(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

hi mrs lai,
bb cant eat white rice huh? not good is it?? my gal now wants to eat with us, everytime we eat, she wants "mum, mum".. so i only gave her rice lor..

me didnt do alot of read ups.. lazy mummy.. haha.. :p

coolD,
u were in Tampines past few days...so near me

Morning,

Darbebe: hi.. me ah.. coping ok with pregnancy.. but now adays bz at work, doing house reno, with my big gal ashlyn and trying to pay attn to my bb inside me and HB at the same time..hahaha…miss coming into the forum!!! But my little celebration is very little.. I hope ashlyn will not envy other bb with super big n nice cake with many pple celebrating!

Mrs lai: I nv watch the Taiwanese sex video leh.. Cecilia look drunk ah.. haiz.. I thnk Edison also poor thing… it takes 2 hands to clap but he takes all the blame… my gal also takes white rice porridge leh.. hhmmm.. only sometimes i mix brown rice.. bt majority is white rice..

Caicai: Yah, 8 hours after last feed is good, but not waking up until morning is even better! Ha! At first I thought that waking up after 8 (sometimes 8.5, sometimes 7.5)hours is reasonable. He must be hungry then, I thought!
One night when he woke after 7 hours, I gave him diluted milk (3instead of 8scoops). He fin the whole bot and did not wake till we woke at 6.

This means that he wasn't really hungry in the middle of night. Else he would surely fuss or wake up soon after ma.

So now I'm trying to follow his cue and "train" him to not wake up for milk.

Dreamygal: I'm right then! Cheeky Piggie Glynnis! Ha! Lele is active but at the same time he is the "my-pace" kind of baby.
Some babies will squeal with joy when they are bounced up and down on the see-saw. But lele will be expressionless and after awhile will turn to me to carry him away. When we carry him by the armpits and sway him or bounce him up and down, he will enjoy only if the actions are not too abrupt. When he sees strangers, he will not directly interact w them or smile, but he'll stretch out arms to anyone to carry and sometimes call out and attempt to initiate interactions w strangers on bus, lift etc.

My hub and I both think Lele is the kind who dun like sudden moves and unpredictable situations, and wants to be in control of situation.

kelley , dun worry abt ashlyn , she is probably too young to rmber anything abt 1 yr old stuff .

how u pay attention to the little one inside u huh ? u talk to her everyday ?

abt baby Glynnis , i also think she is cheeky and playful , she is one of the more advanced babies in the April league... haha

Min
You can buy “New Crop” rice instead….got several brands of rice selling new crop…this are young grains and can break down easily…BEST for cooking porridge.

DisneyTokyo
You have to go wet markets to buy fresh “Tian Ji”…not all wet markets have though…so far I know Chinatown market has…also can go check out ‘Sheng Siong’ supermarket….also got sell.

J&R
Of course we remember you…

You still got breastfeeding….Last I read from your blog…realised that your gal has a very tall height…what’s her measurements now?

For birthday party..I’ll be doing it at home. More convenient and my boy is most comfortable when he is at home. Outside, he will fuss & hardly smile…dun hope to take unhappy pictures of him on his birthday.

Mrs Lai
Have you tried the 5 grains rice for making porridge? Several mummies I know are using it.

Hey, I got give my boy nibbles of white rice when we eat outside lei…to stop him from fussing….it’s not advisable?

Kelley
You pregnant with a gal insides still watch Sex Video ah?? Bad education wor…. :p

DreamyGal
So you decided on the sweet pink cake already?

Are you doing the party at home or booked somewhere??

Babygoh: white rice usually has the "nutrients" stripped from it, so I usually give brown rice. I don't give the "red" rice cuz I find it very hard to digest even. I do give her white rice, but everything in moderation lah. I mix a bit here and there, but end of the day, they are growing kids, and they would need the nutrients lor.

PPle tell me fish brain food, but i hate fish... so end up only 1 type of fish I can cook (cuz i can stand the smell) and my gal likes ... i also never do much research cuz look at my porridge! it';s the same day in day out, no wonder my gal get so sick of it!

Kelley
big or small celebration doesn't matter. Just make it a memorable one.

Kate/Caicai
why are you all saying Glynnis as cheeky? Did I miss out anything?

Spring: I got give white rice lah! I tokking about cooking porridge at home! Didn't use the 5 grains - like I say lazy lor :p rt now she had tried quinoa, millet and brown rice :p

She has not tried beef yet also.

Btw mummies, do you think it's ok to cook porridge with cashew nuts? Like chinese soup those type we use? Was thinking of cooking pork, cashew nuts and red dates porridge for her.

Kelley: U free on 29th March? U going over to your mum's place? You wana pop by for my bday's celebrations?

About edison, apparently it's now in the news that he was the one who leaked the photos. Apparently one pic show him with blue black eyes, cuz kena beating up for some pple when he checked in for rehab (accordingly addiction to sex). and then all the talks about albery yeung (his gf's uncle) getting the triad to teach him a lesson or to finish him off.

Scary ...

Springdance
where to get 5 grains rice? What are the 5?

Mrs Lai
Someone told me that brown rice belongs to the heaty group. Is that true?

Hi mrs Lai,
oic, i gv her brown rice usually is in cereal form, me seldom cook for her.. haha!! :p very bad mumy hor..

hi sprindance,
thanks for remembering me. hehe.. i have stop bfg her liao.. she now quite tall, almost same height her cousin who is 4 months older than her man.. she also look bigger size than him, u see their pics in the blog? hehe.. :p

i havent measure her during her 10months.. maybe when i have time ba.. haha.. :p

me cant do at home leh.. cos now move in with my ils liao.. so abit hard to "use her place" for birthday party.. moreover she very clean one, dun wish to "dirty her place" lor.. ahaha.. :p

me thinking of either booking chalet and cater or else i just find a restuarant with buffet lor, charging by per head one.. haha.. not much places to go also.. :p

me actually thinking of booking a function room (best if near to mrt) then cater.. but dunno anyone where have leh.. hehe.. :p need to search around.. :p

babygoh: how about the community centres? Some of the housing estates for the viod deck area for rental too? Where are you staying now?

Mrs Lai
Really? U mean Edison oredi kena bashed up ah? Haha, if he's the one who leaked out the pix so dat his 'little bro' is seen by everybody, dan I tink he's bian tai . . exhibitionist !! :p

Augleo
Yah, my parents stay at st 43.

Re : Porridge
Anybody tried 'huai san' in porridge? I think it's call Burdock in English. My nephew's grandpa who is a chinese physician says 'huai san' (the raw ones, not the dried chinese med kind) is gd for bb woh.

ya, last time my place have.. somemore near mrt leh.. now my il there also have, bt not near to mrt leh.. :p hehee.. me now styaing in bt batok..

hey, thanks for the suggestion leh.. can consider liao.. yippie!! ;P

Cool: They got sell in cold storage or carrefour, saw it before. I only gave wolfberries (gou qi zi) so far when I cook pork porridge. maybe need to go and find those TCM cookbooks for babies and see wat they say :p

Mrs Lai,
will opt for code 769, i think it can go well with the banner w/o no pink base

CoolD,
u can get fresh huai san in supermkt too.
yes, read is good for bb. boost up bb appetite too

Cai: ya.. she probably won’t remember but she won’t hv reali super big party pics like most bb mah…yups.. sing song and talk to bb.. pat my tummy also..hahahah

Springdance: with ashlyn I also like tat..hahaha.. I see nia ma… seldom do.. I thnk doing got more impact..hahah

Darbebe: I thnk so ba..hahaha.. I will make my super mini celebration!!

Mrs Lai: I should be at my mum’s place… if I am around.. can I just pop by..hahahah… wat time ur gals’ celebration start.. cos I be there around 2 as usual! Where u read all the gossip news!!! He leaked them!! Wow!!! Sex addict wor.. *tempting!*

CoolD: Brought Lele to the beach when he was about 8months old. It was okay at the beginning but later turned disastrous! At first when we put him down in the sand, he began cautiously playing with a ball and gradually warmed up. Then we decided to take it a step further and brought him to the sea. Everything was fine until I lowered him into the sea. The moment the tips of his toes touched the sea, he <font color="ff0000">SCREAMED</font>. After that he refused to calm down and wanted to be carried all the time. The moment we went near the sea, he would start "climbing" the person carrying, all the while keeping eyes on the waves. Think the waves and the vastness of the sea scared him.
even when we got away from the sea and tried to put him down, he cried and fussed. Very unlike him.

But the second time we tried about one month later, he enjoyed playing w the sand and trying to smuggle mouthfuls of it into his mouth (succeeded sevearl times... too quick!) But this time, because of the fiasco the first time round, we took things very slowly and made sure he is totally at ease before putting him on the sand. Haven tried to lower him into sea yet though.

Did you bring bbJ to Punggol beach?

coolD , i got gastric problems since young. so my ma heard that this huai sua ( burdock) can cure . she did buy to cook soup for me ....
Bot fm NTUC ( long like sticks )

i dunno if can give babies lah . if want to increase baby's appetite ( the SI SHEN powder) can work right ?

i only ask my ma to put wolfberries / red dates + occasional pao sheng ? the rest of TCM , i think too young , i dun dare to try

mrs lai - no nuts until over a year accdg to my pedia. My hubby fed him by mistake and guess what? eyes became itchy and red! Dunno if same thing mighthappen to your baby but not worth trying!

FROG LEGS - okwill try at sheng shiong, have one near tekka mall

anyone heard or have used Smiling Orchid? I heard they also make good cakes.

I need to find a 3d type of mickey mouse cake for my son! any suggestion where to get? except bengawan solo or polar.

Kate,
Ya, juz casually went there to walk walk last wkend. Anyway, the sea is super dirty so dun tink will dip him in. But for waves, I tried the Wild wild wet 'Tsunami sea' or something, there's man-made wave &amp; bbJ was ok with it, floating up &amp; down

Darbebe: Looks like Cai Cai and I got you curious:p
It's a long story but the short story is that dreamygal wrote in prev thread that she thinks little Glynnis looks like a lil monster. So we responded and said that Lil Glynnis looks like a very cheeky baby with lots of ideas.)

Btw, dreamygal, can Glynnis walk liao?
Remembered she started crawling quite early.

Cool_D,
Huai San is good for bb appetite. I have been feeding my boy quite some time already. We always add in &amp; cook together with his porridge. U must buy those raw huai san.

disneytokyo,
I also started to feed BBJ with Tian Ji(Frog Leg) &amp; Jayden likes it! He can finish all the porridge! U can buy from some wet market or seng siong. Ask them to kill &amp; clean for u.

Smiling Orchid is well known for their pineapple tarts. Cake still all right.

Augleo,
Wow... u very efficient leh! Thanks to all the useful links!!

Cool D: Lele is just the opp of bbJ! He dun mind the sand but was scared of the waves and sea! Going to bring Lele to sentosa in end-Mar. Will try let him have a dip again(^^)

sprindance
where to get 'new crop' rice grain? can get fm supermkt?
currently the grain for porridge is bot by grandma fm a prov shop in wet mkt

Augleo,
u all not mtg up for lunch or tea? just shopping ah? dun noe why cher nvr like JL at marina. she seldom fuss but evytx i brg her there, she fuss till i get out????

Date: 4th March (Tuesday)
Venue: M.Square (J.little)
Time: ard 1.30pm

1. Augleo
2. Kelley
3. Mrs Lai (join after 2pm)

Mrs Lai,
nuts are highly allergenic. mayb can wait till she is 1 yr old n above.

Min,
ntuc, cold storage hv. they are called calrose (oops did i spell correctly?) rice or japanese rice or 'new rice'.

Augleo,
tks for d cake info. i really dun noe which to choose. cos d tasty ones usually dun hv design cake or cost a bomb..

sanrio,
me too, till now still not decided which one to choose. initially was ecreative, then after reading ur verdict n seeing so many other choices here....hahahaha... will browse again. if not will stick to ecreative.

next Tuesday meet up:
yes, will meet for lunch with Kelley, after shopping mayb will hv tea

i nvr like M.sq nursery room lei.
Cher doesn't like M.Sq huh... u "tested" few times?

sanrio , is it a matter of bad timing when u bring cher there ? like she hungry lah / sleepy lah ... mood swing days etc ...

augleo, caicai,
she likes marina square but jus dun like d JL there, dun noe why. tested many tx n at different timing :p
i c whether i can cum..

augleo,
my hb not so willing to spend a bomb on design cake, he is more into d 'taste'.

sanrio,
could it b the temperature in J.Little?
coz i find J.little warmer or rather hot.

any nice/gd taste cake to recommend?

sanrio,
seems like only the two of us can meet tomm. in this case, i might go back to work. my mum wants to take leave to play with kaizer tomm. maybe we can arrange for kaizer and cherelle to visit each other (either at my place or yours).

or they can meet to play at the playground downstairs. kaizer loves to climb up the slide on fours, and then slide down on fours and climb up again. i watched him do this for more than 5 min yesterday at a JE playground. maybe cherelle will enjoy herself watching him too!

apparently he goes down to exercise at the playground at least once a day! otherwise, he'll get too restless at the bbsitter's house.