(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

rc_cola: Not sure, but I heard that Koh Samui would be very much more expensive than places like Bangkok. My friend is an expat in Bangkok. But like you said, bringing so many things back from a holiday trip can be troublesome, plus with all the crazy taxes, travelling to Thailand isn't as cheap as it seems. So not worth it. Lucky you, being a SAHM is on the books. For me, hubby sure faint if I say I want to be SAHM...

Zhuzhu: Is that the one that is sold in the Baby Food Section in boxes with the big words, BABY BITES, and there are 2 biscuits in each foil pack? I didn't realise that its by Want Want. Oh dear. James loves it and has been gobbling it up...

chatty / zhuzhu
huh? baby bites is by want want? oh my. my boy has been eating tat yesterday leh. OMG. will go home and throw it all away later! those china products are so @#$@%$. how can the pple be so unethical!

Chatty,

Haha.. hubby is okay with the idea, coz he also wants his kids to at least has the warmth of a home that he himself didnt get to enjoy, he was sent to Sg for studies when he was only 9.. that forms his independence character..

Considering what I am earning is also not a big participant in our household income (i get to keep my own savings), so if i dun work, we wont starve, but if he becomes a sahd, then we will starve kekekekeke... He has too much passion in his work and studies.. it is impossible for him to be a sahd..

Maybe next time when my kids grow up, i can go back to work.. when they dun really need my companionship at home..
Anyway, I do feel self-contented when i got my promotion, bonuses/salary hikes (which means my hardwork is recognised by ppl), but it is a difficult choice between giving up career for family.. it's just human nature for ladies to prioritise on the family rather than career, at least for me..

Btw, plan is just a plan (subject to changes) haha

You have reached a certain level in your career, having working for so long, i think if you are to give up, it is really not easy for you.. after all the hardwork..
But you've got your mum to help look after James, so it is okay rite? My MIL has to come back to her own home mah.. which is understandable :p

Glee : Yup yup Hubby came with me
I like BJG too cos it has a bit of everything hehe. I was about to sign up when last minute I managed to get a slot for the shicida Oct class after waitlisted for so long.

Any mummy here attending the shicida oct class?

Xman : Did u sign up for the 9.30am sat or the 12.30 Sun class?

nin, cola. I'm scared too. My hub just done his last week, so, hve more or less told me the whole procedure. I've also requested to the doc that I'd like to hve one eye done at a time. Cause, what he does is, he'll cut both eyes at the same time and then followed by the laser correction by opening the flap on the pupil. Told him I'm scared, so he says he'll do one eye at a time for me, at least I can see with the other eye, not so scare I hope. I can't even do eye mask at the same time at facials, my beautician usually cut a little opening on the cotton pad for me, so I can see.

chatty, is mammy poko cheaper in Thailand? Will ask my hub to get it during his next visit (if he's still going).

sanq
oh. i go to springleaf. sun 4.15pm class. =P

an_gal
yapz. haiz. better to pay more and gain the ease of mind.

sanq
i also give my boy the gerber star biscuit and the bellamy teething biscuit...
not sure will be heaty or not, just make sure they drink water or juice after the biscuit lor

sanq,choco,
my gal loves all kinda biscuits.. i think will get heaty so usually give her a few spoonfuls of barley water once awhile

Yalo, Constance loves the star biscuits. She will ask for them (by pointg) as and when she remembers haha. I will let her drink water after the biscuits. Cos a few months back, she has fever + cough shortly after i intro the biscuits. Maybe its juz coincidence. After that I restrict her intake to 6-8 pieces each day lo.

Sanq,

I sign up for sat 9:30 class, ruoxi get up at 7 plus everyday, and normally nap at 10 plus, so just fine for her to join the 9:30 one.

shichida waiting list is always long for toapayoh branch, heard springleaf always got vacancy. but I didnt sign for shichida as it's too exp plus heard bad comments so at the end bought the glenn doman flash cards and teach at home by my own.

ruoxi love the gerber star biscuits too, she will say 干儿when she saw it from ntuc and ask me to buy for her.

xman : wow ruoxi so smart
How the progress for the GD cards? I do have some pictures cards but I only flash them occasionally opps.

sanq,
i oso giv my boy Gerber stars.. i tink is ok.. jus let them drink more water.. my son eat almost everyday i tink.

miaon,
ya lol.. whoever go Japan can buy lots of Pigeon food cos my boss say very cheap there

sanq,

sad to say I haven't see any effect by use the glenn doman training method, maybe i make the learning session not so interesting so can't attract her attention. but I insist show her at least twice per day. the instructor told me must continue for some time then can only see some effect.

an_gal,

think better play safe, I will throw away the wang wang xiao man tou today after I back home. will not give her biscuit too. think must check carefully the product made in where then only give to bb. sian.

re: lasik
feel like doing it too...I need courage lei

Muddypie: ya, the size of gerber star puff juz rite for their hands. find a bit sweet thou

xman: ya..we have to be patience. the person @ shicida said it takes abt 1 yr( incl parents doing the homework daily) before we can see the effects.

Sang,

re: lasik
Its actually not that scary, the whole process was over before u knew it... I did both eyes at one go. But one thing after that, u will have "onion" eyes for at least 1 -2 days depending on individual. That's the part that I hate. Can't keep my eyes open.

Muddypie, Karen,
now i am wondering if pregnant, can we do lasik? I am interested.. but some ppl said that after correction, it is not 100% that you will have perfect eyesights.. dunno how true it is.. but i am stil scared

Mine is quite bad, right side -7.00, left side - 5.50, always very scared if one day i shall go blind

Cola,

They will advise u not to do lasik when u are pregnant cos of hormones change, so the end result might not be idea.

I wouldn't say I'm 100% perfect but at least 95%

I din really consider much before I did mine. Was only interested to go for the review to see if I'm suitable and who knows, I did it 2 days later...

So far, i find that gerber star biscuit best.. it's the only biscuit that won't cause constipation for Shannon. Shannon also love it but i try to limit her intake to less than 20 per day.

Karen,
You are so daring...
Ya my concern is if it is only say 90% of perfection, then the 10% i still have to use support (i.e lenses or glasses)..

A lot of ppl talking about biscuit here.. my girl normally dun take snacks too often.. so her intake of the baby bites biscuit is maybe once a wk or twice when we go out.. she normally munches on our bread (gardenia) or our rice or fruits.. I dun have the habit of snacking at home.. guess she didnt either..
During her day with my MIL, she sometimes chew on a bit of crakers that my MIL ate, she doesnt eat a lot, coz she is busy roaming around in the living room..

My main concern is on her main meal tho.. nowadays she takes rice with soup and fish or soup only.. i kept worrying if it is okay for her to take rice at such a young age.. She doesnt poo the rice out, so i think it is fully digested.. cant help but worry, any mummies ever check with PD if they are okay to take rice at this age?

Cola,

dun think u will still need support. I'm perfectly fine w/o any..usually if there's any imperfection, it will be like 50-75degree..Actually it all depends on how good is the skill of the person who takes ur degree. If they do a good job, u will be perfect...cos the adjustment is all based on the reading taken before that.

cola,
Ivan has been taking rice for dinner for 1mth+. He is ok. The nanny will still make some milk for him aft 1hr of the 'dinner', coz she said my boi is addicted to milk.
My boi also seldom snack. He only got the snack when he is cranky outside.

ivy,
my boi likes the pigeon biscuit cos is sweet. He can grab a few and all put into the mouth at 1 go.

Re: Diaper
Just tried drypantz... bought 1 pack from carrefour.. the salesperson told me improved version so i tried.. the last time we tried were disappointing.. i hesitated to buy but my hb say okie coz the salesperson gave me a $1 voucher plus carrefour hv 10% rebate... but this time round okie.. not too bad.

An_gal, i shd hv bought it during JL sales hor.. now i'm going to eat the discuit myself. But i also scare to eat lei.. coz it say contain milk wor.. will they buy milk from china??? !!!!

Loh, An_gal,

Thanks for the reply

Loh, same Meg only takes the crackers when she is cranky outside, esp on her stroller in mrt.. hahaha...

rc_cola: Rice should be fine. Porridge is rice. The only difference is that porridge is softer, and so its easier for babies with just a few teeth to swollow.

Ivy: I think if there's milk in it, best if you don't take it at all. Children may have been most affected by the melamine content in milk because their diet consists of mainly milk, but this doesn't mean that melamine is not poisonous for adults as well. No point saving money here, only to end up spending it on medical bills...