(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

jete,
for fish porridge steam the fish seperately w some ginger seperately then mash it with the back of your fork..I usually pour the water that comes out of the fish into the porridge as well... Then just mix the fish and porridge and voila! ready to serve!

FOr pork supposed to cook and blend...

bliss,
thanks for link for the toothpaste bulk purchase! Save me the trouble of searching!hehe!

Chatty,
after reading abt your foam mats smelling of petroleum I thk I really wanna get playmat for mathias...but hubs dun want cos he say too ex..and that Mathias is doing fine with the foam mats and his "seahorse" brand mattress
Been trying to psycho him for a few months already..

Btw, has ur dermatologist gotten bk to u abt the sunblock? Cos I need to get one by 3rd week of May cos bringing Mathias to Malacca and the sun there is POWERFUL!!

misch,
I thk my friends mom should be getting from Dr or hospital supplier or something...if u want to share how many can u want? Cos I need to order 12 cans..anyone else wants a few cans then we can collate and order together

bundle,
what I do for porridge is grind the rice then boil it with water then add in puree or fish or meat then feed to our lil ones!

Mel,

tried pm you but you dun accept, tot better to pm else flood this thread heehee. i works newton. but we can meet at a centralised place, say city hall or raffles place? if it's too much a trouble then nevermind.

can contact me direct at [email protected] =)

Mel: My dermatologist is still in USA, so I can't ask her just yet. However, she normally wouldn't recommend products that aren't suitable for sensitive skin, as everyone in my family has sensitive skin, and its genetic.

As for the ABC Foam Mats, I must clarify that so far, it's only the batch from Japan Home that smells of petroleum (Foam is made from petroleum, as is plastic and lots of other materials we use)...this means it wasn't processed properly. If you buy the more expensive ones from places like Kiddy Palace, Isetan, Toys R Us, should be okay, esp. those which are laminated (waterproofed). Its just that at that price, its also not that cheap, and when you add up the cost of multiple packs, you might as well spend a few dollars more and buy the bumper playmat which looks great and is easy to clean.

The other disadvantage of the ABC Foam Mat is that the "ABCs" can be detached from the mat, and some of my friends' kids like to pluck out the smaller bits like the dots of the "i" to play with it. After a while, you end up losing parts of the mat and waste time trying to put it together.

I didnt have a chance to go through every post but just wanna let you know Ike is back to himself again very soon.. I guess he was not traumatized cos he fell when asleep so he didnt know where he was, or thought it was just a nightmare for him..

Cin,
so sorries <hugs> hope you and titus are feeling better now?

Mel,
Ike's PD is kidslink too at jurong east. check their webbie for their hours:

www.kidslink.com.sg

Mel,
the toothpaste in both links is sold by Dramaqueen but dunno what one is cheaper leh.

chomecc,
hubby already left last wednesday leh.
but lucky weekends i have siblings to accompany me and quite eventful. weekdays pass by quickly actually.

chatty,
yah, mathias has been taking apart the alphabets from the foam mats and nibbling on them...Thats y I really wanna get Bumper playmat.. Btw, which are the brands of sunblock your Derma recommended again? *fish memory*

snowwy,

cin,
so heartpain for Titus. Do take care of yourself too. Hope he will recover soon.

jete,
Is Paige taking the normal Nan or Nan HA? you got lobang?

bliss,
Can share how to use the 1st teeth toothpaste with gum massenger?

bliss,
yeah, i scared pork is veri hard so didnt prepared pork for him yet.. any idea which part of the pork we shld use? now i oni use pork muscle or pork loin to boil with porridge and discard the meat.

Melcolm's milk intake oso decrease liaoz.. n he's oni taking 1 time porridge and 1 time fruit puree a day.. his total intake ranging frm 600-700ml

chomecc,
heee mayb i shld intro avacado again with yogurt haha.. use ur cheating method :p
I buy chicken drumstick and minced the meat and add into the porridge for Melcolm.. which part of pork u use?
ur hubby back next sunday.. still got abt 1wk+ to go.. u can do it, jiayou

bliss/chomecc,
all our hubbies r overseas !!!

Donkey months never log in. Have been preparing for transition to another job so super busy...

Like to check with you. My 8 mths old DD still cant sit up on her own. Thot she a bit slow in motor dev. Anyone has this issue?

mel,
my hubby also grumbled when he knows the price of the playmat.. but after he sees how much Kedric enjoys the mat, he agreed that it was a good buy and we should get a 2nd one for my mil.. talk about women being fickle.. haha

chatty/mel,
yea i find it troublesome that the alphabets keep coming off each time i attempt to mop the floor underneath..bumper mat is so much easier though..

mel,
i used the armobaby sunblock leh.. its organic and supposed to be for baby..

bundle,
me too, i tried last two weekends before and asked around and the mummies here have given great advice..
i took mel advice and i wash then grind

goldpiggy,
no worries, glad to be able to meet up
and don't worry about not sitting, think they reach their own development milestones at different times. so long they are healthy i think its fine..

bliss,
me hope i can pass through the weekdays and weekends without much events..

an_gal,
hehe yea both of us try that and see if we can cheat Melcom and Kedric

oh i used pork loin leh.. skinnest mah.. drumstick!!!i like.. if Kedric don't like then i will eat it for him.. yummi.. hehhe

can anyone SHARE a timetable of roughly how many times ur baby now sleep IN THE DAY n for HOW LONG n NIGHT SLEEP STARTS at wat TIME???

...2ndly, how many solid food/milk feeds N at wat timing??? thanks

REALLY NID HELP IN TIS AREA...

sausagemuffin, i think better not to stress yourself too much over this liao cos i did from the very beginning and i get myself so frustrated when he doesn't sleep or drink as like other babies...

sauasagemuffin, each baby has his own timetable but here's mine.

Sleeps around 8pm at night till 7am (wakes twice for night feedings)

Two day naps around 10am and 2pm. Actually this varies greatly! All in all he sleeps about 2.5 hours in the day.

Lunch at 1:30pm and dinner at 6pm. 5 milk feeds in between altogether including night feedings. No idea how much he drinks cos Jed's total latch on.

Here's mine.

7am plus - milk feed. 45mins later cereal

12pm - milk feed. 45mins later cereal + a fruit or veg puree

4pm - milk feed, 45mins later cereal + a fruit or veg puree

830pm - last feed.

Current feed: 180ml....sometimes dont finish...think bb at 8-9mths need abt 600-800ml every day (according to a PD). but thats just a guide.

sleep wise...as they grow older they sleep lesser...i read somewhere curious bb sleeps v little...bb who sleeps little tends to have higher IQ as they spend a lot of time exploring....thats what the book says dont kn how true.

My girl

9.30am - would take half to one hr nap

2pm - 1.5 to 2hr nap

6.30pm - usually 1 hr...after that I would wake her if not later she cant sleeps....she knock out at 9pm

for books wise, check out baby first food and what to expect ...(cant remember the title....what to expect during your first one year i think? they have a month to month guide)

mic,
i've not tried it on doren yet but will soon.
but the link below shall guide you on the usage directions:
http://www.drugstore.com/products/prod.asp?pid=76317&amp;catid=12030&amp;trx=CRT-PLST&amp;trxp1=17008&amp;trxp2=76317

an_gal,
ur hubby also overseas ah. poor us! alone with baby
for a start, i think i will choose the tender pork and then puree it for doren.
the pureed chicken seems okie with him although i dun fancy the texture.

chomecc,
good to have events over the weekends, like that time flies faster mah...

sausagemuffin,
i can share with you my boy's schedule but then it very much boils down to individuals, so there is no standard, right or wrong ones... i think mine is rather different from the rest cos my boy sleeps quite late but he sleeps at least 12 hours a day.

<font color="0000ff">Generally give a buffer of +/-1 hour:
7.00am - WAKES UP for 120ml of milk (But on weekends, baby will skip this milk intake cos he sleeps till 10am straight)

7.30am - SLEEPS

10.30am - WAKES UP and BATH
11.00am - 1 Full Meal: 3 Tbsp of Cereal with Milk
(mixture of Nestle White Rice, Brown Rice and Oatmeal with Prune plus sprinkled with Ikan Bilis Powder for added calcium)
2.00pm - 120ml of milk

2.30am - SLEEPS

5.00pm - WAKES UP for 3 cubes of frozen Vege Puree (mix and match)
6.00pm - 60ml of milk

7.00pm - BATH

8.00pm - 120ml of milk
8.30pm - Fruit Puree / Snack
11.00pm - 120ml of milk

11.30pm - SLEEPS</font>

I haven started my boy on porridge yet.
but soon i will alternate porridge with the vege puree.
somehow the vege puree has helped his bowel movement tremendously cos he takes lotsa fiber!

the nurse from Similac insisted that my boy should take 3 FULL Meals plus at least 600ml of milk which i simply dun think it is possible for my boy. if i introduce another Full meal he will definitely reject more milk!

sausagemuffin

one thing to add. Milk is still the most impt for the bb than solids before they are one. I have friends whose bb simply dont like solids...so they started v late or ate v little until after one years old...

I would advise focus on milk intake....after that if bb wants solid then give...

chomecc,
pork loin is veri hard leh.. will it choke our baby?? drumstick meat is gd, after minced and add into porridge, bcom veri soft

bliss,
yeah, i ask my mum 2 com n stay with me yest nite until hubby back haha.. mayb i go ask my mum which part of pork is more soft.. tink there is tis "wu3 hua1 rou4" more soft..

btw, does Doren poo alot eversince starting semi solid? Melcolm frm last time a few days poo once now bcom everyday poo 2-3times but he don eat alot leh.. he oways veri notti, poo bit by bit, faintz

Nining: What happened to Ike? I must have missed your post.

Mel: Banana Boat or Johnson &amp; Johnson for Babies or Kids. Min SPF 30 or 50.

Sausagemuffin: Every child is different. As long as your baby is growing well, and reaching all his milestones in a timely manner, he'll be fine.

Asf: I just bought a new textbook on developmental milestones, and it says that most babies only start to sit independently between 5 to 9 months. They don't learn to sit up (from lying to sitting position) until later, can't remember when. Right now, if your baby can roll from back to front and front to back, he's on track.

goldpiggy,
3 days poo once? i thought is better 2 poo daily.. now Melcolm at least will poo btw 1-3 times daily.. if ur son don feel constitpated i tink is ok, don wori.. After they start on semi solid, their poo poo will be smelly

bliss/an_gal,
hehe so all of us have to keep each other company on the forum ..

an_gal,
i puree it leh. he is fine with it leh.. i gave him pork and brocoli porridge.. hehe.. weird combo right? but he takes it so i guess okie.. maybe i should try other part.

goldpiggy,
think once they start solids, its normal for them to have smelly poo.

re: porridge, i just buy lean pork and cook it with the porridge (with chicken/pork bone stock instead of water)..we're not supposed to introduce fatty meat at this age as its harder to digest..i blend it all together after that, and add in veg puree..speaking of weird combos, i made pork+chicken stock+APPLE porridge for yee heng during the weekend! it was super tasty tho it sounds rather odd..

milk is supposed to be the primary food in the 1st year really..solids at this age is supposed to be introduced so they're used to the IDEA of eating solids..not so much for caloric intake..

btw, am planning to introduce green pea puree this weekend..hope he'll like it! do u mummies put the puree thru a sieve to get the skins out?

re:playmat..i'm just planning to use the "tilam" for yee heng for floor play time, since the covers can be washed, figured its more hygienic..old school style!

I'm going away for a work retreat this sat, and hubs will be in charge..eek! hope it all goes well..hehe..he's already roped in my in-laws to help out just in case!

just got time to PS ruoxi's pic, here it is..my colleagues all give bad comments said it's not so nice, they tot it's I take at home one, when I told them it's from studio they all said studio should give better effect.

personally I also feel muddypie's photogragher better..
1359002.jpg

Re: General Question on Feeding Baby Meat

Just curious bec there seems to be some debate if giving meat to babies under 1 year is good. personally, I have given fish, chicken, pork &amp; a little beef to my baby but what do mommies here think? or is it "better" to give vegetarian diet for 1st year?

Thanks all for opinion, in advance