(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

peapod, you go to Dr Ong from Aglow (United Sq) also? My boy go there for his vaccination also!

oh ya, Wiselyn, Thank you! Got a call from magoo this afternoon! keke...so nice both of you! I will go BHG check it out for the avent teats! Thanks!

Phoebe,

dun be sad okie, just concentrate on building your supply again.
there is a recipe i got from TMC antenatal class:

1. Fish head and green papaya soup
200gm green (unripe) papaya, 1 fish head e.g, carp, snakehead, seabream, 1 slice ginger.
cooking method: scale n clean fish, simmer together with 4 pieces of papaya n ginger for 4 hours or till soft n appearance milky in colour. do not stir soup too often, remove papaya n bones before serving.

hope this helps.

hey, i been bringing natalie for swimming at punggol plaza, but did not see u n ryann leh. Ryann stop swimming liao? I usually go sun or sat.

phoebe
Since now your supply still can meet Ryann's demand, no stress, ok?

btw, besides the papaya & fish soup, you can also try to take the pig trotter peanut soup.

Blue
hahaa...confirm the mystery liao..haha
btw, I also brought Rae Yan for her 2nd DPT jab today. How come your PD didnt give the DPT?

arisz,

no worries, was shopping there with clement and clara and happen to see the avent teat and rememebered that u were asking about it....and also so remember that u stay in the east, so tot of informing you...but i dun have your number so go to "ma fan" magoo to inform you...

arisz me also go to Dr Ong (Aglow) at United Square hee..hee.. he is a good pd always so willing to share and clear my doubts!

Peapod.. can share how u feed ur boy? U mix 1 spoon of Heinz cereals to how many ml of milk?? u sit him up straight and spoon feed him... he can sit by himself on a feeding chair now?
Thanks for sharing peapod...

i remember reading, a bb here waking up at 1am,4am,etc.. mine also has that pattern these few days.. its like 1+, 4+, 5+, 6+.. i dunno why is it like that..
btw, those babies sleeping thru the nite, wat r their milk timing n intake like.. time and amount.. eg: 1pm- 150ml, etc..

frisocrem, very nice smell and taste very nice.. ya books always say to give tasteless stuffs cos bb might reject bland food after tasting the sweet frisocrem.. but i tink as long they r young, we r the ones who control their food..

Hi hi.

I quite like Dr Ong from Aglow but he quite ex leh, more ex than Dr Ong EK :p So still keeping an eye out for good PDs in the east (Any recommendations?)

I brought Caelen for his 4th month jab yesterday and boy was he cranky last night. Kept waking up (like hidayah's schedule) but refusing milk
Luckily got my PILs so they took half the night, we took half the night. This morning all cannot wake up, except baby. Urgghh!! I really hope it is due to the injection and not new pattern lor.

Hi low, I slowly increase the cereal from 1 to 2 to 3 or 4 teaspoons. Also increase it to twice a day too. The Heinz one, I added almost 1.5 to 2oz of milk in total to 3/4 teaspoons. Abit of aga-ration needed. But i added the milk in phases cos' the cereal consistency got thicker as time passed. As if the liquid was absorbed by the rice... didn't happen for the Nestle one.

I put him on the inclined bouncer. Tried putting him on the bumbo but he kept looking downwards and slouching so cannot feed properly. I don't have high chair yet, he is still too small for the chair. Looks very lost in it hehee..

ok ok thanks for your feedback peapod really appreciate it

Oh was Caelen cranky when he went for his 3rd mth jab? Charlene was so I am praying hard that her 4th month jab she would not be so cranky hee.. hee but seems quite hard. I give Charlene rota, 5-in-1 n puconome jab all altogether maybe that is why she cranky and I agree Dr Ong is good but quite exp I spend 482 during my last visit!! My hubby was like saying so expensive but what to do.. I think baby health more important and maybe i am more careful and kasi mummy so prefer pd to gp hee..hee..

I also go to Dr Ong at Aglow..He is really good compared to the PD at Paragon which my gynae recommended, and half the price.

Peapod,
Re feeding cereal, you really start very fast hor..on the 4 month dot!
What time did you feed Caelen the cereal? Do you feed his milk first?

Read that we are supposed to give them their milk first then give the cereal after they finish, coz otherwise they may not want to finish their milk which is supposed to be impt nutrients and main diet. And if they reduce their milk feeds too much they may be waking up in the middle of the night hungry.

Hi hidayah,
Could be yr baby is waking up so many times at night due to too much sleep in the day...my girl does that too when she has too long naps in the afternoon. Read that babies at 4 mths should only have a total of 3 hours of nap time during the day. Or it could be due to hunger...maybe its a growth spurt. Try to feed her more during the day feeds instead of feeding her in the middle of the night when she wake up, otherwise she will be encouraged to wake up at those ungodly timing.

My girl's feeding is every 3 hours during the day and she sleeps thru the night (usually) from 10.30pm to 7am:
7am - 5 oz
10am - 4.5oz
1pm - 4.5oz
4pm - 4.5oz
7pm - 4.5oz
10pm - 3.5oz

hi all, for those using avent bottles, have u upgrade to the big bottle already ? or are you guys still using the 4oz bottle ?

angel, my gal is really a pig lor.. hahha.. she sleeps abt 4-5 hours in the aftnoon.. then nite time will be 9+ to 9+ or 10 the next day.. when i told my pd, she was very suprised too.. wahahah..

pillow, i'm using the avent bottle and have switched to the big wan liao..

today, just upgraded my boy to 5oz
so taking out the big bottles to wash.... kekeke but the big bottles really look gigantic compared to the usual 4oz ones .

pillow, agree with u.. hahah.... aft a while u'll find tat usin the small wan is weird... i use the small wan to feed her water..

hi afternoon all mummies
yesterday brought my gal for 2nd jab + the poo tab insertion, wow lau, after came back from pd, almost the whole backside is "flooded" with poo men....some even spread to her naval....wow lau really effective.

qns: do ur bb poo a bit of shit water after every jab? mine after the jab - don't know is becos of the poo tab or becos of the jab, came back got "siam" poo water out a few times liao....wonder whether is it alright.

re: gripe water - goldfishy i can't find the product no. also & wonder is it becos of the feeding, the 2nd day after my mum feed her twice, she sleep quite a lot on that particular day....so wonder still can continue give her

hahaha, hv removed the mittens + booties from my gal starting today, she now so engross in her fingers....keep crutching them tog like preparing for CNY....

Initially I wanted to "upgrade" Jordan to the big bottles when he was taking 170 ml when he was 2 months +. But since then, his milk intake decreased and now we always feed him in "batches" (feed 100ml first and add another 30-50ml only when he finish) ... so end up still using small bottles.

im still using the small bottles cos miss tiny still takes barely 90ml of milk.

mittens i removed after the first month.

anyone using glass bottles? where to get from?

me using the large bottles earlier cos he was taking 4.5 oz. then dropped back to 4 oz. but still used large bottles. just upped bb's milk intake to 150ml per feed. so sticking on with the big ones.

Re bottles, I also switched to big bottle thinking that Jade will up her intake, but she is still eating the same amt, so switched back to small bottles for the time being. But dun think can use for very long already...coz 5oz almost to the brim already.

Pillow,
Agree with you! The big bottles are so gigantic...the milk only fill half the bottle like so little like that.

Atinarin,
Only pigeon has glass bottles I think. Or can get formula bottles from hospital, heard they give away. But I find them very heavy to use for feeding leh.

Hidayah,
Pinky's baby's feeding schedule is amazing...she eats only 4 times a day! Yet manages to sleep 12+ hours without waking up for milk!

angel.. hahah.. thks for posting for me.. the other day she went without milk for almost 14 hours..!! i see already also scared.. according to the calculation, weightx120mls(min)(or 150mls the max)divide by no of feed per day.. she is suppose to drink 828mls a day min.. and she's only drinkin 800mls for 4 feeds.. so everyday i must make sure she drinks her 4 meals.. her weight now is 6.9kg..

yah lor, no one else can beat pinkyj's baby...so easy to feed. How long she finished her 180ml eh? I very curious to know...hee hee!

Atinarin: NUK also got glass bottle but heavy leh, why you want to use glass bottle eh?

For mums, who wanted to try to start semi solid for their BBs, can try to read up a book name "firstfoods" by Anna Jacob, Pauline Chan, Samantha Thiessen, Janie Chua & Wong Yuefen. Can be found at Popular....I find it quite informative... Suitable for Asian BBs....Got food receipes fr 4 mth- 2yrs

I oso tried rice ceral liao....she like it veri much...couldn't stop eating it...

tiny, nowadays its a battle to bathe and feed her!! she figid so much when i'm bathing her!! and her feedin on good days she finish the bottle within 15 mins.. on days where she's very playful and 'hong xim' she will take up to 30 mins to finish!! and she's takin 200 mls.. i feed her till my shoulder wan to break liao!!

Hi Pinkyi,

Hahaha...izzit... I find it quite useful since I hav no idea at all....Quite informative for mi...teach u how to start n the time table...n etc...

i briefly glance thru it and agree tat its quite informative.. maybe will get it later.. hee hee.. cos tot can save money and research online..:p

I am also a mum with Sep baby.. Have been following tis thread since I was preggie..

I have 3 tins of 900g Friso for sale..
Selling at $22 ea and $20 ea if get all 3.

Let me know if anyone interested =>

Hi joycelyn

I am interested. The Friso is unopened? If you don't mind, can I know the expiry date?

Please PM me cos' I won't be able to check the thread today as I am on course. Thanks!

dam jialut!
my bb just started on his 5oz and his timing all haywire liao. refuse to sleep through the night already. demands feeding every 4-5 hours even in the night! sighs. now everyday timing for milk all different le. help!

any way to help me? my bb doesnt suck pacifier too. sighs!!!

This is my dear daughter, right after her bath.
1182979.jpg

Hi Atinarin and Bubumama,
Maybe you just confirm that it is not from the same manufacturer can liao. Think easier that way

wah pinkyj! 200ml eh...it's already very fast for her to able to finish in 30mins even when she is hong sim! Mine 150ml will take 45mins to 1hr if he hong sim...worst! Yours the first baby i know at 4mths can finish 200ml at 1 go, she has big stomach and not those that will snack in between, haahaa! So Faith is the "main" meal type of person, good eh... hee hee!

ben mum, maybe ur bb is goin thru grow spurt tat's why demand feedin..

tiny.. hahah.. all along she's drinkin 200mls leh.. i asked my pd how to determine how much she drinks.. the amt of water b4 addin the milk powder or the final count aft addin in the milk powder to the water.. so the final count is 200mls aft i add in the powder to the water...

Re: Cereals
I've also been given Nestle cereals sample from my GP when my hubby went to see him.... There's white rice and brown rice.... and its stated for 6 mths onwards.

Re: Fruits
So we can actually scrape the flesh of the fruit to feed it to baby? or to juice it and feed in bottle? If juicing it do we need to add water so its not too thick for baby or its ok?

hi mummies...haiz.. im so frustrated..
anyone still facing this problem im facing? my bb is refusing milk so badly tat he practically screams when he sees the milk bottle! now he can hardly fin 80-100ml per feed!!!! Seems like he doesn't need to eat anymore..

is this a phase tat will pass soon??

Rxsti,
Read its better to puree the fruits rather than juice it so that the fibre is taken too. You can use a food processor to puree fruits like apples, pears, bananas, etc. (take out the skin and cores). No need to add water. Feed by a spoon.

Hi charsiew,
My girl went thru that phase too! It could be the milk flowing too slow...try to use a faster teat and see how he reacts. Or it could be he is just in a slow growth phase and doesn't want to eat so much. I know how frustrating it is....it will pass soon.

goldfishy,
thanks! i also check mine..mfg from m'saia..so it's not the seton co..chd be safe hor..

phoebe, so sim tia for u..but dun get too stressed up..if not ss cannot be increased like that..

hi angel, really? actually i hv tried searching for avent size 3 teats, but its out of stock at various places! can't find any.. we tried to poke some holes in the existing teats, but doesnt seem to help... any idea roughly how long will this 'phenomenon' end?? few wks? 1mth? haiz... tks!

charsiew, my girl also will get frustrated when drinking milk when shes about 2 mths.... cos she sucked till the teats went flat .... so i changed the teats to the next size #2. Shes ok now.

ANgel, i've got the combi feeding set, can use that to grind rite.... cos a small piece of fruit use a big blender it may not be able to blend. As long as the food is well smashed then its ok right?....

rxsti, haiz...it seems like my bb doesn't need to eat anymore suddenly.. i'm still ok if he fussing with the milk, but hes now practically refusing, so this is alittle worrying...

hope this is a phase bbs will passsss sooooon!

Hi mummies! My dear Faith has finally succeeded in flipping! Haha but dunno how to flip back and not everytime can flip "zhun zhun" yet.

Re:cereal
So the nestle one is not gd as it contains sugar huh? My PD is Ong EK too so most likely the samples he will give me is from nestle.

pinkyj, thanks for the website!
really saved my life.
my bb so fussy when it comes to sleep time (be it naps or at night). machiam like fighting a war with him. he will stick his neck into my neck then cry and cry and cry. now shake aso cry, pat aso cry, walk aso cry. wah lao! ytd put him down in his cot and scolded him leh! 2 times somemore! almost threw him down. quickly call hb and take over. peng! really faint sia!