(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

Jete,
I didnt know abt the contest either. There was no posting at our notice board but Hb's friend that lives ard blk 110 saw it at his notice board so he and hubs went to sign up together..its this sunday at Edgefield Pri.Hope Mathias will be alright by then...

anyone read bout an animal who locked his daughter for 24 years in his basement cellar, since she was 18 years old and fathering many of her children??
i think the punishment is to treat him like animal!!! n cut his thing b4 hang/shot/electrocute him!

Mel,

Ytanh,

After reading chloe's menu!
Wow.. it is so nutritious ler.. I should really beef Meg up.

If you see my menu, I think it is a bit too simple:

I dun have daily menu hor...

am milk 150ml
after shower: 125ml of juices (apples/pears)
noon porridge (either plain, with fish, or minced pork) 1 bowl (about 3 big spoons)
about 2 pm /3 pm milk 150ml
dinner porridge (either plain, with fish, or minced pork) 1 bowl - 1.5 bowls (about 5 big spoons)
*snack after porridge - cheese (1sq cubes) or fruits (bit of apples, mango,)
nite milk 150 ml

then zzzz until morning... or else about 2am/4am milk 120ml (occasionally)

the porridge: stock (same stock for 4 days)
Stocks tried:
- pork rib + winter melon + red dates + wolfberries
- pork rib + cabbage ---> not very nice hehe but bb loves it
- pork rib + long cabbage + corn + carrot
- pork rib + carrot + sweet potato

Oh ya, sometimes, will change the porridge to mee sua, cooked with the stocks that I have made. Easy!

Cin,
He's coughing lesser but still can hear the phlegm when he breathes..what to do? He gives me the "puss in boots" look and ask for ice-cream so I give him lor..hahaha!!

cola,
Salmon is high in mercury content.. oh i didnt know.. thks for the info.. so far i had gave codfish most of the time and oso ngoh hee and red snapper i tink
ur hubby fish lover ah.. study fish hehe

goldpiggy,
har... so cham ah.. boys so little.. mummies with gals b prepared 2 cheong liaoz.. haha

cin,
haha u damn funi leh, use teething biscuit 2 kok hubby head haha.. i shall chk out NTUC and Market Place for the pasta if i pass by.
u tried mincing chicken drumstick? I bought chicken drumstick frm market, ask seller 2 remove bones, go hm remove the fats, wash n minced, add into porridge and the meat like disappear and is soft.. mayb i minced until 2 fine oledi.. as for pork, i jus started n use "yao rou", oso known as pork fillet, veri soft oso. i go market every wkn leh.. so i am auntie oso lah :p

re : bday celebration
i had decided to do it at hm 2 save all the trouble.. however on Melcolm's actual bday, we will be going Sentosa and check in to Siloso Beach resort for a night's stay, provided hubby leave approve.

Ning,

Yes, saw the news. I think better to just cut his flesh each and every piece, and let him rot slowly.
Locked for so many years ler... do u think let him die instantly is good enough? er.. for me i would rather let him rot slowly!

*cruel lady* sorry mummies, I think he deserves that slowly but dying treatment...

An_gal,
hubby n I prolly will do similar like your plan, but maybe go desaru instead of Sentosa..

Mel,
u need to learn be strong when those pussinboots eyes attack you hahahaha.. else u will be in trouble when he's teenager kakaka..all can get from mommy!!

I've not logged in for a while, coz James was ill all weekend and was finally diagnosed as having HFMD on Sunday nite. We've been in TMC since then. He's much better now, though still on drip. I finally managed to get internet access, and am taking the opportunity to log in while he's resting...

Chatty,

Poor James, hope he is getting better. I guess he must have gotten it from the infant care.
Do take care of yourself too k.

read thru the post and got lost on who post wat.

the animal:

ya, let him die a painful death, am so disturbed when hubby tell me the news, i told him next time got such news dun tell me cos i'll get v disturbed and curse and swear tt animal v sinful haha. i even wish e animal death;p

menu:
hey! i noticed nobody give millet?! it's v good! wanna intro this book 'super baby food' by ruth yaron, tat's where i learnt abt millet. alt porridge with oat, rice and millet. i tried organic millet and boy loves it. i also tried the book recommendation mix with organic soya beans and he loves it so much!!!

go read abt the book. v v informative. i've been trying to borrow tat book from nlb but it's always on loan, if not reserved. arghh. there's a website http://www.superbabyfood.com/

also like to share, i went for tis parenting talk few weeks back by abbott, one of the speaker who is a senior pd at dunno where (can't remember but she's good) said that singaporeans mummies esp chinese tend to feed bb too much fish and forget about the beans. so start giving your bb the protein they need! ;)

take care all! and i'm counting down to tis fri where i'll start my p/t - to be honest now getting worried and anxious and SCARE - taking after bb ALONE. been reading up alot of receipes to arm myself better... hope i can cope...

Choco, rc_cola: Yup! James got it from another kid at infantcare. Its a fresh outbreak, coz they haven't had a case for over a week, and suddenly 3 kids are down...we didn't even suspect that it was HFMD.

On Sat morning, he developed a fever, and was vomitting whole day. His appetite was poor. By the time I finished work that morning and got home, it was too late to bring him to the PD, so after a few phone consultations with my aunt, we decided to bring him to TMC 24 hour clinic so we could see a PD. When we got there, they only had a GP on duty, and he said that James had a sore throat, and had a viral attack which was causing the fever. He suggested antibiotics, but in the end we decided to just do symptomatic treatment, and were advised to check with our own PD on Monday. That night, James kept vomitting and crying non-stop. His fever would go down a little after paracetamol, but return with a vengence within 4 hours. He could drink much milk or eat much cereal either.

On Sunday morning, he drank 4 ounces of milk with difficulty, but couldn't take anything else. He threw up several times, and his fever remained high, despite sponge baths and cooling forehead patch, medication. He refused to drink milk at all. My aunt came to help us with him, and she realised that his situation was pretty serious, and would need hospitalisation. We rushed down to TMC, and the resident GP (different one from Saturday's) said that James' situation was no big deal. He didn't even look up at James at all, just told us to go home and feed him fruit juice - at least not till I told him that my aunt who was with us, was also a doctor. Only then did he listen to James' heart with a stethescope and check his tummy! We had to insist on hospitalization (so we could see PD). After he agreed to hospitalization, our PD came, and the moment PD checked James, he confirmed that it was HFMD, and poor baby had a mouthful and throatful of ulcers, which was why he couldn't eat or drink. James was immediately placed on the drip as he was already dehydrated (the TMC GP has said that he wasn't dehydrated at all!). He's still on drip now, and much better though appetite is still poor.

Hi Chatty

Good that James is better. He's on drip cos he's not eating or drinking much! Hope he recover soonest!

My boy is still coughing badly - his sleep is so disturbed by his cough and at times, he cough till he also pek chek, then cry! I can help him nothing except to drink more hot water ( since i bf him ) and also to let him drink the cough syrup. Aiya, kids sick very ke lian!

Take care of yourself too! I saw your email and have forwarded to my friends. They have more selection now so will wait till friday before i ask them again. thanks.

an_gal,
izit? but no fun to be blown away..hehe

cola,
wah..u are the 1st to say tat she is sweet...tks
Megan is girlish too

adeline,
do update the fox sales...dun tink i can go...so sad

xman,
wah...ruoxi dun listen and i tink carene too..she's quite demanding and stubborn..

ytanhn,
i went to Chloe's blog. left comment. she's really cute!
will link u up.

mel,
lervin has been showing me his pig face since last week. squeezing all his features together and tts hw he have tt look. haha

chatty,
my heart pain wen i read thru' ur post. bb are just so 'kelian' they cant say they're in pain or feeling sick. have to be very careful. there's a playgroup near my place, recently had 3 cases of HFMD too..

lilyn,
so good..can save a lot on pads..hehe
as for tofu, my bbsitter does feed my girl wif tat..

gold piggy,
u went to the sales?

cin,
sounds like u haf a lot of good buy..when will the sales end?
yeah, i witnessed how much chloe eats...hehe

Chatty,

Sorry to hear that but am glad that JAmes is much better. U got to take good care inorder to take care of him ya!

Monday morning ard 2AM i bought Javier to TMC too cos he vomit & have red patches on his face, very scare its HFMD. We immediately rushed him to TMC cso we dun like KK. But hor that duty GP not very good lor. He said Javier got some wind inside his tummy thus caused the vomit. As for red patches, its skin allergy cos JAvier skin is sensitive.
Lucky after we reached home, his red patches gone & no more vomitting liao.

lilyn
$68 is a good price. paige doesn't like it though, she likes the cushion underneath better. i put in the pooh book and she is interested in tearing the book up, so i stop letting her play with it. wait a month or 2 then will try to reintroduce it again as "new" toy. ;)

ytanhn
wah, chloe has a lot of good food. lucky baby. i havent given paige much meat yet except fish, a bit worried about hormones in the meat, esp beef.

cola
yeah, checked her when she fell from the combi chair but since it was so high and that time she was still young, so decided to bring her to KKH ER to play safe. didn't check her limbs, checked her head and monitor her behavior mostly. impt she cries actually according to TMC and KKH. dont cry then scare.

many people tell me that ikan bilis the good part is the bone. so i was advised to buy the smaller ikan bilis then can just blend the whole thing. no worries about baby choking. after you dry them, it's quite crisp, once blend, all powdery.

RE soup base
i was told not to use bone. cos bone has marrow and when boil for long, the marrow, fats/blood inside will come out. so i use lean meat.

CHatty,
so sorry to hear bout James.. hope he's feeling much better and eating well again soon.. the drip will keep his sugar level normal.. poor little fella..

Yeah usually GP at A&E only know very little.. somemore usually these are young docs , not those expert ones.. and treating us as if we're stoopid.. must really insist on hospitalization, and dont let them convince you otherwise if you feel it's not right diagnose..

jete,
no prob! i wanted to make sure too coz i always leave the porridge in the slow cooker for hours!
rice is okay, only veg is a problem coz the minerals are water soluble..

ytanhn,
yeah i can't think of what other things i can do to help him sleep better.. yeah perhaps he's having nightmares.. tsk. i TOLD hubby not to play so crazy with him near bedtime .. but coz that's the only time hubby gets to play with him at all.. he works everyday n is out of the hosue before jereth wakes up, and comes home when the sun is down.. sigh.. so if i deprive him of the chance to play with jereth then he'll grow up not knowing how to play like a boy..haha.. with mummy he only gets funny faces and silly songs.

chatty,
so sorry to hear abt poor james! the HFMD is really getting worse these days.. hopefully it'll be wiped out soon. can't imagine how come the GPs would dismiss james' fever so easily esp with the high rise of HFMD cases recently! anyway luckily mummy knows best n insisted they give him better attention..

nining,
yeah some young docs really dont know their stuff! the last time i had a fever i went to a 24hr clinic near midnight and there was this young doc. i told him i was breastfeedin so he'll give me medication that is safe for bf.. then i told me to stop bf while i'm sick coz the virus can be transmitted to baby thru bm which is a body secretion. crazy..! i wonder what do they learn in med sch??

wow all of your menus look so nutritious n yummy! hee.. i'm a lazy mummy.. he has the same thing for lunch the whole week and i'll just change the meat (pork, chicken, fish) n veg (so far only china spinach n broccoli) each week..

nining
my family no history of diabetes so all my drs were surprised, esp my GD was so bad even on insulin. my grandma is diabetic and had one of her legs amputated but my dad was adopted, so in that sense no family history. that's one of the reasons to add to the "no to #2" list. :p not only did i have GD, it came on very early before 20w. i'm so scare of needles that 4x insulin shots a day is a pure torture. you should see me trying to do the shot myself. i hold the needle for an hour and got nowhere.

cola
baby can eat cheese meh? i tot cannot? isn't it made with cow milk and that's a no no for baby under 1?

chatty
hope james has a speedy recovery. did he get it from daycare? ETA just saw you post he got it at daycare. poor thing.

TMC doesn't sound that great huh? Think anything next time we will go KKR ER or Mt A.

magical
dont worry, my menu is also very pathetic compare to other mommies. i only do puree on weekend and add to porridge each day. fish i steam sep but she's not keen on fish. will gag, i'm afraid she'll throw up.

Hven't had time to log in. Was out to SGH this morning for a followup appt for my thyroid. But while on my way home, felt a little heavy headed. Now, I'm down with a bad cold.

nining, so sorry, hven't had the chance to go to nearby ATM to do the trf, totally forgotten abt it while at SGH. Will definitely do it tomorrow.

Jete, will go check out at FFY @ Paragon on playtex teats. Aidan refuse to open his mouth when I try feeding him with the one nining sent me. Hopefully can find a silicon one. Sigh...my fussy baby.

Noticed that Aidan like to bully me, cause whenever I leave him alone with his dad, he seems to be such a good baby, he don't whine when his dad leave him in his playyard. But whenever I'm around, he'll whine and whine for me to carry him. Even our maid noticed that.

Abt food, hven't been a good mummy, didn't prepare much things for him this week. Since he started his porridge, hve been making just pork bone stock for him, must learn frm ytanhn, add in more stuff.

chatty, so sorry to hear that James is down with HFMD. Hope he is feeling better, must be really tiring for you and hub taking care of him, do take care.

Silver fish
Havn't been able to find silver fish, went to market couple of times, but they don't have. Will go to cold storage to hve a look.

Didn't know they hve bb pasta, will look out or it too.

Cin, you auntie, I'm even more auntie, every sat, must go to market. Not only must think of a menu for bb, but also for we adults' dinner too. So sian, especially now, down with cold, just don't feel like doing anything, but cannot, otherwise, everyone got nothing to eat. How nice, I'm back to single days, stay with parents, everyday dinner time, the food are all laid on table, just eat only.

tofu
Will look out for it at supermarket too. But, how to prepare huh?

nining,
great, i tink i will oni bring Melcolm overseas wen he can walk steadily if not i cant enjoy haha.. but 1stly mus save $$, argh.. spending alot of $$ and not saving scary

chatty,
oh no.. james kana HFM, sounds so serious n bad.. take gd care and hope he be discharged and recover soon, lesson learnt, nv go to GP for babies.. i oledi kana shock few wks back wen bring Melcolm to GP for assessment

jete,
thks... paragon abit out of way for me.. i shall probably try cold storage..

muddypie,
same same.. i oso go market every sat.. but oni buy Melcolm's food.. i seldom cook oledi since Melcolm came on board haha

chatty,
so sorry to hear tat james was attacked by HFMD..hope tat he is recovering..
actually at this pt of time, i was also kind of worried..as u know,i work in sch and there are cases in sch too...u mite be a carrier but bring it home..so now i make it a pt to shower after coming back from work before fetching carene from my bbsitter...however, there's another concern too..my bbsitter has another schooling boy who is in nursery..so basically everyday juz pray tat everything is ok...
carene was attacked by mosquitoes instead & the spots are real big..

muddypie,
the weather is horrible...do take care of urself while u are taking care of ur family memebers

jete,
izzit? sometimes, i dump the pork rib into the porridge..

re: NUK silicon teat
any mummies wan nuk silicon teat for 6-12tmths, i tink.coz i m using the bottle but nt the teat..let me know if u are keen