(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

Cin,
My FIL is only about 53+ :p pretty young rite? Both MIL and FIL have retired long long time ago, so they are enjoying their life now.
MIL went back to Indo coz they got another granddaug 4 yrs old to take care of as well.. both my SIL and BIL are also working.
MIL and FIL will switch lor... hahaha
FIL will go back end of July, and MIL will come again... then switch again few months later.

I am really grateful to them that they are willing to help us take care of Meg.
Er.. both hubby and I dont allow MIL to bring Meg to Indo and raise her there... we want the bonding with our kids...
That time hubby told FIL will put Meg in infant care if MIL goes back, so FIL said no need he could come and take care of Meg :p
They are indeed very very very nice people ler... Aiyoh, everyday I say ILs nice in blog, dunno whether some mummies will bish ah bish me or not hahahaha

Re:fruit
Apple, I will use the spoon and scope for meg, er.. grate the apple using spoon for me.
If I want to let her eat the diced-apple, i will put a bit of water in pan and apple, and just let the apple turn soft then cut into dices for her.. but make sure that the apple soft enough hor
Safer using the spoon and grate for her.. or else apple is quite hard, might choke the baby
Pear is slightly softer, so can use water and stir fry in pan :p

Mango,banana,papaya, durian (i intro to her already) --> can just feed them directly.

Ya I used hot water to rinse her milk bottle, but not her eating utensils..
She is okay, anyway, we wash the utensils using SINGAPORE tap water which is also drinkable, so should be okay.
In other countries, please be more cautious :p

Chatty,
hope james is getting better now. so angry at the GP, so irresponsible Guess he is not married yet, doesn't know how anxious parents r when our little one falls sick.

Ning, ur son can crawl alreadi? so sorry, long din log in to check. My son now can pull my cloth & stand up w one hand, another hand claping his thigh & smiling away. Think he finds great achievement in doing it, haha
Now his favourite is to stand up on his cot, grab his mobile toys & put into his mouth.

Abt making stock, I also limtied. Most of time is boil w pork/chicken + carrot + potato or apple, then pour the stock into slow cooker to cook w porridge.

Cin,
Cooking for my girl easy ler.. of course on weekdays when I am working i am not able to cook mee sua. Coz mee sua has to be cooked just before eating rite.

I think for cooking, it is the preparation time that takes a lot of time. I always prepare everything in small cubes/small containers then easier to cook rite?

I will cook/boil the stock, and cook porridge at nite. For fish, I will prepare it separately, in small portion on small little ceramic plate, cut some ginger and wrapped it using the plastic wrap. Morning, I prepare pan and stander for FIL, so that when nearer to the lunch time, he can just easily steam the fish and feed to meg lor.

For dinner, when I reach home will steam the fish again and feed her. AFter that I have my own dinner + bath. Sometimes, we will eat fruits together. Then it's the two of us (Meg + Mama) time already. Papa always comes home late due to work and his studies. During the '2 of us" time, I will try to read to her, and she starts to enjoy it, no more tearing of books, she will hold the book, and I will point the watever words/pictures and read to her, she will smile all the way :p Very fun!

I want to teach Megan to draw (used to help out as assistant in my drawing teacher's plc for small kids (also got adult classes -watercolor,oilcolor,charcoal- the funnest part is when teaching those small little kiddos!!!!! love them!!! super fun!), provided she can grip pensil or crayon steadily. Er.. perhaps i should start searching for non-toxic crayon for kids! Let meg play with it.

Pst pst.. if can successfully teach meg drawing, would you mummies send your bbs for me to teach? hahahaha being a drawing teacher is my dream!

rc_cola,
yaloh.. been MIA on & off, time seems to be racing and endless things need to be done. btw, can start feeding our bbs mee sua? good, at least have a change rather than eating porridge everyday.

an_gal,
i also duno consider too much or not but chloe's daily diet consists of meat, fish & vege.

cin,
hahaa.. *me flying liao*, pan lingling definitely is much slimmer & taller than me, except i'm younger ;p some friends commented my wedding pix do look at her though.
in fact chloe can finish 3/4 bowl of porridge but i will limit her intake to maybe 1/2 bowl, dun want to overfeed her. she drinks 180ml x 3/day.
btw, try adding some water or stock when u mince the meat, will be smoother.

chatty,
OMG.. must be terrible for james. hope he recovers soon.

xue,
tks for visiting chloe's blog. i have link u up as well.

jete,
my purpose is to let chloe try as much food as possible when she's still young, unlike my nephew who's now 2yrs old refused to eat alot of things cos he never been exposed to much food since baby.

magical,
yeah.. gotta tell ur hb to slowly tame down towards the end of the play time to let jereth relax. hahaa.. i agree that mummy always does the part of funny faces and silly songs.

muddypie,
just steam the tofu and add into porridge. btw, hope u recovers soon.

woof,
really? tks... chloe makes it interesting. she's getting sooo.. naughty and cheeky now. glad u enjoy my blog.

cola,
meg tried durians hahaha she likes?

ytanhn,
hee melcolm's meal consists of fish, meat, vege and fruit frm mon-fri only.. sat n sun i lazy 2 cook esp if 1 2 go out haha

Mel,
I got panel doctor referred to Philip Yau from NUH surgery department. You can also walk in but cost will be ex bcos u r considered as private patient. Otherwise go polyclinic get a referral letter to NUH/other hospital. He didn't said y must removed. TT time i was so happy until dunno wat to ask liao when he told me it is milk and not cancer. My col went to take out the milk too, just a small op. Insert needle and withdraw the milk.

Yalor, my hb was using his 2 hands to hold 10% of my overnight food, the rest just stained on the delivery gown!

Cin

Sorry I missed out on the G6 thingy. Er I am not expert in this, in fact idiotic and ignorant about G6, you might wanna check with gold piggy hehehe

Yu Guo - Chinese Dr. They are very well known for their tui na. Adeline intro me, brought meg there when she had her flu last time, after the tui na, she could sleep better.
Guess they are good :p

cola,
Nooo, mensus came on 24th liao, 4 days aft ovulation! (I have ovulation cramp)....hormone still very unstable.
wa, can feed durian liao

About G6PD Deficiency
G6PD is one of many enzymes that help the body process carbohydrates and turn them into energy. G6PD also protects red blood cells from potentially harmful byproducts that can accumulate when a person takes certain medications or when the body is fighting an infection.

In people with G6PD deficiency, either the RBCs do not make enough G6PD or what is produced cannot properly function. Without enough G6PD to protect them, RBCs can be damaged or destroyed. Hemolytic anemia occurs when the bone marrow (the soft, spongy part of the bone that produces new blood cells) cannot compensate for this destruction by increasing its production of RBCs.

I don't really understand but i just avoid certain stuffs and food which G6PD children need to avoid based on what i read from internet.

If have a choice, won't want my boy to have that. Very troublesome, chinese medicine must avoid that's why when i brought him to Yu Guo, they never rub his nose to help his flu

Angeline
i used to use avent, but ike refused it when he was 4 months, n he took pigeon v well.. Jete mentioned to me couple of times that pigeon too has BPA free bottle, but ex, like $15/pce..

but I still use the VIA cups, which according to the Z report is BPA free..

Mel/Cola,
minitoons sell what's classified as children playmat in the smallsmallworld website.. I asked my korean colleagues nobody knows bout it also.. I guess all u can do if wanna get from korea, is to go to a big dept store that has children dept and look for it yourself..

Mel,
Ike had lots of antibiotic when he was just born.. am dreading to hearing from the PD if Ike will need it.. hope not.. from what I know as consumer of antibiotic myself, unless no fever and not severe, can get better without antibiotic, unless if the body is too addicted to antibiotic like me..

Baby Doll,
Ike can crawl and stand up grabbing on his cot railing or playground fence already.. and now he has new game if he sees me inside his playground.. he will grab the fence to stand with both hands, then after full stand, he will give me one of his hand and then sit down and clap hahaha..
He also grab anything nearby him to get him stand up, including me or my hair !!

Cola,
I think after he's well again I'll start mango for Ike, he'll love it!! he took grapes very well, he like sour stuffs apparently.. just like his dad..

Phew I am taking friday off, so long weekend for me! since I am a labor I think I deserve it hahahahahahahahaha....

Wah take me so long to finish reading the posts.

Chatty,
Hope that James will get well soon.

rc_cola,
You are so daring, dare to let Megan try durians and so many other things.. Jerome is only taking either fish/pork/chicken porridge with spinach/potato/pumpkin/peas. Fruits only apple, pear and prune. Maybe I can start him on mango

Nining,
Lucky I didnt bring jerome to PD for his diarrhea else waste money. You are right, he may have eaten too much, causing multiple poos in a day. Next day he had watery poos for three times than following by he is back to normal.

Mel,
I am counting down to my part time SAHM too.. wahaha.. looking forward to be able to accompany my boy more. My boy has developed the habit of wanting people to carry him while feeding him,cultivated by my MIL! Worst of all, MIL dun let him crawl on the floor saying its dirty although my helper mops it daily.. She will carry him wherever she goes. Bad Bad habits! When I convert to sahm, I shall start eliminating them.. endure for the time being.. humph

Talking about bumper mat.. I have one Pooh and Friends (1850x1250x12mm) to let go.. I bought it from Alien's BP, intend to place at my inlaw's house, but they find the mat big wor, take up space since their 3-rm flat is very small only. Only mummies here wants it let me know, will give good discounts to Aug mummies only :p

hi jete n gold piggy!
hee.. so i'm not the only one ah? haha.. i'm a super pathetic cook! the only dish i'm proud of ( n which is a little more complicated) is korean bulgogi .. got the recipe from my korean teacher when i took korean lang classes years ago..! but i still need the recipe to cook coz too many steps.. can't commit to memory..

nining,
i though gynaes get paid the most? so its actually heart ah? i cant imagine being thrown the responsibility of someone's life..! but yeah many young docs out there are more for the $$ i guess.. but at least get the facts rights lah! still can say flu will be transmitted thru bm.. my goodness!

hi ytanhn!
now jereth's bedtime play is just sitting on the playmat with his toys or his teether.. at the most i allow hide n seek only.. haha..
diffucult to play with boys lah.. so active n full of energy! i get exhausted just letting him climb all over me loh

aiyo, my son started to use pacifier last week. He wake up every 2 hourly at night for comfort nursing, I decided to try pacifier and he was addicted! Now sleep must ve it... good and bad lor. Good is tat he dun suck for comfort at nite & i ve more time at daytime to do things, bad is dun know how to wean him off, PD said pacifier is bad for teeth.

Can I join this thread too? My son was born 1 Aug 2007...I am now a SAHM trying to do more household chores other than taking care of my boy...haha

Hi an_gal, I also wonder how these babies can sleep soundly in those weird positions! Lol. My boy is no better. He sleeps on our bed and will move to any location on our bed while sound asleep, so I have since converted to a light sleeper cos I always have to wake up to pull him back to his space. Does your boy roll over while sleeping too? Mine does, and it's scary, cos he will bury his face downwards and start struggling...again I wake up and roll him back up. Sigh! These little terrors!

Hi Alsie and Mel - I am also staying in Sengkang. I'm a SAHM.

An_gal, you din put the cot bumper?

Nowsaday, Shannon will wake up 6 plus in the morning and will stand in your baby cot, calling for us. Now i don't even hv time to log on in the morning... *sigh*

Mattmum, welcome to Aug Thread. I stay at Punggol. I'm also a SAHM

morning mummies.

ytanhn, thanks for the tips on how to prepare tofu, will try it over the weekend.

an_gal, your Melclom so cute, sleep until like that.

mattmum, welcome, me a SAHM too, staying at upper serangoon.

Rented a new toy for Aidan, it's the "Bright Starts Around We Go Activity Station", they just delivered last night, quite an interesting toy. Here it is.

1390715.jpg
1390716.jpg
1390717.jpg

an_gal,

oh my... Melcolm's sleeping pose is soo funny... what happened in the end? did he sleep till morning in this pose?

Alsie,
that's the parklon one right? the one side winnie and the other like wood pattern? I have the yellow bear parklon also, bought from smallsmallworld's recent BP.. I think at Ike's current physical state 12mm is good enough cos I saw him the other day fell to sit down position from standing and he just looked stunned then start to crawl.. means he was just shocked not in pain..

hi mattmum,
welcome..

Ivy,
If I were chatty I'd punch the GP also.. so keke as if knows a lot but actually kosong!!

Muddypie,

argh... you are making me upset
my Brightstarts supposed to be delivered this week also! But just realised that the weight limit is 11.3kg

Did u rent from gogomummy too? Maybe the one u have is what i'm supposed to get!!

Jang,
Jaeden is already 13 Kg ya?

Mudd,
Aidan has long legs like Chatty's James!! maybe can play basket ball together someday!

An_gal
hahaha Ike will fuss if he sleeps in trapped position like that, he rolls over a lot and many times he rolls over towards one side only so of course will be blocked by the rail, then he woke up very very unpleased..

yah, nin, I noticed that too. Ke...ke....when I dress him up in a bodysuit, he look like a froggy...Now worst, after the cold, he lose a bit of weight. At least, James is not so skinny like Aidan.

Muddypie,
Ike lost 200 gram weight since he started crawling and standing up.. I think even if he eats more, he will stay at this current weight at 9.4Kg..
Long legs will look nice in typical oshkosh overall!! now I am addicted to dress Ike in overalls hahahaha..

Jang,
wah then now he plays on the playmat ya? but Ike also only has jumperoo, no other exersaucer, he seems to like to be on playground and just roll here crawl there..

Nining,

yeap! he spends most of his time on the playmat. Not crawling yet. Actually i'm looking forward to him crawling so that he can lose abit of weight :x

magical,
dun worry, u're not alone. i've a gal who plays like a boy ;p super chor-loh.

mattmum,
welcome

an_gal,
oh gosh... wat a pose! think u btr put cot bumper. they are too active now at this stage.

muddypie,
enjoy preparing.. btw, sometimes i add pumpkin or egg yolk with tofu cos i find tofu too bland.
u rent bright starts from rent-a-toy? they just collected from me on tue night, that means u are the next in queue.
now only $60/mth right? I paid $65 last mth. any smell of chloe??? hahaaa...
it's an interesting toy but a pity it is too lightweight or rather my chloe is too chor-loh for it, the whole station just spin together with her or she could drag the whole station to reach out for things. I didnt dare to leave her alone in it for a second.

Jang,
he will soon and you will find it hard to catch up with a t 13 kg who run amock in the house hahahaha...

I finally gave in, today I went to OG orchard and bought medela bottles cos they fit pigeon teats.. I saw Bfree also, looks much nicer and looks like will fit avent teats, but not sure.. I actually bought a pigeon teat and tried on the medela to check fitness..

Other brand is PIYOPIYO that is made of PES (packed in box individually, not wrapped in plastic like the standard piyopiyo) but 1 bottle was $20!!

So OG had 15% off medela bottle, and 20% off Bfree.. I didnt wanna take chance with BFree cos if Ike refused it I'd be stuck with expensive bottles, they're abt $60 for 4 bottles for Bfree..

here is further info re PES and BPA :

http://www.thegreenguide.com/products/Kids_&_Babies/Baby_Bottles

Jete,
I also bought a thermal jar for the porridge.. cannot remember the brand, but the technical spec said it can hold hot / cold for 24 hrs.. since I only need circa 15 hrs, shld be ok.. was 39.90 at OG, on sale oredi so no further discount.. CHico has one also that can only hold for 6 hrs..

Hi Everyone!

Thanks for all your well-wishes and smses. James came home yesterday, and his appetite is really improving, though it'll be a while before it'll be back to normal.

We're all so relieved!

nin, wow, Ike lost 200g, no wonder my boy's weight kept staying at ard 7kg-7.1kg before he fell sick. And eversince he can crawl, he's been super naughty.

ytanhn, wah, your girl is so strong, Aidan tried on it today, don't think he can drag it at all.

chatty, good to hear that James is home alrdy and everything is improving