(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

hi mummies , my bb turning one next week.would like him to try eggs for the first time.but is it only can give egg white or egg yolk,? coz i rem one of them should be avoided till later.
any advice pls?thanks

lina: egg yolk first then try egg white.

sandwich: I will be late as usual cuz I can only knock off later and gotta pick up baby somemore.

thanks mrs lai..but what the theory behind the egg white?i just wanna understand more..and for the egg yolk is it just steam or boil can?sorry ah

lina
give egg white when yr BB is close to 15 mth and nearer to the date of taking MMR jab. If yr baby got allergy after taking egg white means he can't take MMR jab

for egg yolk.. juz boiled it till hard boil, then 'dig' the yolk out. but i only give like once or twice a week coz high in colestrol

anyone given mushroom or can we give mushroom anot?
which type of mushroom then?

i really pray hard that the weather will be sunny this weekend.. its qing ming so it gonna be a rainy day

sanrio,
is cher's fever due to teething? it's alright then, hope she'll get well soon for her b-day party!

kris and mrs lai,
if last minute any of you can't make it too, please contact me at 92748734 to let me know. cos i waon't be checking the forum later. otherwise, i'll be waiting there stupidly, hahaa.

it's been a terrible week...both boys are down with fever/flu/sore eyes/congested nose/cough...

Brought them to the PD and it cost me $110 & $130 respectively for the 2 kids!

That goes my 1 month tuition pay!

Anyway, the worse part is that I myself is now infected with sore eyes too...thick greenish discharge non-stop. But felt paiseh to take MC cos still new in this sch...who knows today the clerk (who's in charge of assigning relief duties) saw my red eyes and screamed at me in the sch hall!

"You sore eyes still come to sch! Will infect the children u know! U better go and see the principal! Aiyo...y so irresponsible!"

and the children + teachers were all watching...

I was so embarassed...then angry. In fact, felt like crying. Very wei3 qu1. I hv been so tired and drained from taking care of 2 sick and cranky kids, MS oso suddenly got worsened and started vomiting everyday. Couldn't sleep well too (due to preg and also hippo has been crying for me to carry him and walk around in the hse till he dozes off should he wakes up in the midle of the night). I so much wanted to take a break...but me sense of responsibility tells me that i should go to school. Yet after dragging myself to school, this is the treatment i get!

So now i'm being chased back home. Going to see a gp and get mc.

Sian...

now, on a happier note....saw the gynae on tue. Now 14 wks. Gynae scanned the bb while the legs were wide opened. He said still cant tell boy/girl...."Which is good!" he claimed. Apparently if its a boy, in this position, should see the birdie by now...so now cant see anything...might be a girl...but then again, still have to wait for a couple of weeks to confirm. Felt so happy...but also aware it still could be a boy...

Good Morning mummies n bb

today is Friday....Working mum must b happy.

Last night, plan to shop J.little @EXPO instead i do my shopping in Popular Book sale.
i find alots of good buy esp. @S$1/book. Both English n Chinese nursery books.

managed to grab some (oni managed to get 3 hardcover books n 1 Disney story) for JK.
English books left not much hope they will replenish, very temp to go back again

coz previous yr sale, i was there on the last day no more good buy.

attached all @S$1 each.
1336684.jpg

Happy Shopping n Reading

Morning,

Traz: u got to take care.. how come the clerk like tat.. scream at teacher.. idiot.. good news at least.. cos might so be a gal.. u feel different in this preggy.. i thnk u will feel more tired.. cos bb hippo will want u to carry non stop.. bt after ur first tri.. 2nd tri will be beta!!! jia you!!

dear mummies, mother n baby magazine this month very good... go buy.. got first party ideas n places to organise them.. now i realis there r so many places i can host a 2nd yr party for ashlyn cos she don't hv big glam first party!!

hi augleo,
wa, cheap leh.. have to grab those hard cover books leh.. my gal likes to tear papers.. sigh..

hey kelley,
really eh? wow, must go and grab also.. me also didnt have a glam party for my bbC.. poor thing.. just booked a pavilion near my mil's place.. but quite big la.. can dco the whole place.. :p counting down now.. its next sat.. *fingers crossed* hopefully turns out fine ma.. haha..

leo , cheap cheap . but my hubby not around to bring me there , sianz .
this sat , advance celebrate zac's bday coz his uncles not free . just a simple lunch @ a restaurant

J&R: at least u booked somewhere for party.. my gal only going to be at home for mee sua with cupcake cake for her bday with immediate family..hahaha.. next yr i can invite u all to her 2nd yr party loh!!

Traz,
take care. Hopefully the 'something good' can keep your mood light over the embarrassment earlier.

Kelley,
Ashlyn will have a bday party make up to her next year! Dont' be overly guilty.

Hi Augleo,

I'm opposite from you. I didn't get a chance to visit the popular sales, but instead, spending my time at the JL Expo sales. Bought Ocean Pacific T-shirt for Xyrus @ $5 each and some Bossini T-shirt at $8 each. Girls clothing have more varity and nicer.

darbebe: next yr than my pocket got hole loh.. imagine april 2009 got ashlyn 2nd bday and end june/early july 2009 got #2 bb 1st bday..wah.. than end june is HB bday!! OMG!!!

Beyond,
i din manage to see anything for JK @J.little, 1st time back from J.little w/empty handed. dunno is good or bad....hahahahaha!

kelley , u use the baby bonuses lah . got ashlyn's n the little sis mah . ur hubby's pressie = the new little bundle of joy , no nid to gv him present liao lor .

Traz, I hope you feel better...is your sore eye contagious (can be caused by various things) if it isn't then it wouldn't have been a problem to be in school. But I think you should just take mc and rest lah.
I would've just told the clerk off - "I understand your concern but there's no need to be rude about it."

sigh...these days I tend to tell people off quite a bit, especially when they are rude. Used to just be too embaressed to say anything but I guess something has changed.

Lina,
nothing special about eggs lah. Whites are just known to have more allergens so people hold back on giving them. Anyway, yolks have the nutrition so it's not a bad thing. As long as it's cooked through, it doesn't really matter how it's cooked (steam, boil, scrambled...). Jesse has been having yolks for a while now and he started the whole egg a few weeks ago. He's going for MMR next week.

if I could do it again, we'd just have a small birthday celebration for the 3 of us, no one else.
All 3 of us same type...like things quiet.

Traz
Agree with Jesse that irregardless if your sore eye is infectious or not….I am sure you must be super tired from taking care of the 2 kids plus one unborn inside your tummy.

Think your clerk must be one of those “loud-spoken and been working here for ages aunty”…that’s why dun show much respect for young teachers.

Augleo
Yes it finally Friday! And I am not working tomolo…..hehehehe

For the 3rd May gathering, is the venue confirmed yet? I am interested to join too but only if it’s the Plaza Market café option….by the way, just wondering, would you & the mummies be interested to go Equinox instead? On the 71st floor….they got hi-tea buffet on weekends.

Kelley
Later bring the magazine for lunch lei…..I wanna see!! :p

hey, i ask my mil, she say those red eggs is for full-month one leh.. for mee sua, its mostly because dun have celebration with cake, then eat mee sua one.. :p since we have a cake, no need mee sua liao..

*confused*

springdance,
few mummies sounded to me = preferred Plaza Mkt Cafe for longer meet up duration (12pm to 5pm).

looking @Equinox hi-tea option oso 2 hours (3pm to 5pm), mummies feedback 2 hours too short to chat n eat

will update again

Cai: hahaha… I already tell myself nv to use bb money.. for their education fund!! Hahaha.. HB… mayb I tie myself up in ribbon loh..hahahaha easy hor.. this yr.. he mayb celebrating with me in hospital..hahaha

Springdance: wah lao.. I carry my belly already so heavy.. still 1 me to bring magazine for u!!! ni mei liang xing!!

hv all mummies gone for gathering on the usual friday? so quiet again.. me trying to keep myself awake.. so sleepy..

i'm here too!

jesse's mum
jesse so fast go for MMR jab? i tot they only jab at 15 mth?
furthermore, my PD ask me to come at 16mth instead coz by then they can check development of baby which is more accurate

Ixora: Lele wanna start walking soon so that he can walkwalk with lil JO... yesterday he walk a few steady steps to his papa! Yippee!

Cindy: hi.. how r u?? how is bday celebration??? too sleepy liao..

Min: trying very hard.. my eye lashes too heavy.. closing my eye lids!!

Hello Kelley!

Getting stress...Sunday is the party...havent settled alot of things yet!!

u preggie..if sleepy...just rest lah...dun overwork k! my eyes also v heavy now cos 1am already! think i better zzzzzz....nitey!

michele (absolut_vodka),

i have been posting at the walmart thread regarding my item and have emailed you. Could you pls reply? thanks

Min,
MMR can take between 12 - 15 months...Jesse has always taken his shots early so we're just getting it done lor. He'll be taking chicken pox vaccine that day also...I'll have one cranky baby next friday

mummies wif boys , can check wif u .
my ma said my son's penis tip is abit red , is this a sign of urinal infection ?

Toking abt walking .. my jboy has also been making small steps recently, but yday, he became so garang & started 'walking' on his own. We were watching TV & he juz crawl away fm us. Next moment, he pull himself up wif the table & started walk (away fm us somemore). Needless to say, he felt flat on his face after few steps & started crying. Luckily I chk, no bao, juz red red on his forehead .. Hiaz .. he really tinks he can walk oredi !!

Kate,
Pop sale till 06 Apr i tink. JL sales till 13 Apr.

anyone near raffles city?

I'll be there in a little while with Jesse to wait for my HB to get off work 6+. Anyone near there say "hi"!

Augleo
*Nodz Nodz* noted.

Kelley
Thanks alot for bringing the mag... *MUACKS!*

Caicai
Think there was one time my boy's birdie like got abit red spot (probably because of wearing disposable diapers too long didn't change)...so I put a thin layer of Desitin Creamy....next day ok liao.

Cool_D
Woah...Jordan boy so fast in his motor skills (end May baby lei!)

caicai,
I'm also thinking it could just be a minor rash. J gets red (no bumps) here and there every now and then. I put a little bit of barrier cream and it'll just go away.

Wouldn't it hurt if it's a UT infection? If it doesn't bother your boy, just monitor a few days lor.

springD
haha .. yah, jboy is a cheongster. Juz cheong cheong cheong, w/o ensuring he can balance anot.

Btw, some1 in the May thread posted to say usually bb who are fast in motor skill are slow in verbal .. .. true?

Cool_d,

What I heard is bb who walk fast will be slow in verbal. And that happened to my boy.

But last night, he was so funny. He keep talking "Take" when he wanna pass something to u.
Hahaha... Then after u take the item from him, he will mumble dunno wat liao...dun understand his language.

Kate,
Popular sale @EXPO ends this Sunday.

cai2,
last nite, JK's penis tips n below oso found red red de. me applied nappy cream, this morning oki le.

cai2
my boy's penis tip will get red if nvr change diaper for too long.

jesse
yr hubby work in Rafles city area? i'm also working thr but today not working
may go down later to blow up my foil balloon.

my party tomolo.. pray real hard it will no rain in pm

augleo
when u use magic cooker.. how do i cook spinach? and do you put bah tau in the magic cooker as well?

now my porridge is in the magic cooker.. so excited abt outcome.

i cooked ABC pasta using magic cooker.. wow very good! pasta came out soft after 1 hr

oni porridge in the shuttle chef pot(=magic pot?), ingred in the steaming.

ABC pasta, i steam with the ingred.
done within 15mins

Aug,Cool_d: Thanks for the info on expo fair! Dunno whether can go anot tho, cos Lele down w the cold bug.

Cool_d: I agree w sprD that Jboy is quite adv in motor skills w an adventure streak in him! Haha!

Talking: It's so funnie to hear our babes talk and the diff meanings they attribute to words! When we say "happy happy?" to lele when carrying him, he will beat his hands on our chest very happily... dunno learn from where one?
Yest when FIL brot him downstairs (carry) he suddenly said very loud "BIR!". My FIL caught by surprise. He turned around and found 2 little birds on the floor!
He was so surprised... so were we when he told us the news.

dlim,
my jboy still at 'ahhh'. Tok oso 'ah', sing still 'ah'. but nowadays he has soft loud 'ah', long short 'ah', sometimes even high pitch and low pitch diff. .. hehe, it's so funni sometimes listening to jboy's talk/sing:p

Kate
jboy also running nose/ cough. been like tis whole week le. Hiaz .. blame it on our crazy weather.

i'm so demoralised! my attempt in cooking porridge using magic cooker was a failure.

coz i mix brown rice with calrose rose. i boiled 10min then put in for 2hrs.
turn out rice was uncooked
and porridge was bit dry

i shd hv soak brown rice in advance first.. sigh.. luckily my boy still napping.. now i hurriedly cook porridge over fire

Min,
Actually my first 2 attempts on porridge with magic cooker was not very successful too. First time, it was not soft enuff, tho' it's cook la. 2nd time, too watery. The 3rd attempt was done by my hb & he tried 'double boil'. He boiled the rice 1 time, put in cooker for 1 hr. Take out, boil 2nd time & put back cooker. Porridge turns out perfect. Tho' abit troublesome, but I am going to stick to this .. u can try if u dun mind e trouble

Min: Maybe u increase the time to 20 mins and see if it's ok. The tricky thing about brown rice, it takes a much longer time to "penetrate" the "husk", so even though u boiled for 10 min, the "husk" may not be penetrated yet. If i cook brown rice over the fire, I need at least 45 mins compared to 30 min for normal rice. I hope this helps.

Alternatively, grind the rice :p

Min n mummies,
now i use my tiger food jar as a 'magic pot' n it works 'perfect'. cos evy sun usually i m out d whole day. morning wake up, i put corn, carrot, pork (whatever stock i hv) to boil. soak calrose rice. wen soup boil for a while, i put in calrose rice n boil for abt 20min. wen is boiling hot, i pour calrose rice together w d pork n carrot n soup into tiger food jar. close tight, dun open. i leave hse abt 10am. abt 1230pm, d poridge is soft, of the right consistency. i pour out d lunch amt to feed cher n rest i keep for dinner. abt 6pm+, d porridge is still very warm n neither dry up or becum watery. if i hv more tx, i wont steam beef/pork/vege n put in the d separate small container tat cum w d jar. we cant leave hm wo d tiger food jar on wkend now :p
actually wan to buy a magic cooker but now make do w this. i hvnt try brown rice but for brown rice, do soak overnite n cook longer over fire.