(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

pageup... actually so far haven't really suffered from MS... only feel nauseous, feel light-headed and bloated. I lost 2.5kg in 1.5 months. Think it was because I fell sick recently followed by my boy. Hope to slowly gain some weight come 2nd tri. Otherwise I am going to get another earful from my gynae. Hope you will sail through the 1st tri soon!

Hi Violetmum, you mean that you paid 200 for the first visit of tests and checks? What was included in that first visit? could you clarify if you dun mind?

my package is $2675 leh. but this includes the delivery fee also. booking is $1375, upon delivery is $1300. but my package started on 2nd visit onwards.

ValC,

all paid by cash? i thought can be paid thru CPF? if by cash, then its Ex sia....

kinda having headache now but cant anyhow take medicine nowadays.... all my hb nephew & nieces are here... 2 of them falling sicks... very grouchy & keep crying, cannot tahan... cant imagine how i m to cope with it *faintz*

Hi ValC,

Your $2675 include hospital charges i.e ward and nurses fee?

Hi jmonster,
My $500 is only for checkups and ultrascan (excluding blood test and detail scan) from 2nd trimester till birth. For delivery, I still need to pay $700 deposit for the doctor's fees, the balance (depending whether I exceed that amt during delivery) will be paid after delivery.
The hospital fees is paid to the hospital directly and I can't remember how many percent can be deducted from medisave.

Usually first visit is more expensive, mine is $120 including medications.Subsequent visits is around $50-$60

i see... i thought that cheap.. :p no wonder pple keep saying giving birth and to raise kid is not cheap... me too naive :p

yours $120 is considered cheap, i paid $170 incl. medicine/urine test/virginal scan/consultation/etc.. so Ex.

hi pageup,

cranberry juice sounds good to me.. feel like having too, esp after a meal.. always feel very bloated..
And the Maternity Wear shop with that price range is quite reasonable, shall chk it out.. got capri pants?

hi augelo, where/which gynae r u seeing? maybe the turn-around time for results differ fr the place your colleague went?

hi jmonster,
yup having a bb is not cheap.. it all adds up.. but no choice..

I read somewhere that the changes in our hormones can loosen up our joint areas.. that probably explain why I get lower backache w/o a tummy yet.. hmmm...

hello ixora15, the gynae is @East Shore & colleague is from Mount E. me yet take the blood test, but was told need to wait 2wks. as for my colleagues, 3 days after her blood test she can know the result.

my 1st n 2nd consultation cost $200+ each. due the hormone jabs. 1 jab each visit. 3rd & 4th visit is S$125 each. consultation is $50, medic $30, scan $45. next visit will need to pay $500-package.

Augelo,
wah, you paid so much for the 1st & 2nd visits already, then the $500 is sufficient?

ixora15,
ya i m suffering lower backache too. especially last night, could not sleep at all but later i slept like a pig. heee...

not sure i m paranoid or wat, keep feel that something wrong with the stomach cos this morning accidentally did a big stretch after got up from the bed, then my stomach was cramped for a little while.

i knew now we could not do much stretching in the morning but then i was totally forgot abt it, then the cramps kicked in.... lucky now i feel better

Hi jpmonster..
same sentiments from me!
i used to like to stretch when i wake up.. but now, stretching seems like a very risky thing to do hor? somehow doen't seem quite right but don't know what's wrong. Shall ask my gynae in the next visit

Hi J (suk),
My $200 consists of consultation,ultrascan and medicine. The consultation alone costs $95, ultrascan $70 and the rest is medicine. My husband said the gynae belongs to the Rolls Royce type. He said if the subsequent visits also costs so much, he will die. Now considering whether we should change to a cheaper gynae even though both of us feel very comfortable with the gynae.

wawapiggyling,

dunnu leh.. wat i know is the embryo still small and fragile. if we stretch too much, the stretches will affect the uterus... think so lah, not so sure leh....

btw, my colleague said we better dun do any tough exercise after we gave birth within the 1st 6 mths. cos she said her mother-in-laws' uterus dropped while she was jogging, then she was immediately admitted into hospital to put it back. i was almost fainted after hearing it.

Hi violetmum,

I think those hospital's clinic gynae charge more expensive compared neighhourhood gynae. My gynae is nearby my house. He charged us $110 for first visit included urine test,v scan, medicine and consultation. From 3rd mth onward can sign package. It is $1700 include package and delivery charges(c-section). But we need to pay up front $900 when sign the package. The package include urine test,scan and consultation. Blood test and medicine exclude.

jpmonster,
so we based it on gut feel not to do certain things.. hee...

the uterus dropping while jogging seems a bit impossible! but considering such a huge baby can come out from us, it is really scary. I heard wong li lin resumed her exercises and even jogged 10km within her first mth after delivery!

jmonster, the $1375 is paid in cash or credit card in the beginning. the $1300 upon delivery but keep receipts and claim $450 from medisave upon delivery. so shld keep all receipts.

wawapiggyling,

but better not lah... I dun think our wounds can be healed so fast loh... be it natural or caesarian

Hi Violetmum, thanks for the info. I also think some of these fees are pretty 'rolls royce' style indeed.

I just called a hospital on doing my first check up, they say they cannot do ultrasound scan until later... is that true? Anyone knows?

jmonster, i hv not started that $500 package. will pay after my 12th wk. with hormone jab, no choice loh.

i see, i supposed the hormones jab is to ease your MS?

haha... i m pregnant but seems that i know nothing at all ;P maybe becos i dun hv any MS excepts bloating stomach & backache.

jmonster, bear in mind that if more than 1 patient in room, your hubby cannot bunk in. and you need lots of help and support. i feel lah. you have to weigh the costs and the comfort and convenience. for my 1st delivery, even tho i had my husband bunk in it was tough enough for me with the engorgement and bb not latching on. and the worrying abt bb not feeding enough. and the pain there, and all the blood. i can't believe i'm going through it again. ahhhh......
but thinking back, the easy part was really in the hospital. wait till you get home!

jmonster, hormone jab is to support the pregnancy. eg. i had spotting so dr prescribed the hormone jabs. during preg, our bodies naturally produce these hormones, the jabs are like extra boosts.

oh i see... haha i seems a bit silly here :p

hmm.. my hb wanted to get me in A ward cos' he wants to bunk in with me.. for the confinement part, my in laws will be helping me cos i m staying with them..

I just booked my OSCAR test to be done next month which also happens to be my next appointment date. Although the gynae said should preferably do the test when we are 11-14 weeks, just wondering if we can get an accurate results if we did the test too early? I always have a feeling that I am not in my 8 weeks even though the ultrascan said so. I should be early 11 month when I do the OSCAR test.

I think I worry too much and should trust the gynae right? But then I can't help it. Is it true that MTBs all worry unnecessarily? Seems like all of us worry on one thing or another. I sure hope that it's changing of hormones and we will pass this stage soon.

yes, had spotting in wk5 so it act as extra boosts.

OSCAR test = multiples blood test? if yes, my gynae isn't it shld b done within 12 to 16 wk? me too, booked the blood test in Mid Oct. how much are u paying? mine is S$120. the probl. with my gynae is need to pay cash...not card accepted.

Hope to join this thread.. expecting my first bb 21 April.. Though I'm now 8 weeks, I've only thrown up once and that's cos I took the multi-vitamin pill my gynae gave me. But feeling sick all the time, tired after doing some simple chores and needing alot more rest. Saw the bb at my last visit-- the heartbeat was so strong.. and the gynae even saw the baby move! amazing.. Already have difficulty fitting into my clothes and wonder if any ladies also feel their stomach bulging at this early stage?

Hi Violetmum,

i am from the Mar thread.
The $300 + includes the detailed fetal scan in week 20. That is why. So when u reach week 20, u come back for the detail scan u don have to pay anymore

I was told that it will be accurate if we do the OSCAR test on week 11/12. Just nice. I doing it next week which is my week 12.

belle,

I remember my first pregnancy i paid $300++ for oscar test but only one scan and blood test. For week 20 I'd to pay another $105 for detail scan. I remember there is another scan quite similar to oscar it is called triple test and it's included detail scan. About $300++ too. Correct me if I am wrong.

HI Cmy,

i paid $345 for the OSCAR at week 12 and week 20 leh. The blood test was another $92. Maybe different place charge differently? Mine is at 4th floor TMC clinic.

hi belle,

I did it at TMC too can't remember which floor. But I need not to pay for blood test as my package is included. Maybe Oscar test got different kind of package?

wenthena, how did u record that? is it just using a video recorder ? So nice! i wish i recorded mine during the OSCAR then can play for my mom to see.

not sure the discussed OSCAR test = to the multiples blood tests? are we refering to the same test? 3 types of blood test cost $120, and 20th wks scan = S$178. same?

those folic acid pills(orange color pills) from gynae take every morning. any1 know the dosage? sufficient? do we need to consume more than that? any1 start drink preg mummy milk powder? folic acid fresh milk? when i ask my gynae what not to take, she said as long NOT soft cheese, shark meat and stingray. the rest all okie.

I started on Anmum 2 days ago even though my gynae never mentioned anything about drinking them because all along I have been drinking fresh milk every morning. But one of my friends kept telling me to start early so I thought I just buy one tin to try first. The taste is ok but if you are not the milk kind of person, I would advise you to buy either chocolate or vanilla flavour.

oic...yes u r right. esp. those milk powder stuffs. can't take it. mayb can buy 1 small tin n try. thks.

BTW, did u drink it luke water or cold water? after drinking fresh milk, tummy always feel cold.

My gynae told me to start drinking preggie mum milk powder -- I'm not a milk lover but it tastes alright-- i chose the vanilla flavor

is that true during 1st trimester preg. woman will feel cold. me always feel cold, esp. after shower-will shiver. Read from magazine, is norm in the 1st trimester. 2nd trimester onward will start feeling warm. any1 experience this?

wenthena, so cuuuuuuuuteeeeeee!!!! wow can see it moving. so clear!! how did you video it?

i'm also drinking enfamama. choc. anmum makes me wanna puke. mamil mama also. i heard frisomum is nice but haven't tried.

HI wenthena

The video was nice and clear! Moi also wan to know how you do it.

HI Augelo
I also feel cold more than before. And I tot it was due to my weak body constitution.