(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

SQ: haha. now we all scolding hte eggplant stupid liao.. hmm.. who's stupid ah?? eggplant stupid or we stupid . coz cannot cook it right? :p:p.. i think u can try scrapping. that time i see mine.. als no appetite liao.. no meat for me to scarp at all!!!

icecream = pure sugar mah.. hmmm. i think i want to bluff teng longer.. let him tink yoghurt and formage frais= icecream.. haha

bbgirl: eehhh.. they dun come in smaller size.. coz most pple cooked them in batches more than 1 tablespn leh.. :p.. i suggest.. want try red lentil svaoury for anna? she might like it

Astro: Agree. But I must add it depends on the cirriculum. For some, an inexperienced teacher is almost equivalent to being a disaster. I find Shichida has very defined activities to carry out in class. Being so, the new teacher, if she prepares for the class, will also be able to output as well and as much to the class.

bbgirl: wheatgerm dun buy first.. coz i think not very tasty leh :p.. anyway.. hmm couscous.. i failture leh. can't cook it right.. hmm. think millet safest bet.. cook it like rice.. and as accompaint to some meat protein (with sauce..)... yummy :p

bbgirl,wah. 4 months old bb still have many issues to be solved leh. go schicida liao. so stressful.

blur. thanks. actually i also suspect food allergy first. then hor, i lazy u know. i did not change her food for 3 days liao. still kena. she has irritated throat also. then these two days at home, throat ok liao.

tian is recovering, quite fast la. now left only some marks and she dun complain itchy. thanks auntie michelle.
mr lai is really back today. and he is leaving tomorrow. he got a shock when he heard my voice thru phone, so he arranged to be back for 2 days at least to give us some support.

bbgirl: ya.. not too sure abt shichida's activites though.. but just want to add that where's there a will, there a way.. and sometimes.. the way to learn.. is thru mistakes.. although.. it is costly and time consuming.. heeheee..

astro,
wat exactly is fromage frais made off? i've only seen it in carrefour

ok, my eggplant can salvage abit. but a bit slimy leh. can't mash with fork as expected. how ah... YE will throw up if she eats such slimy things. like avocado, mango. must mash till lan4 lan4 wor...

baby girl,
i find the attitude most important. educators or not. if we think we are "there", we are most probably on the road to decline.

QQ: i really think u are very strong.. emotionally andmentally. coz tian's frequently down with rash.. and it is vERY disturbing.. to see all the marks on ur bbs.. teng's once shingles. i cannot make it liao.. u can tahan and brace on despite ur hb's absence. i'm very impressed with u

baby girl and astro,
talk about big packs! i've been wanting to buy millets but i only saw the ultra super duper big gigantic pack!

astro,
how to cook couscous ah? thot just fluff after a while can liao. difficult ah?

QQ,
see? you have a good hubby

Cous cous: This was the closest I was about to get. Cos I like it too.
But it has got a v high sodium content leh. So didn't buy in the end.

Astro: You can ask Star how to cook cous cous.. Think she mentioned before..

Star: I didn't remember wrongly hor?

SQ: Yah lor.. Puts me to shame when I reflect on my own attitude at work! *sighz* But then again, with what I do, experience is much more impt than enthusiasm. ** consoling myself **

eh eh, i just realised so many thigns to read ah. haha!

astro, I waited for u to come back. i tot u busy preparing for your lessons leh. i dare not give lentil, etc etc now.. see ah, on and off i have this problem with tian, i have to be careful. then hor, she has winds too. dr ong asked me not to give beans and thos wind causing food. less choices again.

SQ, yalor. i think he is good. he is nice la. i told him, "aiya why u come back cause you have to work in KL on monday, I only need moral support. " he said:" I'm back here to give you moral support mah/". ok lor... I'm a bit touched la, cause he comes back liao i no need to do lots of things.

QQ: Yah lor, at 4 mths still got many issues to resolve. Looking at the little baby, I was glad we didn;t enrol Anna any earlier. Her other classmates (4 others, cos 6 per class) are around her age.

oh ya!!! talking abt mashing up food and pureeing ah.. mummies. time to gradually STOP pureeing and mashing up food for ur bbs liao.. coz now they can take finely chopped and soft food liao.. PD told me.. she very impressed with teng eating chopped food (meat somemore) even though he boh gay till now.. and i was so yaya abt myself when i heard that from her :p (finally one thing i did right!).. coz she said some bbs can insist on pureed food till 2 years though they have teeth.. and not good for speech development.. and definitely not good for mental development lah.. coz time to eat 'adult' food liao mah..reliance liao..very difficult to get rid..

and there was this mummy who was yayaing to me abt how her son can crawl so well.. and teng cannot (in the clinic).. and then how her son has ten teeth and teng not a single teeth.. chey.. and she shut up immeidately when she saw what teng was eatting.. chicken marconi (all intact and chicken chopped.. not pureed).. i wanted to laugh when i saw her 'shut up'.. seriosly. why need to compare her boy to teng ah?? boo her!hheeeeee.. coz i dun speak.. doesn't mean i like her comparison leh.. chey!

Astro: Red lentils? Yah, have been using these. It turns yellow after cooking right? Savoury? What do u mean? Add salt? Hey, u don't test me lah.. Anna will grow up eating boring menus lah. Cos mummy can't cook.

astro, no la. I bobian only but got frens there to support and help me from time to time. i also kacau BB's sil. she gave me some good advice too.. see, i sms so many ppl.... pax, bb's sil, michelle, mash..
fyi, i was also 90% alone during preggie time, used to it liao. now more troublesome, cause cannot just go with my tummy.

SQ, me too. recently tian's menu is very dull.. super dull... no choice.
eggplant is not in my list yet cause mil said skin no good better dun take eggplant. actually she said cucumber also avoid. so, zuchini also cucumber woh. headache. now dunno what to cook tomorrow.

all the tok abt lentils...ok, A's going to eat porridge w lentils+asparagus tom!

today he had porridge w beef+asparagus+fresh shitake in fish stock

QQ,
so nice hor your hubby. it's always good to be pleasantly surprised

astro,
but she always make the puking sound and will really puke when the food not smooth enuf leh. i mean, not puree till damn jialat lah, but must be smooth wor. like cook 10,000 years kind

Astro: Yah.. Boo them who compares.. Each child is different and unique.
Which reminds me.. Actually at the class, the parents were also very impressed Anna could stand leh. And when I said she could walk a little, the parents all turn to their children and ask them to learn from Anna.. ** faintz ** To which I immediately said what's so good abt walking early?? Absolutely nothing wat!

carol,
how to cook shitake? just boil? then puree? (astro's gonna scream at my pureeing liao)

how how how? my eggplant still sitting there. must chop up the flesh now? don't puree? i'm quite sure she will throw up leh.

this is the FIRST and LAST time i'm serving eggplant. got to refrain from puking at the smell and slime. i hate slimy things

QQ: You're the very independent type. I'm not. Look fierce and tough on the exterior, but am like a fragile flower inside.. Hahaha... What a pitiful des of myself..

SQ: i cooked it before.not difficult to cook almost like rice but i added too much water.. become porridge liao.. gross.. think one fine day.. when i got some energy. should try again..
try millet..keep in tupperware.. should last..
fromage frais is white cheese.. normally they add fruits.. to it.. try petit miam.. ? got sugar though :p

yes.. tried parsnips.. but got a smell leh.. quite sharp.. and that itme.. i peeled skin off my fingers when i tried parnsip. haiz. then never try it again..

hmm.. i know for sure.. cwp and marine parade cold storage has parsnips.. carrefour also has.. i dun think dried up leh.. whey.. try swede?!!!.. VERY nice!! very fragant and sweet !!!
.... cwp got.. heeehee :p

SQ: what's ur profession ah? i think for me.. both qually impt.. i no experience in RP.. so i need to make it up with enthu ah! :p

QQ: waiting for me? u need my help?? .. siong.. i salute u.. tian not easy to take care.. (dun mind me for being blunt.. but i seriously feel that way).. and i think u doing 'bravo-ly' well!!

SQ: i juz chop small small then cook with porridge. like wat astro says, nowadays i try to chop the food instead of puree. my blender going into hibernation liao. can u try slicing the egg plant into small pcs?

Pink; paisay what is the date of the GUG class again har.. just received news that hubby needs to go away for 1 week.. i think i better scroll back and look at the archive to see the date again and then i let u know.

Carol, SQ, Baby Girl: TMC leh.

SQ: u mean this is one of the more common risk for epi? she told me the doc gave her 2 option, 1 is to go for another surgery to fix it , another is to wait for it to close up and heal itself. This is her 2nd epi from this same anethestist lah... dunno why so suay this time screw up!

Astro: i dunno where exactly the hole is, its causing liquid to flow and pool in the hole thus the headaches and dizziness.

Astro: u bake too long liao lah..how long u put in the oven?.. u cut into slices then bake isit? yes need to leave for 30mins to draw out the bitter juices then wash clean. i teach u, next time, get 1 bigger eggplant, length wise, just slice a bit off the top, apply salt to draw out the bitter juice, then bake the whole big eggplant then its easier to handle and won't dry up too fast when baking.

SQ: ur eggplant very small isit? dun worry, it will shrink when cook cos flesh soften mah. can still eat lah.. dun throw. so waste.
Ice cream has full egg (inluding white, thats why best not to inrto till after 1 lah)

astro,
ya, i heard couscous cannot add too much water. else v gross

profession? i dun think enthusiasm depends on profession leh.

enthusiasm is the secret to success

astro, bbgirl. i agree, should not compare bb's development cause they develop very very fast and also in differnt pace. each child is unique.
my auntie also yaya and told me her dotter started walking at 9 month, how come tian still cannot? i was surprised, but i told her no problem, I dun mind her to walk later leh. she thinks I am weird bah. as far as I concern, health is more important to me.

bbgirl, then schicida class bb very stressful. haha!!
but i would like tian to learn good behaviors from other bbs. she is a bit notti, dr ong also commented" wah, she is very fierce..." cham liao.

star,
the class on 17feb i think. sunday

re: epi
this is not common lah. she just suay. it's a known risk, but not tat high.. and yes, it will heal if you can wait

star,
how come my eggplant slimy ah? so must i chop now? i can't mash with fork leh

QQ: I really think I'm the most bo-chap parent there.. I was enthusiastic in participating in the activities lah. Just playing only mah.. And hor, Anna could get the answers correct leh.. I thot it's fluke or chance but she could guess it correct each time. Now I think she's got ESP.. the telepathic kind
I think all babies have.

star. wah your fren very cham, so how? can fully recover or not? aiyo.. like that she won't have the courage to have no. 2 liao. very scare.

astro, its okay la. i dun need your help, but just want to know if its good to be in RP. i might end up as a facilitator there next time. i think the hardest part is to discipline her now. Her 1st 4 months was a nightmare to me, cause lots of problem since birth, jaudice la, vomit milk, colic, winds,... but my mil said tian is easy to take care? maybe she forgot all her pains liao.

star, actually tian can finish her porridge in 15 min. if she has no appetite, and i wanna fore her to eat, then will take a long time. otherwise can chop chop. like this i have to reflect on my cooking skills liao. maybe not tasty.

SQ: just chop it into amore fine texture can liao.. its very soft, machiam will melt kind when put in ur mouth.. i am sure YE will love it lah.

bbgirl: no salt lah.. i dunno why gf calls it savoury.. hmmm. coz not sweet ? heehee.. easy one.. really. trust me.. :p
just boil everything.. how diff can it be right??

SQ: ya.. i going to 'scream' at pureeing liao :p.. seriously. try slowly.. puree less and less.. coz YE ten month liao.. and got teeth liao.. just like CIO.. texture needs time to get used too one..

carol: have i mentioned that i dun like shitake mushroom ? :p.. heehee.. can try osyter mushrooms also.. NICE ah!!! very sweet leh.. very aromatic also

QQ: why? why u need to sms pple?? what was wrong?

bbgirl: hmmm.. i think i have learnt to take things slightly easier.. coz i am telling myself. i 'missed' enjoying teng when he was 1- 3mths old. cause of my depression.. now i need relax.. coz teng's getting more and more adorable.. all the 'wrong' things will eventually resolve themselves.. and like what irin and audrey said.. slower doesn't mean anything bad.. it just means that they are more blessed and have pple taking care of them.. haha! :p smart lei.. haha.. anyway.. teng i suspect.. can walk independently liao.. but he very cautious.. dun dare to let go.. but to hold on to hand.. even if just one finger.. he also want hold.. ok.. let him.. hmmm..me no strength to inisit he lets go completely.. hmmm..

carol, if I drive alone, i dun dare to drive too far cause skills not steady liao still being distracted by her. this is not safe. so either take cab or SOS michelle. today peak hour... call michelle's cab company. her mum said will send Mr lai the bill. haaha!

bbgirl, u smart la. u are not bochap. u delegate some tasks to your maid liao which is good. bb are smart. today i let tian make her choice cause i went to buy another grobag. i picked two colours, let her choose, then i bought the one that she chose. so, its her choice, she cannot say dun want to wear.

SQ: class on 17th? alamak, i cannot make it lah.. hubby not back then, i better tell pink to remove my name

eggplant is a bit slimy, hey u can puree it, no problem one, in the middle east, eggplant dip (they puree) its a staple.
So the hole will heal? what gotta wait very long? doc told her 1 week, but she dun seem to be getting any better.. she so worried that she will be paralysed.. cos its the spine.. i also scared for her leh.

Astro: I'm lost. Were we talking abt lentils? What else to boil together?
Now we mix rice and lentils and cook them like normal porridge. Does this fall under GF version of savoury? We always have fish and most times mear as well. Still savoury I guess , as long as there's no pumpkin, carrot or such.

SQ, i also dun puree much nowadays, but i dun give too big piece also. for fruits i cut and let her eat by herself (papaya or other soft fruits). apple i still puree a bit so that i can feed faster. let her bite is only for fun. i tried meat, then she can still chew, but after that got dark eye rings. so i think i need to do it gradually. start from softer food bah.

astro, no la. i sms ppl cause i need to know if their bb's hives turn dark colour after healing. tian's hive turned darker colour. Matt's one is not. my fren also surprised, seemed like not everyone is the same. dr ong said its still normal.

astro, YE no teeth
just faint whimpse of it. not out yet. taking forever.

but she can eat all kinds of cookies and bread and big chunks of cheese

carol,
ok. chop out can liao ah.

star,
i will let you know the outcome!
thks for your online help to eggplant. haha.

aiyo just read that most of u failed cooking ur eggplant, hmmm, i should organise a demo at my place to cook eggplant (then u all will know how easy it is)..and can also sample my delicious eggplant recipes at the same time and I am sure u all will fall in love with this vegetable ..hheheh :p

star,
i think it's 17th lah. cos i was checking if i can go, then realised it's a sun so i can't. beta let pink confirm

QQ,
i puree blueberries. cos scared choke leh. and i also puree fruits to mix into her cereal wor. am i supposed to chop as well? oh oh... chop then freeze? no time to chop every meal leh, must do it batches. astro?

bbgirl: red lentils savoury has carrots, potatoes and swedes.. boil all together.. according to GF.. astro's recipes has mushrooms and such also heehee..

QQ: want come RP as faciliatator ah? .. heehee. come.. come.. but dun get shocked.. coz not as easy as it seems.. just ask autum and mejo :p.. i met so many frens in RP leh.. heeheee..

star: i dunno leh. hmm i think should try again. i think do lenthwise as what u suggest easier .. hmmm
i think the sac (watery cushion) arond the spine is poked.. yes.. very slight risk.. and i also was very scared.. and i deliverd in TMC lei.. hmmm.. sugery meas cut up and fix the problem.. waat if touchwood mess up again? .. hmmm.. touchwood!!!

QQ: can heal fully i think... but need time.

Baby Girl: i also cook lentils with porridge. My other lentil recipe is that i cook about 2 tbsp of lentils with chopped potatoes and butternut squash and chicken breast or fish (sumtimes i cook using chicken stock, if not, plain water also can).. then mash it all up.. its delicious. u can try, very simple and easy to cook too. Just need to make sure more water is added so u dun burn the pot 9cos lentils absorbs a lot of liquid.

star,
ya lah. you eggplant expert. your nick should change liao. next time i dun call you starfruit. i call you eggplant.

QQ,
ya, i also think baby girl is smart. and steady

oh talk about baby surprising us. just now hb ask YE where's her nose, and surprisingly she knows! we were so shocked!

SQ: wah. blueberries. i just add water and puree. if i chop everything up.. i mai die?! :p.. just dun puree so finely
.. YE also no teeth. hmm. teng can date her also liao.:p she can handle one.. slowly.. start from the eggplant.. dun puree so finely

star: damm yaya :p ..*raise hand. FIRST to register* :p:p

oh star,
i forgot to ans you. yes, will heal. takes time. unless the doc says otherwise

so your chicken you chop fine fine then cook with lentil? i usu slice, then puree leh
die, must change my cooking pattern liao