(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

puppygal: i still sterilise my bb's bottles, teats, pump funnels at least 1x/day which will be in the morning. My maid will sterilise them again 1 or 2 more times throughout the day. I even sterilise my 2yrs old dd's bottle & teat too since i am sterilising my bb's

jete: my ss not a lot lah.
can pump out 4-5oz/3hrs. my last pump for the day will be at abt 10-11pm. 1st pump for the day is at 3am which will yield 7-8oz. My friend's can pump out 10oz/6hr....so 24hrs, she can pump out 40oz and ths is not including her direct latch. so envious

all: u all taking 6-in-1 or 5-in-1? i dun no whether to take 6-in-1 anot cos it seems kinda siong to bb leh. i also came across an article that says there is a high chance of bb's death if bb take 6-in-1.

puppygal

i was reading on this when i saw ur qn.

took this off the babycentre website

All babies are vulnerable to the germs that cause diarrhoea and vomiting, and so it is best to continue sterilising bottles and teats (and breast pump equipment) until your baby is one year old and has built up more resistance to bacteria generally. The recommended age for starting solids is now six months, and bowls, plates and spoons can generally be cleaned using your usual washing-up method from this age.

Cleaning your baby's bottles and teats in a dishwasher will not always heat them to the right temperature to kill off all known bugs, so it's generally still advisable to sterilise after washing. If you do want to rely on your dishwasher alone, it needs to be run on a hot programme at a minimum temperature of 80 degrees centigrade. The bottles then need be filled with feed straight away as the dishwasher will not leave them in a completely sterile condition.

It may seem pointless to sterilise feeding equipment when your baby is crawling around the floor and putting all sorts of things in his mouth, but the bugs that stick to milk curds can be dangerous. Your baby's immune system will grow stronger into the second year and he'll be able to combat infections more easily.

regarding the spraying, I suspect the different positions may work differently for different people. coz sometimes Isaac kicks a fuss but sometimes he doesn't. then I noticed that sometimes its a different 'spout' that is spraying - ie. different direction. so I think hor, if the spray happens to be directed at the back of the baby's throat, then they will be uncomfortable, but if it is shooting at the roof of his mouth or at his tongue, then it is just more milk, he doesn't get a hose of milk shooting at the back of his throat - then he wun make noise. I think lah. hahahaha...

Fishy11, I also TBF feed on demand. Seems like I am opposite from you - Isaac is not so bad at night, he can sleep for 2 to 3 hours then feed once at night (10pm onwards to 9am like that). But Isaac, from late afternoon to evenings, tends to want to feed at every hour!!! There was one day when he wanted to feed at like 2pm, 3pm, 4pm, 5pm, 6pm, 7pm... wah, by 7pm my breasts were sooooo flat already! had no milk and he still wanted more! was at my mum's place and didn't bring EBM with me. so was so stressed and upset. luckily my mum watching korean drama so didn't say anything like "not enough milk ah?". In the end, hubby came back, got him to carry Isaac (coz when I carry he smell the milk on me, he cry even more), then at 8pm I fed, see if have milk, and luckily have - so satiated him for awhile. then we quickly went home. it's been like that almost 3 weeks already - does anyone know if this is normal? pd says isaac is trying to make me pdc more milk... but very tiring and stressful... hiaz...

pst

garfield
my ss never increase, every 3hr only get abt 2oz total.

woof,
my bb finally poo jus now n alot man.. i waited for 4 days 4 him 2 poo liaoz.. while cleaning him frm his poo, he urine n continue 2 poo somemore.. faintz..

did u chk ur teat whether isit time 2 change 2 bigger size? sometimes if wrong teat size, bb may get tired frm suckling n wat abt the temperature of the milk? some bb don like cold milk if feeding takes awhile..

puppygal,
i still sterilise the bottle n pump after every use

Puppygal, i dun agree with not sterilising leh. there's germs everywhere and newborns' immunity not as strong. Do u hv a steriliser at hm or u use boiling method? I suggest u buy a electric steriliser and teach ur MIL how to use. very simple only. Juz tell her doc says so? Anyway, if u buy n put at her hse, i'm sure she will use it.

Garfield, talking abt jabs. it depends on our preference. i'm going for 5-in-1 after my "research". After all, 6-in-1 jabs are relatively new and seems higher chances of fever. My elder gal took 5-in-1 so same same for Nicholas. Price and number of doses differ.

we're having a not so easy day today...;(..he's been fussing after his 4pm feed...skipped his nap and was so exhausted and JUST dropped off to sleep..screaming and screaming..poor love...I started EASY when we got back from the hospital (since he was 2 wks old, he's 5 wks old today) and we only just started seeing results...we made the mistake of constantly changing tactics cuz we were uncertain..but once we settled into a set routine, life is a LITTLE easier n more predictable...we;re still having fussy evenings tho...

Inu,
the book's definition f sleeping thru the nite is 11-5am! it sounds like u got a good thing going already... i'm envious! maybe if it ain't broke, don't fix it! :p

jete: try eating salmon sashimi. must be raw salmon and not cooked one. it boosted my bm supply. u try and see if it helps. my MIM nursing tea, longan red date tea & papaya fish bone soup don't work for me. my hubby said i high maintenance..need to eat salmon sashimi to boost milk supply. hahah..

ng: my hubby prefers the 5-in-1 jab as he doesn't want to risk bb's life though the chances of death due to 6-in-1 is low. anyway, 5-in-1 is cheaper.

jete,
u are using ameda pump rite? No too sure abt the electrical pump. For manual pump, i tends to squeeze the breasts here and there when pumping. Just like using ur hand to eat burgar, esp at the lower part of the breast. It does help a lot for the milk flow. May be u can try.

garfield,
but 5-in-1 jab have to start within 1 month old ler. Think my bb overdue lioa, already pass 1 month.

Just the the angal wipe delivery this eve.
$6 for 3x80 and 2x30, total 300pieces.
$40 above for free delivery
Steven : 81387434

loh, is it true that 5-1 has to be within 1 mth? why har?

i cant take 6-1 cos my girl already has taken 2 shots of hep b le..then how? so confusing..

Re: Weight of bb
Jete & an_gal: I tink my bb gal has to be the lightest bb in the forum. She only weight 3.725kg @ 6 weeks. Bt PD says she is ok considering the weight she was born. Bt i still hope she can put on more.

Anyway jus to share with u mummies my gal's pic @ 6 weeks.

1001428.jpg

Ya can i check with mums who are pumping exclusively here. Is your milk supply increasing, stable or decreasing? I pump abt 5-6 times a day and i realise that my supply seems to be decreasing. I read somewhere that when we juz use a pump to express our milk the supply will nt increase one. Me now feeling abit depress coz tot can express my bm for bb till 6 mths. Looks like cannot liao.

pumping now. hubby giving my girl the dream feed now..let hope i can get some sleep later..i am so tired today..

I still sterilise for my baby but once baby reach around 2 months will start going to MIL house. Last time during confinement, I caught my MIL not sterilising many times. LAst sat, I send my baby to MIL house stay for 1 day, sterilise for 6 bottles and brot over.,..next day oni saw 2 bottles used and the rest nvr use... Maybe I will ask PD since going for injection soon.

piggyB
DOn't be depressed! ur doing well! if u find ur supply decreasing, can i suggest u try latching bb on.bb always more stimulating than pump acc to what i've read...maybe a few times a day till supply goes up?

jete,
thanks for checking for me! hoping to buy one cheaply fr the forum
*fingers crossed!* the joys of internet shopping! hehe!

we were given option of BCG iether in bum or arm..we choose arm cuz we thot it'd b easier to keep clean...its gross and pussy rite now at 5 weeks post injection, but PD saw it yesterday n said its normal

gd morning mummies......thought Nic can sleep thru but no leh. At nite, fed at 10.30, then 12.30, then around 4am (less than 5mins), so later sure wake up again.

Piggyb, dun be discouraged. Juz keep pumping. I'm sure we can all feed till at least 6mths. Try to latch more coz bb can empty our breast better, thus more effective. If not, as long as we keep pumping, there'll be still supply.

Loh, i oso hv a pack of Angelwipes at hm, haven't tried using but seems like alot of mummies use them. it's so much cheaper as compared to Pigeon. i got my pack (80sheets) from the supermkt here at $1.95 only. but they always out of stock.

piggyb

i do exclusive pumping. my ss is also decreasing if not maintaining.

but dun worry, my friend do exclusively pumping for 6 mths since bb born. so i dun think there is a concern.

i think the point is, u must pump reguarly and the same timing.
cannot sometimes 2 hrs , sometimes 4 then sometime 3. must be fix.
i always not fix, so my ss drop

puppygal
can u bluff ur mil. say bb got diahorrea and u check with pd, one of the reason is cos of unclean bottle...maybe this will make her sit up.

piggyB,
Try drink lots of liquid. I found tt if i seldom drink water, my supply will drop. Will be abt 60-100ml less for 5hr pump. Me v lazy to do it 3hr interval.

inu,
I was told by the nurse when went for bb 1 week review at TMC. If taking 6-in-1, can start doing it when bb is 2-3months old. If 5-1, have to do it at 1month old wor.

Ng,
My supplier seems cheaper ler. He sell $2 for 80sheets, then buy 3 pack (80), then can have 2X30sheets for free. So $6 can get 300sheets. Urs $6 only 240sheets. Some more if buy more ($40 above) can get free delivery.
Angel wipe is free from perfume which most other brands do not.
I tried tollyjoy, the perfume is so strong. Some more, some batch more wet and some drier, not consistant.

Check wif u gals,

Does anyone here easy to laosai aft delivery? My digestion system seems bcom not tt efficient aft delivery. Laosai once every week. Then my mum comment i eat to 'liang' (cooling).

BTW, anyone wif natural delivery still pain or feel some pressure at the vagina opening? I feel the pain (not v pain) aft delivery till now ler. Normal?

wow so many posts just after 1 day!

loh

so do you like the angel wipes?will the sheets come out sepearately one by one?i hate it when the sheets come out in 2s and 3s.thinking of ordering cos running out liao...

lilyn

go buy the kiddopotamus swaddle cloth quick!the 2 i have are in S which are getting quite tight for my gal already cos she's quite big size.i suggest u buy the M straight away.i bought it at ared $30 too but its at Mt A so expensive.will go Moms and Babes tomorrow and buy 2 M size ones(cos AMK hub has).they work like a dream!once my baby is in it she'll only whimper a bit softly and not fuss and grunt loudly like before.and she won't be able to struggle out of it.

and yes the normal one has a slit at the back for care seat belts to go thru.never used seat belts before so dunno how to use though.but i'm very sure there's a slit at the back(cos me and hubby were trying to figure out what the slit is for)

loh

i lao sai every day for almost one month starting from the 2nd day after delivery!somemore its green in colour,my parents thought its because i was too traumatised by the c-section operation and wanted me to take jing feng san.definitely not due to too colling because i was eating confinement food then.a chinese physician my parents went to said my digestive system was not working properly.gynae said i'm not taking well to the anitibiotics but it continued even after i finished the antibiotics.so no one knows for sure why.

but after that it stopped la.just take care to drink more water and not dehydrate.

Ng

wah i'm so lucky,u help me do research;-)i live in AMK,can u pls email me the excel file?if kinderclinic is way too expensive must change!must save money...but i think i'll still take the 6 in 1 cos hubby won't be in Singapore,i want to wait until he's back before taking baby for the jabs.

BB

i think your PD is correct,too much wind in your baby's tummy and bb is uncomfortable,thus the fussing and wanting you to carry,or want to suckle for comfort.

have you tried swaddling the baby?it makes them feel secure like in the womb.and also try massaging the baby after a warm bath.if you don't know how to,i have a video clip of my massage auntie massaging my baby(took it so that i can refer in case i forget how to massage.)can email you but the file is quite big.give me your email add and i try emailing you?

also,try burping the baby more often.if the baby farts a lot after burping or massage,its the gas.

and oh,check and see if the baby has blocked nose.

hope these helps!and hugs...take care,get someone to help take care for one hour and 2,and you take a breather.must keep sane to take care of the baby!

yesterday i really enjoyed myself!went shopping with my sister and baby in stroller,and bought a suit for myself(sad thing is i've grown 2 sizes bigger.need the suit for an event next month so no choice,must buy cos don't think i'll slim down by then.angry thing is the sales girl thought my sis is my daughter!!!!i said no,my daughter is the one in the stroller.sis is only 3 years younger than me lor.but sigh,guess its because she's slim and has a baby face,and looks like a poly student still.while i'm all out of shape after pregnancy.boo hoo hoo)

and then i shopped and shopped.sis was taking care of baby all the way,til i felt a bit pai seh.

and like usual,baby slept thru the whole thing,til half an hour after her feeding time,she fidgeted to be fed with eyes still closed.and we took her to the nursing room.the taka nursing room was fantastic!even have sink and hot water dispensor to make FM some more!and sofas to sit,and many diaper changing stations.so well equiped!

saw a few jap mummies with their toddlers.they all look so well-groomed and slim...and very zai,one ahnd carry toddler,one hand pushing the stroller.wow!my sis said i should learn to do that too.i still don't dare to push stroller down the escalator.up is still ok,down is like very dangerous leh...

me pumping again. by the way, would like to ask everyone here, after thawing ur frozen ebm, how does it taste like? mine taste like soap. Is it ok to give to bb?

finally had beta sleep today, at least 3 hrs from 2 am to 6 am like tis...last few days bb was like waking up every 2 hrs...n i almost feed til i collapse instead...really sleepy n tired!
looking forward to a movie later wif hb..can relax n recharge! don noe is it i lazy...find dat i need to relax myself by "throwing" e baby to my mom to look after...

loh,
ok to share e contact of ur supplier for e wipes? am keen to get since its cheaper....

oh ya i bought "The Baby Whisperer solves all your problems" from kino yesterday.its the 3rd book in the series but the only one for infancy to toddellerhood in Kino.the other one they have is for toddlers only.

will start reading today if possible.quite excited about it;-)

settes

no la,you're only human.not lazy.sometimes i just tell MIL to help look out for baby in her playpen(in the living room)then i just shut my door and sleep.otherwise will not be able to sleep in peace,will wake up once she stirs..

think loh posted the handphone of the supplier yesterday,go check..

BCG:

nurse told me that the BCG jabs are given to babies at their buttocks nowadays.PD did warn me that there'll be something like an insect bite at the buttocks.

i also realised that its seems to be getting more and more reddish and swollen.didn't know it'd last so long...but baby seems to be okay,no fever or anything so i guess should be fine.

pst

its either a growth spurt(like what your PD said,baby wants u to produce more milk in preparation to his growth spurt)then bo-bian,must still nurse him.

or he's nursing for comfort.did u try to feed him a little water to distract him?or use pacifier?my PD recommeded that if its not the feeding time yet.

or check if he has gas..

hey leooh,
oic, ok! shall go look for e post...last time got c tis brand of wipes..but becos cheaper so don noe whether will cause rash on something on bb's skin n oso don noe got perfume or not so never buy...

btw, do ur babies like to sleep in any particular position? seems like mine likes tummy down...maybe he feels more secure...i dilemma.. let him sleep like tis scared he suffocate if never monitor...but if let him sleep face up...he like wakes up easily...i heard some babies love to sleep belly down until they grow much bigger...like my neighbour's toddler...

oh yah toking abt e bcg jab, my pd no say anything abt it...finds him not as forthcoming..must ask him questions then he'll answer, else like tis bcg, i wasn't even aware...sometimes i ask too many questions i oso paiseh...can sense like he not v patient....so i oso cut short e consultation...then went home realise impt things forget to ask him!

settes

did you try letting him sleep on the side?many CLs said better for baby.Enci will sometimes sleep better like this cos its more cooling.(minimal contact with mattress.).can use rolled up towels to support on each side.

the nurses also told us better to let babies sleep on the side cos if they er-ni or vomit,the milk will flow out and not gag them.,

piggyB, like you, I also wanted to continue pumping when I go back to work coz I wanna bf baby up till at least 6 months. For me, I latch on almost 98% of the time, so I was very kazy with pumping, until recently, when I wanted to build up a store of frozen ebm in case my ss drops when I go back to work. Then dunno why, suddenly my ss like drop like that, and baby started to want to drink every hour also. BUt I was quite stressed and depressed coz I used to be able to pump 100+ ml if the breast feels a bit full, but now, nothing at all unless there is a letdown. Oonly recently did I realise that I had blocked ducts. So I massage and massage and massage the breast till it's softer, then pump, then massage then pump etc... now it's much better. So you can try that too. Massage your breast. I used to think the lumps in my breast was the "breast flesh" - didn't recognise it for what it was. you try try.

Mummies, recently, I started to pump while I fed Isaac, this way I can catch the letdown that he initiates while he is suckling. plus save time too! and I get to pump more often!
Hoping to get my supply up!!! wish me luck!!!

Mummies, since we're on the topic of shit *grinz* can I ask you guys what is your own shit like huh? Mine is like black black one and sinks right to the bottom of the toilet bowl. was very hard and painful to shit as well. wondering if it means I'm dehydrated.

By the way, any of you guys' been called TE-BOR (Pig mother - read in teochew or hokkien)??? My MIL keeps calling me that!!! Find it sooooo irritating!!! *roll*eyes* half amused half exasperated lah, she open mouth close mouth also say TE-BOR. hiaz......

pst

settes

then change PD lor.they're not cheap,must find one you like.also they must be extra patient right?so that can relate to babies better ma.

pst

is it constipation?eat more fruits lor.or are you too "heaty" from confinement food?
mine is quite soft.but i hardly get constipated before also la.also i sure will go toilet after drinking coffee.

your MIL quite funny leh,is it a term of endearment to her?or she calls Issac little pig?my MIL is very polite to me one.if she calls me that i think i will NOT be amused!but they're elders,so bo-bian,have to live with it i guess.

leooh, yeah! she called Isaac - Te-Kia (pig baby) so she call me Te-bor lor. hiaz!!! hahahaha... yah lor, guess can't be helped. First we're a COW, now we're PIG MOTHERS. geez...

yeah was thinking I was too heaty, and not enough fruits. so I bought some plums and 'dinosaur egg' (that's what my FIL calls them - kong3 long2 dan4) to eat. then very effective! kept farting, then very fast go toilet and do big biz. the consistency became softer - but then still it sinks to the bottom of the toilet bowl! I thot I read somewhere before that healthy poo for adults should float leh...

yeah am just nursing him lor... I don't want to give him pacifier as I don't think its very good. and I dun tihnk he nurses for comfort coz he will push out the nipple when he is done and refuses to take it anymore if he doesn't want to dirnk. dunno if its gas - how to check? (we DO put the ru yi oil on his tummy after baths) hiaz. anywayz I am hoping to increase my milk ss, so have resigned myself to nursing him on demand. the only thing is I wonder how my MIL is going to pacify him next time since she can't do that... I foresee that in the first few weeks when I go back to work, sure a lot of EBM wasted - MIL will keep trying to feed him when he cries coz she doesn't know what he wants... hiaz... *shrug* see how lah...

settes, Isaac also likes to sleep on his front. in fact, was my CL who first started placing him like that, when he was like 2 weeks old! and when I asked her if it was dangerous for him to sleep like that, she said it's okay. and same for Isaac, he sleeps better like that - when sleeping on his back, he wakes up easily. I try to keep a close watch on him when he is sleeping like that. check on him often. at night, he is sleeping on another mattress just next to me, so I often check on him while sleeping. hahaha yah so interupted sleep for me lah, but what to do. I'm quite a light sleeper, so once he makes eh eh eh sounds, I will wake up already. but Isaac's neck is quite strong, so I'm quite okay with him sleeping like that. how's your baby's neck strength?

pst

yah leooh, prob is he's e only pd around my place..find others oso don noe where leh..unless go back tmc..a bit not convenient leh..so guess i may hv to go back to him...n yes..they really r ex..just touch a bit here n there can cost a bomb!

pst,
so ur bb sleeps tis way too?? i wanted to place him like tis at night so i can sleep more..kekkekee, but hb not veri for it..scared we neber monitor...i oso realise if he sleeps too long in dat position..his eyes like "swollen" cos got pressed on e bed...n so pressure on his eyes..he cld turn his head from one side to another..n me shocked..never noe they cld turn their heads at tis stage yet....but wld still tink their neck's still fragile so must be careful still...

Hi ladies, long time since I've had a chance to log in...can't catch up on all the posts...

Jete & PiggyB: My EBM ss never increased beyond 1.5 fl oz when I pumped every 3 hours for the last few weeks...this was despite taking fenugreek etc. H/w, my mum cooked fish soup with papaya yesterday after a 3 week lapse, and today my EBM ss increased by 2 fl oz...not sure if this is due to the fish soup or because I've been pumping more regularly over the last 3 days...maybe you can try it?

Jete: BTW, how do you find the ameda lactaline? Is it as effective as the Medela swing? My friend lent me her Medela Electric Plus to try out, and I found that it was not as good as the swing because there was no stimulation, so couldn't pump out as much milk...I'm looking to purchase a double pump 'cause the swing just takes up too much time.

Loh: I had lots of loose stools & diahhorea for about a month following delivery...I also had difficulty controlling my bowels esp when doing the salt bath. My diahhorea improved when I stopped drinking milk, so it was probably due to lactose intolerance. The bowel control issues improved after doing the pelvic floor exercise. As for pain or pressure at the vagina opening, I had that while wound was healing...after that, it was okay.

jete/Ng

baby oil works for cradle cap after i wipe it off using a wet hanky!haha maybe its just stupid me leaving the oil on the first time round...