(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

SAHMS: ytanhn, jete, muddypie, cin and I. Anyone else? Meeting up is a great idea!

And I salute all working mummies, esp those who ferry their precious one to and fro, before and after work! Cos I can remember how tiring working full time is... and you still have to take care of the little one night! Not to forget night feeds and then waking early the next morning to go to work.... I don't think I am able to do that....

Jo: Yes, James like his Combi High Chair and can sit in it for up for half an hour, esp. when he's watching his Baby Einstein DVDs, or if we're playing with him. Sometimes he'll even take his afternoon naps in it. So money well spent for me : ) I think yours must be the higher model coz the one I purchased was retailing at special offer price of $191. Taising lady told me that when new stock comes in, they will be selling it for $280, as China factory has raised its price!

I only bring James out when hubby is around to drive us all out. Furthest I've been is to push him in his stroller down the hill to the busstop to send off someone...

jete,

I am also guilty of letting Jed watch TV sometimes! ;P When I've exhausted my ideas and have no more strength to carry him around on 'house tours', I'll just sit him on my lap and we'll watch some taiwanese variety shows (Channel 52/54)! He seems to love it cos their variety shows are always so colourful, noisy and fun! And he seems extra interested when there are pretty girls on the show. *shake head*

Re: over stimulation
yeah... it's really hard sometimes and the worst thing is by the time you realize it, it's too late! When Jed gets tired, he will whimper and arch his back or try to twist away. Normally I will just carry him facing me so he could rest his head on my shoulders and shut off from the world while I carry and wind him down. What do you normally do with paige when she's over stim?

muddypie,

same same. Jed is on a 20-mins-an-activity (sometimes less!) cycle.

His 'programme' consists of walker, house tour, floor time, tummy time, chair, mummy's lap time, story books or baby piano, cot mobile, TV, feeding... etc... list is constantly reviewed and expanded! ;D Oh, I love to bring him to the park or to the shops around my place... can keep him occupied for one hour! Very worth it! heh heh...

An-gal,
Happy birthday to ur hubby!
At least u still go par tor at Junction 8. Me din even noe what is tat. It is more of family time rather than coupletime.
Btw, for all job, i think there is stress, jus a matter of degree of stress and the higher postion or pay u getting, stress doubled.. Really hard to get a decent job that required no thinking,ie. day to day jobs... Guess that's life!

Wow Jo,
Actually quite alot of things for Jed in compared to my Gracia. Think everyday she will be jus be watching us, ie watch jie jie playing, watch me pumping milk, watch tv with us, stare at ceiling and play alone with her hands and legs....
I only play with her for abt 10-15mins...
Jiat luck...

Chatty,
I really admire ur strong command of english.. Think u r those pple who can talk pple with flowery language, and even "scold" them politely!
Envy envy....

can't sleep for some reaason...and tonite is the 1st time in weeks that yee heng hasn't woken up every 1.5hrs! am torturing myself here, i swear!

cin,
i agree w chatty and jete...i think the older folks mean well..the jade piece can always be tucked into/under the bub's clothes, and at least if ur empress dowager sees it, she'll feel happy...parents/PILs can be surprisingly old-fashioned..e.g. when we got married, my mum wanted to give hubs a jade ring!! also for "protection" reasons..but i managed to persuade her not to (after a LOOOOOONG debate) despite her having already bought jade pieces from china to set into a ring! but at the end of the day, it is up to u..its tough being a DIL! t

chatty,
thanks for the recommendations...i thot i'd look at high chairs now cuz of the sales all over tha place..plus yee heng is so interested in sitting at the table with us! when we eat out, he doesn't want to stay in his stroller, but will happily sit on someone's lap to check out our food..i've let him sit in a couple of baby chairs at restaurants (padded with my MIM sling all around it) and he'll slump to one side like u said, but will be quite happy! i was thinking of getting a better brand, as it'll be used for a fairly long time, at least till he's 2..how do u find the luckybaby as opposed to the combi?

ytahn,
congrats on the flipping! i was pretty relieved to see ur post..as yee heng hasn't done a repeat flipping performance for about 1 month now...and he's already 4.5 months!

jo,
have u introduced the bottle at all? i've been told the same thing about bub being more clingy if BF..put it this way,i've started feeding yee heng EBM consistently since he was about 3 months(at least once a day), and he's still pretty clingy! think its an age-appropriate thing tho, cuz he was starting to get a lil stranger anxiety and indicate a preference for mum and dad..and i agree w u about expressing being tedious n stressful!!! i keep worrying about my supply these days cuz i want him to take at least 3oz per feed fr the bottle and my one sided pumping doesn't always yield that.. but since i'm returning to work in feb, i thot i'd better be prepared..i agree that its much easier to let the bub feed @ the source..but EBM gives u that wee bit of freedom so u can at least take some time out whilst someone else cares for him..i went to centrepoint on friday n left yee heng with his future carer....felt fantastic to be able to go and try out clothes without having to think of whether his stroller would fit into the fitting room!

jete,
haha! i like ur description of the family zoo! are ur dogs interested in paige much? cuz my westie snowy definitely is! its tough placing yee heng in his rocker on the floor cuz snowy will aways try to nuzzle his hand, which is sweet but i don't like it for hygiene reasons as yee heng is sucking his fingers now...but i don't want to constantly make her avoid sniffing at him, since i want her to have a positive association with the bub..

nining,
do post up ur studio photos when u receive them!!

Jo,
ur so thoughtful re: the activities! how about bringing him out on the MRT? don't need to fold up the stroller that way, and its pretty easy too..took yee heng to Plaza Sing on the MRT from my place in serangoon and it was quite fun! realised that its less hassle than driving out cuz there was none of the folding up of our stroller etc..

Jete,

U want to stop BF at 6months? U are a SAHM, dun wnt to continue till 1 yr? I wnt to BF till 1yr leh...same as wht I hv done for my 1st boy. Although I dont hv as much ss when I have my 1st boy, i still struggle till he start taking rice at 1yr old. This time round, I have double ss and wht I worried now is that I cant cut down my supply, the block ducts is really a torture for me leh...can anyone teach me how to slow down without block ducts?? I try to drag the time slowly, but seems I hv block ducts whenever I do that leh...haiz...!!

Haha...happy to know that U love the chocolate I gv U...hope it helps U to build yr ss...

And yes, I am using the Avent duo now, I think the duo is much stronger and faster compared to the Ameda. Its takes me ard 10-15mins to get me done with expressing.

adeline,
i have a self-target of 1 year BF too..but if cannot tahan to just TBF when i go back to work in Feb, then will maybe start to supplement w formula...already have friso FM to standby just in case...

an_gal,

happy birthday to yr hubby, hope your surprise working..

Ytanhn,

congrats to chloe's flip, ruoxi is near 5 month and she still can't do a repeat flip yet, sometimes she can but sometimes she can't..not steady yet.

btw, chatty,

u still owe us Jame's photo leh...remember u mention our bb looks alike..curious to see him..

Adeline/Lilyn/xman,
Hi-five. I also wanna bf till 1yr. If not, at least must 9mths to match my elder one...

Xman,
Ruoxi is really very sweet leh! Must really meet u up to see her n introduce Gracia to her. Cos i think they both are petitie. But i think Gracia might be smaller.

Ocean,

wanted to see yr Gracia too, actually pic always make ruoxi looks bigger, her real person is very small still..hehe. see when you come to bishan yr in law house, then we can meet at the ntuc or somewhere in case u not sure where's my house located..

mil
yah, i thk i was tactless towards my mil. luckily today nothing happen. hb said just lied to her the jade gave titus rashes. alternatively, said my dog swallowed it. hah!!

hi mudpie
i saw the web you have given. nice shots! spoken to the photographer who took my preggie photos. she is maryann from studio loft. she is a very nice person n her shots r very good. but as she become more famous, the waiting time to take the photos from her is rather long. she suggested to wait till titus can sit on his own then go so that we can take more photos of him. her link is :http://www.thestudioloft.com.sg/

her thread is http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/450761/586645.html?1199527905

hi jo
yah, i drive, so anywhere is easy for me. now that i have run out of ideas to entertain him, i will bring him out to parks or playgrd. he likes it. i try not to bring him out to shopping cos i dun thk its healthy to him n my pocket.

hi lilyn
glad that in the end u still perserve in bfing. definitely not easy but i m not giving it up either since i have come this far n furthermore i am a sahm. hmm.. talking abt my next baby, what i meant was i will express milk out n give it to him within one day. till now titus still wakes up so often, just keeping my fingers cross once he hit 6 mth, he will sleep longer. very xiong to wake up so many times at nite. my sleep is so fragmented.
yep, talking abt shopping with baby. i cant try another clothes. all the fitting room r so small. i am also paranoid when people around him sneeze. some of them dun even cover their nose. yucks!!!

xman
your baby is sooo cute!

hi jete
do you bring your baby out on your own? wow!! you have got alot of pets at home. i have a golden retreiver n titus is scared of it. the dog is too friendly n hyper. his nails r too sharp, so i kept him away from the baby at the moment. but the amt of fur he shed is terrible. got stuck onto the baby's clothes.

jete

can we upload words attachment at the other forum

i got one file on how to choose the gender of the baby that i would like to share

the file is too big to be uploaded here

xman,
rouxi knows how to sit already ah? she seems to sit steadily.

Baby Enrichment Class:
just signed up for GUG for a term today.
anyone also intending to?
heard from a colleague that it is quite good so will let baby try when he is 8 months old.
like that they teach phonics

Cin,
===faint=== when i c u said ur dog eat the jade!

Xman,
I tink i noe where ur place liao. Is at the "mountain-top". Hahahaa... K, i might be going this weekend. C can meet or not!

Choco,
Ur gender of BB soundproof? Can work? Hehhee...

haiz...

mummies whos baby have cough, how long does ur baby recover??

my mil brought my son to the pd on wednesday, so to now its 5 days, as my son is still coughing quite badly, with phlagm, she feel that the pd is not good. tomorrow she will be bringing him to another pd...

but the medicine still not yet finish mah...

my point is, shouldn't we will him finish the medicine 1st?

great, mil feel tat he is very cold in my room sleeping in the yao lan, so she carry the baby to another room to sleep with her...

i know she meant well but still, i feel that she is fighting with me...ahhh...wo ren..dun wan to spoil our relationship

wow this thread is so fast i totally cannot catch up,no time to read all the posts,pai sei if i left anyone's message out okie.

chatty

thanks for the gift;-)haha trust you to think of MOE internal mail..i laughed and laughed when i saw that message

paige

i think my hubby would be the one who won't bear to let enci date and marry;-)

ytanhn

my baby's blog:
http://www.babyhome.com.tw/bb/237221

thanks for adding the link!;-)

angeline

the leapfrog books are here,i collect for you?you need to transfer $12.20 to catz for the shipping costs.i should be collecting from her coming sat morning..u sms me to say how to collect etc ok

bliss/pst

ok for me,unless i have emergency things to do(like last friday!)..otherwise see you girls at the restaurant!my hp number is in the email i sent u gals;-)

adeline

u like the avent duo ah?my bro wanted to buy for my SIL,but i told him its very expensive leh.last time i saw with the 20% sale at JL,its $640,good deal?

btw can anyone tell me where to buy the spare ameda valves?i think must get an extra set for my SIL(i lent her my ameda pump),in case the ones i lent her tear or something...

helo ocean
its a good excuse cos my dog is very greedy n he eats anything on the floor. furthermore the jade is so small.

hi bliss
wah! u mean there is phonics clas for babies? did u type wrongly? they cant even talk how to learn phonics??can tell us more??

hi leoh
your gal is so cute n refined in that picture. i m really impressed by your blog!! u used chinese!!wah!how to blog in chinese? your chinese must be a1 in school then.

wah in tis aug muumy thread, we have 2 extremes. one very good in english (chatty), the other very good in chinese (leoh).
me?? my dialect ji teh , ji teh. chinese can speak but cannot read. my english, getting from bad to worse. my hb even got to remind me to speak properly. aiyo, my spelling even worse, i thk some pri sch kids can even spell better than me.

ocean,
aiyo.. refer to gracia's hair as rooster *bad mummy*. hehee..

chatty,
thanks for ur compliments on chloe..

an_gal,
pretty mama? u making me fly. hahaa... pai say pai say.. oh ya, it's ur hb's bday today, how is ur plan going on? must be enjoying urself now.

xman,
rouxi looks adorable in the hat.. my chloe's face changes the moment i put something on her head.

bliss,
interested in ur baby enrichment class. what's the details?

just got home. need to feed paige n get her to bed.

leooh
i will pm/email you. i bought extra ameda valves, can sell you some if you want.

ytanhn

congrats on chloe flipping!still no sign of enci doing so...

jete

ya enci is always overstimulated when i play the leappad book for her.guess thats why the book is recommended for babies from 6mths..

she's so cranky today,hubby is feeling guilty cos he thinks he might have infected her with his cough,but i think its because we brought her to causeway point on sat(too many people,definitely over-stimulated cos in the end she woke cring so many times last night) when my bro wants to buy things for his baby..

xman

aiyah,missed the chance of seeing you at catz place..i should be going only coming sat..

cin

i'm a chinese teacher,must be good else no job,haha.but i'm feeling quite guilty cos i type faster in english,haha...

jete

thanks!think i definitely need to buy some...then i can see paige !but first can you tell me how to pronounce her name?in my head i always pronounce like "piaget"but i think it should be wrong,haha

ytanhn,
congrats on chloe's flipping! maybe itz the new formula tat advance her to this stage..hehe

xman,
aiyoh, ruoxi is so adorable!

cin,
u very farni leh...jade eaten by ur dog? wat a good excuse! keke...

choco,
sometimes it takes quite some time for the cough to go away...even for adults rite?

leooh,
so any good news yet?
u brought enci to causeway pt on sat? i brought carene to AMK hub leh..hehe..

ocean,
haa thanks.. bday celebration completed.. all went well hehe.. i don mind abit stress in work lah.. but not veri stress tat kind lol.. i tink i rather earn less n enjoy life and the time with bb..

adeline,
mayb u shld skip those food tat will help u to increase milk ss.. ppl sad no milk but u hav 2 much, so envy..

xman,
thanks.. yeah the surprise celebration went well, now super tired..
the $2 cap seems too big for rouxi..

ocean/xman,
ocean, u mus go xman house.. her house big n nice hehe..

bliss,
wats the class u toking abt? btw, u let Doren try pumpkin liaoz? i steam the pumpkin today and the smell quite "turn off" although i do eat pumpkin.. luckily melcolm eat and finish everything haha..

choco,
last time my son hav cough oso.. PD say usually wont recover so fast 1.. it will take like 2-3wks for total recovery and u will c tat they gradually recovering so don wori.. however, if the cough didnt seem to be better at all then mayb u 1 2 bring bb c PD again..

ytanhn,
haha.. celebration finish.. everything went on well.. now i super tired n 2mr have 2 interviews 2 attend.. gona slp early 2 9 liaoz..

thanks all for ur congratulations on chloe's flipping. hahaa.. been waiting for so long & she's very 'hao lian' today, kept flipping and my hb who came back sg today also saw her did it a few times. once i just turned around to drink a glass of water and off she flipped again, then was video calling my sis and chloe flipped 3x for her to see...

an_gal,
good luck for ur interview tmr. good nite..

hi, my boy is 5 months old now.
he is 6.5kg...is it ok? i am so stress.
do you have problem feeding your baby?

my boy is taking 30mins for each feed and drinking only 100-120ml each feed.
he drinks only 5 times a day and very unhappy when drinking milk.

previously i don't have problem feeding him, but once he reaches 4 months,
we have to sing & dance & act in front of him so that he is drinking.
it has been like this for 1 month already.
as if he is not interested in drinking milk at all.

anyone has such experience?
pls share with me.

thanks alot.

I have 3 tins of 900g Friso for sale..
Selling at $22 ea and $20 ea if get all 3.

Let me know if anyone interested =>

Bless: Is common during this stage for babies to behave this way. They start to notice their surrundings and are more interesting in anything else but milk. Dun worry
My girl started to reject milk when she was 3 mths old den now ok liao.. She'll scream n shout as if drink poison and saw 3 PD in 1 week! One of the stupid PD even gave me a wrong diagnosis to tell me my girl was allergic to cow's milk and I had to throw away all my BM cos I drank milk.. so fed up. Spent $$ on milk that she wun drink and ended up with constipation!
I do so wana KILL that PD.. he is based in the hospital which most of us deliver in.. beware

LosaLora: r u staying in Gilroy? I was in Palo Alto last month. Actually bought lotsa of carters oradi but greedy for more.. I see that most clothes are MIC dun see any Made In US? Carters are pretty cheap while on sale. I guess I need to check some of the stuff I bought to see where is made from..

Jete: Thanx for the info

cin: wear jade?? walau.. I think abit or-biang. old pple always got weird thinkings and dun seem to fit our taste. heehee

ytanhn: nice hairo. I bringing my girl for hair trim this weekend to my hairstylist..

wun be so responsive to the forum tis week cos on course.. cheers

bless: oh yah. check ur teats. maybe too small for ur boy's liking and he is taking too much effort to drink so might tend to take some milk only den too tired to drink more.

thanks mummies for the advise

mil say see afternoon how, if still cough then will bring him to see..

bless
yap, same advise as zhu zhu, check the teat.
i am using nuk teat and i will punch extra hole for him. i will be trying the nuk 6mth and above cos very troublesome to punch hole.

will see how it goes on the outcome

woof

haha i guess we're very xianz with the shopping centre near our homes already..

no good news yet,and too tired to jia you...don't think will jackpot so fast..and since enci likes to wake up ard 5am now,its really tiring,no mood to try too...

but will sure share good news if really so lucky,haha

pooh

ya lor,get it over and done with then close shop haha...also i'm thinking of going for my masters in 2009,don't want to be pregnant then..

bless

agree with zhuzhu and choco

what you can do is to feed him at a quiet place(nothing to distract him)then make sure his arms are tucked in(using your body and your free hand.

sometimes i speak to my baby in a soft voice to ask her to finish her milk too,usually it'll work.but if anybody else comes into the room or start talking to us,she'll be distracted and refuse to drink again.

hope it helps!

Hi zhuzhu and choco, thanks for advise.

is it normal for my boy to have no weight growth for the past 1.5 months?
his weight is the same since 3.5months to 5 months.

Hi choco, i have check with the sales person before.
NUK teat, 6 months and above or below - for milk teat, they all have the same hole size.
only difference is the overall size of teat, NOT hole size.

do take note of this and you also need to punch hole after changing it.