(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

Nining,

u r really something, I read from somewhere induce will end up very high percentage c sect at the end, me only induced 9 days b4 due date, the cervix not open at all after 10 hours drip, at the end decide c sect, quite regret sometimes when think back as my gal very small size if nature sure easy to come out.

Hi nining, $4 for the nurser, ok. But plus postage?? Let me know the full amt and your bank details will trf the money to you. My addy:

1011 Upper Serangoon Road
#04-01 The Old House
Singapore 534749

mummies, thanks for all concern, Aidan is much better today. His temp has alrdy came down, so far, up till now, all fine. Btw, can we bath our bbs if they are having or just recovered from a fever. Hub says better not, but hven't bath him for 3 days alrdy. cin, you mentioned sponge, how do you do it? Know what you mean abt putting the the ice wrap with towel bet bodies. But then hor, he's so active, don't think I can do that. Though he was hvg fever, he was still very active physically and vocally, kept babbling away non-stop.

Abt the high-maintenance looking mummies in JG. I think we're lucky, as in the class at our time slot, everyone's very friendly and nice. There are mummies, grandma, daddies, and aunties in the class. I enjoy talking to all the mummies and grandma. The only thing we gossip abt is "your maid good or not huh....." And as for dressing up, so far, the mummies in the class all dressed up normally, no high heels, posh lookin clothes, or expensive accessories. I'm really happy with this class, will probably stick to this time slot.

Oh yes, just went to a full body checkup, alamak, my cholestrol is a little on the high side, think better watch what I eat. And gd news, my thyroid condition seems to hve been controlled, hope can start my #2 planning soon.

Discovery ball spree
Just went in, wow, so many august mummies in the list.

Aiyah, think thread is moving so fast, I cannot finish reading the rest of it. But hve to go alrdy. Will catch up again.

Xman,
no lah, me just old kekeke.. so since too old oredi for 2nd baby, I thot I must do natural.. end up 28 hrs since the moment induced till Ike popped out, very very slow dilation.. But hor.. when pushing at that time, crazy totally.. the midwives push my side also till my hubby got shocked!! hahaah.. then I didnt feel that push only know someone was pressing my front body.. I was concentrating on the painting on wall imagining as opening camera lenses, slowly open to accomodate light.. like that laaa kekekeke.. I am too technical person.. My hubby said lucky I didnt imagine i was looking at a machine opening hole kekeke..

mudd,
if can, best remove ur addy from your post.. got quite number of psycho ppl in forum lately..

Sunbloom,
What's the matter? <hugs>

Clement,
u better not checking yesterfday thread!! hehehe

Angeline,
my mom was waiting outisde delivery ward for 28 hrs long, when my hubby told her all well and Ike popped out so big, she kneeled down and said prayer in the hall!! Then cried following the nurses and my hubby carrying ike to neonatal ward.. so so unforgetable..

Nin,

Ur mum must be worrying like mad outside the delivery ward cos ur labour really very long!!!
Glad that everything is ok &amp; Ike is growing well &amp; healthy!

BB healthy is wat all parents want!

ANgeline,
ya looo.. Hubby updated her every hour during dilation process.. and yes agree! so grateful that Ike is healthy, can't ask for more..

nining/jete/angeline,
tks.. have been using avent bottles, also duno need to change or not. any idea where to get medela bottles? cant rmb seeing them at kiddy palace or maybe my eyes are just glued to avent.
btw, what i meant is not a snake, in mandarin it's called '4-legs snake'(si4 jiao3 se2). any helper to translate to english? ;p

talking abt snake, i saw one inside my msia hse once, hb said seeing snake is lucky &amp; i just laugh it off, true enough i strike 4D 1st prize tat week. heheee...

leooh,
enci wouldn't flip in dreambag? so good... chloe can still flip or sleep sideway or turn 180deg in her dreambag leh.

ythanhn,
heheheh yep indonesian also said seeing snake = lucky, but I would be so frightened I'd have heart attack before can get lucky hihihi.. wah 4D 1st prize!!

Is that big lizard what u meant??

nining,
yeah.. duno what's the exact english for it. let's call it 3ft big lizard.

3ft big lizard in factory toilet... black snake in my hse... everytime scared by lizards... hb said i always have the luck to see all these. choy...

goldpiggy,
i stay hosp for 1wk oso cos begins with waterbag leak but my bill not so ex lah cos i opt for 4 bedder n free upgrade to 2 bedder at tmc.. cant rem how much liaoz cos hubby pay for all haha but confirm less than $10k :p

xman,
if u go fox sales next tues, pls update any gd buys for boys hor hehe thks

nining
i think it's the stages they go through. last time we got stuck at taka for so long cos the store assistants were playing with her and she was happily responding. until we want to leave and they offer to polish hubby's new bag we JUST bought. lol now even in the lift, people try to coo her and she just stare at them like "i dont know you, what you want?" so pai seh some time.

one leg in front, one behind easier to balance. hee

mathias is taken already, shannon will hold on to him tightly. :D

angeline
you never take out and try again? paige has 3 sleep bags and now she twist and turn always get popian inside. if not you keep the sleep bag for next bb lor.

leooh
can, paige can only handle one boy at a time. must ask shannon too. haahaa did you get your wipes? now shopbug having sale, cheaper than cheong choon.

nining
i think VIA cups are BPA free?? aren't they? tot they are on the list on the link i posted?

wow, like that my hospital bill v exp. i think mine was 7k.

ytanhn
many places have medela bottles. Mums &amp; babes definitely have, kiddy palace and Robinsons should have too.

The thread running so fast worh...have not been in for a day or 2, gosh..takes me 1hr + to catch up...

Nining

I like to see yr conversation, very funny...kekeke..

About extracting phelgm from babies

I use to work as a part-time clinic assistant in a GP clinic for about 10yrs or so, only stop after my 1st boy turns 1yrs old and need more time with him...as the clinic was near to my house before I got married, its just opposite TMC, so it was so convenient for me to earn some extra cash...I have seen so many babies in the clinic being suck by my doc using the suction machine he has in the clinic and I also need to help him hold those babies down...usually we will ask their mummy to stay outside while my doc do the job with me, scared those mummies heartpain mah...its really sad to see babies suffer lor...but I have use to it liao..even seeing blood all the time working there as my doc also do minor procedures for patient there..lately when Chloe is sick with lots of phelgm, I also use Cin's method to loosen her phelgm, my doc also taught patient to do that, it really help lor...

Leooh/ Angeline,

I have got Chloe the dreambag ,she is ok to be in it leh...I guess 0.5tog is good enough cos she is afraid of heat...I wear for her cos she like to kick away her blanky and we sleep in aircon room mah...

Jete

Lucky U, paige still can have her 30mons nap, for Chloe her pattern have change a lot, day time only 10-15mins...the most is 1hr when kor kor Javier is in school... and she is very cranky lately, need people to carry her all the time, but funny thing is when people carry her, she want to get down to the ground, like very clever..want to walk...so we put her in the walker, she likes to cruise ard the whole house, even the kitchen, seems she is pretty slow cos she cant crawl yet and sitting position, she will fall side ways at time, so far only can see 1 tooth and 2nd is on the way out.

Jete,

Avent bottles cant use ahh?? Medela bottles have wide neck type that can fit avent teats?? If need to change I jialat liao...I have over 20 avent bottles that I use to store EBM for Chloe and she use that to drink also...how huuh?

Jete,
didnt see avent VIA is BPA free leee.. alamak my eyes must be crossed hahahah.. Phew lucky I havent thrown away those VIA cups cos i still use to keep Ike's porridge for the day, cook 1 time in morning, then keep in fridge for 3 meals, mixed with the frozen puree just before serving.. Oh ya, which Pigeon is BPA free? I try to avoid the glass bottle cos Ike will manage to break it for sure..

Hahahah Mathias is taken by Shannon!!! And Paige can only handle one boy at a time!!!! So funny hahahaha...
Re- Ike size, my gynae was also surprise cos she said she expected GD babies are big in tummy only and that will reduce fast enough if baby is not diabetic.. but Ike is basically big bones laaa.. can see just after born, not chubby at all!! She said I had good combo between relaxing and concentrating when pushing, so between full dilation to Ike popped up only took like 20 min or so, but between induce to Ike popped out 28 hrs.. She said it could ve been shorter if I didnt fell asleep during dilation process (cos was given epi and sucking N20, really made me sleepy hihihi) U know when the midwives were looking for the vacuum and the stuffs for assisting delivery, I overheard it and was pushing harder cos I dun want assisted delivery, scary!! Somemore SGH being a learning hospital, got few angmoh medicine students, gynae-to-be, observing me , of course my gynae asked they can join in the delivery room for observation or not, hubby and I didnt mind.. so there were them, like at least 3 more ppl in room just observing.. hahahaha..

Adeline,
hehehe me no clown hooor..
Chloe oredi said papa mama right? Ike just scream for me or Rich.. duuuh!!!

hi jete
congrats on paige able to sit. she is still very chubby isnt she?
hey gal, realise your posts is in the middle of the nite. u need not sleep? or u wakiing up to pump milk?

yo mummies
can help me with 2 questions?

1) have u all start brushing your babies' teeth? how eh?

2) do u sterilise the spoons, plates n drinking cups that your babies use?

thanks! aug mummies the best! :p

nining
here right?
http://www.squidoo.com/nontoxicbabybottles

since i had GD, my ob est paige to be 3.4kg. came out only 2.8kg she was so surprise. worse is paige was smaller than expected but still cannot come out and i had to have a emergy c.

i heard that porridge is not good to eat when cold, be it left for a while or fridge. create wind in the tummy. that's why i only give paige 1 meal of porridge cos i dont have the time to cook it twice. if not have to get one of the thermal chef thingy to keep the porridge warm. if you want to feed more meals of porridge, maybe you can consider getting that. we use it for my grandma and it is good. i just cant use it cos i cannot handle stove top cooking, even if it is just for 15 mins.

adeline
just got to keep trying diff things and see what can get her to sleep longer. not say can use or cannot use, just your take on the BPA free issue.

cin
thanks. i think chubby is her middle name now. ;)

i usually sleep quite late, hubby and i are always night owls. previously got to stay up to pump. now sleeping earlier but prob late to many people.

1. haven't started brushing paige's 2 teeth.

2. i don't sterilize her bowl and spoon but i do rinse it with hot water (handy to have air pot) before i use them.

hi all!
was at KK visiting a friend who's abt to deliver.. now only 33 weeks but contractions started to bed-ridden and playing the waiting game. passed byt he nursery and saw all the tiny babies! reminded me of the time when one of those babies in the nursery was mine.. hee...

ytanhn,
u mean was it a water moniter lizard u saw?
its common in sg n msia..

i always see them flattened on roads while driving and i try to siam .. dont want a piece of flesh on my tyres! urgh!

jete,
i'm thinking of cooking double portion or porridge and leaving a second portion in the slow cooker on low heat for the whole day til dinner. but i'm not going to start him on 2 porridge meals yet too .. too boring.. now he gets to eat porridge in the afternoon with a fruit puree and then cereal and another fruit+ veg puree for dinner. more convenient for us too since we're out almost every night ..

nining,
wow ike's such a big baby!! jereth was only 2.5 .. but then he was only in his 35th week when he decided to come out lah.. he looks so poor thing all in tubes..
i think if there were other ppl observing me, they'd have been freaked out by my screaming..haha.. mine was drug free and my labour was only 4 hrs from 0cm to 10 cm.. the super fast dilation hurt like mad!!

cin,
good to hear that u both are well! scary experience isn't it? thankfully all turned out well..!

magical
i find it weird to eat fruity puree with porridge so i give paige a fruit puree with cereal in the afternoon then at night she gets porridge with a vege puree. i ask myself if i want to eat pear puree with porridge. hee

it has been said that prolong cooking will cause the food to lose the nutrients. i dont really believe that but it's one school of thoughts.

hi jete!
haha.. i dont give him fruit porridge! his lunch porridge is prepared with meat, ikan bilis and vege. after he finishes the porridge then i give him a fruit puree seperately, like dessert. i don't think i want pear porridge too! =D

i'll ask my dietician friend abt prolonged cooking and nutrients and update u again

jete, how you cook the porridge? Fish or pork. I want those very mashed porridge but hor, mine when cooked always become rice..haha, my hubby want to faint..

The bottles, means to feed them or to fill with EBM one? Am using medela bottles ( that comes with the pump ) to store milk in freezer, is that safe? Drinking bottle i use NUK..is that all right?

Golg piggy, did you use new rice? If you use new rice, shld be very very mashed. I use new rice and cook for 2 hrs, then add brown rice and meat/fish.

gold piggy,
if it ends up as rice then u havent added enough water. just add 3 more times as much water as you would for rice.

jete,
i checked with my friend already. vege nutrients will def go coz its water soluble n cannot stand high heat. so adding at the last min is right.

for meat, the B vitamins will go but protein and iron still remains so no problems with prolonged cooking. for ppl who take out the meat, and feed only the porridge, baby doesnt get the protein and iron.

Hi Everyone..brought Mathias to Kidslink again today cos he still has lots of phlegm and mucus..and the worse part is that as of yesterday..he has been having diarrhea..*sigh*

Dr says the diarrhea might be caused by the virus entering his gut..so right now his intestines and stomach are at a very sensitive stage so she gave me liquid probiotics ot feed to him daily..and some chalky brown powder to mix w water (supposed to be the babay version of charcoal pills).

for the first time in 8mths, my dear boy hasnt been finishing his milk and hasnt been crying for his milk at all..Im the one who realises that "eh? 4hrs already..better feed him.." B4 this he was always an "alarm clock" when it came to feeding time since birth. the past 2 days he only drank a total of abt 300ml of milk each day with maybe 2 feedings of porridge/ cereal(which he doesnt finish either) ..Dr says he's supposed to be taking at least 600-700ml of milk + at least 2 full meals a day..food has never been his enemy..I dont know whats happening..he doesnt even want to latch on much nowadays..esp when he's having block nose..

Dr says he has some phlegm in his lungs but not very serious yet so no need to suck out. she gave me new medicine to liquidfy the phlegm and another medicine to open up his airways.really hope he gets well soon...

nining,

I couldnt post on Spree thread so I had to PM icesnow abt the Discovery ball..in the end..waiting list
Should have asked u all to order for me...

Talking abt studio shoots..my cousin said that there was once she was called up and offered a free photoshoot for her family (her kids, hubby and her) then they went there expecting to have to end up paying a few hundread bucks lah (cos she knows nothing is ever free) but in the end, the package the ppl were promoting was $2000plus!! Machiam wedding photoshoot like that...crazy!!

Oh yah, in case any of u wanna get costumes for your photoshoots, my friend might start doing a BP..she ask me help her cos she say North east area alot of mommies so she want me to help her with the meet-ups.. she showed me some pics on Weds..it was more of animal costumes...think it cost abt $30 p/outfit (inclusive of shipping)....Will keep u all updated when she post the thread in case u all are interested. cos she say now she very BZ with her previous BP..Hope she does it soon cos I wanna buy costume for Mathias
hehe!!

xman,
saw the address liao..thanks! I thk I'll go on thurs...or Weds...let me know if they have boys stuff k? Wait I go in the end all girl's clothes

Nining,
Mathias also was induced to come out earlier cos he was too big already.induced 3 1/2 weeks earlier and he was 3.878kg at birth! Also natural.. *shake hands*