(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

cola,
ya once baby reach certain mth their weight will b stagnant, so long they can eat we happy liaoz.. they will gain in future with all the fast foods around keke..

adeline,
update us fox sales hor

hiya mummies!
long time no see! thread so long, only have time to look thru the latest pg..

so many cute pics of our babies!!! every bub looks happy and healthy!

am staying with my ILs for past few days as hubs is away on biz trip...its nice to have everything taken care of..keke...and ready and willing babysitters too! been so pampered, think going back to our own place will be harder..

btw i just got my menses for first time after so long...think cuz was BF all this while..anyone else still waiting for their menses?

what other vege can i gv my girl besides the following at 8mths plus?

broccoli, spinach, carrot, pumpkin, peas, sweet potato...

i duno what other vege to prepare liao...

can gv fish already?

nowsaday, i oso got difficulty feeding my girl porridge...she either turn her head away or refuse to open her mouth...headache...duno is it due to her flu.

how i wish i access this forum everyday but i have no internet access at my desk. now m using a common pc to acces secretly.. ;p

oh yes, was thinking of buying lil touch leappad, saw it on sale for $68..what do u other mummies think? worthwhile buying? ur babies like it onot?

jete,
when i cook fresh porridge for yee heng on the weekends, i use the double boil/steam method one mummy here spoke about..so it's blended brown rice + stock, placed a ceramic cup in his philips steamer, steam for 20mins, add small piece of chicken breast/beef and veg and steam another 5 mins, then its ready to go! i've prepped all my food in advance, i.e. chicken breast/beef all in small pieces in freezer...and i use this pigeon container that has a "grater" looking-side to mash up the meat and veg...easy and instant!

dolp4,
veg wise, u can also try french beans? u can give more fruit too, yee heng has tried pears, plums, apples, watermelon..am thinking of giving him some mango next..

any mummies here giving baby tofu? i'm not sure what to give..tau gwa? or soft tofu? which is better?
also, re tomato, the carer cooked porridge w tomato for yee heng last wk, which he liked cuz it was pretty tasty (i had it too!) but i've read that it can be too acidic..anyone else given this?

we love fox bb...but not the crowd!

jang,

me also still waiting...think with ur supply u can breastfeed until as long as jaeden wants...so can continue to wait...

gold piggy

i dun know he is teething or not cos i cannot see any white white thing on his gum.

u mean if he cannot swallow he saliver, will go to his nose?

hey mummies

i am just back for toyrus warehouse sales at united square atrium. mad crowd!! the whole united square is flooded with people today cos ben n jerry decided to give free scope of ice cream to everybody today.

dun bring pram, if possible dun even bring bubs there. i didnt know n i was happily strolling titus to the first day sales n no way to u-turn. in the end got to leave the stroller at a corner. but i bought thomas the train walker, mega blocks, remote control car, an organ, bubbles blower n a pop up disney board n yes another handphone for $80!!!

talking about menses. mine came 2 mths ago. i realised during menses period, my milk supply dive south. but once over, everything back to normal.

hi lilyn,

u r using a electric steamer? y need to place a ceramic cup inside har and steam for 20 mins har?
the pigeon grater u mentioned is it the one in yellow or white with a cover? one side for feeding and the other for mashing the food? the meat can mash to fine fine har? m using a blender during weekend but quite troublesome for my mum to use as she was helping me to look after my girl when i went to work.

french beans i haven't tried...maybe i shld tried. tks

i got gv my girl apple, pear, papaya, babana and avocado. the rest of the fruits haven't becoz scare allergy at this age...maybe i shld try plum...

read from some website tomato is too acidic may cause allergy...citric fruits also cannot...

ah gal

i bought organic tofu for titus too but he eats only a little each time. n once open, i cant keep more than 3 days. in the end find it so wasteful.

what do u mix with? any new recipes? i running out of ideas n he doesnt fancy porridge. does melcolm eats alot?

helo rc
megan is so pretty n with curls somemore! its ok to be petite. she is a gal! next time older if she is too fat, not pretty leh. so fret not! who is looking after now? your fil?

hi dolp
yah, i read abt it b4 abt not giving bubs citrus fruits till 1 year old. but i guess for tomatos if u cook thoroughly, it will bring the acidic contents down. tried many times n there is no allergy.

i bought this cookbook for babies n toddlers from popular bookstore. its written by a taiwanese for chinese babies. they recommend tomatoes for 9 to 12 mths. but i gave titus when he is 8 mth. but u must take the skin off cos its diff to digest.

i have tried french beans. diff to soften unless blend, so i am not so keen.

xue,
welcome back ;p... didn't see u around for quite some time. chloe's blog is www.baobei-chloe.blogspot.com. ur boy is so cute, such pretty eyes he has! Hmmm... can introduce to chloe liaoz. hahaa...

an_gal,
yeah.. i also agree that melcolm is gentle. then again chloe is totally different when she's at home and outside leh. how abt melcolm?

mel,
lucky u... my waterbag broke at 2am, just had some milo and biscuits b4 gg to the hospital. they said no food & drinks till i deliver wor.

magical,
oh no.. think u should hv tried all possible ways to calm jereth by now. does he play alot before sleeping? could he be having nightmare or what elderly always said 'hum ming'?

an_gal/woof,
ya ya.. i agree! i rather be blown away by the wind.

xman,
i whistle 'cant take my eyes off u' when i dress chloe.. hahaa.. she seems to like this song and will look at me or rather she might be thinking "why mummy whistle lao hong one?"

cola,
glad meg is fine from her fall from the bed.

choco,
maybe ur son is having runny nose? that's what happened to chloe last mth, i didn't bring her to see doc, recovered in abt 3 days.

lilyn,
i give chloe silken tofu (u can see from package it's for soup/steaming type). i steam, mashed and add in porridge before serving.

cin & mummies,
just to share chloe's menu. i'm running out of ideas as well.

Daily Breakfast: Healthy Time Organic Oatmeal
Daily Dinner: Alternate btwn Threadfin or Codfish Porridge

Lunch:
Mon : Porridge with Potato, Carrot & Chicken
Tue : Porridge with Egg Yolk, Toufu & Pork
Wed : Porridge with Pumpkin & Chicken
Thu : Porridge with Spinach & Pork
Fri : Porridge with Pumpkin, Toufu & Chicken
Sat : Porridge with Broccolli & Pork
Sun : Porridge with Sweet Potato & Chicken

*Porridge cooked with Pork Stock / Corn & Carrot with Wolfberries Stock*
*Use brown rice twice a week*

Want to try making ikan bilis stock too. Can I micro to dry the ikan bilis?

hi ytanhn
chloe eats alot. titus only have porridge for dinner. breakfast he takes ht cereals. lunch fruits with cereals.

how much porridge does she takes? how do u cook the pork n chicken? u mince it? i realise even after mincing it, its still too big a pc for him to swallow. he doesnt like meat except fish.

hey your menu is very good, i will try to follow.

use oven to toast the ikan bilis not micro, my dear. also if u want ikan bilis without heads n stomach already taken out, buy from the medical hall "Fu Hua". their ikan bilis r very clean. just need to wash, dry then blend.

cin,
wasay, Titus have alot of new toys.. Melcolm envy envy haha

Melcolm didnt eat alot of porridge oso, oni once a day but his porridge usually alot of "liao" inside. The tofu not wasteful lah cos giv Melcolm abit the rest we can hav for dinner mah :p his milk intake oso decrease liaoz, haiz..
no new receipes liaoz leh, done with most of the puree liaoz..i 1 2 slowly intro "chopped food" to Melcolm and had started with chopped spinach and chopped white button mushroom. btw, 1 2 ask u where 2 buy the pasta u cook for Titus? cant find in Carrefour or NTUC rite?

can giv tomatoes already ah.. my mil had been asking but i told her 1yr above then can..

sori ah, 1 shot ask u so many questions haha...

ytanhn,
haha Melcolm outside don smile so much leh.. at hm can smile alot.. outside he like 2 stare n look around with a stone look, faintz

wasay... Chloe's menu looks veri delicious & nutricious..

cin,
yeah... chloe eats alot but i limit her intake to 1/2 or 3/4 bowl of porridge. I use minced pork and chicken fillet, steam it and blend with 2-3tsp of stock.

aiyah... my house no oven.

an_gal,
now i only blend meat, carrot, broccolli, apple & pear. spinach i chopped while the rest i mashed with fork.

same same... chloe also smiles alot at home, outside must depends on her mood.

Jete,

Thanks, Meg is alright and not even scared or traumatised from the fall
Read about Paige's fell down from high chair last time, u mentioned to check all her limbs rite? I did the same too, and glad that she is okay. Actually I learn a lot from Aug mummies postings :p

Re: ikan bilis
There is a stall opp my office selling so many types of ikan bilis, i didn't know which one to choose and I dun have an oven at home. I also read from the aug posting that there might be small bones of the ikan bilis which might choke baby if not properly done
Thus until now I have not cook anything related to ikan bilis!

Xman,
Rouxi is also girly rite? :p Its just that Meg's hair is so so so curly whilst Rouxi's one is not.

Ade,
Hope your fren is fine and fox sales... wah... everybody is so hooked up with the sales.

An_gal,
I still hope meg can beef up a bit ler...

Dolp4,
Can try potato, corn (mashed it properly or it will choke the baby) also, try fruits - avocado, rock melon, mango.
Fish - can.. I have tried ngor hee, cod fish, salmon.. My girl loves salmon and ngor hee the most!

Goldpiggy,
Lucky u.. i've my menses on april fool day :p Should be coming soon again hehe

Lilyn,
Yes think can put tomato in the porridge, anyway the tomato are not eaten ripe rite? I cooked vege stock and put tomato as well, the porridge turns out yummy!
Thanks to Jang's recipe :p

Re:tofu
Bought silken tofu also, will let my girl try this weekend. Er.. but I've got no idea on how to prepare? Steam it? Mashed it? Help!!

Cin,
You are always so humurous in your posting! wah cheong for sale ar :p UE sq is too far for me.
Yup FIL is taking care of Meg, and one thing: he quited smoking!!! He is really v v v nice ler, got to buy sth for him during the Father's day :p

Ytanh,
Er u didnt post for few days is it? MIA for awhile hehehe..
Hey mummies, though I didnt post I monitor closely the thread to learn gung-fu from you all mummies hor hahahahahaha

Choco, that was what i was told and true enough cos that time i thought my boy had flu and it turned out not...and cos they don't know how to swallow, saliva keep getting more...

Wah, all of you very good, babies very lucky always got new menu. My son like never try lots of new things cos my mil is vegetarian...so i can only make puree...

When i boil the pork bones, this is to act as soup base, i can freeze it right? Keep for how long..

lunch time i ran to the fox sales. Those who have girls can go, those who have boys no need go. Like me, i have a boy - wasted trip...so i tell the cashier, why i can't find boys clothes and she say ' ya, this time little on boys' haha

ytanhn,
for most of the fruits n vege, i will grind using manual grinder cos i freeze the puree. For meat, i minced them and so far is ok..
i let Melcolm eat fish and minced pork/chicken everyday frm Monday - Friday, do u tink is 2 much 4 baby?

cola,
i oso dono which type of ikan billis to buy so oso no giv Melcolm, but i do give fish daily except Saturday n Sunday haha, btw, baby can take salmon fish?

An_gal,

Some ppl said salmon's mercury level is high. Er.. for me, hub's studying those kinds of stuff, so far he said as long as the food is well-cooked, shouldnt be a prob, somemore not eating every day and not eating a lot. I trust hub lar, he won't allow his girl to eat anything that is harmful rite?

I dun give fish everyday, sometimes I find baby might get bored with the same thing. As for minced pork, y my minced pork seems hard one hor everytime i dump into the porridge. So in the end, so that she wont choke, I have to use spoon to just press the pork so that it is smaller and easier for her to chew and swallow.

Goldpiggy,
The sale too far for me to go, so will give it a miss!

An_gal - can't find socks or cap for our 8 months old. But those who want to buy stuffs like for 0-6 months got socks. Otherwise hardly any stuffs for boys...but girls plentiful! Very disappointing

Goldpiggy,

Har, little boys again! Last year oso like that,i rushed there & leave empty handed!!

Huh, can forget abt going liao lor cos mine oso boy! Hiaz...

zhuzhu..long time never see tricia liao...so what new tricks has she learnt??

Choco,
Maybe try to spray his nose with sterimar to clear the mucus?

ah gal
dun buy wrongly hor. its baby's pasta from this brand called bellamy. its for baby above 7 mths onwards. they have baby's macaroni (8 mths) too. this bellamy brand is from australia n they have all kinds of baby organic stuff. i thk certain ntuc carry this brand though i got it either from cold storage or market place. i like their teething biscuit. cos it is tasteless n very hard so no fear that it will choke our bubs. so hard that even i use water to soak, it doesnt dissolve. so hard that it can be used to "kok" our hb's head too.

ytanhn
hey my frd who is your ex classmate said that u look like pan ling ling!
chloe eats a lot!! 1/2 to 3/4 porridge is alot. titus cant even finished 1/2 bowl. he just loves my milk n cereals. these 2 no need to force. the mouth will automatically open.does she drinks alot?

rc
so strange n sweet. usually its mil or our mothers look after bubs. but your case is fil? he doesnt mind? he does it alone or wif a maid?

ah gal n ytanhn
no matter how i mince the mince pork, its still not smooth leh.

chicken
i am not sure if i want him to eat chicken. have u all heard that nowadays chickens r injected with alot of hormones. i scared later too much hormones, later titus got breasts!! i tried to cook kampong chicken the other day. the meat is so tough for him that in the end i used it to make stock.

someone mention used pork ribs to make stock? how much pork each time?

i am going market to buy silverfish tomorrow. read that its good. oh no... i am more n more auntie.

mel

how is your boy? i told u to stop giving him ice cream already. : p

btw is his cough better?anyway cough n phlegm takes bloody long to be healed. titus took 2 weeks! just dun bring him go crowded places.

somebody asked abt tofu? either steam n add in the puree. alternaively just add into porridge. very fast n easy. dun need to blend cos they r soft.

Birthday Party
have u all decide what to do for your baby 1 year old party? i tried to book safra chalet by the beach n its fully booked!!! i want to make up for titus cos we didnt have 1 mth celebration the other time cos he was hospitalised with uti.

oh gosh!! i cannot believe i am married with a 8 mth old son!! time flies!!

cola,
big marine fish has the highest mercury.. salmon if coming from river, not so high compared to big marine fish..
the highest mercury found on shark, as shark is on top of the food pyramid in the ocean.. if u take shark fin soup, then u r exposed to high mercury content..Salmon considered v safe compared to shark..

if u want to know more abt tru sales, go to march thread. they post alot of thomas train pictures n the price. so cheap!!! i bought this thomas the train walker for only $20!!

i saw july mummies there too. i thk there is alot of forum's mummies there. the power if internet/ forum. next time if i want to do business, sure target the mummies. confirm can make money.

Cin,

Im planning for my boy too, am deciding between Costa sands or Aloha Loyang.
Har, fully booked liao??
Oh no, i haven call to enquiry yet!!

Cin,

Yeah, FIL does it alone w/o maid :p
He is willing to take care of Meg, he was saying when he was young, everytime he came back from work, my hub and his bro were asleep, and every morning when he woke up, the boys have gone to sch, so he kinda like make up his lost of time with his boys last time. I can see he enjoys Meg a lot lot lot! They can laugh together until got sound one hor.. like keke keke keke keke v funny one.

Re: pork rib
I bought the frozen pork rib "PORK KEE" brand from ntuc. each pack got 2 packages, so I just use one package to cook the 4 days stock!
Some ppl are against frozen stuff, so if you are not into that, maybe u can buy 200g of pork rib from wet market. Should be enought.
I still think the frozen ones are better, coz they are less bloodier and cleaner and well-cut!

Cin,
heh i dont take shark fins lah so i wouldnt know ok or not.. i guess since nobody died yet still safe hoor? kekeke.. thing bout mercury is, they pile up in your organs n not released through the 2 daily jobs we have.. i guess if we live longer the impact of this accumulated mercury will be more tangible.

jete,
ya i had quite high GD, my mom diabetic so i guess its just a sitting bomb for me hahaha.. on contary with paige, ike was on 75 percentile only, up till his last month become 90 percentile.. now he's still there if looking individually weight or height..

this morning ike had cough with pleghm, so brought him to kidslink at jurong east.. now am taking family care leave, but still doing netmeeting.. bo pian..

xue,
Lervin has a cute nose..I dunno how to describe but its cute..heehe!!

Cola,
Megan still as sweet looking as ever..

Jete,
I thk I've gotten the hang of cooking for Mathias.haha! I cook for him and I myself go hungry/ eat his leftover..thats the way I do it! Mathias is a baby with no schedule.sometimes he lunches at 12 plus, sometimes 3plus!haha! cos he doesnt have a permanent milk time or nap time so everything is own time own target