(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

SQ: YE is in Shauna class or not? Anna took a long time to fall asleep just now. Kept crying non-stop. Really too tired liao. But when she woke up, she smiled.. So it's back to normal..
I got to adjust our schedule a bit to fit in the class. Think at most we let her zzz in the car longer and we drive around to eat wind first..

By the way, there was a 4-mth old baby in the same class! She fell asleep abt halfway through class..

so cute to have the bb falling zzz in class! i guess it's the oni age when you can zzz without getting reprimanded by the teacher! haha...

did the parents try to wake him/her up?

you mean anna woke when you reached home? usu when YE is sleepy, she will continue zzz even when i extract her from the car seat

but she v grouchy today. even the teacher remarked that. cos usu YE will enjoy the class and giggle loud loud.

and no, i'm not in shauna's class. but i've grew to like her teacher. i respect her for what she does.

star,
i bought eggplant! finally have the courage to buy. but sitting on my shelves for 3 days liao. still dun have the courage to cook.

i rem you said to wash it, let the moisture remain, put in microwave container and microwave right? for how long? must remove the skin and head before microwave??

*blur*

Hee... Me back from Borders..
Each $10 voucher is for one full-priced book. I only bot 2 books, so got another 2 vouchers to use.. Actually thought of buying one book, but not sure if I've bot it before, so didn't get it yet.. Now can go back to buy that book (if it's still available).

Star: I think whether the class is stressful really depends on the parents' attitudes. For eg, the mum sitting next to me kept saying the fees are rather high and therefore she wants the child to "benefit" from attending the class. I think this will give the child stress. For me, I would like the lessons to be fun-filled for anna so she can learn through playing.

SQ: There were 8 rules in class and I could remember only 3. #1 Only one parent is allowed in class. #2 They don't allow parents to take notes. #3 Switch off or put handphones to silent mode. They're very strict abt it. Chased everyone else off and closed the door. The baby's mum just carried the baby and let her sleep. The teacher said it's also beneficial for the baby even if she's sleeping.

SQ: Forgot to answer you. There were people moving house at my palce. So it was quite noisy. Usually if she's fallen asleep in the carseat, she's able to sleep through when I carry her out or at least will fall asleep again when we put her into her cot. Today was just unfortunate. I hope she doesn't need to struggle to sleep next Sat after class.

mejo/pink: the bp for firstteeth not cheap leh. i saw ntuc selling $11 plus

QQ/jyun: hope tian & bien are better now

star: met kelly today at thomson prata shop

hi everyone.. popping in for while.. hmmm.. i am not that busy mah.. why i not posting lei? beats me too..
ANYWAY

bbgirl: here.. seems like u the only one 'missing' me.. whahahaha! :p

how's everyone else?

Pearlyn: how's Jayden? recovering? how's are u?

Re: hives/rash
so many bbs not feeling well from hives and rash.. all recovering liao??
QQ, how's tian?
jyun, Ah bien leh?

Teng's having a slight cough and runny/blocked nose.. haiz. and i see MAJOR lumps on his gums.. all like teething like that.. but nothing's happening!! haiz.. anyway..

re chicken pox vaccine
teng took his.. and i was informed by the PD that the fever comes only SEVEN OR TEN DAYS AFTER THE JAB...and 1% of the bbs vaccinated might get the chicken pox rash.. ya. just for info..

re: dahl
i read somewhere.. but not v sure. dahl is actually split lentils.. i used to hink that it was a serparte form of pulse.. hmmm.. apparently it is not.. very confusing one. i should just go grab an indian colleague and clarify this.. and post here.. and clarify everyone's doubts once and for all!!!!

star: forgot to let u know. my eggplant FAILED!!! .. all dried up leh.. i wonder why.. hmmmm...

SQ: how are u?.. my egg plant failure leh.. haiz.. anothr one sitting in my fridge leh. i think going to rot liao.. haiz..

really shacked.. and got to do more reviews. reflections and reading.. the 3 Rs.. haiz. sometimes i wonder. if i am in the RIght department for my interest.. haiz...

wa, i went to cook my lentils sudd got posts liao. good good.

baby girl,
i wouldn't want to sit next to that mummy. how do you quantify "benefit"? and yes, i feel sorry for the child.

zzz also can benefit. haha... that teacher must say the politically correct stuff i suppose

astro,
i miss you too! u never read archive la

astro,
how and why yours fail?

how do you do it?

i'm eager to try leh, but now my hubby mess up the kitchen. i "no-eyes-see", so i dun wanna go in yet. else sure buay tahan the mess. yuck!

carol: heehee.. short form.. heee.. chicken pox rash..

bbgirl: hmmm .. still hols. i think next week school stgarts.. and i need start facilitating classes liao.. quite eng and enjoyable these two weeks.. learning and absorbing like a sponge lor.. i think better appreciate all this..coz i got great and very funny coursemates at my table.. and i have a fun time.. hahaha.. stupid jokes we keep cracking.. :p.. but i tihnk.. once the stress comes to us.. no longer be the same liao.. haiz..

hmm. so far ok.. sometimesteng very notti. dun want to eat or sleep properly.. bullying my mum.. and my mum just gets bullied lor.. nothing has changed.. hmmmm... teng's asserting his 'rights' more and more.. and more and more vocal liao.. always jabbering very loudly and giggling like Gila like that.. now can smile and laught at strangers liao leh.. crying seems to be disappearing. hmmmm....

SQ: simple simple.. just cut the eggplant in half..wash it, and place it flesh side down in the bowl, cover and microwave high for 4 - 6 mins or longer if it does not soften. Once cooked, the flesh will turn soft, u should be able to scrap it quite easily off the skin.
If u microwave the eggplant whole, just remember to prick some holes with a fork, we dun want your eggplant exploding in ur microwave.

Carol: ya i heard from kelly.. she went for prata too ah?

yvonne,
so are you going to cook that lentil still? you got it from astro if i rem correctly?

i just finished cooking a batch. will be bz cooking and pureeing this week since i'll be preparing YE's meals (poor gal, got to eat my boring food)

SQ: I bot my second packet of lentils for Anna today. She's finished 1 whole pack! My goodness..

SQ: Cos she asked all the "right" questions so as to get the most out of the class. I never bother to think.. So I just listen to what she asks, and how the teacher answers lor..

By the way, there was also an inspector in the class today. Not sure if it's becos the teacher taking the class is new and therefore needs a chaperone.

My gf just gave birth to a baby girl on the 1st..she was so dizzy and having such bad headache that she could not get off the bed even till today, she is still in hospital now, was supposed to be discharged on fri. Apparently she had a epi and the anesthetis inserted the needle too deep or in the wrong spot, it caused a small hole in her spine....now she can't even sit up or stay upright for long as she gets really bad heacdache and dizziness.. her gynae ask her to go for a surgery to fix it..so scary leh. my gf is so upset now. First time i heard of such a case, i am very worried for her leh.

astro: i know its short form. wat i mean is wat kind of rash?

star: ya, after her workout. its a waste! hehe! but she slim down liao

hey mummies
i've stole 3 hrs out to my galfriend's place for a 7 course dinner prepared by them...gotto rush back at 10 to put leia to sleep...they're preparing the next course now

blurbelle
which gym and package did u sign up?
i think its impossible to get rid of the big tyre unless we do sit up 100 times a day

GUG class
i will call and gave them the 10 names.
anyone esle still want to add on?

Yvonne and Shannie, confirming?

baby girl,
so did you feel that the teacher is adequately trained?

wa, anna ate so much lentils? i dun dare give too much, cos scared wind. anyway, YE eats like a bird. i have a lot of stuff she's still taking her own sweet time to eat

SQ: haha.. miss u too.. heeeheee.. i read here and there.. i know some mummies asking me something on food.. but i keep forgetting what and who asked.. :p so .. sorry mummies who asked me.. ehhh.. ask again? ... :p

SQ. i suspect i put too much salt and leave outside too long liao.. then i think all the moisture all got drawn out.. and when i baked in oven.. all dried up liao.. flesh, if there are any, becomes very hard.. can't eat at all.. haiz.. threw everything away. and i bought the stupid eggplant from marketplace leh.. EX leh.. haiz

star: my guess correct? i left the salt on the eggplanttoo long right? left for 30 mins leh... hmmmm.. i remember ur comment to me.. i think ur hb would look 'cute' being the nurse in ur photosho0t!!!! hahaha..

carol: hmm.. it starts like a normal rash. but after that the characteristic blisters appear in the place of the rash.. ---chicken pox...

Star: small hole in the spine??? u mean in the cushion area around the spine??.. spine bone.. the needle can poke through? the nerves got affected??? wah. sounds very dangerous leh..

SQ: yvonne bought hers.. then afterthat. it bought one pack for her.. cause i dunno if the lentils she bought was the lentils i was referring to.. hmm. not too sure if she has prepared it for bel.. i still feel that something wrong's with the first packet bought from the mama shop.. coz lentils has very low allergy risk leh.. hence recommended for bbs starting on weaning.. hmmm..

and fyi.. lentils is one of the staples for teng.. i think i have bought around 6 packets since he started weaning liao..

star,
not big not big. it's one of the smaller ones i can find

your fren real poor thing. that was my greatest fear for epi too. that's why tot for quite some time whether to take. the anethestist cannot make it lah

SQ: I could feel she's nervous. But she's confident of herself and could handle the activities and flow of the class well. I think the Shichida programme is rather well-defined that dependency on the teacher is not as high as other programmes. In short, I think she's not bad. She graduated from Arts and Social Sciences. Think she can speak French and Japanese.

astro,
you depend on lentil as staples? for protein? so when you put lentil, do you put potato and rice? i scared all mixed together v bao2 bao3 leh.

wa, you put salt ah. i very kiasi, dun dare to do all these leh. now YE's meals still v boring. plain ones. no spice or what like you and joelle

baby girl,
i think they might need to go for certain number of hours of training bah.. usually that's the case for the better programs.

the gymboree class i went last time, wah, the teacher was really amateurish leh. can faint

Astro: I only add lentils to Anna's porridge. I saw wheat germ, hulled millet, cous cous etc. But could not remember which I've read that I could intro to baby, so bot lentils again.

SQ: See... Anna's intake not big liao.. Teng has finished 4 packs!

SQ: Another thing is she could flash her cards very fast, which is a plus skill. I think being new, she's very enthusiastic and motivated. Compared to an "old bird", she'll prob be very keen to do well. Again, this is good as a recipient.

oh oh star and astro,
my eggplant shrinked to half of its size. and shrivelled up. does it mean i overcook?

still haven't scrapped the flesh off yet. cos cooling now

erh.. got seed? no need to remove? just mash with fork and freeze can liao?

SQ: yes.. i depend on it as staples .. and for protein.. coz i dun want to overload teng on protein (meat protein i mean).. coz bbs need only 50 of meat protein a day.. but teng's too fat.. need cut carbon.. so i need to rely on pusles to give him energy lah.. so lentils 's best choice for me.. and the wind issue.. teng doesn't seem to have it... fyi again.. lentils has the least wind for the pulses...

i mixed and match lentils one leh. sometimes with potatos (red lentils savoury).. someimtes with millet (with beef lentil supper) .. sometime my own 'uninspired' series (mixed with pumpkin, green veg etc).. in short i like lentils. heehee.. perfect for lazy me! :p

ehh.. i put salt to draw out the moisutre and smell as taught by star.. then i washed it away lah.. anway.. teng's 1 liao.. i think time for me to stop being so 'restrictive' on his diet. but i dun mean that i will flood him with salt and sugar .. i jus tmean i see open a bit more..

hmmm. no lah.. teng doesn't eat very intresting meals lah. joelle more daring.. u know what seth has eaten???.. icecream ah!!! .. heeeheee..

haha astro,
mine from marketplace too. i like to buy things from them. v fresh. see liao v shiok.

but my hubby and mum thinks it's not worth the price

baby girl,
teng started earlier off mah. at least two months ahead leh. cannot compare

i like your perspective on the teacher. usually participants prefer the old birds cos they see them as more experienced. you are a very gracious mummy, baby girl

bbgirl: all can into liao.. anna's 10 mths liao.. safe zone liao
now's the time to be daring liao!
seriogusly. teng eats a lot of lentils leh. seee ahh.. each time i cooked one batch . i used 75 to 100g leh.. :p

SQ: oh oh!! :p YE no eggplant to eat liao. .just like teng liao. heeheee :p

astro,
you v creative liao. YE has only eaten all the steamed and puree stuff from me. v boring diet. now i'm more laxed with her also. as in when i give biscuits, last time a bit of sugar also cannot. now a bit ok lah. and why you say eat icecream v daring? YE also eaten liao. she likes it
who doesn't right?

just an hour ago i was discussing with hubby on protein! whether to give meat protein every meal or one meal a day good liao.

my mil apparently gives a lot of meat leh. but i prefer to give her fish

SQ/bbgirl: sometimes the young ones are better.. coz of the interest and willingness to work.. old birds have the thinking of 'seen it all'.. and get complacent.. and that's prevents improvement on their part.. and they become stagnant.. very dangerous one.. for educators esp

yalor.. teng one yr leh.. cannot compare.. hmmm these days he's eating lesser and drinking lesser also.. hmmm..

Astro: Ok.. I'm actually very surprised when my miad wants us to buy lentils for Anna. Cos I thot the packet is so big and each time we use only like 1 tablespoon and it should take a long time to finish. And when I saw all the packets of wheat germ, millet, cous couthere, I was askis etc I had the urge to buy. But was wondering how long it'll take anna to finish them. I think they'll have expired even before she can finish them. How come they don't come in smaller sizes?