(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

springd
Thanx for asking. jboy no more fever le .. but he has a big ulcer on his tongue. so his appetite is affected. these few days, he dun wan milk, dun wan porridge. But he ate some rice tho', and tis morn, i gave him cold freshmilk he oso drank some.

u knw if there's any medicine or cream to apply for kids ulcer? I mean, like bonjela kind, dunno izit kids safe.

allergies week,
this evening we had dinner at pizza hut, and i think he had an allergic reaction to his spaghetti. maybe there was some cheese added inside by mistake. anyway he only had three mouthfuls, then coughed/puked at home + developed rashes on his trunk. we gave him slightly less milk thereafter, since he kept coughing though the puking has stopped. on an upside, this week is coming to an end. hope next week is a normal non-allergy week!

kelley,
for all you know, it might rain over the weekend, then you'll have the perfect reason to refuse to let her go swimming.

springdance,
how's jonas coping with school?

s/w
poor Kaizer.. he slept oredi? think perhaps cut down on outside food for awhile.. cook simple meal like porridge for him over the wkend first.

s/w,
I'm back from Sentosa!

Err...It's okay. I'm sure your family will do just fine. Jesse doesn't like it that much and he wants to go to "other" sentosa. haha.

anyway, he started pooping again and we ran out of diapers...so we came home.

D, lovely photos! jesse looks so 'grown up' now compared to those taken last year! of course, like his parents, he has discerning taste abt his activities.

s/w, you are so slim lor - definitely not whal-ish even with the weight gain! whisper to me abt #2's gender can? i'll keep it a secret from the others! hahaha...

cindy, no - i mean those who volunteer, not referring to alumni; usually alumni is 'guaranteed' place unless there's really too many 'fighting' for places then will need to ballot. but i think if u are 'visible' in alumni activity, easier to get in also.

min, ya - having a helper like that definitely helps to keep my weight in check. my blood is boiling every day! plus when i explain and explain and she still dun understand, then the only way is for me to do it myself!

actually i target to put on only 7kg coz i started off this pregnancy 5kg heavier than the last so by putting on 7kg, in effect I am putting on the same amt of weight as my previous pregnancy. obviously the bb has to be thriving for me to stick to this target. if he is not or the OB says anything about my 'lack' of weight, then i will make the effort to eat more (or put on more, depending on how you look at it).

honestly i still eat when i am hungry, just that i make a more conscience effort to avoid empty calories so i guess than helps.

s/w,
u going to create another blog for #2?
give some hints for us to guess???

D,
indeed, nice photos

Rina,
the N1 registration has closed at my neighborhood. Schl fee and duration are the same with the current playgrp.
Edufarm teacher told me that JK (child from yr 2007) can still stay with them for another year.
I'm still considering....how are you? decided?

Pri Schl:
I stay near St.Hilda school, many told me is a good schl.
hmmm....i have been seeing students loitering at my neighborhood and vandalizing the facilities. They gamable too. mayb mostly from the sec level???
my hb has a colleague sold their Punggol 5rms flat and bought a 4rooms unit just next to St.Hilda....their eldest son is enrolling to St.Hilda.

Leo,
maybe St. Hilda's is good because it has affliations. I'm not sure but I'm guessing.

s/w
have you received your photobook from snapfish? How's the quality? Thinking of making a few...

d,
you came home at 2am from sentosa?? okay my feedback about the snapfish books ...

8"x11" Classic Photo Book $48.80 (can't remember if it includes delivery charges) - main grouse is that the pages are too "thin" for coffee-table-book standard. cover is alright i guess, and binding looks fine so far.

5"x7" Everyday Photo Book $27.80 - smaller, handier and cuter book. same "thin" pages, but since i didn't expect it to be coffee-table-standard, i actually think this is the better product of the two. cover dirties easily (there's already a small stain on ours) and binding is fine i guess. in the end i gave this to my mum, cos it's really nicer. and she loves it to bits. it's currently in her office as she wants to show off her baby boy's pictures to all her colleagues!

SD: hehee my primary school closed down liao or rather merged into another school which I have no idea where it is. hubby no use only useful for #2 but i not v keen to put my boy in that school also. So maybe use my mum's add and then enrol for school near my mum's place lor .. but i think no hope basically cuz those 3 schools super popular also haha ...

Michele: ur #2 is gaining quite good weight =) same weight as mine at 32 weeks! My gynae is concerned that i gained only 4 KG to date as well (rt now below 60kg) and baby weight gain is on target but a bit on the slow side ... so i have been stuffing myself over the past few days with durians and beef!!! hope it works though ... :p my C sec also scheduled liao .. so it will be a june baby =)

Kelley: maybe we can arrange some play group on sat lah ... when V starts her KL class in 2 weeks time, let me see how she adjusts her timing, so maybe if we go for the earlier class, she got time to play with A after her class.

Hey Cindy
We juz had our parents' session at JG. I raised the concern that the class is too big and the lady - can't remember her name - said they used to split the eng n chinese classes n parents complained. She added that the classroom is big enuff for 23 adults, there are 2 tables for art n craft etc. etc. So having 20 kids in 1 class is ok. So i explained that the learning environment is not conducive as the group is too huge. She told me they used to have a smaller class like 17/18 and the teachers' feedback was that 20 is a good number so they have kept it at that. V strange reasons.
Btw, did u get your referral fee yet? They mentioned the referral fee during the session.

bluroti
JG reply is always standard.. let me copy a reply that my fren posted on her blog

The decision to revert to the original combined format was well thought through by the Senior Teachers and laoshis. Having had many years teaching both formats, we reviewed the formats and we are convinced that the benefits of the combined class outweigh that of the separate class format. In fact, this is the same proven and successful formula that we use in our 2-day PlayClub programme. The benefits of a big PlayClub format include:

A natural and spontaneous language learning environment
Two table-top activities per class – one activity in Mandarin and the other in English
Livelier dynamics in class
Synergy between the teachers and laoshi
Please be assured that we have run the PlayClub programme successful for over 18 years at JGCL. Any changes that we make do take into consideration feedback of parents, staff and sound development in the early childhood field. We are certain that the combined Bilingual PlayClub programme, which was the original format, will grow from strength to strength. Basically young children are very smart and adaptable, given time, parental involvement and teacher encouragement, they will settle to the routine of the class.

The objectives of the Bilingual PlayClub programme are to create lively language environment and address the all round physical-cognitive-social development of young children. The learning comes alive through our array of engaging activities in class – art and craft, Magic Box, story, drama, indoor and outdoor play, snack and music. We are very confident that teacher Suhailah and Wu laoshi are able to deliver these objectives regardless of class size. They are trained and experienced educators who are passionate about the development of their students. They also have good rapport with their class parents. Do feel free to speak to them directly with your feedback and concerns.

Dxxx, please give Mxxxx and yourself time to be familiar with the combined format. With time and our concerted effort, the parents, teachers and laoshis will ensure that Bilingual PlayClub continues to be an engaging and beneficial learning experience for the children.

We look forward to your continued support and welcome further feedback from you. Thank you very much.

Best regards,

Raihan Jumari Huang Ying
Head of Early Childhood Programmes Head of Mandarin Department

sandwich: u want to consider fotohub one? I tot the quality of the 8 X 8 is quite good and the cover comes with a plastic cover (like how we used to buy those plastic book covers in school but better quality). one of these days I can show u my book but hor, have to be within the next 4 to 5 weeks, else I pop liao :p

Blueroti,

I think the answer they provided for the 20 students better than 17/18 is ridiculous!! So silly!

Yes! I asked about the referral last week. They said that they will deduct $50 off when I enrol her next session. U also going to continue rite? I can share the savings with you!! Btw, are you at Evans? I kept thinking u go to the one at Forum.

Min,
The answer that JG provided to your fren is about splitting of the English and Mandarin sessions. I am fine with them combining, in fact I prefer the english and mandarin classes combined. I just don't like it that the class is so big! Alot of distractions.

mrs lai,

how's the quality of the fotohub book in terms of paper weight (like normal coffee table book or like magazine) and the quality of the print (like real photos or like something you can print off an inkjet)?

Hi Min
hahahahaha yeah that's about the script she used! but she forgot some points of coz'. think she forgot to do a revision before the session today! hahahahaha

and yeah cindy, i have no problem with the English and Chinese combined class so i was puzzled why the lady gave me that scripted answer to my question that the class is too big. that's why i pressed on and asked her 4 qns in total to get my msg across b4 she gave me that super lame excuse that 20 is ideal. after the class, 1 of the daddies told me it was a good thing that i raised that point. but er, i was the only parent who kept harping on this point. sadly, nobody else did.

and yeah, i was contemplating if we should continue with the class when we hit our 5th lesson (coz only can we get our deposit back). i discussed with hubby and decided to continue with it since our girl is not going to any CC so that's about the only class next to the kidsloft class she attends for now. and yep, we're at Evans, and hey, no worries about the $50! don't have to split! i juz want to make sure u get the discount as they PROMISED! heheheh

blueroti,

don't make me feel bad leh...Jesse isn't even attending any class now! Still thinking about kidsloft but still can't figure out the "best" time.

halo D
sorry! don't mean to make u feel bad! but for your case, u really spend time teaching and playing with Jesse if i'm not wrong based on your posts. but i like kidsloft - thanks to diane for her recommendation ; o ) altho it has been 2 weeks since the 1st term ended, my girl is still asking for teacher lavina!

wow blueroti , kidsloft sounds nice , hmm , maybe i can switch there after my term 4 ends . hiak hiak , any trial lesson ?

D , jesse so grown up liao , u still call him baby .. oh mine !!!
but he is a handsome boy !

SD - rmbr to post ur boy's pics too leh

i din put on any weight at all ( dropped 0.5kg ) , now 16 weeks ....
ps:i know my no.2 gender too . :p

blue
don't make feel bad.. i hv not plan anything for D's class also . haha

cai
pls don't keep us in suspense! tell us gender of No.2!

D,

I am also considering kidsloft cos JG will be having hols in June...so Cait will have no classes to go to. I am actually interested in the Friday class at 130pm to 3pm...is that good timing for Jesse?

Blueroti...
Good things must share mah!

caicai,
told you before, he'll always be my baby.

blueroti,

hehe...kidding lah. I'm keeping him at home for now...for...no good reason.

Cindy,

the problem with Jesse's timing now is that he either naps from 11:30-2:30 or 1 - 4pm. So you see, it's very difficult to fit kidsloft timing in. There's the morning class but my commute there would be killer (I think) because of the rush hour... *sigh*
I can possibly do 3:30 - 5pm (and face the rush hour home).

sandwich: it didn't rain over the weekend.. bt i gave an excuse to ashlyn as i need to be home as mummy need to clean toilet.. than she took her afternoon nap.. so by the time i was at my mum's place.. was at abt 4pm.. looked like going to rain.. so she didn't ask abt it anymore.. lucky..

bunnie: sure.. no prob.. since most of sat i at my mum's plce.. wat time is her new timing in class?

D , i also agree with u , sometimes we nid to fit our kids naptime wif classes . if zac doesnt get his sleep , he will be rubbing his eyes in class etc . so rather than disrupting his schedule , we try to take the best timing for him .
though i muz admit GUG at suntec is a plus point for us coz my hubby has season parking there and i can shop there too. turf city is abit far , but if got trial lesson , dun mind going to kpoh abit .
min , i wun kip u in suspense . my gynae 90% thinks tt i am hving a gal but i hvnt go for my detailed scan yet ...

btw , those mummies delivering soon ( think diane ) , there is a new hospital policy . docs are not supposed to shuttle fm 1 hosp to another , so we hv to go to the hosp which our doc is attached too .
for eg, my doc is a TMC doc , so i cannot choose to go to other hosp ( HOPE this swine fever thing dies soon , i dun wan go TMC , sob sob sob)

Wah D
Jesse naps for 3 hrs? my girl only naps between 1 hr - 2hrs and she used to nap twice a day but it has been reduced to once a day. her nap time also clashes with her kidsloft class but no choice so we'll try to get her to nap around 12 plus/1pm if possible, but we usually end up being late for the 3pm class. i wanted to change to the earlier class but it's full.

blueroti,

ever since Jesse's bedtime shortened, he started to take longer naps to make up for it.

If his nap was shorter (used to be 1.5 - 2hrs) then we could do more. Now I'm in a bit of a fix. heh.

Told my HB this morning about Kidsloft again and he said his concern for me was the distance...

kelley,
wkends we ar usually out or go swimming, oh oh.. where does ur mum stay.

kaexin,
sori miss ur post. u mentioned keira puke? is she ok already?

Kidsloft:
cher attended. very gd. we really like it. but her nap tx is usually fr 130pm so i cant find a suitable tx slot..

Hi D
yeah, kidsloft is abit far and out of the way but it's also for those reasons that i like it. it's serene, and not as crowded as JG etc.

oh sanrio, we've the same problem. how abt getting cher to have an earlier nap?

blueroti,

where do you live? In the west? yup, besides timing, location is my other "problem". My bro lives near there and if I leave his place after 5:30pm on a weekday, it'll take me an hour to reach home!

Actually, if there's a 9am class, I might not mind (since have to be in rush hour anyway) but at least will end earlier so won't clash too much with nap.

sanrio,
ya, she is ok after that week. but now still having some cough especially at night, its those dry cough

sanrio/bluroti,
1pm is full
i will most likely adjust her nap time to maybe 1/2 hr earlier on sat.
so most likely we are going for the 3pm class. 1st class is on 5/30 as lavina is still on vacation.

D,
if you leave straight away, think traffic will be beta as compared to later. and you shld use bk timah, thomson to go back rather than PIE, CTE to avoid the massive jam.

michelle,
my sense of direction is quite bad. haha. Will need my HB to show me one more time...I think he did it before...

If I leave straight away, my only concern is his dinner will be late. very ma fan hor...heh.

halo D
my place is in TPY. the 1st time we made our way to kidsloft, we used the GPS but er, it stopped beeping when we have not even reached there yet. so in the end, we've to go round and round before we found it. didn't help it was raining cats n dogs that day.
here's the instruction that lavina put up on her website: Drive or Walk past Turf City. Go past SPORTY JOE. Instead of turning right to Giant Supermarket carpark…go towards the driving range and the field. You will see a sign that says 192 Turf Club Road. Remember …go around the HUGE black & white house as Kids’ Loft is located at the back of the compound.
sounds simple but er we were lost. hahaha

hey mick
so we'll be in the same Sat class! ; o )

blue,
ok, see you next week, think this is our 1st class 2gether. van and K are classmates for the longest time ever already. think so far, from april only van
so lookin fwd to seeing you.

actually i am also afraid of getting lost in turf city!

yeah man, have not seen kiera n u since Nov/Dec!
try to go earlier next week so that u've time to be lost and not be late for the lesson ; o )

kaexin/blue
wat time is your lesson on sat?

blue
din know you stay in TPY.. which lor? i used to be at lor 8

D/cindy
wanna go for Kidsloft trial class?

I hv to take shuttle bus fm TPY so not sure how to walk there !! or if i cab there then dunno how to direct the uncle to kidsloft.. jiat lat!

min,D,
actually i was suppose to go for a trial on monday's class 3.30 - 5pm. less ppl in this class. somebody i know is also in this class

D: er .. print quality is good - not inkjet kind. thickness, it's like laminated paper, thicker, not thin, but not like those wedding coffee books, where they use hard board to paste the pictures on. I think the books are cold laminated. I haven't done coffeebook by anyone else except for the wedding ones so can't comment much =)

blue: now V is saying "i wan to see dr tan" i want to peng san ...