(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

muddypie,
Eh mine is the Pliko P3 leh. I love it to bits, v convenient. Just make sure you check that both sides locked in lor. We just crossed the 24 hour period for monitoring. she got one little bualuku but almost cannot see. She's fine, no problem. phew.

chatty,
eh you need extra maternity clothes? I can lend out for a few months so dun waste munny buying.
just return back when you shrink lor. I got one Thyme maternity pants brown colour in M size. I am tall so the pant leg is still long... i think that's the most comfy of the lot. also got a few dresses but looks VERY maternity lor. you want any?

cola,
same like my bb, day time slp little n nite time slp all the way. now my last feed for him is btw 12-1+am n his next feed will b abt 6/7+am. hope he can maintain or stretch even longer.

mesh,
of cos still rem u, u r the oni mummy with triplets.. we're all wondering hw r u doing. my bb will b 3mths 2mr n he's drinking 120ml 3-4hrly, hwever, nite time his drinking hrs can stretch longer. he was oso born premature at wk35 n now weight is abt 5.7kg.

nining,
do u notice tat now we shower super fast? i dono abt u but it happens 2 mi keke..

river,
glad to hear tat ur bb is ok now.

ocean,
ur gal is so cute esp with the pumping milk action hehe

ng,
ur gal oso damn funi, like ocean 1 haha

woof,
the tongue cleaning method by ur sil sound so yucky..

i haven tried my Pet Pet yet cos using NTUC 1 1st. However, last time i tried Pet Pet b4 liaoz.. i usually change the diapers before every feed, feel uneasy if let Melcolm wear the diapers too long n no change..

as for water, i feed the baby before letting him drink his milk but he still reject.. he will suck a few sips n wen he know is tasteless, he will scream and cry like mad

ytanhn,
yeah i oso mix the gripe water with water to feed melcolm, lucky he drink now cos the 1st time i feed him he reject too..

leooh,
use gripe water? no water added...izzit too sweet...my bb always refuse to let me clean the inner one....she will give tat vomit like look if i insert too deep in...

an_gal,
melcolm is smart neh...

ocean,
try wat leooh suggested...

juz wondering izzit tat my bb has wind in the tummy...
todae, i feed her with the usual amt..den wanted to burp..she burp but den follow by vomitting the milk out..

woof

because its sweet my baby don't mind,in fact she'll suck on it.at first i'm not too comfortable abt giving her gripe water mixed with milk and cleaning with gripe water,but a mummy from another thread told me its the correct way,so i let MIL continue doing it lor.so far so good.

also,if she vomits it might be reflux.

i think my baby has reflux.she wants to suck,but refuses to drink milk past 60ml.and fights furiously,and then whine so pleadingly she look so ke lian i think she's really uncomfortable.we burp her quite often so don't think its wind.

sigh,dunno if should get her to the PD.

RiversideTree,
I have capella travel system, with infant car seat. There's catchment connecting and locking the car seat to the stroller, but yes, after put the car seat onto the stroller I have to really try pull the car seat from stroller, then I can feel assure. Cos the catchment looks secure but it may be open, we dunno..We can rock the car seat abit even when the catchment is secure. Yeah told my hubby this morning bout the harness..

An_gal
I used to take 1 hour to shower, now 5-10 min!!!

Ocean,
thanks v much.. let me know the payment and collection details.

Hi, I have an unopened Similac Infant Formula (900g), expiry 09 Mar 2009. Selling it at $27, self collect in Punggol area.
I have switched to another fomula milk, so selling the extra can of Similac.
Interested, pls PM me.

Ocean: Thanks! Let me know how much and to which a/c to transfer money : ).

Riversidetree: Thanks so muchLet me check what size my Thyme maternity pants is, then will let u know if I can borrow yours : )

Woof: Probably its windhappens to my baby all the time, esp if I dont burp him in the middle of feed, or if I pat him too soon after feed or too hardsure vomit. Now less often though, as hes beginning to burp on his own sometimes

my ss drops after i start to pump 4hrly instead of 3hrly. thinking of going back to pumping 3hrly but then wanted to get used to office pumping time. so sian....tot once ss established, increasing the pumping interval will not affect the total daily yield!?

chatty
20% off on the ameda is a good price, i saw the sale yesterday too at mothercare. when i went to isetan, the 20% off on pigeon is over, so didn't get the pigeon fridge-to-go yet.

an_gal
can lah, better to have some juice than see how frustrated she is. i bought the baby juice and dilute it a lot, so it's like drinking water.

lilyn
enjoy your visit with families.

the JL sale ended on sunday already. the robinsons sale prob still on.

leooh
when baby was very young, she was crying and crying. i was frustrated that i couldn't calm her down and said things i wish i didn't. so after that i will remind myself to calm down before dealing with her when she's wailing.

sausagemuffin
each baby is different, hard to say. my sis said her boy drank 9oz and she was so scared. her pd told her every baby is different. at every feed, my baby drinks anywhere from 2.5-5oz. i pay attention to her intake per day than per feed.

i supplement with enfalec, it does give my baby constipation if i feed her more formula. if i only do 1 feed formula per day, she seem ok. any more than that, she'll have constipation.

choco
i use cotton ball, wet it and twist it to make it long and thin to clear my baby's nose. i only do it when i see she's stuffed up. more to remove the dirt than to clean (daily).

garfield
your ss super good! good thing you kept up, remember you were so down when your ss was low. did your ss suddenly go up or was it slowly? i notice sushi really helps!

puppygal
my baby also has the black thingy on the butt. cant remember what it's called. dr said it'll be some time before it goes away.

nining
sound like it was a rough day with baby. hopefully he'll be more cooperative and give you an easier time until your helper is back.

mesh
hey! think of you often. wonder how you're doing with 3 babies to take care of when some times we're struggling with 1! so when's the babies' birthday?

chatty
the bottle warmers are electric. one i bought came with something else. the single unit i believe was $33, 20% off that then got 30% of voucher, so quite worth it since i bought the avent one for $60+. not sure about battery, didn't have a chance to check them out since they're wrapped up and i just need it to work at home.

my baby can sleep for 12 hours without getting up for feed, so i get worried and check her from time to time.

yeah, agree it's very difficult some time to calm myself down before handling the bawling baby. i've made the mistake of saying things i dont mean earlier on in her life and that's how i keep reminding myself to calm down.

chatty
hmm... i have no problem dissolving Enfalac in room temp water. have used it in both normal bottle and playtex drop-ins. how much formula do you feed per day? i used to do all ebm and 1 night feed with FM. lately we did more FM cos we'll feed her 3oz and she's still hungry but we're not sure how much more she can eat, so in order not to waste a whole bottle of ebm, just made FM for her. this cause constipation but not too bad since it's a mix of ebm and fm at every feed. but if i feed her say 3 feeds of all fm, she wont be able to poop for 2 days!

riversidetree
i'm soooo glad your baby is ok. we're also using peg perego, so i had hubby come over and read your post!

ocean
i'm interested in the gel, can i tag on one more to your order? or is it too late? lmk. i can transfer the $ to you as soon as i have your account number if my tube can be tag on.

Haiz.. as mentioned, was trying to adjust my pumping time starting from yesterday to pump at ard 12-1pm, 6-8pm and maybe 12am... but today only managed to pump at 1pm and 10pm.... So skip one session of pump as my bb kept crying n dun wanna sleep ard 8pm.... Realise 7pm diff as dinner time mah...

Chatty/ Nining/ Mesh
Dun thank me for placing order for the gel cos Ytanhn is trying to make payment for us from M'sia now. So must thank her, not me lah!

If ytanhn managed to transf by tomorrow morning, then we shall all pay her, ok. Otherwise, i need to make a trip out but luckily my mum said she is comin to my place tmr.

Then, we discuss how to pay n collect later after we paid ok.

Jete,
Think might be too late to add one more order as the BP closed at 10pm and the mummy had stated that she would place order at 11pm. Anyway, think i can spare u one of my tubes as actually i got 2 for myself cos i had lots of fats to burn! Hahhaa...

Ok, so our order for the gel will be:-
1) Ocean - 5
2) Ytanhn - 2
3) Chatty - 1
4) Nining - 1
5) Mesh - 1
6) Jete - 1
Total: 11 tubes

Garfield,
Wow, u got so many clothes? Think like tat to spend on $300 is ok lah!

Oh, if u shift to 4hrs, think there will b a dip in ur total ss cos u r making adjustment n also the pumping time should increase abit. U noe, today from afternoon ard 1pm till 10pm, when i start to pump, i need abt 50mins to clear both breasts (using medela mini)... sianz..

Leooh,
What does it meant by reflux? My english very poor lah..
My bb also dinks milk, then after awhile start to fuss and cry.. Tried burp her sometimes got air out, but still she will fuss ard... Then need to sing song to calm her down.. Wonder y too...

Urgh... wonder y my bb had not wake up yet... think i go to sleep first lah... if she wake up at 1am, dun think i can latch her since i jus finish pump at ard 11pm... yawnz...

Ng
my son saw me feeding the baby - told me "mummy shame shame" faintz

leooh
hubby 1st kid chap a little inital, then back to square one. i married furniture - he is part of sofa in front of the TV

Chatty
milk supply must "bluff" the breasts. initally i pump after i bf, force the supply to increase - now it is ok.

woof
got one cleaning tongue solution fm chinese medical halls. rather sweet. effective for the tongue

All mummies
i will start a BP on sleeping bags soon - got a supply from europe going quite good price. Dun have details yet but will update all soon.

forgot to set my alarm clock for my 3am pump. now pumping after an interval of 7hrs....cham, my ss already dropping since i increase my pumping interval to 4hrly and now i forgot to pump in the wee hrs, think ss is dropping further!!!

Hi Jete!

Im very disappointed with the Pigeon Fridge-to-go, as it doesnt even last 6 hours in our climateI think its because the Blue Ice panels are too thin, so they melt really fast. The medela cooler bag uses the same Blue Ice block, though its in the middle of the bag, and because its a lot thicker, it stays cold for almost 12 hourshence, I wouldnt recommend the Fridge-to-go at all

Re: Ameda: Im pretty happy with my purchase as I needed to use the $200 mothercare vouchers that my friends gave me anyway, and so after 20% discount, I only needed to top up $80. I like the fact that I can control both speed and strength separately. My only complaint is that there are too many parts and the white cap above the bellows is really hard (and painful) to removehowever, its a good price so cant complain. Was surfing Amazon.com yesterday and discovered that Playtex owns the Ameda brand, and its so much cheaper in USA at S$225 after conversion...Had I known, I would have asked my in-laws to bring it over earlier this month

Re: Robinsons Sale does not include any nursery products, except for NUK which is on 20% discount everywherethey dont sell Angel Wipes either.

Re: Enfalac: Ive tried dissolving it in room temp, hot and very hot water, in Medela, Avent bottles and Playtex drop-ins. Ive tried swirling it gently and shaking vigourously. I always get the same result: lots of clumps. I dont have this problem with Friso at all. As for how much FM I feed babyinitially my plan was to just supplement with FM only at night and it worked for a while. Then my baby started drinking more and more and my BM ss couldnt keep up and never increased beyond 1.5 to 2 ounces per pumping session. So now, I pump and accumulate BM throughout the day, and feed the EBM to him for the first 2 meals of each day. Rest of the day, he takes FM.

Actually, I regret giving into CLs nagging and my physical and emotional exhaustion so early on. If I had just persevered on TBF, my BM ss may have increased significantly. However, I may also have slipped into PND, as I was already breaking down at that point, so maybe it was just as well.

Thanks Ocean & Ytanhn! Look forward to getting the gel. Just give us the info so that we can pay u.

Sunbloom: Then I must also try harder to bluff my breasts to increase supply. Now, when I can, I do pump for longer than necc to stimulate my breasts to produce more milkhowever, doesnt really make a different leh

atty: personal experience taught me tat to increase ur bm yield, it is the no. of pumpings that matters and not the pumping duration. try to pump say at least 7-8x/day to increase your bm.

my ss also drops since i started pumping 4hrly. have decided to go back to 3hrly to pump. hopefully, when i start work in early nov, my 4hrly pump will not affect my milk supply.

how come Nic's sleeping pattern every nite is different. the nite before slept almost 7hrs then milk. last nite, slept at 8plus, then wake up 11pm for feed, then 1am, 3am, 5am, then fuss at 7plus, 8plus, thought he wanted milk. once i carried him, he fell asleep, still sleeping now.
realise he fusses to be carried between 6-8am in the mornings.

Worse still, my gal is down with fever. whole nite she is super clingy. open her eyes only, she will look for me.....barely slept coz was constantly chking her temp.

Chatty/ Nining/ Mesh/Jete
Ytanhn had managed to tranf this morning from M'sia to pay for our Gel. So, you would have to pay her S$27. each, while i'll need to pay S$135. Must thank ytanhn for the trouble.

Ytanhn,
Thanks for paying for the rest of us and so sorry for the trouble.
kao_embarrassed.gif

Chatty,
Abt pumping longer, i noticed that if i am still pumping after 30mins, there will be another letdown, so supply will increase another 20-50ml. So end up, i pump abt 40-50mins.

Like now, I am adjusting my pumping time, i need to pump at least 50mins (including the switch from one side to another) for both breast to empty. Am trying to cut down to 30mins for both side using my medela mini... (meaning 1 side is 15mins).. But like tat, think my ss will dip..

Garfield,
Maybe u shld have only 1 session of 4hrs and then slowly move to 2 session of 4hrs interval. Like tat the dip in ss would not be so obvious and u can slowly build up ur ss. Btw, who take care of ur BB when u pumping?

Ng,
So siong for u. Hope ur gal recover fast.. Think she now lack of security as alw see mummy and the rest carry bb. Do take care n hope u can sneak some nap in-between.

Nins,
think is ok to do reboning lah. I also do that after i given birth to the elder one. Now, i think i need to do colouring cos i had lots of white hair..
Believe is due to stress and also anger when my elder gal misbehave n bb crying.

check wif u gals,
my bb is now 6weeks +, but still not smilling yet. Only caught him 'smilling' when drinking milk. Tot baby will start smilling at 4-6w old.

finally hv some time to reply.

river...thanks goodness everything is ok..was so worried when i read ur stroller mishap. hope everything is well.

chattypheyling,

thks for the advice on the pigeon fidge to go..i was also thinking of buyign that..so now better that. just get the normal fridge to go might be better. furthermore they are not cheap le.

garfield,

i already stopped worrying abt if i hv enuff ss when i start work next mth. the more i worried the lower the ss is. so i tell myself i will just continue to bf..n when start work, ss really dip then no choice lor..used up all the frozen ones first then feed FM lor..

today i will be bringing jaelynn out on my own (first time) to meet another 2 gfs n their bbies. their bbies are born ard the same time as jaelynn..so would be fun...see 3 crazy women eating lunch over their fussy bbies. haaa...somemore i will drive alone with bb in car seat...so mommies..wish me luch.. haaa..think i crazy liao...dare to do this on my own. even my hubby worried for me..

woof,
jialet leh, don 1 drink water haiz.. hopefully wen he older will drink

leooh,
u mix gripe water with milk? can ah?

nining,
wow !!! 1hr to shower, wat u do inside the bathrm hehe.. such a great diff cos now oni 5-10mins..

jete,
hee ok, currently letting my boy drink gripe water mix with water and he poo yest.. slightly better compared to last wk, no poo for 4-5 days..

ocean,
day time is hell 4 mi leh, cos bb seldom slp.. nite time after 7+ or 8+ feed, bb concast liaoz hehe, he will jus lie dw on his cot n stare blankly. sometimes i had 2 wake him up for the 12+ or 1am feed, if not i dono he will slp until wat time.

Loh,
Last time had read tat for the 1st few weeks, if bb smile, it is not a real smile, only a strenth of muscle. It is only when 2-3mths onward, when BB can see more clearly, then bb noticed that if he does tat "smile", pple will smile back to him. So then, bb will smile more! So no worry, I'm sure ur BB will smile at ur more.
Mine during the first few weeks was worst, not only seldom smile, she frown alot.
Was thinking mayb i was angry most of the time during pregnancy with my colli who cant do work..
But now, she was quite smilely and she is ard 8-9wks now.

An_gal,
Is common for BB not to poo for 4-5days lah. Jus try to monitor n c if bb not feeling well or wat n whether can eat n sleep well.
Tat's remind me of last time being a 1st time parent when my elder gal din poo for 4-5days, we immediately send her to KKH 24hrs children clinic cos heard BM shld hv poo everyday. Even had x-ray done... n after poo the nxt day, no poo again and brought to PD.. end up is nothing to worry.

inu,
Have fun today, out alone with BB.

For me, hard to bring my bb n toddler alone taking public transport. Tried last week, it was hand-not-enough as one hand carrying bb, the other hand holding elder's hand. Wish i had more hands like octopus.
Cant use carrier yet as bb neck not strong yet n stroller very troublesome for bus n it rained tat day.. Thus, for now, only bring them out going downstair to buy food if alone. Will wait till bb can hold her neck then can bring both out then.

hi riverside

so sorry to hear about your experience. if it were me, i will freaked out. is baby ok now? i am using peg prego too. but when we go out, we dun attach the baby carseat to the stroller cos it very troublesome. we just placed the baby straight into the stroller. God really protect your baby. I will pray that your baby will not have this bad experience in her memory. That is why as parents, i alway believe we have to pray for protection on our little ones.

hi sunbloom
u r so funny n humorous, the way you describe your husband. mine is like this too. but as i am a sahm, i told myself hubby is working to bring $ home. since i m not working, its my duty to look after the house n baby. but after awhile, i find that it doesnt work cos its real tiring esp at nite when my baby takes very long to go into deep sleep. so i began to feel resentful towards my hubby. later i realised its not healthy so i decided to push him to do some stuff for the baby so that i can have a breather. haiz.. some men just need pushing.

i read the book "what to expect the 1st year". it says we have to stimulate the baby in 2nd mth by playing wif them frequently. i am lazy n tired. so my baby most of the time in the day r just either in his bouncer or sleeping. i did not let him play on the bed either. the book said we have to lett baby practice lie on his tummy so that he can learn to lift his head n turn. did u all do that?

riverside,
gosh that's so scary! i'd be horrified (and guilt-ridden too come to think of it)! thank goodness ur girl is ok now..good lesson to share around with everyone..

Chatty,
I like the idea of using our real life mummy experience as positive and negative reinforcement! kekeke....

on another note, those mummies who are supplementing with FM, don't stress about the BF thing...at the end of the day being a mum is SOOOO much more than giving milk to our kiddies! i see it more as a bonus that i can BF totally, but I strongly believe that being responsive to our child and being able to care for the little one is the more important thing!

loh, dont worry bout the smiling, Ike has just started smiling when he's 8 weeks old. He had those mouth muscle reflexes in his 4-6 weeks, but it's not smile cos he didnt repeat it when we smiled to him.

Inu,
thanks for reminding me to let baby learn lifting his head.. I almot forgot it's time for him...

Ocean,
yeah I found info abt rebonding for breastfeeding momma, looks like it's fine as long as the chemical is kept away from the scalp.. so I will do that this weekend.. I hate my self in the mirror lately..

An_gal,
I like the feeling of the water showering me kekekeke so it can be 30 min later before I start soaping myself..

Ytanhn,
thank you v muich for the help with the BP payment.. pls let me know how to pay u back

ocean,
my bb mostly on fm tats y i wori if he no poo for many days. i cant tahan if he no poo for 2 days hehe.. so far he drinks well so i no bring him c PD lah.. i m not as gan cheong as u last time hehe..

Typing with one hand now, as I just scalded my thumb with boiling water when i was warming baby's milk, so now thumb in cup of ice cold water...today really "suay"...in the morning baby poo so much, diaper leaked onto bed, and when i went to change him, it leaked all over changing mat, then he put his hands into poo...so in the end had to give him his bath earlier than usual. After that,he cried & cried for his milk, so i rushed to screw on teat. Guess what? teat not screwed on properly, so end up both EBM leaked all over baby & me, so had to clean him up again, and bathe myself. Then next feed, I was preparing FM with hot water. Forgot that hot air expands,and the hot milk leaked out of bottle all over the place, so had to clean up again...and now this feed, injured my hand, & my mum has to feed baby, time to pump, but cannot do it till hand cools down. Now, I have a choice of either blistered or frostbitten thumb...sigh!

Garfield & Ocean, totally agree wif u re BM ss as I've experienced both...trouble is finding time to pump...also noticed that ss will drop if i'm too tired or don't drink enough water.

Loh, every child is different, so give him a few more weeks. Impt thing is that he's increasingly responsive to people and env. I wouldn't worry unless he misses his milestones by say 6 months. I wld be more concerned with motor and speech & language devt...

Nins: Dermatologist (skin doctor) told me that anything topical (application on skin only) is fine and won't affect BM. H/w, must be very careful about what u eat, as that can affect BM. Since I started BM, I cannot take Clarityn or other yellow pill (can't remember name) for rashes, but can use steriod cream only....so rebonding is topical right,so shouldn't need to worry...if not sure, check wif doctor.

Inu, Agreed. Normal fridge cheaper than the cooler bag and more effective too!