(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

Thanks SQ : )) aiyah...i sure update you guys.

AAA, SQ, Astro, i actually not brave...me n CO are quite timid in nature. CO hides when she see swiper appeared in TV. She stopped watching Dora cos of swiper.

AAA, in my list, no chicken too.

Astro, Dr asked me not to mention PAIN infront of CO...see how she goes tomorrow...I think the pain will linger a few days.

Mejo: and the yang qin..:p
i wonder how they can hit with precision the mass/mess of lines in front of them.. darn accurate wor! and u know how fast they go and they play chords! wow. i wanted to play that one.. but was told to go to sheng just because i know the staff line.. feel a bit cheated.. hahaha. nvm lah..

CK: ya.. pyschology hor? teng will whine and whine.. CO started eating liao? ok?

AA: Dizi is v cool! hahaha.. (read: Miser).. very flamoboyent instrument i must say. hhahaha.. miser used to play the er-hu!.. (mejo no offense to u and the erhu.. i am refering SPECFICALLY to the case of MISER).. thank goodness he was asked to go to the dizi.. else i think i wun notice him that readily :p:p

AA: maybe u can go 'traditional' and get Anna to pick up the guzheng! i see smaller yang qins for the primary schools.. not sure ofthe guzheng though. then u learn it with her.. then do 母女二重奏!idea? whahahah...

Astro: You just reminded me. I can't play the guitar now cos I have nails, and I won't cut them just so I can play the guitar.. :p The lips will get quite painful too from playing the brass instruments. I wonder why pain is associated with playing instruments? And it's super painful and one will get scabs from pressing the chords down on the guitar. :p You mean it's the same with gu zheng? Then I will rethink.. And yup, I have thought of taking up lessons with anna. But she's not keen. She looked at the instrument and said it's too difficult for her! :p

SQ: Jane of all trades, master of none. So to speak..

CK: Is she given painkillers? Take care.

I googled yang qin.. And oh one plays it with sticks like the percussion instruments! I like!
Haha.. But as with the xylophone, I find it difficult to hit the right notes using sticks, rather than my own fingers. :p Is this purely psychological? How abt the tuning of the yang qin? Same as the gu zhen? Everytime time?? Then I will think twice again..

AAA, u need to go into percussion. it is a great place to destress.

i am here to destress. i feel suffocated.

i chose to sleep in living room with ah will because ah will dun want aircon. ok fine.
then maid is supposed to sleep with sils, but ended up jay brought down a piece of quilt and said no more mattress. apparently he was instructed to do so. we are okay la, cause this is not our place mah.. we have to listen to the owner's arrangement.

if i had known it earlier, i would have stayed at my mum's place tonight. jay said he was lazy to move things in and out of the car again every other day. sigh!
there is not enough mattresses here, and there are 4 rooms, yet not enough room to host all of us?? weird.

so i concluded, they feel weird staying with a maid, but i dont feel so. i can sleep with my maid even on the same bed. i am such a maid quality in their eyes.
what's wrong with a maid bunked in with them?
we always bunk with my cousin's maid whenever she visited us de. sigh.

given a chance i will not want to stay here anymore, so chop chop day 1 chu 1 after ah will wake up we will run to my mum';s place le. there we all sleep in the super huge living room, as if having a big studio.

sorry for the grumble.. now back to music in my next post.

AAA, i have seen someone playing a xylophone with 8 sticks at one go. each of the stick can touch the note precisely.. amazing. i cannot do that. i can only play instruments without tunes. i can only follow the beats.

music-
alamak... i am not sure if tian is intertsed in music but i feel that it s a big commitment and investment. shall i expose her in music as well?

star, tian told me she wants ballet, she still doest know how boring the ballet lesson can be. sigh! i told her lets go tap dance, she said tap dance is not so fun. aiyo..
i hope she dun regret next time.
and ballerinas have strong calf.. sigh!

AAA, astro, huingee and everyone,
i am a lazy mummy but whenver i am inspired (here), i will do something. this is a v good place with motivators in this sense. so i must thank everyone especially those experience ones..
i am like miser, i feel like kids should play more. however i have been shaken by the crowds long time ago and now jay also worried that tian will have a hardtime to adjust.
i told jay to read books to tian, he oni ok ok ok and recently he din even read to her at all. nobody motivates him i must say.
i was different (yaya face), i read to tian in the past 1 week (1 week nia), and tian was happy when reading with me. i make an effort to point out new characters to her, and she can remember some of them after a few times so i feel v proud of here.
i know this wont last, but at least it lasted for more than 1 week, haha!

for the phonics card games, i played with tian twice so far, she loves it. she wanted to play somemore. she said it was fun!
actually i was having my dinner while playing with her, i only used my mouth and talk talk talk, then she pick up words from the table/floor and bring to me. she can get almost all correct except those COLD words (leng3 men2) ones.

afterall, i am happie that she enjoys learning. so, i hope she can give me a surprise one year later, if i can continue to play with her for one year?? can I?
i trust that all of u can motivate me.

so by reading to them now, and play games, it is not dull at all. to them, they are still playing, and it only cost me 10-15 mins a day.

Qqq,

U rem tt my mil make a hoo haa when she has to sleep w my ex maid. Same loh, she also dun want to sleep w her in e same room even maid sleeps on mattress.

mist, they made her sleep on the floor. so i can only say i sleep on floor la, marble flooring woh.
if they voice this out earlier, i can always bring back a few mattresses from my mum's place.
nobody mentioned until just now mil said, not enough mattress.
and actually i dun mind staying at hotel too!
but then they oni said when my ah will is sleeping le.
so i am not v happie just now, but now i think think think, just two nights nia, should be ok.

AA: it has got to do with the strength of ur embouchure.. technically aft u developed the correct embouchure and ur mouth/lip muscles are strengthen,, no more pain.. then the focus is on excercising and breathing and fingering excercises..

I do get tired and strained embouchures if i dun regularly playing my clarinet.(like after a long break of the holidays). my embouchure will also weaken.. then the lips are not tight enough and poor playing cz can't pitch properly.. as with the brass..

that's why my earlier claim that it is seldom that u find pple who play both brass and woodwinds equally well.. coz their embouchures are vastly different.. and my instructors reminded us that it actually harms the embouchures (same principle) if u play too many instruments (most of the time, they meant brass and woodwinds).. but no stopping u if u want to mix brass/percussion.. string/woodwinds.. etc... that's why u see professionals.. often if they major in brass.. their minor is often percussion.. or strings..etc..

ha.. i dunno if it is pyschological :p.. for yang qin. not many times..they mostly do the tuning on the panels on the sides. i think.. the right panel. they open it up to tune... but i do see my frens moving the wooden ridges some time.. i dunno for what. coz i didnt ask.. :p for yang qin.. wrist power..as in u flick that hammer (mallet)..onto the strings.. to execute the note.. occasionally there is a need to have rapid lingering notes.. i dunno the technical term for it..almost like a vibrato.. ..

the guzheng think need to cut nails of one hand.. the left hand to press the strings down.. the right hand typically wear fake finger nails.. so quite ok.

i gt a great link here.. can hear a tune by each instrument!
http://chinesemusic.co.uk/home/node/28

once u mastered the guzheng.. u can try playing the guqin.. wah that one is difficult.. u know those that u see in chinese pugilistic shows..? ha..Confucius plays that too!

QQ: yes. i seen my instructor doing that..very stylo.. haha. very cool. their body will move forward and in tune to the beat as they hit their 8 mallets together! got special ways one.. else all fly out of hands liao!
hey. set drum ultra cool. u know?.. very cool.. hahaha

chill lah.. haiz. next time book hotel.. like that everyone have a happier stay :S

oh. just now i went to popular. to try to get the chinese tracing svs fr teng's name.. this miser hor.. i think his standard is super low.. he says.. dun practice his name. it is too difficult for him at this pt in time.. i am like. huh? name.. dun try to learn.. then i say 'ur standard is very low'.. he says 'why must u personal attack?'.. ha! his point.. he wants to find a book which teaches simplified words no more than 5 stroke per character at a time.. but the reality is.. very hard to find in chinese! it is different from english leh.. aiyoh.. then i show him (at popular) the 小太阳 readers series that teng has at LV.. eventhe first level also not like that. i dunno if he got convinced or not eventually .. haiz..then he can come and tell me very happily.. teng knows 7 characters liao.. i was like.. excuse me.. one month needs to know 11 words.. now how many mths past liao? :S

Huingee: and popular dun have the tracing svs one leh.. i keep asking.. then they said cld have been independent svs providers come and set up stalls in popular.. :S

QQ: kids can play and shd play. but it depends on how u define play.. play as in go nature walk walk see see? -- good... play as in creative play with lego --good.. play as in socialising, running away ---good.. but for teng. it is none of the above.. he will sit on the sofa and suck his thumb as he watches his tv.. else he will go ad rampage through my cabinets to god knows do what! past one year. he is starting to murmur to himsel he tries to 'cook'.. or play.. with yh or what ever.. all those i can define it as productive play....
what i cannot stand is teng sitting/slouching on the sofa.. dazing.. eyes not blinking staring at the tv.. and ejoy sucking his thumb.. i feel he looks tui fei! omg.. (no offence to any child who does what teng does.. i dun think there would be any as extreme as him!)

yh on the other hand likes to walk around the house carrying paper bags.. then squat put things inside.. then walk again..and smile at u..then go out of the room... ha..

SQ: ya, i went juz now.
i still dun see the usborne readers..
i think i will buy from the bp liao lah. lazy to wait.. my 3 minutes fever very fast dissipitate one.. :p

SQ, yes next trip in march i will plan a full stay at my mum's place. full of excuses sia..
and now we are at livig, room, they still king king kong kong at kitchen, and i believe they will continue until tomorrow.

Astro, i have the urge to join the bp too! or shall i wait for u to get your books first, then review and see?

SQ, if i have the time and energy, i will also drive all the way an dbuy de, though i prefer online purchase and delivery to my doorstep.

Ah wil can zzz w e king king kong kong?

I m an old fashioned Lao auntie shopper
I prefer touching n feeling my purchases at the stores rather than jus looking at images online
More shiok!!

Astro,
i dont see adults sucking thumb, so not too worry bah one day he will quit his habit.
but i do see children/teens biting their nails off on and off, just a habit.

talking about march trip, my blood boils again. probably today my first day of menses, my blood boils v v easily.
the wedding in march is a lunch on sunday, but when i was booking tickets, i asked jay he said dinner.
so we book monday night's tickets cause thinking that monday am will b too rush and we wanna sleep more.
who knows it is a lunch? or later decided to be lunch or wat? we are not sure. and then star mentioned that their lunch is v v efficient and fast one.
so everyone else booked sunday night or monday's am's tickets back to kl, left oni out family.

in order to book monday's tickets, we have to pay another 800 extra. then we eventually settled with sunday night's flight with 420 extra.
jay has to pay for this cause he made the mistake by telling me CONFIDENTLY that it is a dinner.
v v bad communication between their family members. jialat.

so blood boils v v badly. jialat.

yes astro, mallet!!!!!
long forgotten the term le.

SQ, it depends on what i buy. wheni buy food, i prefer to see and feel, and decide if i want to buy. i love to choose 1-2 from a whole series de. i can be at the shelf for a long time before i make my choice. haha!
if buying books, i can buy online de.

children clothes i also buy online ok.

this ah will, wakes up on and off. when he sees the house is differnt he cries again. pacify him to sleep and then he zzzz.
the king king kong kong is secondary, mil keep talking to bil at kitchen, that could b worst.

i was reading the 小太阳 user guide to the readers..
four series.. will introduce 500 words.. these 500 words are what P1 and P2 needs to know.. teng is using part 2 in LV now i think. so i just brought the N2 part 1..

astro,
tian has one book of 小太阳. i forgot the title le but i think it is about breakfast?
quite chim le.
there is another type, i forgot the name, tian has one also ( i bought one from each series to try), she likes that more. it is about bubbles.
到处是泡泡。she really likes this book.

QQ
Mil mus b excited to hv her kids back in e hse

Astro
Wat is tis Xiao tai yan thing?

I dun recall seeing any such books

Oh I buy thgs v fast de
Much faster than Hb
He takes so long i Buay tahan

SQ: yes. when i lok at thim. he knows he cannot suck. but during sleep.. when he rouses.. he can suck htis thumb.. and when noone is looking at him.. he sucks.. sneaky? but in school.. he doesn't at all.. cld that be the reason why he doesn't 'like' to go to school? haha..
ya. i MUST get it kind.. so i will purposely travel just to get that. miser is amazed but he teases me.. ur stuff very exp. taxi fare to and fro.. so good huh? :S

QQ: i think ultimately.. now that i think of it.. it doesn't matter which reader to buy.. coz variety is impt.. but i think we can be mroe strategic.. and do ur book lending svs?! haha.. so set. i buy the usborne.. and there's another one i am targetting. that superphonics one..

who else want to biy from that bp? that we can borrow and lend to one another? :p

QQ: dunno about the thumb sucking. i just feel he looks tui fei! :S
aiyoh. why the commuication so bad one? hmm...

Astro, since day 1 i know their communication got problems de. anyway, none of my business la.
jay paid for the additional charges for air tickets.

the bp hor, i see until my eyes flowers flowers. how? so many books. very jialat la.

SQ: it is a chinese readers.. on sale at popular.. near the readers side.. hanging on the pillar kind..
i think it is quite commonly used in SG.. teng's lv is using this series.. so i thought might as well buy the N2 which he missedout on :S

ya. i also cannot stand slow shoppers.. :p
but if i want to make choices.. then i beocme the slow shopper.. such as in these cases.. when i buy books. i take a long time :p

QQ: this xiao tai yang is published in malaysis. by pelangibooks. i tried to go to the website to see if got image to show sQ.. veyr hard to nagivate.. :S

QQ: rod campbell is the author of which series? ur link doesn't show leh..
many choices hor ?:p
i haven't post yet. coz just my order (to be shared between two boys) is already $200 laio.. sot liao. i think i need to trim the list :p

SQ: in the link of the bp. got the usborne finger and counting rhymes.. u can get that to count and play with mei mei too!
see? that's why i dunno how to trim the list! :p i sot liao..

astro, his books are the baby series de.
DEAR ZOO LITTLE LIBRARY
anyway i knew he writes books for children. he is a strong supporter for eric carle's books
maybe they are friends afterall.

i know this xiaotaiyang. i ever tot of buying the series but eventually i din. i don't know why, maybe some of the topics are not so appealing? or maybe i was not in good mood when i was browsing the racks.

u and SQ will kill me if we go buy books, i will shop for a long long time. otherwise i wont be able to buy anything unless i knew what i wanna buy.
hee

astro, 200??
oh now, u haven't venture into chinese books yet. there are many intersting chi books too.

i will explore this dangdang wang next week, and ask my fren to buy and send back to me. i heard the delivery is v v long because they come via sea.. .

time to orh orh.. maybe i should not wake ah will up for milk. just feed during midnight ba. sigh!

night!

YY,

Nope, mine are not phonic readers. They are storybooks! Haha.

Yang qin is also another easy instrument. It is not difficult to know which strings to hit at all! In fact, you hit 3 strings at once, that's why it look horribly confusing. I learnt that for a year and then my instructor gave up on me and told me to go for erhu instead cuz I've no sense of rhythm, haha. Yang qin need rhythm. It is like the percussian instruments, most yang qin players also play the drums and other percussian instruments.

mejo: the yang qin looks horribly confusing to me indeed.. yeap. they double up..

QQ: yalor.. haha.. no lah. wun kill u. just will kill our own pockets.. coz for every one book u buy. i buy two books :p

Astro/QQ
Eh.... I dun Thk I 1 2 go shop for books tog w u both
U two can jus go ahead
Else I land up gana killed by u both for rushing u
Wahaha

Astro
I make stupid purchases, like importing the whole Mr Men series cos I Thk it looks cute! Siao wan
So ur buying $200 is ok la
Books ma
I dun mind spending on books, as long s not on toys

I dun like tt website
乱七八糟 n I dun feel like buying le

Astro,
I saw the name tracing book in cck popular. I will be there next sunday and try to lookout for you. They have a form for you to fill up the name. Actually I feel normal writing and practise is ok de. Dylan's teacher used highlighter to write his name. He has to write his name by tracing the highlighter. I think this is a good idea too.

QQ,
Staying at other people's house is like this. Very fast you can go to your mum's place, just ren lst.

CK, good to hear the Op went well, speedy recovery to cO. U take care too.

QQ: hahah Tian most prob associate ballet with angelina, she thinks its as fun as angelina actually know Tian's character i think she wont have patience with Ballet leh.. maybe after a few lesson she will complain to u :p actually if she is keen, u can let her try.
Your SIL place sounds bad, ya quickly go to your mum place on Chu 1 and hang there, should be more comfy.
aiyo, dun boil, maybe jay tot its dinner all along cos its more common to host dinner. and yes very fast adn efficient, u may be able to get out within 1hr to 1.5 hr.. heheh
u flying from KL or Sinei?

i also dunno about this 小太阳 series.. aiyo must intro us cos we all desperately need chinese books.

astro, i also keen to buy the usborne reader series..have posted to aske about the postage and delivery charges before i decide.

SQ: u have the entire Mr Men series.. hahah.. so cute, how many books are there for that one.
anyway for that BP site, u see what we buy and tag on lah, easier for you.

Realised Rae has one book from the "Usborne That’s Not My… Series", we like that book a lot cos fun to read.. but more suited for younger babies.

Star, i didnt even realise i did not buy any shoes for CO...lucky, my sis bought her one.

HB just complained she got too many shoes...CO's feet does not grow very fast.

CK: cos i tot rae has too many pairs and for the longest time i never buy any for her.. hahah.. yesterday was packing the shoe rack, round her sounds quite scruffy looking and she only have 1 sandal that she can wear with her dress and for that pair of sandals, one flower on it has dropped off.. hahaha so tot i better get her a pair of nice shoes for CNY.. hahah apart from this, she only have her fake princess toy heels and her 2 pairs of crocs.. not too appropriate to pair with dresses lah.

astro, so if we go buy books together? then everyone will siam4. haha!! SQ will want to have a cafe nearby and wait for us while drinking her coffee.
SQ, i must agree that the website is not easy to browse le, v messy. i prefer to browse so many books if there are placed on shelves. haha! very messy.

Star, huingee, yalor. going off tomorrow le. yeah!

CK, have a v v happie new year and CO just got rid of her problem, right before that.
she is a BRAVE gal. steady...
their feet dont grow as fast as before le. then hor, we saw this YT (mejo;s) feet, lagi small, i think nobody can fight le. haha!!

i m letting YE wear crocs with her dress
oops

lucky it's a casual hello kitty dress
so will match her hello kitty crocs
hee

QQ
yes i would love to siam to a coffeeclub to drink coffee and eat cake!