scrape / grind the fruits juz before feeding.. instead of putting into processor. reason being once the fruit is being ground/pureed, it is susceptible to oxidation.. bb's feeding rate is slow, by the time, it would have turned brown thus losing the nutritional value.
With my elder one, i halved the apple (took out the core), scrape and feed with a metal teaspoon.

between 4-6mths, it is recommended that we only introduce apple, pear and banana. avocado is possible, but then need to select those very soft and creamy ones. but then again, because of the fatty texture, some babies may not like it.

impt note to take.. always introduce 1 new fruit/food at a time. repeat consumption for 1 week to ensure there is no allergic reaction to the fruit/food. if we introduce too many at one go within the week... we may have a problem isolating the cause of allergies if it does happen(touchwood).
add 1 new item after each week...

mummyfaith,

congrats to faith 1st flip!! yes, the most nestle cereal has added sugar or vanillin, if not both. personally i dun prefer introducing that to babies.

some cereals come with banana flavour.. but it is advisable to get a plain ceral and then top it up with mashed banana ourselves.

voice,

cudn't view the clip liao leh... it says video no longer available

hi darmae, so we can gif soft fruits/food to bb when they reach 4th mth? looking forward to it...cos my bb like wanted to eat we adults food leh, everytime i put something we eat near to her nose, she will stick out her tougue

bubumama, pinkyj, my boi stares at us when we have dinner at the dinner table. (my MIL carry, sometimes i carry). he is just so fascinated with the food we eat...LOL

bubumama,

yes, we can start introducing fruits to babies at least 4mths old. but then those who are on TBM, most PD would encourage to defer solids till 6mths.
but i feel so long we are not introducing somethg totally out of the box, shld be ok.

voice,

still cant...!! duno why. mayb u try at home later. using company's laptop.. mayb kana blocked. haha

Mummies! My Caelen is also on hunger strike for the last 2 days
Refused to drink milk and even cereal since 12pm today. Only ate once in the morning. My MIL is besides herself cos' he kept crying like he is hungry but simply refuses to eat. Should I bring him to see doctor? Normally he is already very difficult to feed, apparently it got worse these few days

darmae, i see....think will give my gal bm till 6 mths, cos don't know how to wean off. furthermore, am now consume the gnc Fenugreek to increase my bm. scare to stop taking cos afraid the milk will stop if i stop taking the tab.

peapod,

did u check if his tummy is bloated? smtimes, when maegan is 'gassy' - tummy bloated, she oso refused to nurse properly.

but since its 2 days liao.... beta to check wif PD for peace of mind

bubumama,

my gal oso on TBF, so i'm oso considering defering introduction of solids... mayb fruits like apple and pear when she gets 5mths old.
i'm tempted to introduce cereal... but i'll wait and see for awhile.

with my elder boy, i din managed to TBF and it din last for long... so i introduce him to solids at 4mths old.

btw, does fenugreek helps u to increase ur supply? so far i'm tempted to try.. but nv did. only rely on papaya and fish soup everyday.
my supply juz enuff for my gal, with only 5 packs of spare in fridge... if she go thru growth spurt.. not sure hw.

hi darmae, i feel that it did increase, cos during my confinement, the most i can get out from both breast is only like 1 oz (ard 20ml) even i drank lots of soup, but now i can pump out ard 150ml (per 5-hrs interval), i know is very little, but to me i very contented liao, cos seeing my confinement product, wow lau, really sad man....of cos if i can get more out of it, i more happy, cos the more the merrier....so i guess shld be the fenugreek, cos i only start taking it from the 2nd mth onwards...now at least my gal can rely on milk & take only 1x the most on formula.

currently am taking the gnc (610mg per tab) brand, my 1st bottle is from nature farm (500mg), i only took 1 tab per day, but my supply like hv 150ml for both breast per 5 hrs interval pumping, then i found out (from the sale gal) that it shld be taken at least 4-8 tabs per day to increase more, so i hv try taking 2 tabs in the morning, 2 tabs at nite to see whether increase more or not.....

bubumama,

you are not alone...i can only pump approx 130ml after 4hrs interval. my gal taking 120ml per feed... so juz enuff.

but like you, i am contented liao oso.. juz worry abt growth spurt. but if tat happen, then i will introduce cereal...

charsiew,
If you poked more holes and he still dun eat then its not the teat liao. Jade also like that...that time I thought it was the teat, and I changed the teats from 1 to 2 holes but she was still crying like the milk was poison. Then I tried to bluff her by latching on awhile, then when she's calm, will quickly stuff the bottle in. Then found that she was willing to drink only while she was lying down sideways! Everyone see already kept scolding me saying she will choke...but that's the only position she will eat lor. bo bian. Also, I found that using a pacifier to calm her down first and make her sleepy helps, then when she's half asleep feed her.

Think her fussiness at feeds lasted abt 3 weeks. It did get better slowly

haiz angel, really hope my bb will pass this phase soon.. i almost lost my temper when hes screaming his head off while feeding... yes, yes, i will learn to be more patient :p hehe!

btw, jus got the size 3 teats FINALLY! my hb found some at marina kiddy palace.. tried jus now, bb seems to be able to drink slightly more..not sure if its due to 'sleepy feed', hes still dazed as he jus woked up.. :p sekali no fully awake yet to put up a struggle :p

i shall see if this new teats really wk.. hee!

peapod, seems like our bbs are cranky nowadays..
i also feel tat my bb is hungry tho he kept refusing milk..so strange.. its so frustrating & worrying! hope this is jus a temp phase which will go away sooon!

hmm..mummies, seems like some of you hv decided to let bb try cereals already hor? me + hb has mutually decided to wait till when bb is 6mths.. but looking at you all makes me tempted to try too :p can't wait! hope it will be more fun in feeding..

btw, i also bot the First books from borders too, haven read yet, tink the recipes is mostly puree, considering if to get a blender? do advise if u noe which one is a good brand & affordable to get
tks~

charsiew, me and hb also agree to wait till our gal is 6 mths
so temptin hor.. seein most of the mommies feedin solid to their bb..

re size 3 teats,
the kiddy palace at sengkang is sellin.. so i bot 2 pack first to stock up..
mommies who are stayin ard here can go and get..

hi bubu_mama.. i lost your mobile, are you still interested in the 3 tins of Frisco?

Charsiew.. the stocks for 3mths Avent teats is in at Kiddy Palace Marina Square

hehe pinky
ya loh! now im jus waiting for bb's neck to be more firm & able to sit upright without support, think it will be more fun~

hehe bb piglet, are u asking me a qn or confirming? :p btw, my hubby got the teats from marina square branch kiddy palace
i also called up philips - avent show room at toa payoh, they hv stock too~ for those interested

my miss tiny cannot make it with the size 3 teats.

she looks so shocked and half the milk flows out the sides of her mouth.

my mum put it aside already.

ben mum: miss tiny also refuses to sleep today...my mum is literally pleading with her now to sleep...aiyo like that tonight no sleep for me also

Hi Peapod,

yup all unopened. 1 of the tin is 28 Feb 2009.
the other 2 at MIL's hse.. i check & let u know.

how many tins u interested?

U mean we cannot feed solids to babies who are TBF?? Hmm...my cereal is waiting there liao!! Haha..today i was so mean...placed a piece of almond near my gal's mouth..n she was so tempted to eat it!!

i bought the pigeon feeding bowl too!! It has one slot for us to manually grind the food.

Hi CharSiew
I think blender are more suitable for making puree. If we are just feeding small slices of fruits, i rather mesh it up manually.

I didn't know so many of us are seeing Dr Ong from Aglow. Ya, i find him rather ex also. Me and hubby decided, unless is urgent or big case (touchwood), if not we will try to find a pd in tampines instead. Not convenient to travel all the way to united square. But my boy vaccination now is still done by Dr Ong tho'.

I'm also tempted to give my boy cereal after seeing some of you tried, since he just turn 4 mths last wk. hehe...

Hi Charsiew,
Me also looking ard for a blender to puree baby foods
Asked a few friends and they say the hand held blenders are the easiest to use and clean. They're quite inexpensive, I saw a Braun one selling for $40 at Robinsons. Pic below:

1185139.jpg

Have been busy so no time to log in...
now i tried to pump more to increase the supply, increase a little so finally gt my first pack of milk in my freezer.. =p
Ytd, Ryann dunno why fever.. took leave ytd and today to take care of him. lucky now his fever went down already.
he never poo for 7 days then few days ago poo for 2 times, super explosive kind..but the night before he had fever, his poo change in colour, become like very watery, and smelly too. colour look like those curry colour not like usually mustard colour with seeds.... ytd also like tat. hope today he will poo normally already.

hi baby piglet, am still interested in the friso (but tout is only 2 tins) how come got 1 more extra, hv sms u, but u told me time can be fixed again, so i tout u don't want sell me liao. re: price can sms me again at 93808925. tks.

Phoebe,
Yay glad to hear your efforts were fruitful! But poor ryan fever and diarrhea
Better give him some water otherwise may get dehydrated.

Those who taking the 5-in-1 jab, can you please share with me how much you paid for the 1st jab at 3 months? Is Aglow really that expensive? I thought cheap liao...I paid $125 for the 1st jab including consultation at Aglow.

gd morning mummies,

went thru the log on maegan's feeding and sleeping routine yesterday.
she can't finish her 120ml feed... 10am, 1pm, 4pm... when i reached home, latch her but she dun show much interest.. 5 mins nia.
wonder wats wrong... i hv read tat some babies oso like tat, lost interest in milk... can i check if situation has improve for your babies?

hi i am from dec 2007 mums...
can anyone pls advise how frequent does your bb drink now? is it abt 4-6 times? so does that mean we only need to pump every 5-6hrly (ie 4-5 times a day) as compare to every 2-3 hrly when they r newborn?

Pls advise. kind of cant stand d sleepless nights of pumping... feel like giving up bf already. anyone here alrwady stop bf and can share w me when n how u stop?

million thks!!!

keki,
i was like you previously, cannot stand the sleepless night, so some mummies here actually taught me to skip night pumping and it works for me and still have enough supply for my son.
don't give up BF, i wanted to give up also previously but i am happy i endure on... save money and giving my son the best is worth all the trouble and time.
below is my son's feeding schedule and my pump schedule.

Ryann's feeding time:
5am - 130ml EBM
8.30am - 130m EBM
11.45am - 130ml EBM
3pm - 130ml EBM
6.15pm - 130ml EBM
9.20pm - 130ml EBM
He will only wake up for 1 night feed.

mummies pump schedule:
12mn - 200ml
7am - 270ml
11.30 - 250ml
4pm - 160ml
8pm - 180ml

hope this helps... Continue BF, dun give up, jia you

hi, anyone using ameda dual pumps? recently, when pumping, realised that the milk will 'splash' to the top tunnel, dirtying the rubber membranes. previously, no such problem, milk will just flow out direct to bottle..wondering is it time to change valve? just used for 2 mths plus.

phoebe,

so 'xian mu' you.. only 1 nite feed. maegan ned 3 nite feeds... me still 'tong-ing'... panda eyes liao.
she does not drink tat much during the day oso... as some mummies advised, not full in the day so wake up freqently to fill her stomach at nite. duno hw to make her drink more...
wats worse is she is drinking lesser as of yest... gave 120ml but left 30 ml every feed

amy,

i'm oso using ameda dual pump.. i usu use medium settings for both cycle and vacuum but no milk splashing...

Read or heard from somewhere that refusing milk or losing interest milk seems to be a phase that babies go through ard 3-4 mths...sorry can't remember the source of this info liao.

My Faith also not as interested these days, her feeding yesterday was like this:
7am - latch 15mins
10.50am - 140 ml EBM
1.50pm - 70ml EBM
3pm - 70ml EBM
5.30pm - 70ml EBM
7.30pm - 70ml EBM
9.30pm - 140ml EBM
5am - latch 15mins

She will usually take 140ml one shot every 3-4hrly one but yesterday haywire!

Btw, finally bought the leapfrog exersaucer for Faith! Decided not to get jumperoo as dun think her thunder legs can fit in it for long. But hor, this morning put her in it for only 5mins she start to ek ek ek liao! Hope its because she is hungry as I fed her after that, otherwise $$ go down the drain again

Hi Keki

I only pump 3 times a day when i goes to work. 2 times on weekends since my baby will latch on.

5.30 am: 150ml (Home)
3pm: 300ml (Work)
11.30pm: 300 ml (Home)

Latch baby at 4-5am and 10++pm.

Just let your body adjust to the pumping pattern and u can continue to bf. I had never woke up for night pumping ever since week 3 (week 1 to week 3: Engorgement!! Must pump every 4 hourly.)

Keki, me too since week 3 i did not wake up to pump milk. For now I only pump 2 or 3 times, and latch baby 2 or 3 times. Per pump interval is about 6 - 8 hours @ 210 - 260ml per pump session. CUrrently my gal taking 120 - 130ml. Everyday pump will be enough for the next day consumption. I also dont pump at work very troublesome. Your body will slowly adjust to your pumping pattern.

Angel, I have the Braun handheld blender, its compact and convenient to use and wash, its not very ex.... I bought from COurts.... the salesperson told me its good for grinding food and it has different attachment for different use. But i may not use it for now as the quantity is too little.... Probably around 9 - 12 mths will be better.
My gal's PD is at Mt Alvernia Dr CHan Kit Yee, i remember paying around $120+ too, for the 3rd month jab. I just send my gal for the 4th month jab today and took the 1st oral dose of the rota. Jab=$120 Rota=$100 (2 dosage). I also check with PD when can intro cereals, she said that if baby's weight is growing steadily, then no hurry to intro solids, wait till 5th month then see again.

darame, i agree with you just scrape the fruit when baby wants to eat.... my gal last feed is around 9+pm or 10pm, i will give her a dream feed around 11.30pm so she can sleep thru to about 8am - 9am or until i carry her to bring her to my babysitter's plc. you may want to try this.... or dont let her sleep after her last second feed (around 6+pm 7pm) continue to talk and play with her..... so that she will sleep thru too.

Re: Pnuemoccocal jab
I checked with my PD nurse on this optional jab. She told me that if it is to be given together with the basic jabs, then baby need to receive at least 4 jabs. However if pnue jab given at 6th month (ie. all the mandatory jabs are completed), then only 3 jabs in total, 8th month and 12th month. How much is this pnue jab