(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

Gosh...one aftern not in, so much to catch up...

Chatty,

oops...hope james is getting better now...gosh this disease is getting worst...!! Hope it will be over soon...

My friend is ok, but after the op her right side of her eyes still cant see, left side also blur...hope she recover soon..they manage to remove the whole tumor behind her eyes...was so worried for her last week when she told me she going for brain op...she has 3 boys age 12, 9 and 14mths old...she is my primary one friend, can U all imagine?? We are friends for over 30yrs...!!

I see so many post about porridge...I also been making differnt porridge for Chloe but more or less is the same everyday lah..usually I will boil stock with ikan bilis(must wash off the salt before boiling it), I will also throw in the fish skin to boil together, next the pork ribs, boil and rinse away the blood thn put in slow cooker, sometimes I will add a small cube of beef also, than wash the rice and put in the cooker also, whn the stock is ready I will pour it in the slow cooker and start cooking, so the main thing in the cooker is beef, pork ribs and rice with boiled stock. After the porridge is cook, remove the ribs and beef...blend the terafin, silver fish with carrots, sweet potatos and spinach(all in very small portion)thn stir it well into the porridge, at times I do add in avocado as well, also a little bit of slice cod fish as its oily...

Today I make special porridge for her, I use frog(Tian Ji) and a piece of pork ribs to stew her porridge add a slice of ginger, thn remove the frog and ribs after the porridge is done and add in the usually ingredients(carrots, spinach etc...) so far she loves it..she is having 2 porridge meals a day(lunch and dinner) morning will be cereal and the rest is EBM with rice cereal... guess every people have different ways of making porridge, as long as their babies loves it thn it will not waste our effort lor...

Seems everyone is waiting for me to announce about the Fox sale...here comes

More for gal I guess, boys clothes not much..and for gals the sizes mostly are for 6-12mths and below...but manage to get some 12-18mths & 18-24mths for Chloe lor...I guess they will top up their stocks everyday as there are big crowd there today...Misch was also there but did nt manage to meet her as she was there around 2pm, I only reach there around 4pm. I find that Fox clothes have funny cuttings, their 6-12mths can be same measurement as 12-18mths one, not consistent...so have to check the cutting also nt just looking at the size...mostly is $6 for rompers /tank or tops, $9 for set and pants/dresses, socks is $1/pairbaby booties at $3

Misch and myself was thinking to pop by again to see if thy hv replenish new stocks on bigger size clothes...both of us spend around $50+ today

Hi Chatty

Is James better today already? The GP is really too much, he just dismissed James without much care nor concern - such GP shouldn't exist and no matter GP or specialists or any other doctors, they should just treat each patient with extra care especially babies and old people. Such attitude is very intolerable.

Woof - yes, i sneaked during lunch time to the Fox sales but was greatly disappointed cos hardly any boys' clothings around...will you be going there?

Muddypie, so how's your thyroid now? Is it better?

Jete and magical, i'm in your league. My son don't eat good food too. My mil is a vegetarian so only can cook porridge. Think i will have to buy some cans from Healthy Times so he can have some nice food. Healthy times is ok right? I will try to make some food for him...but really need to buck up cos my cooking knowledge and skills are super limited.

My boy's coughing is like so bad. Wake up every hour cos of disturbed sleep and when he cough, he'll wake up. Hubby also said he's so kelian!

gold piggy

why not u try to apply some vicks on his foot and wear socks when he sleep.

u can apply those adults kind(a bit bit)...i tried last time when my son cough. it does help

Goldpiggy,

Got G6PD cannot use vicks meh?
This test is conducted during birth, rite?
My boy result showed PRESENT so, he have G6PD too ah???

my colleague told me cannot use vicks cos there's something inside which is not appropriate for babies with G6PD, cos her son is one so i said ok lor and just bore that in mind. Ya, conducted from birth. That you have to checked with your PD cos my PD told me my boy have G6PD..

Goldpiggy,

Noted, thanks

Jete,

Cheese -> should be okay. though it contents cow milk (for sure) but i read somewhere so long as it is not pure 100% cow milk (as substitute for FM or BM), it should be okay. but not to eat that on daily basis. Anyway, i find the cheese a bit too saltish, so bought a lot more fruits a home to feed her as snack rather than cheese hehehe..

Just bought banana.. that is easier to feed, will ask FIL to feed her in the afternoon. Then at nite will feed her with other fruits which need peeling, i.e. apple, mango, pear, etc.
Fed Meg mango, she loves it!! Just cut into small dices, and they could be able to mash it with their gums, anyway, the mango is so soft rite?

Re: wholesomebabyfood webby
I find it is useful as well. Have yet to try their omellette recipe, will try tomorrow or this weekend.
Seems yummy!!!

Re:vicks
Yup read somewher about the G6, i dun even know babies were tested for that during the birth. Anyway, I have ever put vicks on Meg's chest when she was having flu last time, no reaction, I assume its ok bah hhehehhee

Gold piggy,
Bring your boy to Yu Guo again lor.. i find that Yu Guo is indeed v v v v good ler, at least after Meg visited them, she could have a good nite sleep after many sleepless nites due to her flu last time.

An_gal,
Re: salmon
As what nining has mentioned, salmon is relatively safe (means it might contain mercury, but stil on the safer side to feed to babies, but dun feed every day).
My mantra is everything should be given to baby in moderation :p
And one more thing hor, hubby is not a fish lover neither a fish expert hahaha I mean he studies public health, so anything under the sun that concerns about public health (any disease,condition that is related to public health, i.e. pregnancy, hiv, dengue, bla bla bla). Those kind of stuff lor..

Mel, mummies,
Thanks for the compliment for Meg!
Btw, Matt jia yio in contest!!!!!

Gold piggy,

No I mean I dunno about the G6 thingy, but I did rub some on Meg previously, and she was okay,
Oh the G6 is only found in boys? ic ic ic ic

Y not you bring him there tomorrow or on sat? if keep dragging, the "kelian" one is your boy ler. Better to bring him fast ler, u know cough can develop into bronchitis one.. er.. sorry not scaring you, but sick baby is really no fun. Take good care of your boy hor..

Muddypie,
no worries, just get better first.. cos if u're not well, Aidan may get affected too..

Ike's been poor thing, yest went to PD, and how he hates meds aaaaarrrggghhh.. he only likes the panadol syrup, the runny nose and cough syrup he will just scream his head off..
and he's very clingey to me, dont want anyone else.. today managed to sneak out to go to work cos yest already took family care leave although still attending teleconference at home (but without brain cos cannot think and contribute when Ike's sick..)

Chatty,
u must be so pissed off with the GPs at TMC..horrible! They are Doctors..how can they behave like that? Gosh! Unbelievable!!

Rc_cola, thanks but cos i am giving him prospan, i can't take leave and i told my hubby if by tomorrow my boy still not better, friday he will have to bring him to the PD cos i have 3 boss in town and i can't take leave, colleague away so no one to cover.

Ya, am planning Yu Guo next week too!

Magical,
nowadays new graduates doctors mostly are money face leee.. one of my cousins is too.. and kena good scolding from my god ol mother hahaah.. always thinking which hospital she will choose to work for that will give her the best cut!! It came to a nuisance level that my sis didnt want her to come with my sis' gynae visit.. She's now taking specialty in heart surgery.. we really think she wanna do that cos heart surgeons paid best nowadays!!!

Jete,
I look very similar to my mom in term of physical traits, and she looks same as my grandma too.. my grandma and mom both had/have diabetes.. so looks like am a big potential candidate! To top it off, I am sweet tooth!

An_gal,
hubby and I have been decided to be firm with ourselves, we put away monthly savings that is equal to his future monthly school fees, that is locked for 5 years hahaha.. cos we're very very not discipline!

Chatty,
if you manage to log in again, how is James today?

rc cola, check with you, did u blend the meesua or u just mesh it with a spoon. I'm keen to introduce meesua but dun know how to do

chattypheyling, u take care, poor James!

Trish,

No need to mash,
Wat I did is just cut the mee sua to small strands (use scissors), no longer than 0.5mm, then soak in water for about 15 mins, then cook it longer (about 7 mins) than we used to cook for ourselves so that bb can just swallow it. So far, she doesnt choke on that. er.. but buy mee sua which doesn't dissolve hor. coz some not so good guality mee sua, if soak/cook too long, it will dissolve/partly dissolve and become soggy soggy.

adeline,
the socks hav for boys and isit big size?
hope ur frend can be discharged soon

cola,
haha, is gd 2 hav a "health officer" at home hor hehe

ninings,
is gd 2 set aside a sum of $$ for future education.. i mus realli realli start soon but is so difficult lo with so many sales going on kakaka

Gold Piggy,
Prospan didnt help Mathias much leh...PD gave him another medicine when I went again on Sat..it comes in an orange powder that has to be mixed w water..that helps to remove the phlegm so that he can cough and swallow it down his tummy and shit it out..PD also gave a clear coloured liquid to help clear his airways..after taking these 2 for 5 days, he seems better although not 100% cured yet..

Hey ,i am back!!! Spent so much time to catch up all the posts!
Ivan was very scared of unfamiliar places esp bathing time. He die die must hold onto me else cry non stop.

Mel,
My breast specialist suggested me to go back to him aft stopped bf 2-3month to take out the milk lumps.

Mel, ytanhn,
I was asking for water straight aft delivery, the nurse warned me dun take too much else will vomit...i really vomitted the last dinner out when i was still in the delivery ward.

cola,
My mensus also reported on 1 Apr!!!

chatty,
Hope ur boi recovered speedy!

Mel,
my PD in jurong east kidslink also gave the same meds as yours , plus cough syrup and runny nose syrup..

wow...the post run so fast..really have no time to read all...worse still dun have internet access at my own ofc pc...
thanks cin for the info

chatty: the GP quite jia luct, did not check properly...bb dehydration veri serious leh...angry.. ;<
Hope your boy recover soon...

mummies: Take how long to make the stock?

An-gal,

the fox socks I got is for my boy leh...have to dig like siao lor...their sale very funny de, big ones vry big, small one too small..but I guess thy will replenish everyday lor...

adeline,
wah, for ur boy is 2 big 4 me.. dono can find 1-2yrs old socks there or not.. now tinking shld I go since the stocks like not very fantestic

Dolph,

You just boiled for about 30 mins then let it shimmer for as long as you want it to be hehehee
For me, I boil for 30 mins then transfer to the magic cooker, and leave it over nite. By then the soup will be very sweet coz all the "jing hua" are in the soup :p

Help, I dunno what stock to make tomorrow.

Ning,
Thx for the informative webby :p
Fantastic!

Er.. chicken feet? not a good idea, coz i am scared of the whitish chiken feet, look so scary hahaha..
Let me think... apple stock? I mean: apple + wolberries + red dates stock + pork rib? sound yummy rite? :p

Mel, ya, i am giving him prospan. Am thinking of bringing him to the PD this sat. Got to call and make appt. Friday his daddy if his coughing is worse else i will bring on sat.

erh. so Avent safe to use lor. me hor read until i blur blur. hate it when they use mumbo jumbo terms... =P

hi adeline
i didnt know u r mother of 2! hehe..
hey, saw your menu, its very comprehensive n lot of variety. u got time to do it fresh everyday?
can do a portion for titus anot? i dun mind go to your hse n collect leh. :p
frog porridge? u kidding? where u buy frog? live one?

hi chatty
sorry to hear that james is hospitalised. it must be very tiring for u. when titus was hospitialised, he was very clingy n whiny to only me. he doesnt even want to sleep on the hospital cot n end up sleeping with me on the sofa bed all the time. what i did was, i brought his fav toys there. but its very boring to stay in the room all the time. the nurses advise us not to walk around in the ward too much cos u never know what virus the kid next room is having. if no more fever n he is better, ask to be discharged.
hey all these doctors on duty i find that are not that professional. that time when i brought him to mount e. the a&amp;e dr said he was just having high fever n chesty cough. luckily they called his pd who was practicing at mount e and he came down in the middle of the nite n take a look at him. he was the one who asked us to be admitted. if i were to listen to that dr on duty, i cant imagaine how his illness was going to be esaclated to that night.

mel
u r rite, its diff to get silver fish. when i dun need it, i will see it, but when i need to buy, the stalls will say run out of stock.

rc
not bad yeah? u work n still can cook for megan. i am really impressed by your fil! is he very old? what happen to your mil?

btw, the fruits that u gave megan, do u still steam it? i am still steaming fruits like pears, apples n peaches. but not for papaya n banana.

all these talk about bottles r making me worried. cos now i used hot water to pour over all his utensils b4 meals. is it ok?

hi gold
depend on individual, i follow english.

hi angeline
the one that i have checked was not aloha chalet. its safra chalet at east coast. i am looking at national day weekend n its fully booked!

rc
pardon me for my suakuness, what is G6?
also where is this yu guo u guys ave been raving abt? a chinese sinseh? must take chinese herbs?
what is he good at?

Nin,

Ya, Avent sure defend their own products!
Anyway their reply like useless, not much assurance! Hiaz...

Cin,

I called up aloha loyang, oso fully booked!! Aiyoyo!! Jialat liao!!

accidentally came to this thread. anyone can roughly advice me what is this thread about? for mums who gave birth in Aug'07? or something else? thanks

nining
can juz check when u went US with Ike, got feed FM right? u boil the normal tap water (which is hard water) or buy mineral water to boil for his milk feed? thanks. =)

Miaon,
I think at this time it's up to individual to choose whether or not to use Polycarbonate that contains BPA..

Angeline,
at least since Avent answer like that, next time there's a victim, they're going to be very liable, cannot run anymore, cos they did say they're safe!

Gretel,
jia you! P/T SAHM not difficult..U see me? At home from today till Sun taking of Mathias by myself (cos hubs wrkg night shift this week) but I'm still ok..haha! Still cook fresh porridge/puree for him for every meal some more on top of doing the laundry, cleaning the house etc..just takes getting used to
u can do it!!

Loh,
any reason why u were told to get ur milk lumps removed? In that case when I stop BF maybe I should go see dr...how to go see Breast specialist?

Oh my..it must be terrible to vomit just after delivery..

Loh,Cola,
Both of u had the biggest joke played on you by your menses..haha!

Nining,
when I went to kidslink the first time they gave cough syrup(pink) and runny nose syrup too...but didnt work so now he's taking this..if this doesnt work either then he'll have to take anti biotics..the PD was quite nice..she called me on Mon evening to chk how Mathias was doing..

Jete,
Im so sad..my friend who went to Korea couldnt find the LG prime playmat..he said that he searched in the big dept stalls and even asked some koreans but noone seemed to know what he was talking abt..*damn*

nining
thanks for the info! =)

hmmm seems like the flu virus quite rampant now leh. now down with sore throat and so worried i pass to my boy. haiz. been downing water like no one's biz and running to toilet so often...argh!