(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

zhuzhu,
didn't know Oregon dun have to pay tax.
never buy thru VPOST before though i long have their account.
have u bought anything via VPOST?
is it cheaper to consolidate many orders (like those in SMH Overseas Spree) than if we were to order items for ourselves only???

bliss: anything u buy in US need to pay state tax. except some state are exempted from tax.. oregon is one of them. u can google for it.

Actually i nvr purchase anything before lah.. I guess is cheaper for consolidation for shipping charges but u still gotta pay for weight. So u only save on shipping for BP..

zhuzhu,
besides the first few jabs done in the hospital, i brought baby to GP for all other jabs. much cheaper cos no consultation fees, same kinda jabs.

Hi all! Am at library now with jereth n posting this on my e65. Haha.. if this posting looks like an sms its coz i'm typing on my phone. Jereth is now sleeping thru the night without feeds! Last feeding at 10 or 11 n lasts until morning at 8 or so! He goes back to sleep after milk until 11 or 12 before waking n i bathe him. Yayy! He takes 160ml per feeding now. But he flips in his sleep n calls for help so gotta get up, flip him back n i can go back to zzz.. Ok will post more at home. Difficult to type on phone n my thumb is aching liao. Sigh.. Whole body aching from bowling on sat night.. So difficult to carry him now coz right arm n back of thighs aching like mad.. Regret regret.

pooh, don't say that lah.
How's ethan today? And more importantly, how are you?

chatty, yeah... i know I should use the lightweight stroller but it doesn't recline, has no proper shading... think Jed won't feel comfortable in it for long too... neither would he be able to sleep. My boy is the type who doesn't sleep easily. Needs familiar surroundings, comfort blankie and bolster and his bedtime friends (pooh bear, piglet and tigger!) ;D Anyway, I think I will try to bring him to town with stroller on a cab when he turns 6 months. Must challenge myself!

jete, high five! I think I'm the type who can stay at home too... there are so many things to do besides housework and Jed. I can think of a thousand things to craft and another thousand things to learn online and yet another thousand books to read. Arrrrghhh! So many things to do and so little time! :D :D

magical, congrats wor! Jereth has always been an angel baby.
I would be very thankful if Jed wakes up after 7am! And once he wakes up in the morning, he won't go back to sleep. His next nap would be at 10am earliest. Imagine me looking like a grey hag entertaining him with my morning breath while he's bright as sunshine. ;D

Jo: I think if I go out with James alone and he cries and cries, I would surely panic...on Christmas day, I had visitors at home and 5 children (3 belonging to my friend, and 2 to my neighbours) came dashing into my room while I was feeding James, and he was so disturbed he cried and cried non-stop. Finally, I had to chase the 5 kids out of the room, but he still didn't stop screaming his head off for half an hour...I really panicked, coz I had no way of calming him down and my guests were all waiting downstairs. Finally, my friend came up to see if she could help. The moment she picked James up, he stopped crying and looked at her in shock with his mouth and eyes wide open...

jo,
have not tried bringing baby out on the stroller alone before cos i dun even know how to use the stroller! hubby has been doing all the folding and unfolding!

an_gal/bliss,
thanks for the info. i bought some mini plastic containers which i intend to use for freezing puree and then double sealed with ziplock bag. maybe try out first and hopefully no smell. so excited...

pst,
i'm so honoured when u said sit down with a cup of milo and read my blog. hope u will enjoy reading with my 'half pail water' english
hahaa..

btw, i've read from many articles that it is not adviseable to start bb on solids too late cos once they reached 6mths, milk alone is not sufficient to make them full and not enough nutrients too. here's an extraction from the book "what to expect"
- waiting too long, until late into the second half of the first year can also lead to potential pitfalls. an older baby may resist being taught the new tricks of chewing and swallowing solids, preferring to cling to the tried-and-true (and easy) methods of tummy satisfaction; nursing or bottle feeding. and like habits, tastes may be tougher to change at this point and may not be as open to opening wide for solids when he or she is so used to liquids. -

chatty: ur description of what happened is reli funny leh.. mouth open wide..

Bliss: I know how to use my stroller but hor I only know how to use the escalator gg up not down.. so scared..

zhuzhu,
dun quite get you...
i was told by Doc and nurses that the jabs given are basically the same. u mean if the same, u rather go to Polyclinic cos cheaper???

zhuzhu,

i bought it from my church friend who sells online, she is selling at $182 if i did not rememeber wrongly...i have seen people using it to carry their child of one to two yrs old...

Bliss: Of all the strollers I've tried, I think Graco is the easiest to fold and unfold, literally 1-step mechanism. Combi is not bad as well, though I have to lock the 2 front wheels to stop them from swivelling before I can fold it up. However, once you learn the trick, its quite easy. Just need to practice lor...

zhuzhu,
haha! for me, i dun even dare to push the stroller up or down the escalator (even travelator)! hubby will do it. i have no strength and always feel like i'll fall backwards or forwards! flat ground is fine though hehe...

ytanhn,
wa u bought mini plastic containers ah.
then if you need a little amount, how to scoop the frozen puree from it?

chatty,
i think mine is very easy to fold, it's me who is very LAZY! never bother to even try try see how. haha! but if hubby goes overseas this Feb, i'll be forced to learn to fold it for the first time!

by the way, have u bought it? or decided which one to get?

an_gal,
one thing good abt jap company is the bonus and increament i heard.

jete,
true.. cabs are so expensive now, especially from town area during peak hour. goshh... mostly now i die die also take train if hb not around. one thing good abt bjorn chloe is there is always someone offering their seats to me, much better treatment than during pregnant time.

ocean,
in fact all already packed nicely for u including the pampers, just waiting for ur sms.. hehee..

chatty,
i agree with u tat it is rather difficult to push the pram when we position the baby facing us. i chose mine bcos of this function but end up paying more money for something which i dun use. luckily it was a gift.

Bliss: Yes, I've bought the Combi Enjoy Me stroller, but I think its a bit on the small side, though lightweight and convenient to use. Regret not actually taking a second look at it with baby before ordering it.

Ytanhn: So you actually intended to buy it, but ended up having someone buy it as a gift for you? This reversible handle function is useless.

pst,
yeah.. the doctor trick sure works. i remember someone said in this forum 'lao gun ta kai'. that's what i always say to my mum and that 'lao gun' is myself.. hahaa..

jete,
ur peg perego is it the smaller version which costs around $360+/-? i'm considering that but chloe is not very keen in stroller yet she's getting too heavy for me to bjorn her. last mth just sold my rarely-used peg perego p3 which is 8.5kg. 4kg should be fine for me since my combi is already 4.5kg... hhmmm maybe can consider selling my combi liaoz..

zhuzhu,
i'm also scare to push my stroller escalator down.

chatty,
practise makes perfect. now i can easily handle my combi with 1 hand. i was the one choosing it but my sis paid for it... good hor..

bliss,
good question on the scooping out of the frozen puree!!! i've no idea yet.. but i've also bought ice tray for standby.. heeheee... super kia su..

pooh,
don't say that..u feeling ok? think maybe u could be feeling a lil ignored cuz no one responded to ur prev post issit? to be honest, the thread runs so fast that its hard to keep up with who said what half the time! hope u and ethan are well!

our lil family went on outing to compass point at sengkang just now..on a whim just decided to shave lil yee heng's head (his first haircut!) at the malay barber..but he cried and cried! think he didn't like the sound of the electric shaver..ended being a lil patchy cuz we just wanted it over and done with (think hubs was a lil traumatised and felt super guilty cuz he was in charge of holding the fella whilst the barber cut his hair)...so just now i shaved him with daddy's shaver whilst he was in a better mood (was nursing so quite content) and now he's got a SHINY lil bald head! HAHA! looks like little monk/ "xiao he shang"! keke..good thing we shaved him in a way, cuz he had a bit of cradle cap lingering and we were finally able to get rid of all of it (i didn't even realise there still was any)

(loh,i'm not worried about him licking the cetaphil off..i think the residue is moisturising and anyways, he can't really reach his scalp w his fingers to transfer the stuff to his mouth!
even with the no water method, it just feels like he's had a normal shampoo with a water rinse-off...so think of the cetaphil as regular moisturiser that we rub into bb's skin!)

oh, also checked out kiddy palace for high chairs whilst we were there..the combi one they had on discount was only a 3 point restraint..not good for my mr. wiggly worm!think i may get the Combi EnjoymeR1 instead..jete/chatty, think this is the model u gals have yes?how much did u ladies pay for it btw?

Hi mummies, good evening again. Been out the whole day today, went to see a chinese physician in the morning and then brought Aidan to see Prof Lee at Mt E.

Jete, I've checked with prof Lee on when to start bb with semi-solid, she said that in fact, I can start now. She checked through the boy and don't think that by starting him on semi-solid before 6 mth will cause any allergies. In fact, his weight is on the lower side, he's only 6.3kg at 5mth, so, it would be good for me to start him with rice cereal now.

I like her, as she's very detailed and clear with her answers to all my questions.

Noticed that alot of you mummies are letting bbs watch BB Einstein's DVDs. Saw on their website that they hve a variety of different DVDs, can anyone recommend which one should I get for Aidan?

Chatty, read abt your disappointment with the new Combi stroller, I'm also considering that, but thought will pop by Tai Sing to have a look at the actual thing and let Aidan try in it first. Also want to look at the high chair you mentioned. Am also considering Aprica or McClaren strollers.

cin, are you sending your bb for the swimming lesson?? If so, let me know. We can sign up together.

I really find it difficult to keep up with the thread, it's really going so fast, only hve time to just browse through.

HI any mummy anyonw interested burberry blue bag. My cousin study in Japan and would like to sell in singapore. If you all are interested..drop me the model to this email [email protected] i will get her to quote e price.

angeline,
icic, i thought u hav lobang for training pants.. tink no need 2 buy 1st lah.. for us still can wait hehe..

zhuzhu,
don angry, luckily ur gal is ok liaoz..
siong leh, everything oso mus double.. i oni scared i work 2wks then jobless again, then waste $$ ah hehe

bliss,
the company say work 2wks to try out for both parties, at least i don like can leave after 2wks, of cos if i'm suitable and ok will continue lol.. then end of my job search hehe..
haa u oso dono hw 2 use ur stroller, me too !!! somemore the stroller so heavy, i no strength haha

woof,
after zhuzhu say so funi abt ur blog, i went in to c, haha realli jin funi keke..

ytanhn,
yeah.. me oso will be starting to freeze puree liaoz wen i start work real soon.. mayb this wkn if free can try out, next few days will b veri bz, alot of tings 2 settle b4 i start wok next tues

jap company bonus n increment gd?? realli.. i shall c.. but heard more of the negatives of jap company lol

pooh,
wat happen?

i had officially stop pumping on sunday... hubby bday haha wat a great date 2 remember hehe.. ss realli drop till no point to pump.. anyway starting work soon, sad tat cant tahan till 6mths but glad tat at least not so tiring and can concentrate on other tings..

wow,
really no time to come online as often as before...haiz...juggling b/w work and taking care of bb is no easy job!

xman,
tks

ocean,
if u can afford another one, why not?

jete,
bb on BM will bloom faster than those not on BM..carene is only 6.5kg at 4mth & 1wk

chatty,
how did u manage to convince ur hubby to buy combi stroller?

an_gal,
congrats on ur new job and hope everything turns up well for u. my friend works in a jap co., so far her bonus and increment quite up to her expectation.
u are great to have come this far on bf.

now that chloe is getting bigger and heavier, i'm considering getting peg perego aria one hand completo, weighing 5.8kg. i'll be using it alone most of the time, wondering if i can handle the weight cos i'm quite used to my current combi which is only 4.5kg. any comments?

zhuzhu,
i happened to capture tat moment and ask my hubby to fake it..haha

magical,
so nice rite? nid nt get up in the middle of the nite to do feeding..how i wish carene can sleep thur'

chatty,
wa...is ur friend very pretty? james muz be mesmerise by her beauty!

an_gal,
all the best to ur new job....aft ur start work, sure no time to come to forum as often as me liao

as for my "farni" post, it really coincident lah..so ask hubby to pretend a bit lor...

hi jo!
haha.. its good that jed is an early baby! eaasier for him when he starts school.. i think i'll have problems waking jereth up for school in a few years time.. but me n hubby are late sleepers and risers anyway, i guess it runs in the family..! so at least i get to sleep in til sometimes noon..
actually am quite thankful that jereth is quite easy to care for. except when he's throwing a tantrum! then i feel like throwing one too!

woof,
the time will come when carene will sleep thru! so good not to take up for night feedings although still gotta wake up to 'save' him from burrowing his head in between the cot mattress and the cot bumper. esp now he can creep already.. n he likes ppl to hold him u pto stand. in stroller also want to sit up.dowan to relax...dunno where he's anxious to go to.

pst,
juz read ur blog...wow..amazing man..even for the 2D1N, u are able to supply so much milk and got to lug them back...if i m still BFing my bb dun tink i m tat hardworking....me = lazy mama!

magical,
i guess human are curious...kids in sch oreadi haf inquring minds...nt to mention BABIES! inquring minds = KPO! haha

bliss: what i mean if the jabs are of the exact same type as polyclinic. cos like below 1 yr is different while polyclinic is 4-in-1 while GP is 6-in-1 so I will go for GP..

pst: can i have ur blog address?

an_gal: be more optimistic.. wun waste lah..

woof: muz find chance to find tat moment too..

ytanhn: I rather use the lift.. reli so scared do down den stroller go down too

Lilyn: Yes. I have the Enjoyme R-1 model. I bought it 2nd hand in an auction for $125. Helped another person get it 2nd hand from another seller for $130 with free toy thrown in. Both chairs were just a few months old as they were purchased only in May and Jun 07. Can put up a WTB thread or check the WTS boards.

Muddypie: I think it depends on your baby’s size. Mine is on the tall side, that’s why Combi is a bit small. The strollers you are considering are available in Isetan, Tangs, JL and Robinsons. No need to go to ulu places to see it.

An_gal: I wish someone out there should invent a automatic folding mechanism for stroller, i.e., just press button on remote control, and stroller folds its self, press another one, its unfolds, then use joy stick to control its forwards and backwards movements, and have sun or rain sensor so the correct shades will come down, and have auto escalator safe lock etc etc etc : )

Actually, its great that you’ve been able to bf for 5.5 months already, so give yourself a pat on the back! : )…it would be really awkward to start a new job and have to disappear to pump every now and then...impt to be practical lah.

Woof: I worked on convincing him slowly for many many months, hint here and there, complain that Graco is too heavy, praised Graco as being good stroller but too heavy…struggle with putting Graco into boot, told him his aunt and my cousin both started with Graco and in the end gave up, coz too heavy and cannot use for traveling so both switched to Combi, and finally got my friend, the mother of 3, who just returned from Europe, to tell him that its impossible to travel with Graco, and therefore impt to buy lightweight stroller…the crux came when I sprained my shoulder and we couldn’t fit stroller into boot with all my ILs’ luggage…long process lah, but worth it. Combi may be a bit small, but at least its manageable : )

My friend is attractive, charismatic, v. plump, and very experienced with babies…I guess if I were James, it would be very comfy to be carried and rocked by her. : )

Ytanhn: Why change from Combi to Peg Perago Aria, if the Combi still works well? Is Chloe too big to fit into Combi?

Magical: Your baby’s in a hurry to explore the world : )

xman,

you were asking abt the delivery charges on the toy?

It says "Courier fees will depend on where you live and are normally between $7 and $10."

magical,
Ike also like that nowadays hahahaha... very busy baby, places to go, people to see..

Jang,
I think I will queue for jumperoo too kekekek

mornin marmies,
hey.. sorie for the attitude yest.
a bit feel dw n din get enf slp yest.

reali sorie..

today ethan still wakin up at 4am,
dunno wat happen..
keep wakin up.. hv given him e milk n tryin to pat him to bed..
but he refuse..
end up e same, able to pat him to bed at 4.30am..

pooh,
does ethan take enough naps during daytime?

When Ike having tough time to sleep through, he will sleep on his dad's chest and won't wake up unless I take him from there.. THe body warmth and the sound of the heart soothes babies I think.. makes them feel secure as if they were in the womb..