(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

Bubumama,
My girl's nails grow very fast...got to cut everyday! Sometimes I forget and then I'll see a scratch on her face...then I will remember to cut hehe. I know some ppl file their bb's nails so that its not so sharp. I tried once, but I think the file I used was too rough then Jade's nails were all cracked and had jagged edges and even sharper than before
Never filed again. Now I just use nail scissors or clippers.

Re mittens, my CL advised me to remove it after the 1st month. Initially their hands will feel cold to touch, but after a few days it won't be cold liao. But the booties/socks still need to be on, especially if baby is sleeping in air-con or you're going out to air-con places. Only during the day at home then no need to wear coz its quite warm.

Re ankles, your baby's ankle is bent inwards? Are you sure its because of the booties? PD told me babies have their ankles/legs bending inwards coz in our womb they were curled up tight. It will straighten out by themselves later on. Should ask your PD to take a look when you next see him.

Hi rxsti,
I was reading up on when to introduce solids to babies. Seems to have alot of contradicting advice...the American PD society recommends to breastfeed exclusively for 6 months as all the baby's needs can be met with breastmilk, whereas others say iron stores start depleting when the baby is 4-6 months so we should start introducing solids ard that time. There's also a higher risk of developing allergies if we start on solids too early coz the digestive system is weak. So I asked my PD, he says its really up to us as parents when we want to start. Heh...not much help right! I have decided to start at 5 months!

hi goldfishy,
what abt the gripe water? my mil also started giving gripe water..so i'm interested to know more..gd or bad?

Re CNY gathering, where can we gather? I think there will be many mummies daddies and babies like our last gathering...may be difficult to gather at someone's house leh...unless its a condo function room *hint hint to Emily*

angel, my pd also recommended to intro solid food at 6mths..

re poo:
wah.. i understand the explosive poo.. there was once she pooed so much tat it got all the way up to her waist!!! my hb call out to me for help when he saw it.. whahahah

Haiz..

My still in school!! At work...

Re: Solids
I have bought the cereals!! Waiting to start my gal on solids since she always drool when she sees us eat..

Re: Nails
My gal's nail also grow very fast!! Must cut twice a week.

Re:Solids

Checked with PD with regards to allegies. Mainly skin allegies so babies with family history of skin allegies must be more careful.

I started Caelen on brown rice cereal yesterday. Two small teaspoons first. He seemed ok with it but not very used to swallowing yet
Today increased to 2 feeds. Still ok

poohwei,

u ned to work so late tdy ah...

peapod,

which brand of brown rice cereal did u buy? hw do u prepare the cereal? wif BM or juz water?
maegan turned 4mths tdy, i very tempted to try out solids. duno hw she will take it.. hee

i have seen cereal from heinz, suitable for 4mths babies.. blue and white packaging.
so far tats the only white cereal w/o flavouring.. the rest from heinz contains flavouring such as apple, banana etc.
job hazard again.. being in food line, i am very skeptical in introducing flavoured products.

rxsti,

re : bottled fruit juices...
i have not introduced fruit juices or fruits to baby yet. but it is recommended to introduce real fruits instead of the bottled fruit juices as most of them are juz from the juice concentrate. sugar content can be high whilst nutritional value not as high as real fruit.
some bottled fruit juices even contains flavouring.

but i guess it is still up to individual mummies... mayb me more 'picky' and 'kia-see' in this aspect. job hazard again.

peapod.. yalor.. my gal inherited my allergies.. she got sensitive nose..
then now she got abit of puffy eyes due to sensitivity...

darmae, agree with u on introducin real fruits instead of the bottled wans.. fresher and healthier.. my fren advice me against givin solid to my gal now cos she might not wan to drink milk aft tastin food.. and my pd also said wait till 6 mths... although i'm very tempted to give her solid too, but think will jus wait lah to play safe since both me and my hb got allergies...

Hi. I got the Nestle brown rice samples from PD. It is Stage 1 (from 6 months) but PD says ok for 4 months. Just mix with water. Smell quite good

I saw the Heinz one too, think that one needs to add milk. I also prefer brown rice to white rice cereal so decide to try out the sample first. I am considering Frisocream too as Caelen is currently taking Friso so dunno if he will be more used to the taste. But heard that Frisocream is sweet (Blue also mentioned it) so still thinking. But by right for baby cereals, they are not supposed to add sugar right? So how come it is sweet??

rxsti,
Yeah agree with darmae abt the real fruits...of course more work for us mummies...but can just prepare it on the weekend and freeze them into cubes for the whole week. Also better to use organic fruits and vegetables too coz they are pesticide free

hi mummyfaith: got ur email, will do the transfer and let you do when done.

tequilapop: don't PM me, these days very weird, ppl PM me but msg never reach me. Can you email me instead to [email protected]

Emily/Angel: Yah..started work, so happy! Sam did his 1st flip this morning at 3am...yah...what a timing to choose to flip. He was making so much noise prior to that and then we found him tummy down...so after that got to put the bean sprout pillow on his chest to prevent him from doing it again as we need to zzzz and can't watch over him.

Yesterday my mum pop by to check on Sam and the maid, everything is well. Today my good friend pop by to check, ok lah...nothing amiss. Think this maid is still trustworthy to date and can handle baby quite well. We yet to scan thru' the recording of the webcam.

peapod,

i dun thk manufacturer add sugar. most likely they have added vanillin which gives creamy and sweet taste. u can check under the ingredients section to cfm... not sure if they state vanillin as it it or classify it under flavourings.
i will go look at it when i get a chance to go supermart.

voice,

gd to have ppl gg to check on your maid once awhile... but i guess your gut feeling will oso prompt you if she is trustworthy or not...

irene, ben mum, angel, magoo, clement, thanks for the recommendation! I will go check it out next week. Hopefully by then, my boy will fully recover. Pray hard!

voice, you leave your Sam and maid together at home when you go work?

Voice,
Hahaha Sam so funny..flip at 3am! Dun want you to see. Wah your friend really good to pop by yr place to check on yr maid! Ya I think its good to spot check once a while...keep them on their toes. Plus you got webcam. Hmmm I have been wanting to install camera in my house...those that can see live feed on the internet from work...but haven't had the time to check it out yet. How much you spent on yrs?

Darmae,
Ya pls check and let me know too!
I saw the packaging of the juices said no sugar, no preservatives, and not from concentrate. Sounds so good. So just wondering how its kept 'fresh'.

Hi Ben Mum, ariz and darmae

I am back in school again!! Reached home at 11pm cos we need to churn out the timetable for the Pre U 1 students. Just got the data at 4pm on Friday and lessons begin on Mon morning...Haha, timetabling committe pple are gatekeepers of the school during "peak period". Now struggling to finish timetable.

Re: Solids
I also bought the cereal from heinz, suitable for 4mths babies.. blue and white packaging. Cant wait to try it out.

poohwei is MM har? so late then do timetable?

mummies, can ask how long does 150 ml og milk last the bb normally?

My gal is drooling alot. Literally flowing out in a steady stream from the corner of her mouth. Is that teething? My hb see oreadi keep asking her to close her leaky tap. She is only 3mths 4days.

hi arisz, yes..left sam and maid alone at home, no choice...my mum has to work in the morning and can't live in and it's a hassle to bring sam and maid everyday to mum's plc as we do not have a car.

Angel: we bought the linksys webcam at $200 per pc and installed 2 units in the living room. We told the maid to 'confine' Sam in the livivng room, cannot be in the bedroom, anyway we locked up our master room and study room(recording on-going from 7am -8pm).

Ben Mum: my boy drinking 150ml now, sometimes fast can finish in 10-15mins, slow can be half - 1hr if he is distracted or simply KO halfway thru' drinking.

i m very sad leh.....
my freezer dunno y never cls properly all my 33 bags of BM all thaw n have to throw away!!!!! now i gt zero spare supply and my supply drop recently to just nice for ryann and if he growth spurt i no more extra leh.... i very sad now... some more, i recently increase his intake to 130 ml per feed.... hai...
any tips to increase supply???

Oh no phoebe, that's what happened to blue as well! So heartpain for you
Drink lots of fish and papaya soup and pump every 2 hours to increase yr supply. Within 3 days will increase. But you working abit difficult to pump so often.

Btw I got alot of frozen EBM...less than 1 month old...if you need I can pass to you.

pheobe, aiyoh.. so heart pain for u too!!
can try the fenugreek to increase the supply.. can get from gnc or nature's farm.. but try the natural way first before resortin to the fenugreek..

Phoebe,

Also felt so heartpain for you. Tried and pump more often to increase supply. It helps. Pump after feed too if you're still doing direct latching. I'm still waking up during nite time to pump.

Phoebe, so heartpain for you too...hope you can build up your inventory slowly by pumping more frequently. Actually for me I still only can maintain about 6 cups of frozen EBM till now, my daily pump is just enough for Faith's 4 feed only as I latch her in the morning b4 sending her to infantcare then latch her again b4 she goes to slp at night and one more time at 5am. Had been trying to increase more frozen EBM but does not seem to be working.

phoebe,

i so sim tiah for you... i noe its diff not to stress but try not to stress as it will affect ur supply too. i agree wif angel on the fish and papaya soup. tat helped me a great deal when i was trying to increase the supply before i resume back to work.
my mum brewed it in the morning and that was my major fluid intake for the whole day, plus some milk and water.

angel,

i hvn't visited the supermart to look at the label but usu the heinz bottled juice will contain sugar from its origin source eg. fructose (fruit sugar) from apple juice. the no sugar usu means no added sugar.
from the packaging (glass bottles), i can imagine that the pdt is either pasteurised (autoclaving using high heat and pressure) or hot filled. in this case, the juice will be cooked lor. hence lost some of the nutritional value.

best is to consume the fruits by itself... puree beta than juice, in this case fiber will be intake as well.

Just brought Jordan for his 4th month jab today. Strange leh ... he was given only the jab for Pneumococcal, which is an optional jab. Thought 4th month should have some "standard jabs" to take?

Anyway as I have shared with some of you at the gathering that I highly suspected something's wrong with my PD clinic's weighing scale right? Today confirmed liao! This morning I weighed Jordan at home before going to the clinic. So the weight shouldn't differ too much mah ...

At home, he was 7.7 kg. When he's at the clinic, they weighed him only 6.9 kg!!! A difference of 0.8 kg!!! So I told the nurse again he can't be so light (the last time I told another older nurse but she bo chup me and said different weighing scale gives different weight). This time, the younger nurse lifted the scale and tried to "balance" it. This time, Jordan weighed 7.76 kg, which should be the accurate one since he also weighed 7.7 kg at home.

So that time when you all asked me what's his weight and I said the PD clinic's weight was 6.3 kg, it should have been 7.1 kg.

So now mystery solved ... haha!

Oh phoebe, I feel heartpain for you. That time me also like that! But not to worry, you will soon have your inventory back again! Now I have too much to store that I just wanna maintain my current supply ... no more no less ... like that can liao.

As even the separate freezer I bought to store BM is full also, I can pass you some too if you need more. Just let me know.

hey blue, haahaa..ur mystery solved as during the gathering...we all bao lai bao qu the babies right...hee hee!

Angel: my living room not big lah..is the long type not the square type, so i need 2 for different angle. You can go funan centre challenger to check out those webcam, have fun!

thanks to all mummies,
when i throw away those milk, my tears almost drop ... heart pain.. i every day to hardworking pump milk then now all throw away.. my supply drop recently due to stress lor. every afternoon at around 3-6pm i pump sure lesser then normal one... other time at least 200 plus each pump that time abt 170.
anyone gt receipe to the fish n papaya soup?

Hi Phoebe. Oh dear, so sai yang. Don't overstress yourself over the collection of the breast milk ok. Just do your best. Hopefully the next growth spurt will be in 6 months. By then you can wean him off liao.

Please don't buy the Nestle cereal. I just realised that it contain surcose
I didn't check the ingredients earlier cos' I assume that PD will recommend only the good cereals for baby. I got the cereals from Dr Ong from Aglow. Apparently, Dr Ong EK's clinic also stock Nestle only. Luckily after hearing from darmae, i went to check and found that the nestle cereal not only have sucrose, also have vanillin! Terrible! Threw all away

Just now went to buy the Eu Yan Sang Si Seng powder with brown rice instead. Not cheap though, $13 a tin. Heard that it has herbs that are good for digestion. Also bought the Heinz to try. Will try the Heinz first later.

peapod:the brown rice is in a tin? not freshly ground when you buy huh? anyone knows any place that will freshly grind the brown rice?

Fed Caelen Heinz just now. Hmm...not bad, he seem to quite like it despite the lack of sweetness
Actually I think it is rather tasteless, especially compared to the Nestle one which is very fragrant. But I think the texture is more attractive to him than taste per se. One thing to note is that the Heinz cereal absorb liquid very fast so the cereal got thicker after a little while so I gotto keep adding milk to maintain the runny consistency.

Hi atinarin, yep, it is in a tin. Must cook somemore so not as convenient. I heard that it is good so thinking of mixing between the Heinz and the Si Seng. But probably won't be giving Caelen the SI Seng yet cos' 3 teaspoon of rice how to cook?

Caelen also seem to get better at swallowing with practice
Now he will open his mouth in anticipation of the spoon hehee, quite cute. But must keep talking and playing with him to maintain his interest. Errm... his skills at grabbing things has also improved by leaps and bounds. Now he will try to grab the spoon so need another person to hold his hands still :p Regardless, it is a relief not to have to deal with a crying and screaming baby at every bottle feed.

thanks voice.
just started giving my boi 150ml of milk. but not sure how long to stretch it. sighs...he seems cannot tahan for 4 hrs leh....=<

Hihi phoebe,
Here's the recipe for the papaya soup from my CL.

Ingredients:

- Chinese herbs:
Dang Shen – 10 pieces (1 inch per piece)
Bei Qi – 5 slices
Hong Zhao – 10 seeds
Dan Gui – 4 pieces
- 1 Green/Raw papaya (cut into small pieces)
- 1kg Fish (tail, bones or fish meat); or alternatively can use Pork Ribs (must boil pork separately in water for 2 mins first to cleanse)

Instructions:

1) First put all the herbs in boiling water and cook for 1 hour with a small fire.
2) Then put papaya and fish/pork ribs into the pot and cook for another 1 hour.
3) Add a bit of salt to taste if you wish

poohwei, you very poor thing leh, stay in school until so late! must have miss your baby very much!

voice, can understand your situation. But till now, I still dare not leave my maid and my boy alone at home at all coz I really hear a alot of horrifying stories from my colleagues and friends.

phoebe, very heartpain for you! try not to stress and jia you!