(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

Pax: So u stapled the top and bottom together flat? Ok I see. Let me go try it out.. Thanks for the link. Will try it tom..

AAA
i added a "spine" in the centre. u r referring to the 6-petal one right? roll up a same size angbow and put it inside in the centre. will hold up. that will give the lantern some shape.

Pax: Do u mean the centre where u placed the flower? I want to ask abt the edges of the petals, for the front and back, u only stapled them together? So for the 6 petals flower, u have 6 front, 6 back and 1 centre ang baos?

AAA I am not working too! Hahhaha hv not been gvg tuition since long ago.. Stay at home shake legs kekekkekkee...

Pax: Ok. How do u keep the edges rounded? I like rounded edges. Or dies it look rounded due to the shape of the angbaos? I m logging off... Can t open my eyes much longer.. Nite nite..

No time to catch up...

Something to share... There is a service( don Noe do they still provide this service anot) at popular bookstore, u can print ur child's English n Chinese name in a book for them to learn to write... They print the words in dot... So is tracing the dotted lines... Same as learning to write Chinese and alphabets... I haven go print yet... Will soon going to do it... Cos bel's Chinese name is veri difficult to write, I must start early...

Re Dian3 n Na4
Dian don have a gou1. Na will have a gou... So now u can explain the difference between 八 is written pie na, 头 is Dian Dian hen pie Dian(long Dian).

Going off to slp.. Bye..

i think i must be mad.. i'm still awake!! jus finished 1 lantern while watching tv. started on the 2nd one and was determined to complete it!

i stapled the angbow "wrong side up". nw i hv a back design, front design. AAA, look at the "spine". this is me being lazy. proper way shld be like Autum's, with sides.

5076649.jpg
5076650.jpg
5076651.jpg

and i completed the flower ball w 30 angbows.
5076652.jpg

then realised the angbow colour a little dull...
my angbow vv long. if smaller angbow, it will look more like a ball...

Pax, u up so early (late) to do lantern...pei fu...

CO is going for ops. tomorrow...hope she is well soon. astro, will update you again.

Ck
Wish co have a smooth op and speedy recovery...

I m so tired this few days... My Sis stayed over at my house... The gals are going crazy here everyday... Plus the rain, all the clothes piled up ... Arrrgg.. Now there is 6 gals n 2 boys in the house... Already can turn my house upside down... Hahahaha! Tonight gonna pack like mad...

sighh reading the past post is really put me to shame. Really got nothing to contribute and panic on the other hand for my lack of knowledge. Sighhh...

Astro, "i" can be "indian" , "itchy" so no need to stick to "igloo" Learn it from the kids phonics class.

Giolyn,
you contributed something liao mah. haha!!

AAA,
I don't think it's a matter of working or not. Those who are doing a good job in "teaching" the kids are working mums like QQ, YY, Huingee & etc ... I have lots of time with them though I'm working. But my time with them all spent on TV, going out, playing, doing "nonsense" things, anything but "coaching" them. hahaha!!

Partly it's also cos everytime I bring out something (worksheets, learning materials), Kent will stare at me and give me the "pls-spare-them", "they-had-enough-in-school" looks.

kaexin, ya des say he kena horned by a VW yesterday.. hahahah i guessed it was u two too. WS went to pick u up?!! what time do u knock off.
I was at belle's plc on sun.. saw ur new plc.. nice
and i ask des if he is interested. very near the MRT hor. convenient leh.

SQ: onzz.. we go nice place and have nice dinner for adults...hahaha

edde: wha good tip, i also test rae by asking her questions on what i have read. and i realised they pick up words damn fast, she amazes me sometime with her vocabulary so now i try not to simplify my sentence, i speak as per normal, hoping that she will learn new words. I am gonna start chinese now, we are soo slow on this.

hopefully this discussion these few days will motivate all of us to teach more to our children.. heheh i really need this motivation cos i think i also one of the lazy mummies :p

wha Pax, u are obsessed with the ang pow lanterns!! up so late, not working today? But the angpow are nice!! this yr i have no energy to do any.. did one last yr.. hahah

CK: all the best to CO and hope she recovers soon.

Ash: i wasn't sure if u are still keen on the maternity clothes.. cos major house cleaning these few days. ok i will keep aside for you. text me when you wanna come over.

Pax: v nice lanterns. But u dun need sleep? No work?

Yvonne: ur Chinese Lang strokes knowledge very in-depth.

Germaine: great idea! Shd feedback to icr

RR : nope .. U are doing better in engaging them to play! N we know they learn better thru play. Miser wld love n prefer u n kent's style of parenting

I for Igloo
We learned it from Esther. Heehee, we thot what is she saying? Then she told us it's igloo and i went to check.
Hence Dylan knows igloo because of Esther.
Next time number 2 will know more things becos of the elder.

SQ,
he does alot of things to deter me from "torturing" the kids. He threw away the forms for enrichment classes secretly. He "confessed" only when I asked the kids how come there isn't anything for the enrichment classes. When I asked him to get extra forms from the teacher, he told me "no more"???? :S

YY,
I think miser's thinking is like Kent but I'm not as strong-minded as you for these so I lost. haha!

Re: Book for pracitse name
Yes, Popular selling. I think i saw at the cashier counter. Take a form and write the names you want them to print. I got it as a pressie from my fren for my kids.

Star,
I'm lazy, didn't teach dylan much. Only let him practise writing now.
Sometimes let him use the chinese logico set.
Thinking of putting him in Yamaha junior music course when he turns 4 this year. Yamaha very strict, only allow kid attend when reach 4.
The junior music course not bad, it's a music apprecication course. One parent need to sit in together for the 2 years course.
Actually, some of you can join together at the PS yahama sch. I think the kids will enjoy.

Next i will see whether to sign him up for Kumon, ICR or berries when he is K1. I like berries but the location is abit far for me. Hence only think think only, didn't action.

Huingee: I for igloo... Seriously too out of context for sg unless they are doing an article on say... The Artic?
Dunno if yh will be faster.. I hope Tenf can be. Positive influence .. Yh is staring at him not wanting to o to school all the time. Haiz

RR : ya.. He's like Kent . He tells me teng's role is to play now... Then he once comment, 'u lack enrichment when young and teng is too young for so many enrichment' he then pretends to give a headache look.

Throw away enrichment forms? Sneaky Kent!

RR,
Kent very funny, actually the kids the play alot in cc rather than do work. But for full day cc kids, difficult to get them to do work sometimes as night time will be tired and next day need to wake up early. For Esther, her cc is good lots of learn thru activity or play. No spelling, hence she only knew spelling in ICR. Other frens in ICR have spelling for sch home work and ICR. For Esther she only have ICR spelling, that's why we still can cope.

Huingee: the music appreciation course is erm.. Time can be spent other things :p teng loves his junior piano classes now. he loves his music a lot.

Astro,
For kids this age, their enrichment is actually quite fun. They actually enjoy it cos much not home work and it's fun learning. That's what i think and told hb. If our kid dun want or dun like to go then we need to consider pulling them out. For my kids, I will encourage them to go try the lesson for maybe a mth. If they really dun like then i pull them out.

Astro,
The music appreciation course is Yamaha Junior music course, which is what Teng taking now bah.
It's call music appreciaton course as although it's using stagea to teach, but the teacher will ask them use different sounds to play rather than the piano sound. Like use the tuba, etc.
It teaches the solfege sing, pitch like do re me. Esther enjoy it very much.

Huignee, i am keen on the yamaha course.. haha ok i go find out more.
u know what is so scary, the mummies from my may thread are send their #1 to Nafa music academy. that side even more scary cos the teachers are all SSO musicians and they are all professionals. Must go for test and assessment and see if you can get in! they start them off at 4 too. but registration has closed.
I was with yamaha junior music for many yrs.. heheh..i learned the organ.

I must go popular to check out the name writing books.

RR; i think u r doing a good job to give RR and really enjoyable child hood. u bring them to so many places and they get to try so many things.

Huingee,
the thing is we noticed their ccc does quite alot of work. They started to learn spelling, writing (not tracing) & etc ... As for reading, the school will read to them, teach them to recognise the words, let them bring home the books over the weekend. With all these, I also don't know what I need to do with them at home.

YY,
I look at Kent, I also have the headache look! hahaha!!

SQ,
he's not wrong and I used to agree with him (but apparently my belief got shaken, haha!!). But given all parents' nowadays, everyone will think it's better to teach more, teach early than less or late. Can't deny I got affected too. That's why he's there to remind me constantly, haha!

Huingee: my humble opinion of the music appreciation class is that it is gd as a primer to the actual piano class at 4. Teng was on it for half a year then he is now in the junior class. Other than singing with ur kids, pasting their customized stickers, listening to cd... Very minimum keyboard playing ... Nothing the child not already doing naturally... Buy having said that.. Teng still like lah.. He keeps singing the 'play with me song'... N quite heart warming to hold hands and sing with him in class... ha... Maybe coz music.. U can feel quite touched!
The crowd at Thomson plaza branch looks scary now for yahama...

Pax: Thanks for the pic. I understand now.
I like the ball lattern too. The ang baos shape and cover design really determine the final look of the lattern.

CK: Speedy recovery to CO. Does she have to watch what food to avoid due to the op?

RR: Cos you say I'm goot lat, when I'm feeling guilty of being a lazy mummy..

Enrichment classes: Agree. The children enjoy these lessons because they enjoy learning at this age.

Germaine: Indian and Itchy may be difficult to put down on picture. Although, if the picture shows a hand scratching an arm, children will tend to say itchy I must say.. Haha..

HN: Yah lor. Because NY kindergarten only takes up 3 hrs, there is time for anna to do another course..

Astro: I think I'm more inclined to let her take it up. Because her schedule is quite relaxed, and she gets exposure on English lessons which complements what she's learning in school..

Astro,
Esther was in this jmc course for one year. I switched her to individual piano course after that. She had to learn from scratch again for the music, c d e f g etc. However, I think the jmc course makes her like piano. Now her individual piano 1 to 1 course abit dry. Actually i wanted to let dylan to go immediate to piano course rather than jmc.
Hence still thinking, will will check the time slots and see how as if i want to start Dylan on piano that will be when he reaches 5 years old.
I heard the PS one is not bad.
For me i thinking to put him at one near my house. The one Esther used to go close liao.

Star: nafa music academy huh? Haha. ... I think miser might be keen to send Teng there ! ;p we ok to spend big on music... I was telling him why not we send teng to evergreen primary coz it's Chinese orchestra is a gold with honor with world class tutors and instructor! Having been a band teacher in charge , I know how Priviledged things can get for these kids... Haha.. This evergreen instructors I know all ofthem in person.. The main conductor shares the same first name as miser... One of the teachers in charge shares my full name!! Add another g to the last syllabus though . Miser and I cannot stop laughing at the thought of Teng telling his fern who his papa and mama are shd he join the Chinese orchestra. I think they will say he is trying to be funny!

RR,
Haha, everyday we asked Esther what she learned in sch. She will answered us, 'play loh.' Haha, daddy was thinking play so ex to go this cc and only play there?
RR cc is good, they can learn alot there.

Germ,
Taking about Vday, I got a wedding dinner to attend on that night. Told hb, he asked me whether can dun go or not. I told him not good and requested to celebrated with him on sunday instead. Actually i dun like to celebrate vday now. I prefer to celebrate our own anniversay.

AAA, thats how Clyde and Gwyen learn their phonics in school where a pic of an red indian scratching himself. So they will sing "Indian's itching i,i,i"

AAA, hb and i do kiss in front of the kids but hor the tv is not showing the couple kissing. Is just a moment of embarassement for them. hahha..i just brush it off by saying their nose want to kiss.hahaha

I also want to put YT in Yamaha's JMC programme! This one need to queue or not? Haha. I should register early? Why NEX don't have Yamaha, so sad.

HuingEe... Dun wait too long coz now their aural sense developing v fast.. They can hear and learn v fast when it comes to the Pitch.
And hor I dunthink Esther is learning from scrAtch... She had additional advantage of Lear ing soflege at jmc.. They also got teach the staff lines and music theories . What the individual instur tor is doing now is possiblymore in-depth hence giving the impressiOn she is Lear ing from scratch ... Teng is already learning c note as do...re as d... For the c major scale ...

AAA, star, Astro,
Yes, the nafa very popular. My sis send her 3 kids there to learn drawing too. Long waiting list and on that day go reg only those that they called can reg. Also the queue to reg is very long, my sil went at 8am already very long liao.