(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

Jete, hang on there! You can do it! Me here to support you. ;) Actually I am quite glad that I do not have to report to school on 2nd Jan... first time in 8 years! This SAHM business is darn tiring I know but greatly rewarding too, don't you agree?

chatty,
luckily you action fast enough..

an_gal,
sounds great for you but then got to forgo the contract job? hehe, so do enjoy your 'er ren shi jie' tomorrow night!

sunbloom,
ignore those pple lah..some pple are mean..anyway if she is considerate she shld settle it privately...

cola,
hope tat u are getting better..

chatty
you're right, slings are not good for back. i had back ache when i use the sling to carry paige. with the bjorn, my hip hurts. like i said earlier in another post, have to re-adjust the bjorn and see if it's better. maybe cos it's adjusted for hubby.

that's funny the way you said you had to order the stroller before your hubby changes his mind.

ytanhn,
re:mamax
after ur advise, i mix the old and new fomula. den i start work liao so bo bian bring over ther new formula to my bbsitter's place..so i was thinking if bb poos and itz watery den bbsitter handle..haha...
however, juz now my bb poos. today is the 2nd day tat she is on the new formula in the day (when she is at bbsitter's place) and her poo is really watery lor..not like last time, itz soft and sticky...
y'day she poo too but den itz hard..today itz watery....tink itz really the formula..hw huh?

mic,
the contract offer the agency ask me get back to them on next monday lol.. haiz.. dono can delay further or not cos next wk i might hav 2 more interviews hehe.. jialet.. all com 1 shot.. but i do hope today tat interview successful, then i no need everyday c jobstreet liaoz..

jo
thanks for the support!
yeah, this full time job is rewarding but tiring. i told hubby, no benefits, only got a little money for pocket money, technically wont be considered a good job!

zhuzhu,
usually i dun reduce the size of the pic..
haha..u oso face the same problem of answering tat tricia is a girl? dunno when my carene will look girlish so tat pple can tell itz a girl!

chatty,
how come u gals always get call from company and offer u free samples?

jete,
yeah.. interview was great but wont know the ans whether i'm selected or not yet.. i rom on 4th jan 03 and customary oni on 1st oct 06 haha long sia.. cos house not ready mah.. i don 1 customary so fast.. i tell u hor.. even after my customary.. i still staying at my mum place until abt mid oct early nov then i move in to join hubby haha..

ocean,
ya lor BP price is not very cheap for some....i bot one cloth book which cost $14 and after paying and during the waiting period...i found out tat another source is selling for $9..wa, tat time i really "dui sim gua"
but too bad lor...wat to do..i tell myself lor,"nobody force me to buy"...

an_gal,
NTUC having promo again? Mm...tink cant buy anymore liao lah..if not hubby wud be asking me whether the diapers are for the whole family..haha

the first 2 days as a sahm was tough. first day was better than today (2nd day). yesterday at least i managed to get paige to take 3 naps, however short they were. today she was awake from noon until 6pm, worse she was cranky cos she was so tired but fighting the sleep monster.

i'm very touched by the support i received from friends and families. could be looked upon as insulting but i'm definitely taking them as supports! the day before hubby starts work, my parents called and offered to come over to help, i told them no, i needed to try this out myself. so they told me they are on standby and any time i need help just call them. my 2nd sis called and said my bro asked if need him to come over to help out. again i told her no need, he said he'll standby. then first day i'm home alone, my eldest sis called and checked how we're doing, whether i need lunch. even friends checked up on us by IM or sms, to make sure I'm ok and managing, some offering to bring food over.

this is why we came home for good. to have such wonderful support.

jete,
i thought u r SAHM for long long time already?

woof,
yeah nepia hav promo again.. i oso not buying cos haven use up the 2 new packs purchased frm the last promo haha..

an_gal
wah, you drag even longer than me. my rom was dec 97 and chinese wedding was jan 2, 2000. my parents were about to kill me, they were giving me the "have the chinese wedding or else...."

yes, i am a sahm all along but hubby wasn't working. so for the first 5m since paige was born, it was both of us taking care of her every day.

mic,
ya lol.. true.. i everyday c jobstreet until sian.. apply job until sian.. cos apply more then more chance mah haha.. tats y i realli tinking shld take up tat contract offer or not lol now.. scared cant find job again if i reject tat offer..

jete,
ya lol.. house slow mah.. so customary slow oso lol keke.. got excuse :p hope u get used to sahm alone life soon.. after a few days, u will b expert already.. wen i alone, i can even prepare dinner now but jus simple dishes lah.. don expect a big feast haha..

RE: Forum sign up
I have to approve all sign ups to prevent the wu liao sign ups only to post porn. i have 3 sign ups that look real but i don't recognize the nick so i didn't approve. please id yourself hor if you are a aug mommy, then i will approve and you can start posting.

nick i dont recognize:
* fairymom
* kiki
* yunyi

nining,
well said man! who knows some pple out there trying to help friends and name those "black sheep" as "good sheep"...u nv know it until u really liase wif tat person..
why make life difficult wif juz 50cents...

an_gal,
may good luck be with you and get ur ideal job soon... everything soon soon lee lee & happy la kopi tmr.

jete,
last mth just sold away my rarely-used peg perego P3, simply too heavy to handle w/o my hb.

chatty,
hahaa.. u are clever to order it first before ur hb changes his mind.

woof,
oh no.. u mix the old & new formula ur bb also has watery poo poo? realy those watery type hor.. i'm already at the point of no return liao cos chloe has been on new mamex for 2 weeks and still having watery poo poo, i cant probably switch back now. i'm considering switching brand for her step 2 formula since she's turning 6mths old in 2 weeks time. mamil gold step 2 also has immunofortis. oh.. so scare of the word 'immunofortis' but i have yet to decide which brand to switch to leh..

an_gal
our flat also took a long time. applied in 1997 and got it in 2004. my parents didn't think that was a valid reason/excuse. :p

ytanhn
yeah, i find the P3 heavy, though i like some of the features on it better than the aria that i have now.

if you login to our forum, under useful info/links, you'll find a collection of links to mommy's blogs. ;)

An_gal: No leh. I got married in church, so no need to ROM. Everything done on the same day : ) neater and less complicated. Wah! 3 years between ROM and customary, very long time. I have a friend who waited 7 years after ROM to do her customary – that one I think really win hands down…Hope you get the job 

Jete: I think being SAHM is more tiring than working, but could be more fulfilling. I know how tiring it is to handle baby alone. When James was 6 weeks old, I had to handle him alone for almost 2 weeks coz my parents went off to Tibet…I was so exhausted everyday that all I did was sleep when hubby came home…

You must have been super young when you ROM. You were what, 19 or 20 years old? Wow!

Woof: Really need good visual-spatial skills to use sling…I can’t even park car, even though I have licence…

As for soft, watery poo, I’m not sure its really the FM, ‘coz I didn’t change FM for last 2 months and in the last 3 days, 2 out of 5 times, James has had watery poo. I asked the nurses at Infantcare if that was something to be concerned about, and they said no. I asked my aunt, and she said it could be due to change in my diet, since baby is still on partial BF, and I stopped catering food the week before Christmas. Other than that, James is perfectly fine…will monitor and see.

WRT calls from companies about free samples, I think it could be info that either TMC FBI card gives out, coz I remember filling out some forms from these companies or maybe PD gave out info. Not sure leh…should be the FBI card application, as doctors can’t any oh how give out info right?

Jete/Mic/ytanhn: Yup! Thank goodness! Now waiting eagerly for stroller to arrive.

Nining / Sunbloom: Didn’t know there was such a thread. I added in my bit there too. Now the sky sure full of thunder and lightning... http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449169/1168553.html?1199406321

an_gal: think can shake hands with all the mil outlaws out there liao..

sunbloom: I think pple are reli weird. It's ONLY 50cts... piangz. To order items den repack and post and bring to post office.. which means transport and all.. even if there is a marginal profit I think it's perfectly fine cos it's not fair. It's BP not charity work. Somemore things are delivered right to their door steps so y r pple complaining.

woof: I oso thinking when my girl will look like GIRL leh..

Chatty,

Oic, i tot u paid $1100 for 3days/week. Ur infantcare very good leh, got report card, good ratio of 1:2 & somemore got daily baby massage! James will be under good care!

Sorry lor, the hard liquor never help her to grow more hair at all lor... kekeke Anyway im numb to all her nonsense liao lah....

Ytanhn,

Can understand! Actually im happy that my MIL failed to do thr rice wine too else i dun think i dare to drink too, given her "nua" character!

an_gal,

Ya lor, shd be 21 bottles instead but thanks to her for wasting one precious bottle to her hair!! There's nothing i can do except to complain lor but then got to spare a thought for my hubby's feeling too lah!

Happy anniversary!

an_gal: happy anniversary!!

I missed mine during the biz trip.. it was my 4th year anniversary, but I know my hb for 9yrs+ liao

hi marmies,
morning... e thread was reali fast..
juz run fast e thread.. kekeke

an_gal,
yup.. can.. no problems.. juz find 1 day loh..
me bring ethan to hougang swimming complex.
yup i let him sit on e float..
but guess it's his first time touchin e cold water..
end up he keep crying.. keke..

my mil did say she will help me to look after b4 ethan was born..
but durin my matertiny leave, she sudden say she cant help me to look after, cos my sil dun wna to wk liao..
which she give me a few week time b4 my leave end.. so angry w her.
so no choice, i have to employ a maid..
but she is so idiot, tat she call my FIL askin him to tell me nt to employ a maid wor..

ytanhn,
bb nw where got temper 1..
n dey still so cute n playful nw..
i tik dey r jealous cos their grandchild is nt close to dem loh..

Jete,

yr friend so great VBAC after so short time, give me some confident for VBAC for #2..

also u r so cute dont like paige paituo till 30 years old, me opposite, I want ruoxi start paituo when she's teenage, so that she will know what man look like and won't be cheated when she's older..haha..

An_gal,

happy aniversary, me no chinese wedding dinner, only ROM as both of us not much relative here, and my hubby is too lazy to prepare wedding dinner, since both side of parents never mention hold the dinner we just skip.

Chatty,
I found that thread when doing the research of the blueskye's character kekekekeke.. I was active in the spore diving forum, and when I planned for a dive trip with a group, I'd do a background check first on the group cos I am very particular with what kind of dive trip that I want.. my hubby is very bochap tho, he just join, pay huge $$ then got dissapointed but blaming himself after that for not doing his homework kekeke.. So things to look up will be the group/person's postings.. what kind of inputs they've contributed, what kind of words they say, this will reflect what kind of person he/she is..
I do the same homework when buying from BPs

Angeline: I chose this place because of ratio...I have a friend who runs childcare centres, and many years ago, MCYS approached her to open infantcare centre. Initially, she refused because of high set-up cost and high caretaker ratio. She told me that the best ratio is 1:2, but most infantcare centres have 1:3 or more...

Nining: Wah! That should be the way...I don't have time to do homework of BP organisers. So far, other than the pursebrite scare, which was an honest mistake on the part of the organiser, my BP experiences have been pleasant...heng ah!

Bulk Purchase:
pardon my ignorance... i thot those BP organisers stand to gain a bit of profit.
that's why there are charges incurred for putting up the threads???

an_gal,
happy anniversary..

Chatty,
maybe that's why I rarely can join BP now that am back to work kekeke.. no time oso..

Chatty,

Ya, the ratio plays a very important role!!
My coli looking for infantcare too, she only managed to find 1:3, consider the best liao! Got one is 1:5 ah!!!

Chatty, Bliss: Somehow I understand tis BP from another perspective. Is how my hb is in the renovation line. His customers will say he charge too expensive den wan him discount this n that. They can get cheaper elsewhere with so an so contractor. Thing is u r engaging him to be the reno co-ordinator as well as planning. He would need to be paid for his transport etc etc.. got pple work n do renovation no need earn abit $$ one meh? Den they demand this free tat free.. pengz. U know they even call my hb at ungodly hours??

thanks chatty n zhuzhu for sharing your views.

when i received the items from BP, i realise the address stated on the envelop are enterprise address. so i get the feeling that BP is just some buying and selling of items - like online shopping.
whereas overseas spree is really voluntary and done out of goodwill...

zhuzhu,
my sis an architect, during her early years she got cheated by clients, taking her drawings home, made copies then returned to her said they dont need architect to do their houses (landed, in indonesia). when my sis passed by their sites, she saw her design was half completed, of course with a lot of discrepancies cos foreman and non architect cannot communicate properly how the design should be executed!
Others, told her agree with the design fee and supervising fee, then after that just buy design, dont want supervision, then the house become chaotic and run back to my sis to salvage the project (which most of the time too late oredi).
One, agree to pay design fee, after that claimed that they design themselves and want to just pay for drafting. By giving inputs / feedback of what they prefer, after my sis interviewing them for their preferences apparently to some ppl equal to designing.. they dont think that thinking process of an architect is needed..

nining: which is dumb right? if these things can be doene by urself den no need architects & reno interior designer liao. some stuff layman wun know one lor.
Den when they go to the tileshop themselves they tot tat they r getting cheaper but in fact they r being charge differently as outsider purchase..
Den got pple compare n compare the prices say how come tis one is cheaper den the other but in face the cost has been covered in other items. So they will only say the cheap price but the expensive price keep quiet. Some things r market price one. If too cheap, maybe using cheap materials or the contractor run away den dun cry lor..
oso got pple get cheap reno den got prob liao come n ask mh hb salvage..

Bliss: I think BPs may have started off as voluntary projects so that mummies who wanted to get something cheaper got lots of people to buy together. However, over time, people saw the bz potential in BPs and now its mainly businesses, not voluntary projects anymore. At any rate, with a $25 charge, how to do it free? If you ask me, its far too much work to organise a BP just to get a small discount for oneself. Ok to do for friends, not for a whole lot of strangers who may kick and scream and smear one's reputation over nothing. If there are no profits to be made, then really no point lor....

Nining / Zhuzhu: I can empathise with you. I once worked in a charity organisation, and like all charities, we have to make money so that we can support the needy right? So there's the private bz side and the charity side. For the private clients, we did work for lawyers and the courts etc. T&C are made known to these clients beforehand. Now these clients are mostly very rich, 'coz they pay their lawyers tens of thousands of dollars, sometimes hundreds of thousands. Guess what? When we work with them, they sometimes refuse to pay a single cent! Sometimes they would even call us up at 2am or 3am or on Sundays to get free advice or to work. Imagine being on-call 24/7, then not getting paid for your work and not being able to service the needy because of insufficient funds?!!? Some people really abuse systems....

Can someone post your baby's sleep schedule? My baby's sleeping schedule has just been fixed recently and we found that he keep waking up at night. I wonder what's went wrong and how to get him to sleep better. His schedule below:

10am - 11am
130pm - 230pm
5pm - 6pm
830pm/9pm sleep
7am/8am wakes up

We fix his nap to be for 1hr and 2.5hrs between each nap...

Hi Scorp,

How old is your baby? I don't fix any sleep schedules for mine, as he automatically sleeps after each meal, and through the night. However, I noticed that he sleeps more now than when he was 2 or 3 months old. If he does wake up at night, its usually because he's very hungry or has wind in his tummy and needs to be burped. I usually try burping him first, and if he continues crying, then I try feeding him.

I suggest you try feeding him a little more during each feed in the day, and burp him well before he sleeps. Also, make sure he's not too warm or too cold. 26 degrees celcius is ideal.

Hi Scorp
My girl is 4 mths plus. She wakes up at 6.30am on normal weekdays (weekend 8.30am) as we have to carry her to my mum's house.
Nap 2 hrs plus (9.30am to 12am). then 2 more hours in the afternoon and half hour in the evening. Sleeps at 9pm.

BB this age generally can take 5-6 hours of nap....