(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

woof,
put rice sacks! haha!! macham gg for war and have to hide from e enemy like that!hahaha!!! but luckily his head didnt swell up or turn purple...maybe cos after he fell I quickly applies a warm towel on the red patch and massaged...

Misch,
How's ur girl taking Similac? I spoke to someone from Abbott today, she told me that my boy will find it tasteless compared to Promil which he is taking now cos Promil is one of the sweetest milk on the market...Maybe those of u who have bubs that dun wanna take FM should try Promil..they may like it cos of the sweetness..hahaha!!

crystalgal,
hope ur girl didnt get hurt from the fall..ooh..I know how it feels to be bitten when latching on..Mathias does it quite often nowadays..*ouch*

chomecc,
thats a nice pic of Kedric! Mathias has an M&M t-shirt too
He also has one romper..cos his name start with M so we almost went M&M siao when Bossini was selling it..Hubs and I bought a t-shirt for ourselves as well!!

Ivy,
yah, I tried cod fish last week..and Mathias ate it for Lunch and dinner without fussing so I guess he really just doesnt like Ngoh hee...haha!

nining,
Mathias lkes elmo too!! Thats the only thing he keeps still to watch..he doesnt seem interested in the rest of the sesame st characters as much..but if I want him to sit still and keep quiet, sesame st does the trick. other then that..I give him 5-10 mins max and he'll be doing his own thing...I have passed down my Elmo collection to him. Hubs finally took my Elmos out from the boxes (which were in the storeroom)cos his precious sons likes ELmo..I've always told him I dont want to leave my toys in the boxes and he always refuses to let me tk them out of the boxes..but son like only he straight away dig the storeroom..so unfair!

Mel, my boy is better. I've stopped giving him illadin and luckily his snorting sound cleared but though he still have some coughs at certain times of the day.

How's yours getting on? Yes, i share your sentiment so didn't give him too much medicine. I stopped giving him the cough medicine too.

Oh talking about Formula milk, which is better - dumex or similac? Want to give son FM and alternate between breast milk cos i seem to think my breast milk are drying?

haiz ladies

i am soooo sad!!titus has been in hospital since last thur. he is down with bronchitis. hb brought me my laptop today but then i wont be surfing after today cos he is very clingy n scared of nurses now.

let me share my experience so that u mummies be careful. swimming is good for babies but the water can also be bad cos u never know what kind of bacteria is there in it. our fav instructor from aquaducks left n we supported him by having class with him at one of the mummies' condo. he is very good actually.

but then condo pool are cold!! unlike aquaducks at dempsey, the pool is heated. so he caught a chill n the virus last mon. after that we didnt know cos we thought just some sniffles only. my clueless mil aggravate his situation by giving him half a chilled apple.

immediately within a span of 3 days, he got flu to cough to mucus to phlegm n now acute bronchitits!! i am so upset with myself for being so careless. i have lost 3 kg n titus weight from 8.7kg drop to 8 kg now. he has changed n cry so easily now.

i feel so lousy!! since birth i tried to give him a good health start by giving him all the breastmilk n organic food. i feel my efforts has gone down he drain when i see the nurses down him with so many medicines, mask n anti biotic. it so sad to see them extract phlegm with a tube into his throat.

but i draw my strength from God. those christian mummies, pls pray for us. we dun want him to go for xray on wed if situation does not improved. also pray that this will not turn into pneumonia.

thanks! miss u ladies!

Gold piggy,

my boy is also teething (5th and 6th teeth! his 1st 4 teeth came out together all about the same time! gosh! poor child) and waking up every 3hrly or less. just when i am determined to cut his night feed off but now cant, not the right time. like you i just latch him on as that provide the best comfort... it's extremely tiring but i tink gives him some immediate comfort is impt poor child teething must be rather uncomfortable and they can't verbalise... except to fuss.i dun use any teething gel, but when i bath him i use the baby toothbrush (you know the rubbery one) and put the bb toothpaste and rub...he loves it. cos it's sweet (bb safe, comes with milk enzymes) and the massaging helps his sore gums. you may want to try. can cultivate good oral hygiene at the same time too haha.

same here my hubby will say 'papa can or not' but many times, keekee... papa don't do the job (mama got super power tool - teats! mah ;p

hang on! you're not alone ;)

just got the play mat - softer than ABC mat. but he still kok his head - aiya it's not the mat's problem, it's cos he crawls too fast can't catch him and he'll knock here and there. used to be v heartache now quite used to it liao. tell myself 'no fall no grow up!'.

he fell down the bed once too. luckily mine's platform bed so not so high. then last weekend go macdonalds genna scald by coffee... sigh... accident prone bb (mummy actually). but he
's ok.

Jete,
Actually I dont really like the Dr from Puggol plaza..just find him normal but it seems that I dont have much of a choice since he always chooses to fall very sick on Sundays

Jete,
I do the same thing in the mrngs..Im usually already awake but just pretend to be sleeping then he'll try ways and means to wake me the last resort is to pull my hair...that's when I have to open my eyes!!!

Gold Piggy,
so Illamar has to be discarded after use? Cos i already used for 3 days as prescribed by the Dr..tot I could keep it for future use..but cannot huh??

Hi Cin - sorry to hear about that. Don't berate yourself cos we all are learning mothers. It's our 1st baby and we all are in the learning phrase. Hope titus get well soon and like you, i didn't know that cannot give apple. My boy just recovered from his cough with phlegm and thick mucus which was stuck in his nostril for weeks! And i gave him steamed apple yesterday.

I understand your part abt the extraction of phlegm with tube, i nearly brought my son to do that. But from what my friends told me, they said this is a solely no choice thing to do if the babies don't clear off the phlegm by themselves cos if it all build up, babies will even suffer more cos of the congestion in the nose and throat!

Don't blame yourself and maybe you can bring him to Yu Guo? One of my friend brought her 4 month old son to Yu Guo for a few visits and it worked.

Hi gretel, thanks for telling me. So should i be buying the bumper mat cos the reason if i buy the mat is that i want to soften any blows that will kena his head! so how, should i buy or not?
Yah, he fall and he kok and he fall and he kok his head until i so scared he will kok until he become silly ley..

Which baby toothbrush? What name so i can buy? hee. thanks. Ya, bad mummy, initially i still got so angry at him...haiz

Mel - illadin i am still keeping but just that i am not letting my son use it. But i hope that I won't need it though. Anyway, just keep it and for me, each time if i do need to administer medicine for sonny, i will ask PD haha, so my PD will be very busy with me around..

hi cin..
sorry to heard abt it.

u hv to take care of urself..

update us if there is any tins..

will pray hard for you..

gold piggy,
bought the teething gel for u liao. UP is $15+, not 2tubes for 12.50. So i guessed is 20% discount ba

I bought 1st teeth toothpaste, comes wif finger tooth brush. If u want to buy this brand, buy fr BP, dun go watson/guardian buy, they sell $21+....so ex!!!

Hi cin,

so sorry to read abt what abt to titus, hope he'll get well soon. Meanwhile, you'll hve take care of yourself too, so you'll hve the energy to take care of him.

Mel, $27 plus for a tin of similac follow-on is cheap. Whr did you get your lobang, it's even cheaper than a doctor getting directly frm Abbotts. Just ordered ours, otherwise, won't mind sharing with you

Aidan has slight fever this morning, so brought him to see Dr Lee in the afternoon. He's taking a nap now, hopefully his fever will subside by the time he wakes up.

alsie,
its a good thing that you are being paid while having the time to look after your baby.

you can try to get the yogurt from cold storage.. i got mine from cold storage.

woof & banquez,
haha no leh.think i will wait a little and aim for a rabbit. want to spend more time with kedric first

an_gal,
yea.. he going to guangzhuo..i hope i will slim down ah.. my mil? she knows.. just that i suspect she is super possessive of my son.. and has the mentality like.. how well you can do i can do that kind.. fed up sometimes.

i got the baby yogurt and let kedric try on saturday.. he lurves it.. but when i tried it... yeeks.. so sour! hehe....

i think i am also lazyy. i only go to the wet market and ask the fish seller what is the fish for baby..

think alot of mummies have good reviews about pine gardens yea? think i will give it a try too

goldpiggy,
i will check my email in awhile.. sorry about not messaging.. i am on medical leave today and will be back tomorrow.

oh by the way, i used to have the ABC mats, kedric when he fell on them, he will cry. but the playmat is the best purchase ever, now when he falls from sitting position, he doesn't cry at all..and the playmat is non toxic so i like it a lot..

mel,
thank you very much for your compliments!! ohh you must take a picture of both of you and Mathias in the M&M and show me.. i got this tee for both kedric and his daddy for xmas..

nining,
is ike okie? how is he?

cin,
i am very sorry to hear what has happen to titus,though i am not a Christian, i will still pray that he has a speedy recovery and to be back to his usual self again. You take care of yourself, you need to be strong for him

Hi Loh - thanks for helping me to buy so how much do i need to pay you? What's your account number? Can PM or email me and how can i collect from you? I don't think i have your hp number..oops..

How's your boy's ecezma?

Chommec - hope you get well soon. Will you be in town tomorrow - if you will be maybe i can get from you during lunch time?
So means the ABC mat is not as good as the bumper mat and i should be buying the bumper mat right? From Alien or small small world right?

Eh, mummies, dumex or similac better for babies? Hee..thanks!

mel,
ur similac lobang frm u.. i jus stock up 3 tins of Similac if not can share with u.. Mathias knows how 2 chose fish.. oni eat the ex ex fish hor..

cin,
oh dear, poor titus.. don blame urself cos we all are 1st time mummies and alot of tings oso unsure.. hope that titus will recover fast.. u mus take care too and don fall sick, need all the strength 2 take gd care of titus.. don wori 2 much abt his weight, u can beef him up wen he is discharged.. take care gal

chomecc,
my hubby going bkk 2mr oso.. am getting my mum 2 com over n stay with me 2 9 to look after Melcolm hehe.. time to catch up with her kaka.. ur kedric is 1st grandson isit tats y ur mil so baobei? my mil n fil oso veri baobei their grandson

eczema condition sometime good sometime bad. Next review will be 6mths later.

Sharing for eczema bBY,
doctor asked me to bath baby with QV Oil Bath, 5ml each time.soak inside bathtub for 5min. Half a capsule a day for Kordel's probiotic capsule, try 1 month. Sometimes might work for eczema.

wahhaa....
Gotten free Similac milk powder and 2tubes of QV cream from doctor. The free gifts are more ex then my PD fees!!!Me earn liao...kekeek

goldpiggy,
thanks dear, me can try to make it to town tomorrow. SMS you tomorrow? maybe i can meet you over lunch.. hehe..

yea you should get the playmat.. i got the yellow bear from small small world.. think its the cheapest and the designs are not bad. thinking of getting a sweet bear for my mil place too.. think an_gal got from alien right?

an_gal,
ahh so nice.. i should ask my mum to come over too.. but my mum not very good with babies though.

yea.. they so bao bei him that i wan to oull my hair out le.

take care of yourselves and your babies, its dengue season again.

jete,
ya i think i saw your hubby too.
thought he didn't see me cos saw him talking to his colleagues.

ya, i know cruise is very relaxing, i've been to cruise for 3 times with my family but then hubby simply refuses. he hates the idea of being 'in the middle of an ocean" haha!

cin,
dun worry all will go well. totally empathise with you. it's natural to blame yourself. i too blame myself also. doren few months back also almost got bronchitis n had 1 dose of nebuliser. i initially thot he pretended to cough for fun! PD said babies of this age wont know how to pretend! how ignorant i was then!
i also dun even realised he was wheezing until SIL alerted me. but somehow, babies will recover soon. dun starve yourself and must take care n be strong. if not, how to take care of titus right?

chomecc,
i bought 2 bumper mats from Alien long ago. one sweet bear ($152) and one pooh ($110) for my MIL. also the cheapest! cant afford the thick ones at $266 although i like it alot. if buy 2, i'll faint manz!

i'm back! so sad to leave the ship n told hubby next time we'll go for the 4 nights one.. ! =)

bliss,
at first hubby also didnt like cruises coz he says go there do nothing and waste time n $$.. but now he's a convert! =)

luckily my MIL n hubby's auntie went with us so MIL helped to look after jereth, although when he cried at night it was so loud that mil could hear in her cabin next door and came over to help me carry n pat him to sleep.. hee..

but this superstar aquarius not as good as virgo.. not very children friendly. no children's pool even so jereth just played in the pool bar coz the actual pool was 1.8m deep. he didnt enjoy his swim as much as in jurong west i think coz the pool was small and a bunch of older kids were shrieking and he didnt like it.

cin,
so sorry to hear abt titus.. i'm sure he'll get well very soon .. u've gotta take good care of yourself too..

any babies still crying at night? jereth seems to have fallen into a routine of starting to fuss at 3+ 4am .. then cry and scream ( n i mean really scream) until abt 5+ am when he'll wake up and smile at us. then he wont go back to sleep until i give him milk at around 6 n sometimes he wont even sleep after milk..

hubby n i are so exhausted.. more tirng for hubby coz he still has to work the next day..

Hi everyone, Seems like the thread is really flying today...can't quite catch up.

Cin: So sorry to hear about Titus. I'll certainly pray for him to get well soon. U take care too, k? The flu bug is going around, and its hard to predict who will fall sick and who will not. The unheated pool water or cold apple probably didn't cause the flu...so don't blame yourself...hugz! Take care.

Bliss: I just bought this textbook on developmental milestones, and it says that independent sitting without support is achieved from 5 to 9 months, and rolling from back to front at around 6 to 7 months. Most babies don't roll around or crawl till they are at least 9 months...so ours are right on track! What a relief : ).

Goldpiggy: Of all the things I've bought for my baby, the most worthwhile buys are as follows:
1) Baby Cot cum Toddler Bed
2) Bumper Playmat
3) Playyard

I used these all the time. The mat is definitely a great investment. I bought my first mat from Small Small World and my second from Alien.

Alsie: Lucky you : ) How I wish I could work part-time and get full pay!

an_gal,
Thanks, will take a look at carefour for yogurt. But is it advisable to give them at this age?

Jete,
Thanks for the PD contact. Will check out that PD. I have always find Kidz clinic very crowded and long waiting time.

xman,
just leave the yogurt at room temp? But since we need to buy yogurt to mix with milk, why cannot use the ready made yogurt instead of making own yogurt? Is there a differene between the yogurt that we buy from supermarket and those home-made mixed with milk?

Goldenpiggy,
Hope that your baby will get better from the teething. I can understand the fustration due to lack of sleep. Take care.

pooh,
my boy also hates porridge. Depends on his mood, sometimes he can eat alot sometimes he dun wan to eat at all.

woof,
I hope that i can handle without a helper.. now too used to having a helper. I think i will die without her.

Mel,
For my company, we are paid by per day basis. So there is no half day policy.

cin,
please take care. Aiyo that sms you on the prune puree, you never tell me you are in hospital. Titus is a strong boy, he will be ok.

chomecc,
you have tried the baby yogurt too? Is your baby taking it well?

chatty,
Yeah lucky my company paid part timers well. I work in a poly, so if there is school holiday i will eat grass because poly's holiday is always very long, 2months!

Anyone bought from birthdaydirect? Feel like getting some things from there, but not sure how much the shipping will cost.

chomecc/gold piggy,
yeah i got the sweet bear from alien, no regrets buying oso, playtime on the mat and let Melcolm self entertain there hehe

chomecc,
actually my mum oso not veri gd with taking care of babies, my mil is more expert but she oso veri protective type lol.. i quite chin chai so don mind my mum take care oso

magical,
welcome back.. so shiok, mus hav enjoy urself.. i had nv been to cruise yet.. dreaming of holiday againzzzzz.... argh.....

alsie,
i tink shld b ok 2 giv yogurt already.. however, i did not give 1 whole tub cos i find that is too much. I oni gav 1/2 tub and finished the rest myself, super sour.. melcolm eat until tremble keke but his reaction veri cute leh
btw, i had already received my 1st batch of items bought from birthday direct, i find that the shipping charges are ok, not veri ex but oso depends wat u buy too

bliss,
yea i thinking of getting another one for my mil since Kedric don't have a proper place to crawl and play with his toys whilst he is there.. wallet will bleed if i take the more expensive ones..think the yellow bear is good enough though.. ohhh.. seems like ailen is selling cheaper for sweet bear.. think i might get that..

chatty,
hows james with his class on sat? Kedric class got cancelled due to the bad weather and he was quite disappointed though..

alsie,
yea i tried the baby yogurt on sat after i bought it from cold storage, Kedic takes it well.. he seems to love it though his parents are no fans of yogurt.. think i asked an_gal before the benefits of yogurt and i think its calcium.. i saw the first foods book.. can start intro from 6-9 months leh...

i think some mummies have bought from birthday direct.. i might want to do one spree end of the month on this though..

an_gal,
seems like we are two owls.. hoot hoot..

actually i don't mind my mum looking after kedric.. but she always seems lost when kedric cries though.

did you get the LG prime sweet bear or the normal one? i thinking of getting just the normal one though.

yea me gave 1/2 cup too.. super sour yea!! but kedric seems to like it.. the banana one.. hey.. you think i can mix the avocado and the yogurt together?

an_gal,
u are so farni....will try to tell her tat

pooh,
Mmm...he doesnt like all?

mel,
glad tat he is alrite....carene knows how to climb over obstacles now, so cant even haf a wink if she wakes up

she even bit me...damn painful sia....feel like bitting her back..hahaha

cin,
stay strong..i m sure titus will recover soon...
u haf to take care too coz titus nid u most now..

chomecc,
rabbit is good but den i dun wan to wait too long leh...erm, hard to say hor..scully i tried hard for ox baby but dun haf den got to wait till rabbit

gold piggy,
my bb is on mamex..since birth i supplement her wif mamex and till now, i din change since she is ok wif it..i guess u haf to let ur boy try out...i heard tat nan is close to BM as discussed earlier on..wat makes u wan to choose b/w these two?
oh ya, bumper mat buy from alien coz a few dollars cheaper..

magical,
how's ur cruise trip? i guess itz real fun rite? i miz travelling...

alsie,
wont die lah..juz tat u nid time to adjust..for the start will be a bit tough but den as time passes by, shld be no problem

me oso wan to get some stuff from birthdaydirect leh but no suitable location for collection..

ivy
do you cook the fish with the porridge or steam it sep? i still haven't given paige any fish or meat, scare she choke since she got no teeth to chew. ok, got teeth but that 2 quite useless for now. feel like if i mash it, also not good enough leh.

muddypie
you use one freezer pot per meal or one freezer pot to cook all the porridge for 2 meals? if it's one freezer pot for 2 meals of porridge then paige is getting a whole lot more puree. she takes her oatmeal/brown rice cereal with one freezer pot of puree for lunch. then in the evening her porridge is a lot more puree, i use the via cup to store now. prob ard 2 freezer pots worth.

how to you minced the pork enough for him to be able to eat?