(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

garfield
i try to pump right before going out, so that i can stretch the time i'm out as long as possible. too lazy to bring pump out and i really feel stressed about pumping in public places.

nining
thanks. the joy of having a target nearby after halloween last year.

inu
hubby bought it last year when we were still in the US. it went on super sale (90% off) after halloween so he bought it for fun. we found out we were pg before halloween and hubby thought it'll be fun to dress up the baby this year. we had a miscarriage the week after halloween but immediately got pg with paige. so she got to be dressed up this year.

woof

it's hard to take care of baby alone. when hubby is out, i dont get to do anything. if i sit down at the computer, 10-15 mins paige will cry and need me for something. i'm lucky if she takes a 30 mins nap!

muddypie
i remember you mentioned you were looking for one. so far i havent seen it yet. it's prob very popular and sold out quickly even if it's available.

Lilyn,
must remember that each brand of thermometer is calibrated using different set of tools, even if the tools is same type/brand.. so the accuracy can have +/- tolerance.. Hence I use the guidance from Sars, anything above 37..

Muddypie,
he is botak now hahaha, hubby gleefully shaved his head yesterday after I mentioned that we might need to shave his head so he can grow thicker hair.. poor thing didnt know what hit him!! Hubby is botak too so he's happy to have minime..

Jete,
never been to la Farm.. we may just briefly go through RTP, visit a friend then go to Goldsboro.. nothing firm yet though..

here is my hubby's minime:

1049549.jpg

Angeline / Nining: Seen many doctors already. Even spent $300 on veinous ultrasound on both legs. Tried all sorts of medicines and Chinese herbs, reduced salt intake, increase liquids intake, massage and body brushing, all zero effect. Doctors concluded that chances are nothings wrong. Gynae said its hormones. My aunt said that if its hormones for BF, then no medicines will work. Just have to wait till I stop breastfeeding, then swelling will go down. If swelling still doesnt go down, then must do further investigation

Adeline: Its really tough for you, but at least youre resilient enough to adapt to the difficult circumstances. Hang in there, ok?

Choco: When I go out for more than 3 hours, I usually bring my pump along and look for a nursing room to pumpIf I cant find nursing room, then I do it in the car, while wearing a shawl. Is it possible to do that in Thailand?

An_gal: Yah lor, weird right? Still didnt hear from my accuser

Kiddy palace sells mustella, I use the foam shampoo for Ike since his scalp is very sensitive, and I use sebamed for his bath.. But I slowly migrate for bath to JJ, cos sebamed is like $29!!

Mel:

Your baby is very cute!

Top Shop has a maternity shop? Where? They have larger size clothes too?

As for bath foam, my dermatologist recommended Cetaphil Cleaning lotion and Cetaphil Moisturizer for my baby. There are no fragrances or funny additives, and is highly recommended for babies and adults with sensitive skin. Its also a lot cheaper than Mustela, and you can get it at any pharmacy. After using it, my babys dandruff disappeared.

Swollen eyes: Its probably a sign of allergy. My mum has swollen eyes whenever she eats the wrong food or uses the wrong skin products, coz she has very sensitive skin. You should bring baby to see PD, and try to determine whats causing it.

Jete:

Really cute pic of Paige : ) U celebrate Holloween?

Pumping schedule: I find its easier to pump discretely outside when I use the Swing, coz its quieter, smaller, and single sidemanaged to do it under the cape at the hairdressers the other day. : )

Lilyn: When baby cries, temp will go up. So there will be some inconsistency in temp readings. However, inconsistent temp reading could also be due to incorrect usage of ear thermometer. I was advised not to use ear thermometer coz incorrect usage will lead to wrong readings, and most people dont use it correctly. During SARs, I had to take peoples temp with ear thermometer, and turns out my colleagues and I were doing it wrongly, as we put it in ear at the wrong angle. Its even more difficult to use on babies because their ear canals are too tiny. During a talk I attended, PD actually discouraged use of ear thermometer on very young babies. The best thermometer to use is the digital forehead thermometer, the sort you scan from middle of forehead (just above eyebrows) to temple. Its foolproof, and they use it in ICU too. You can get it at any pharmacy. Thats what I was given, and I find it a lot easier to use than the ear or standard digital thermometers.

Chatty,
I saw those cetaphil range in guardian today.. will give it a try.. THanks!

Muddypie,
pls gimme your email addy so I can send u the catalogue, it's biggy cannot go via PM

Woof: Jia you! I know what you mean. Caring for baby alone full-time is more difficult than working. Really no time to do anything else.

Nining: What a handsome little boy!

Nining:

If you know anyone who's going to TTSH, ask them to buy Cetaphil from the pharmacy. My mum told me that its about $2 cheaper than guardian...

I contacted the mini-fridge guy today, he said that there's delay in stock arrival, so he will probably get it only on Sat. This means that I can only get it from him sometime next week. Will keep you updated : )

I'm selling away this brand new nursing top I bought from Gap Maternity online. Selling at $40 (original price is $45).

Details:
Colour: Black
Size: XL
Material: High-quality imported stretch cotton. 95% Cotton, 5% Spandex.
Details: Crossover V-neck, empire waistband.
Item on website: http://www.gap.com/browse/product.do?cid=35426&pid=508078

PM me if interested. Collection at Queenstown, Bishan or Vivocity on weekdays and Bedok on Sundays.
1049588.jpg

Ninings, your boy so cute!!! hahahaha... my hubby wants to have Isaac's hair shaved too. then he also wants to shave at the same time, so he botak with his son at the same time. hahaha we shd meet up and let the your two guys and my two guys take a picture.

Jete, maybe can add a cbox to the forum? http://www.cbox.ws/ dunno whether can...

If want to have gathering for us all, think should perhaps book a buffet somewhere with a private room, we take the whole room (if enough response) so that if anyone of us needs to pump or bf, we just go to one corner and do it! hahahaha...

woof,
there is a support for the neck, so shouldn't be a problem. if u want, u can try mine, but don't think we are staying very near.. hehe

and keep on persevering.. u are not alone... i know the frustration on not having time alone at all...
jia you jia you!!

Jang,

How much is the milk bag btw? I dun log in as often ler if you could sms me or pm me lor
I will transfer the money to you. Do give me the account no as well okie?

Thanks so much. I stay at delta. Think you are staying around tiong bahru or red hill area rite?
That should be quite near to my place hehe

Thanks so much in advance.

mummies.. help! I have blocked ducts on my right breast.. tried to massage and put cold cabbage but doesnt really help. The breast feels hard hard and when I pump, I couldnt get any letdown.. any remedy?

Alsie,
try take hot shower, then use hotwater in glass bottle and roll it on your breast. hot water release milk for me.. cold stuff just soothen after the release

Just want to check. When you order things from overseas via VPost or other mail services, do you normally buy insurance? The stuff I ordered is ready for posting to Singapore via VPost, and insurance is almost a third the value of the goods, so just wondering whether its necessary or worthwhile to buy insurance.

Woof, if I remember correctly, it shld be abt $189 or $198 or something before the discount. I remember my hub paid ard $70 plus with $80 voucher. It's actually better than the sling, cause, our bbs at this stage are very kapo, wouldn't want to be confined inside the sling, they would prefer to look ard when out. Think it shldn't be any problem for your bb to be in it.

Baby gathering, that'll be fun, I'm game...

Nining, here's my addy: [email protected], thanks in advance. Hey, your botak gorgeous still look as charming. How did you guys shave yr bb's head, they look so fragile, didn't even dare touch it so hard, so far, only brush ard his head softly. Thought of shaving my boy's head too, so afraid that we might hurt it.

jete, I did think of getting it for my boy, but couldn't find one, so gave up. Probably wait for next year then, by then he would be old enough to enjoys it. Might even organise a Halloween party by then.

Hey, anyone joining the baby massage class on 24th Nov at Parentcraft? What time is it? Hve alrdy signed up for it a while ago, but can't remember what time.

Hey, someone was mentioning that she wanted to start a BP for Sleeping bag, any news at all. Btw, is sleeping bag good?? Till now, I'm stilling swaddling him at night, cause he loves to scratch himself and by morning, he get scatches all over. Been cutting his nails every other day, but still he gets the scratches....poor thing, can't seems to be able to leave his hands free at night.

Jang: Thanks! Think I won't buy then...afterall its not like I'm buying anything valuable. First time using VPost for me, previously always had goods sent to IL's home in LA...

chatty, good, can meet you on that day. Will wait for their call then. Hee...Hee... dying to meet some mummies, can make new friends...

Chatty & Muddypie

Mi oso joining the bb massage class startg 24th nov. There are 2 time slots 10-11am or 11-12nn.

I hvnt decided on the timing yet myself

anyone bb poo 3-4 times a day and its those explosive one??

my bb poo 4 times explosive one yest and this morning another explosive one (already at the edge of the diaper), wondering is that diarrhoe?
the coloue is mustard yellow....

my mil say not diarrhoe cos he will 'cake' to poo.. not like flow out like that...

Muddypie,
Hubby used the philip shaver, it leaves very short strand, so the blade doesnt really touch the scalp, hence safe for baby..

he's cute specially when pushing for pooping kekeke..

sent u the catalogue..

Inu,

Mel - i also have ongoing sinus since young. My evils - believe it or not are oranges and pork. I discover by accident some time back. Dunno if your son have anything sensitve tt may trigger.

My ears are twitching. Some mummies out there mentioning my name...

An-gal...

I leave office later thn my knock off time everyday leh...don't thk that manager will consider that lor...

Mel/Cin,

Think U got the wrong person about drinking DOM, its Angeline nt me leh..I dun drk DOM de.

Jete,

I may consider to pump before I go for lunch lor, but thn...I will be back late from lunch as after 12.15pm, the lunch crowd here is the worst.

I think I got no choice lah, have to use toilet with manual pump if I am late lor...!!

I used to take hairdressing lessons, so I have the WAHL brand shaver that supposedly salons/barbers use. Am thinking of using that to shave my baby's hair myself... have been cutting my hubby's hair for more than a year already kekeke... I think I shall try. if successful, you all bring your babies to me, I cut botak for them FOC. hahahahhaa...

So, they hve 2 time slots, which one you gals taking, let me know. But thought the 11am one is better, cause not too early, don't hve to rush, and also, after that can go straight for lunch.

aiyah, gotta go now, my boy is screaming for me. Chat later

choco mum

i think it normal. mine also teh same...will have explosive sound..my mum always ask my bb: are you bombing iraq? heeee

and it is mustard yellow..think normal for BF

Choco: My baby is like that sometimes, esp. if he hasn't pooed for more than 1 day. Diaper leaks sometimes too. But if you're really worried, best to check with doctor. I don't think diahhroea will "cake" up, but not sure what it will look like. What your baby has doesn't sound like diahhroea though, as my baby's poo always looks like this and he's fine.

Woof,

I agree with the gathering

Adeline,
Poor you.. what happened? I have not read all the threat yet.. that's y a bit blur blur..

adeline - u got my full support. my office is also v political. i learn to handle. Now it's better cos i signed on a big deal - so for time being, i blue-eyes girl. otherwise for the past two over years, i am the black horse - even the admin dun even dare to have lunch with me.. cos i went head to head with one of the asst mg. long story but in short, i refused to give in to her jus cos she is boss fav

Sunbloom: I think people are waiting for you to start your BP : )

Adeline: How about using regular or rechargeable batteries with your Avent Isis Duo? You can hang the Avent bag on the toilet door and then pump...As for lunch, sometimes I bring food from home to heat up in the office microwave or if there's no microwave, I bring sandwiches.

Tulip & Muddypie: I think the 11am slot would be better for me, as I don't have to rush.

hi an_gal!
yeah loh.. next year will be on half year leave first.. then will see how it goes.. Jereth won't even be a year old yet.. if get a maid also no use, no one around to supervise.. headache ah..

Adeline,
wow, sorry to hear that your boss is such a person! can't be helped la.. a person doesnt need a reason to be nasty.. if he doesnt want u to pump later than 1pm then no matter what logic u give also he wont like it 1..

here's my mum's princy bow boston for those who wanted to see it..

1050256.jpg

choco,
oh no.. jialet, i don 1 2 b "chiao lao".. wat i did was the use the chicken essence to fry with meat to eat. i felt tat drinking chicken essence like drinking light soy sauce hee

angeline,
wen u intend to feed ur bb "bi gor", u buy liaoz? ur confinement rules realli veri strict, if were me, i cant tahan, pei fu pei fu

bliss,
wow, ur bb another "sumo" :p, Melcolm now oni 5.8kg leh.. alamak, dono isit he small or wat.. melcolm is drinking 120-150ml 3/4hrly too.. he waste my milk no grow fat fat haha..

mel,
love mathias eyes ! veri charming !

jete,
so cute to dress paige on halloween !

nining,
ur bb looks even cuter wen botak

chatty,
i tink u can jus ignore the "accuser"

adeline,
so poor ting, no choice, use the toilet to pump.. tat manager sucks !

pst,
waiting 4 u 2 shave ur bb hehe :p

sunbloom,
ur're working as what? ur office sounds like everyday fire fighting