(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

GOldPiggy,
welcome back.. I received the package
thanks v much!!

hello mommies..
duh I MIA for so long and cannot keep up oredi..
So Ike now is 8.4 Kg, 68 cm.. he slows down to grow I guess cos he is much less interested in milk.. so sad.. but well I want him to be active so guess lesser weightt as long as healthy is good..

Jete,
try to go out the simple way first like go to neighbourhood shop etc just walk there.. do a mini trip like 2 hrs or so so you dont need to bring pump and just need to bring 1 feeding. from there u can add on.. I do that when hubby is travelling cos Ike needs to get out at least once a week.. else he will terrorize me kakakaka...

chatty, thanks. yeah, think will try the doctor trick again: plan to bring MIL along the next time we see the PD, let her hear it herself from the doctor's mouth. Was telling my husband that I've never heard of anyone who wants to delay giving semi-solids till 8 mths though...

mornin marmie...
wat a tired day for me..
ethan wake up @ 4am tis mornin..
n refuse to get back to bed..

giving him my BM, he dun wan.. pat him to bed, he also dun wan..
haiz.. until 4.30am.. no choice ask my maid to get up n make FM for him..
end up, he fall aslp while hvin his milk..

chatty

curriculum planning and development division

hmmm canm't bear to leave them behind,but i really don't want to study in singapore...

adeline

really ah?then guess it'd be better to buy from ebay right?

pst
i think this is paige's growth spurt. everyone who sees her the first thing they say is her chubby cheeks.

not going to try to latch her on any more. she bites and doesnt want to let go. ;)

Adeline,

i've rented a bumbo for Jaeden, returning it this friday. His thighs can't really fit already. like what i've described before, have to pull the middle stump to one side, slide the thigh in and then pull the stump to the other side and slide the thigh in, in the beginning.

now its tightly wrapping around his thighs..

chatty
she sure likes spanking, the harder the better. of course the spanking is prob absorb by her diaper!

wah, paige caught up with james already? i remember at the gathering james was almost 6.3kg give or take? and paige was still 5.6/5.8kg.

i was looking around at the mommies and babies in the prams recently and saw one baby with the legs hanging out of the seat when lying down. and i actually pointed it out to hubby and said the baby too big for the pram (was a combi). sound like that's what you're noticing with your new pram. is the size of the combi much smaller compare to other model or Maclaren Techno XT?

the peg perego i have is light but it is also bulky. hubby keeps telling me to buy a smaller/lighter pram so i can go out on my own. feel like such a waste of money cos then i know the peg perego will just be left in the house.

leooh
really? in HK? my friend is doing her phd in UK, but her kids are in primary school already. even with a helper, isn't it still quite tough for your MIL to take care of 2 kids? esp when their ages will be so close, still both needing quite a bit of attention.

hi i am from dec 2007 mums...
can anyone pls advise how frequent does your bb drink now? is it abt 4-6 times? so does that mean we only need to pump every 5-6hrly (ie 4-5 times a day) as compare to every 2-3 hrly when they r newborn?

Pls advise. kind of cant stand d sleepless nights of pumping... feel like giving up bf already. anyone here alrwady stop bf and can share w me when n how u stop?

million thks!!!

hi woof
yes leh, i diligently wipe n clean the ext of titus's ears everyday. i also help him to dig his nose cos if there is snort there he wont be able to latch well cos he will swallow air n gets colicky.

hi jete
how many 30 mins nap does your baby take each day? if its once in the morning n afternoon, i know it can be quite tiring for me cos titus is like that. if he is up, he needs my attention all the time. how i wish he can sleep longer in the afternoon at least i can nap with him at the same time.but i have lost that luxury.

u have so many dogs at home! how u manage your dogs n baby? who bathe the dogs? do they shed alot of fur? mine does n his fur is everywhere.

why dun u drive your hb to work in the morning n at least u can have the car for the rest of the day.it takes courage to bring baby out alone. first u have to make sure u know where the nursing room is n secondly where the lifts are. i dun dare to use the escalators with the pram cos mine is very heavy.

i have a helper at home n i am very grateful to her. she doesnt help me with titus but at least she helps with all the general housework, feed my dog n cooking. me n my hb feels that we shd look after titus by ourself esp so that i am not working.

hi ah gal
we going to miss u when u start work. 1st few days dun surf too much in the office.hah!

hi ocean
yah, time flies. imagine 3 years ago at this time i was doing my solemnisation. 3 years later now i am rocking titus while surfing net. the best part of the marriage is giving birth to titus.

hi mudpie
if u find details of gym for babies, share with me ok?looks like we cant go botanical garden these 2 weeks. it has been raining everyday!

hi pst
u used to work in raffles place? i missed working there. the lunch time shopping plus the many cafes n the crowd!

dun envy me abt the long time titus sleeps every nite. though it seems long from 8pm to 7 am. but the actual fact is like this: 8pm to 9 pm n 5 to 6 am sleeps on my arm 1st before putting in the cot.he atill wakes up at 11 pm, 2 am n 5 am for milk.really looking fwd he turn 6 mths. by then can bring him out to play in gym, swimming n take semi solids. hope his sleeping pattern will change then.

cradle cap
do they appear again? i thought titus's cradle cape was gone for a mth already n now its back again. it doesnt help that he realises he has fingers n he has been using them to scatch his head resulting them coming off like dandruff. his scalp is now abit raw at the area where he scatch.

chatty: it was about a PD whom I've seen him since my girl's discharge after delivery. Gave the wrong diagnosis on my girl being allergic to cow's milk thus kana constipation cos gotta drink soy milk and me dumping all my ebm away cos I drank fresh milk..

An_gal: I pm u liao..

Angeline: I'm not sure how long James is now, guess I have to go home and measure the Combi pram to know.

Jete: According to Winnie of Cheong Choon, Maclaren Techno XT is slightly longer but same width as Combi. For that little extra length, you pay extra $90...Guess there's no such thing as a perfect pram lor....

Paige isn't so petite afterall : ) James' intake seems to have plateaued at 6 ounces max per feed. However, he's just as healthy and active as ever, so I guess nothing to worry about.

Lilyn: Yee Heng looks so happy in the sling : )

Jang: Bumbo seat sounds painful for Jaeden...ouch!

Leooh: I've just started night classes (teaching and studying) this week, and its tough to be away from James so much! I feel like I'm missing out so much on his growing up, even though he's benefitting from Infantcare and time spent with his Po Po and daddy. I was going to do 3 nights, but now, I'm thinking of just doing 2 nights for this term...

Cin: Cradle cap is sometimes an allergic reaction, esp if its itchy. Better check with doctor to see what can be done, eg. change shampoo or feed etc. If not, it'll just keep coming back again and again.

Zhuzhu: Oh dear. What a waste of EBM. Luckily problem has been resolved already.

Pst: The doctor trick always works for me : )

Keki: One month old babies drink very often, sometimes as often as every 2 hours. However, take heart, for as they grow, their stomachs can take in more milk and the intervals between feeds will also grow. I would suggest latching on for now, as it would be less tiring than pumping, washing and sterilizing...If its really too exhausting, you could consider going on partial BF, like what I did, i.e. BF in the day and give FM for last feed at night, so that baby sleeps for longer period of time at night. Take care and jia you!

Chatty,

No problem

Anyone bought training pants? What is it for har? Is it useful for our babies at this current stage?

helo jang

u got big baby that is why thighs got stuck. i dun like the bumbo seat cos it doesnt give me the assurance that titus is comfy in it. he keeps slouching either sideway or infront. dun like him to sit too long in it. going to sell it once he overgrown it.

hey jang, is that u or jo who has a stationary walker at home? i have the same one too. but can your baby's feet touched he bottom?

hi angeline
my mum bought it for me. its organic brown rice n its vacuum packed. i will check the brand for u later cos i am rocking titus in this rocker now while surfing.

hi lilyn
is your sling a peapod? i have that too but mine getting small. thought of getting a bigger n more colourful one. does yeeheng likes to be in there? quite crammed rite?hb prefers me to use bjorn than sling. but frankly, i prefer neither cos heavy.

hi jete
i m using peg perego too. its heavy but sturdy. i dun like light pram cos it might not be able to absorb the bounce n shock when we push the pram n might be uncomfy for baby. but its really heavy esp to put it back into the car.

cin,
dun be guilty about tea! i drank coffee a couple of times cuz i was being woken up so often by the lil rascal!
i'm taking supplements (when i remember) ..blackmores, for preggies and BF..

jete,
which combi chair issit? this one perhaps?
http://www.taising.com/Combi/Combi_EnjoymeR1.jpg

still looking around to see what i should get...tempted to buy 2nd hand but then i can't try it out to see if yee heng likes it..maybe i'll go today and let him try a couple b4 buying a 2nd hand one..we need to get 2 so i don't want to end up spending a bomb!

Cin,

Im wanted to buy organic brown rice too.
Please share more on the process of grinding. Ddi u mixed with some chinese herb?

cin, yeah used to work at raffles place. you're right, I miss the lunchtime shopping and the many eating places and cafes there. plus can run lotsa errands to banks/postoffice/m1. and near mrt station, can meet people at mrt stations if buy/sell anything. hiaz. now at science park so ulu. hahaha.

actually Isaac sleep from 9plus to 6/7am but his drinking pattern same as Titus. Isaac wakes up to drink at 11plus, 2plus and 5 plus too.

maybe titus' scalp dry? that's why itchy. try putting baby oil on it I guess.

Angeline: According to my colleague who has a Japanese wife and 2 kids, training pants are used only when you're training baby to use the potty. They have absorbent pads sewn in, in case of accidents, but I don't think they are as absorbent as diapers. I don't think they're useful at this stage as baby does not yet have bowel control.

Lilyn: Not easy to find second-hand Combi chair, so it may be good if you post on WTB board...but good idea to try it out first. However, I notice that some of our Aug mummies let their babies try the chairs etc out, and babies liked it then but not later. Guess babies have moods too! In James' case, anything new is fun... : ).

pst,
apparently one reason to start with solids is cuz there may no be sufficient iron in BM..at least that's what i've read fr some places..u can tell ur MIL that! :p

chatty,
james is taking so much more per feed! yee heng takes max of 4 oz a feed..and even that's a struggle...grrr...when did james start with 6oz?

cin,
i've been using cetaphil for yee heng's scalp and his cradle cap is pretty much all gone! it was pretty bad b4 so i'm super happy! now i'm considering shaving him bald cuz i love the bald look on bubs! hehe...i use the no water method, cuz that's more moisturising (i don't put on extra moisturiser after that)

cin,

not sure if you are referring to my activity center. It is stationery and baby can sit in it to play the toys attached. Something like the exersaucer..

The cloth where he sits is adjustable, so i adjusted to the height where Jaeden's feet can tough the bottom.

cin,
mine's a lucky baby sling...was using the MIM one but i didn't like the rings esp with the cradle position..he loved the MIM one despite looking pretty cramped..so i decided to get this pouch one..it's a lucky baby one that i bought 2nd hand off another mum..pretty happy with it since it cost $25 postage inclusive!

Cin,
Reading abt the Jade pendant reminds me of my troubles w my MIL...it really sucks!! But now, I just zip my mouth no matter what she does/say..easier that way. The ear wax bit is damn funny..

Jo,
Mathias also likes to see pretty girls on tv..cos Im usually watching MTV..when its a normal MTV he doesnt give it his 100% attention but when its like some sexxy MTV like britney spears or somethinf he'll be oogling! Oh My!!!

Choco,

I've registered for the NTUC gift..what is it actually?? Haha!! SImply register without knowing what it is...jial lat..

Jete,
I always walk to the MRT with Mathias when I bring him out...and we usually take the LRT from COve if Im bringing him to Punggol Plaza.. hm....If I really end up being a SAHM I'll ask u out then at least u have some company to bring Paige out
for me, Im used to bringing Mathias out on my own cos my HB is always working...

Lilyn: James has been taking 6 ounces for over a month, and no increase since then...

Good to know that Yee Heng's cradle cap is gone, but u mean to say you don't rinse off the cetaphil cleanser with water but just leave it on? I used to put cetaphil moisturizer on James' scalp, after washing with cetaphil cleanser.

Sounds like the pouch is easier to use than the MIM sling.

at least u all can use pouch/sling for ur babies..mine doesnt want to be placed into anything when carried *sigh*

Mel,

i think you can try the puoch/sling a few more times. when ur baby gets used to it, he will like it. Jaeden screams the first few times i use the bjorn and sling, but subsequently he is ok with it..

Chatty,

Oic, then no point buying so early.
Will wait till he ready for potty training

Sunbloom,

Thanks for sharing

chatty,
re:cetaphil..i just wipe off the excess when i shampoo him...saw the instructions on the back of the bottle so i tried it...the water method wasn't working for him then so figured this may help..his scalp not stinky anymore!

mel,
i had yee heng in some kind of a sling thing from pretty early on, was using the infantino carrier initially, which only allows the cradle position on the sling but he started to want to look outside so that's when he graduated to the MIM sling..i found it too cumbersome tho, esp since its so bulky i can't exactly stuff it into my handbag..maybe try to use the sling when ur little one is in a good mood (full n not too tired?)..cuz when we initially tried the MIM sling he wasn't too pleased with it either...but grew to love it!

mel,

hahahah! Don't know whether to laugh or cry right?? Now I've resorted to covering Jed's eyes with my hand when some skimpily dressed woman is gyrating on the screen. ;D

jo,
haha..my hubby and yee heng are in cahoots when it comes to scantily dressed women! daddy will tell him to check out the "chio bu" on the telly!!! and his godfather is promising to take him out partying to pick up chicks and teach him the good pick-up lines...*rolls eyes*

i console myself by saying that he doesn't know what he's looking at yet..just lots of flashing images and lights..and that he doesn't understand language that well!! :D

lilyn,

have thought of taking the MRT but I need to take a bus first! And I have no idea how to get on the bus carrying Jed and the heavy stroller.... sigh....

it'll be great to have a car then I can load him into the carseat and then put the stroller into the boot. But that's not a financially viable option! ;P

re:stroller
my capella stroller is good but heavy too... I have a hand-me-down super light combi that I can hang on my forearm but i find it so flimsy... plus looks very miserly compared to the capella one... heh heh.... so vain....

jo,

to me, i feel that if we would to bring bb out alone without car and hubby..best is to use carrier....i am using a ergo carrier and it is easy to move around with the carrier...

re: semi-solids

be very careful when introducing semi-solids for the first time as it may affect the bb's poo pattern.

I learnt the hard way these two weeks....

Jed's been taking about one tablespoon of baby rice/puree once a day. He loves to eat from the spoon and is very good at swallowing... but I did not realize that his digestive system is not really ready for all that. I even added one more tablespoon when he 'asked' for more.

First he didn't poop for 2 days. Then he didn't poop for 3. Because of that, he was so difficult to handle. Was constantly whining, squirming, arching his back, crying from all the poo and gas in his tummy. I had to feed lots of water, some gripe water and give him mint oil tum massages before it all came out.

I've learnt to take it reeeeeal slow now... gonna stop semis today and tmr, and then just give 2 teaspoon of very very runny puree. I intend to add to the consistency and amount only when he resumes to pooping everyday.

Anyone having the same probs?

wiselyn,

I'm using the combi carrier too. But because Jed is so heavy (8.5kg), I can't carry him for long in that! The most can only go to the stores, buy lunch and groceries and walk around the park. That's about 1.5 hours only... doubt I can make the trip to town and go shopping with him strapped to me...

Jo,
Combi strollers are very expensive! lucky u that u got a hand-me-down!
how about taking a cab to the MRT station? cheaper than taking cab all the way to where u need to go but still costs a bit.. but i do believe u need to treat urself a little on occasion..

lilyn,

Jed is not taking to the bottle well... I've not started him on it formally, using it only to feed water. He doesn't resist the bottle but he can't seem to suck much out of it. He'll just twirl the teat around in his mouth... and after sucking a long while, he can only drain 10 ml. Sigh....

Kindermusik Class

Any mummies interested to go for the above trial class? I have called them up and was told if we can form 12 babies, than they can start a weekend trial class of 45mins for us. If we are interested to continue, the class can carry on for a term (I think is 8 to 12 weeks, need to confirm). The fees for trial class is $25.50.

Interested please put your name here:
1) Alsie

lilyn,

don't think it's expensive lah... it's at least 8 years old liao... it's the 'umbrella' type. :D :D

I find even taking cab troublesome... cos have to carry Jed, then fold the stroller myself for the uncle to load into his boot.

Haha... excuses excuses..

u mummies are very brave to bring ur baby out alone!!
I dun know how to do it and unless hb is with me I wun bring baby out..