(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

Astro,
i still have time, cos JMC starts at 4 years old. Dylan only turn 4 on end of Mar. Then piano i want to start at 5 as his finger dun have the strength yet and i want to make sure he knows he abc lst.

Giolyn,
not celebrating ... though it's my ROM anniversary as well. Haiz ...

AAA,
at least you do something or even attempt to do something so don't have to feel guilty lah. hahaha!!

Mejo,
You call the yamaha sch you want to send YT to check. Their next time timetable might not be out yet. Can check the PS one, i think more timig bah.

AAA,
feeling guilty is just an emotion. Use the energy for something better and you'll be able to get out of the guilt.

RR: Agree.
No point wallowing in self-pity feeling guilty.. I'm transforming the guilt into a motivational force to groom the children instead. I hope this is not a 3-min thing..

AA: good for anna! she will benefit on from the english front in phonics.. and it complements what NY is doing (or otherwise not doing yet :p)
ha.. we can ask homework questions.. shd we not know! :p

re: elite music classes.

i dunno about NAFA.. but i do know that it takes a lot of practice to play music well.. super loads.. given that the top instructors will be teaching the young kids..there would be more pressure as well as competitions to attend because the instructors have performance indicators too..:p. and they are not exactly the most patient pple around.. speaking from experience .. haha :p
so they wun be able to go that slow and easy for the young kids.. miser and i talk abuot this.. and hence axed NAfa from our choices for considerations.. we want teng to like music coz he wants to do it.. not because someone else wants him to practice hard to win competitions..

Mejo: go for it. hougang mall got yamaha right?

Huingee: hmmmm.. another perspective for u to consider.. rather than making sure dylan knows his notes (c.d.e. etc..) it would be more ideal if he can develop pitch awareness.. do re mi.. because that is more naturally coz a note , say 'c', does not take on a pitch. for a student who learns c d e first.. they often struggle to disassociate the notes and let the melody take presedence.. of put it simply.. they play but they cannot 'hear'.. so they cannot sight sing a tune.. what is preferred from JMC is they start with solfege.. which trains the ears up to prepare them for the notes.. so if do the other way .. there is a tendency for the kids to memorise the notes and do it perfectly. but never really be able to sing the melody out. and that is very difficult to correct later on when they grow up.. (yours truly and miser are two classic examples..)
so my humble suggestion.. prep him well for the solfege.. not difficult given esther already konws.. so that esther can peer teach and revise while dylans benefits from the explosure.. picking up the notes is very easy later on in life .. solfege is not though..

Astro,
Haha, I'm those music deaf. Esther pitching is quite good. I got a hard time doing her homework with her last time. But it's gives me a good formation to guide her now. I will know where she make mistake can correct her which hb will ask me what's wrong.
Ok, i will check where is the yamaha centre near my new place. Many things unsettle now cos i to make sure my kids settle in their sch lst, which is one about 1 mth liao. Then settle in new house, new timing etc. Btw, I'm shifting out of my place this mth end. But new place only can get keys on end of mar. Hence temp will need to stay at pil house. Hai..., prefer to stay at my parents house but....

RR: i like what u said.. yes.. after i am done whining.. i often get moving!.. hahaha :p
RR does a lot of work in cc.. but they dun dislike going to school.. that's good mah..
they get best of both worlds in this case!

On enrichment and childhood:
hmmm.. Miser holds the definition of childhood as letting the kids running around the kampong and playing til the mother got to go and comb entire kampung to get the kids back for dinner kind...
me holds the definition of childhood of doing things which i like and enjoy without stress.
we often get into 'conflict'.. over these enrichment classes.. coz i would be telling him
- no more kampungs now and what is wrong with learning new things when young? exposure and not expecting them to win competitions mah ..
and he would be telling me
- how do u know that what u want teng to learn is indeed what teng wants to learn?
SO....
we compromise.. as long as teng wants to go and loves to go.. we continue.. so far it is so for all the enrichment teng gets sent to..little gym took the longest time.. and i was almost giving up till he leaped off and happily go into the gym.. now miser says. keep that .. coz teng every sunday say 'i want to go little gym to play with teacehrs XXXXX.....'.. and heloves it!

our middle ground is exactly like huingee,exposure.. not being ks per se.. ok lah. ICR is me being KS :p.. but he loves it.. we will continue to let him do it.. but in the intrest of time so that he has adequate rest.. to daze.. we will withdraw him in one of the school's enrichment.. and let him stay on the two music classes..

huingee: i am also pitch deaf :S.. miser is not.so i tasked him to teach teng how to sing the solfege.. the in the process.. he tells me.. ' u learning also hor?'.. hahaha.. got suaned by him. but yes. that's also why i volunteer being with teng inside the class.. i want to train up my pitch awareness.. now my pitch recognition is ZERO.. aiyoh. .but not bad lah. i know how to sing mary has a little lamb in solfege liao.. hahaha..

u moving out liao? new place at where?

Astro,
i also know mary has a little lamb in solfege. Haha cos i write down in notes and go back practise. Sometimes i will take photo of where to put the fingers esp when learn the g-major.
I will sit in the class too, majority is mummy sit in. Sometimes mummy busy, ask daddy to go. Ended up the daddy didn't write any notes and the poor child dun know what to practise also.
I also made some frens there. I made many frens when Esther taking lesson. Like Esther's ballet class i will talk to the other mummy's while waiting.
New place near choa chu kang. Haven't pack yet, will wait till cny over then prepare to shift out.

huingee: that's cheating! :p write down in notes.. hahaha. joking lah. try to use the concept of do-re-mi on the keyboard to sing/play the song..instead of using notes la..
hey; this yamaha pro one. u missed one lesson. they send u a letter to tell u what homework to do! hahaha.. want to skive also cannot :p

i put in a note book .. to take down teng's notes.. miser took the class once.. and he also diligently record it.. i think he likes the idea that teng is learning music. just that never publicy aknowledge nia :p

YY,
so I'm right. Kent thinks exactly the same way as your Miser. The good thing for you all is Teng, Huingee's kids love the enrichment classes. Reyden only like music. I had to pull him out of speech and drama before the teacher threw him out. As for Reyes, she will like everything I ask her to go for. So Kent says wait till the day they can tell me what they want to learn then we send them for it. I would think probably too late liao but suan le ... :S

Nope, they will rather not go to school if given a choice. But I think it's more like they just want to stick to me, not dislike school per se. So they still enjoy school afterall.

RR: Yah so fast. I like CNY, but I also know it's over too soon.. I love the reunion dinner, the visitings.. But after that, it's gone. Just like that.. :p So fast..

Astro: I think it'll do her good too..
I'm excited..

Astro,
Haha, her teacher also get parents in to sing. Children sing, mummy sing. I'm can't sing in tune, haha but no choice have to try to sing.
mi rei do rei mi mi mi, rei rei rei, mi so so.

AAA,
yes, yes! I always look forward to CNY since young but will have the "it's-over-so-soon" feeling after that.

RR: Hanor.. I think it's because the preparation to the CNY keeps us busy and occupies our days.. And then there's a sense of "emptiness" after the event..
The good thing is there's always another CNY to look forward to..

AAA,
I think cos you went thru the piano course before. For me i didn't go thru, very envy people can play piano. That's why want to let my kids have to chance to learn.
I have many frens dun let their kids learn, but their kids request to learn in primary school as many of their frens are learning.
But the jmc course is quite fun, good for kids who love to sing. I also have fren kid put out from jmc cos the kid dun like to go to the class. As the kid dun like to perform or sing in front of others. Esther enjoying singing and playing in front of her frens. Every lesson the teacher will let her kids come to the front to play. She always like to volunteer as she practised at home liao.
But i will stop if my kids hate it.

HN: I've heard of the JMC course and I think it's really fun and good for children. But you're right. It's because I've gone through piano lessons myself that I won't let my kids go through them. Unfortunately the JMC course is not real piano lesson. Real piano lesson is the one to one boring and dry lessons you mentioned Esther is doing now.

AAA,
Ya loh, real piano lesson is dry and need lots of time to practise.
JMC course is quite fun for the kids. After this course the child need not learn piano. Can learn violin or other musical instruments.

huingee and AA: hmm why must 'real piano' lesson be considered as dry ah?.. learning can take place in a fun enviroment..
or u guys meant tedious and requires loads of committment? that i agree.. but fun can also be derived from honing a skill.. no?

RR: haiz. i think teng also likes to stick with me. but he will say ' i dun want to go to school!'.. aiyoh. but the moment u dropped him off. (and i have said this countless times).. he is ok!.. today i dropped him off in the music room for him to learn the cny dancesteps.. he was trying to catch up .. not crying. the moment he saw me. he cries again.. haiz. sian.

then u shd send reyden to music and reyes to anything u like.. how come suan le leh? hahhaa.. i am not inciting disaccord amongst u and kent ah...

re music lesson..
I hope teng can pick up another instrument apart from piano. maybe the clarinet! or miser's dizi?!
ha...

HN: I believe violin is similar.

Astro: Beyond the do, re, mi, learning piano means taking exams. To pass and do well in the exam the child needs to perfect the exam pieces and scales. That takes LOADS of practise.
You read the tiger mum excerpt? Practising on the piano is a lot of pure drilling, there's very little fun.
I love music. But piano lessons is unlike playing a musical instrument in band. I play both the saxophone and the trumpet, both of which I enjoy very much. I was tasked to be the conductor because I read music scores, but I still won't put my kids through piano lessons. :p Unless I see they are able to sit through the drills and still enjoy the process.

AAA,
I think volin is more difficult and the practising also can kill.
My bro also disagree on letting my kids learn piano. He told me his fren learned piano till grade 8 but didn't play for long time so now can't play a music piece. He said what's the use of learning music? I also know what's the use of learning music and sometimes Esther lazy don't want to learn i will ask her does she want to continue.

AA: i see ur perspective..
if teng dun like.. then no choice lah. else he approaches it with so much enthusiam as he is showing now.. i think i will let him stay on it..
hey. out of curiousity.. u play the saxophone and the trumpet... wun ur embrochure get messed up playing a brass and a woodwind at the same time?

HN: Best is to let Esther decide for herself.

Astro: I play both but not at the same time. I will let the kids take up a musical instrument, but piano and violin are at the bottomost of my list..

my 2nd bro let my nephew learn guitar. he started at age 6/7. i find it quite rare for kids to start guitar so early. but i didnt ask him why

AAA; same views as u, my mum made me go through so many yrs of music and i detest it so wont force rae if she is not keen. but i am keen to learn the violin with her still.

Astro, i also ruled out NAFA for rae cos i think she is not ready for this level of commitment and my fear is that if i push her too early in it, she will loose interest and not want to learn at all. i think i will go look for other less stressful environment for her to learn music.

AAA,
I know, it's not easy. If she really want to stop piano I'm fine with it.

For ballet, she requested it. But now she said she want to stop as it's not as fun as she think and it's tiring. But i told her i already signed up grade 1 exam for her. After the exam then decide to continue or not.

Huignee, ya ballet is not fun at all!! i know rae won;t like it.. so i also not keen for her to try. QQ and i will let hem try the tap trial and see if they like it.

YY,
Ya, both RR are doing music now. After "separation" for 2 terms last year, Reyes decided to stick to Reyden so now we put them together lor.

wow, so many of u expose your kids to learn music, i dun hv wor.

I think i will wait for X to make his requests, rather than force it thr. I dun want X to detest music like my fren does, cos of the practise n exams.

RR,

yah, cny is just 1 day away, aft that no more PH.... sian!

i am back in kl.
ash, can u sms me how many bottles of fish oil u want? i can buy today or tomorrow. after that i wont be at kl le. thanks!

Thanks Mummies for the best wishes.

CO is doing well after the ops, walking around the house. Her tonsils are real big...the dr. said nearly kiss each other : )

RR, typo error...today is the ops.

Astro, CO just cried abit straight after the ops...her ops is 45 mins (she did 3 procedures). Then she slept. So far so good. Teng should be fine.

AA: hmm.. ok.. it is quite an unique combination to play both woodwind and brass.. most of the time it cause embrochure issues. i tink u are the first 'normal' ( i dun count the professionals)person who i know who plays this unique combi.

Star: ya.. erm.. i think dun have to go that high standard, yet. :p

RR: i see. what music course is RR doing now?

CK: CO is such a brave girl!
and you are a brave mum!

i think both myself and teng would freak first :S
Teng is always a very whiny and cry baby!

great that everyone is in the pink(er) of health for cny now!

Astro: I play the recorder and the harmonica too and the positioning is different for each instrument. But I'm not a professional mah. Hmm.. Actually I realise I play quite a number of musical instruments. I play the guitar too.. And because I know the guitar, I know the ukulele too.. Hahah.. I'm sure if I think hard enough, there're more I have placed my hands on.. Now I would like to learn the gu zheng. You're in the chinese orchestra right? Is this a difficult instrument to take up? Are the chinese scores different than the western ones?

CK: Very happy to hear this. CO is a brave girl. Speedy recovery to her! Hey, I think avoid prawns + shell fish for this period..

AAA,

Guzheng is an easy chinese orchestra instrument. And basically it sounds nice even if you are a new at it, haha. Harder instruments are like pipa, erhu etc.

Mejo & AA: the usborne readers!
http://worldofwondersbooks.blogspot.com/search/label/Phonics
are theese the ones? there is an on-going BP now!
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/5073856.html?1296315521

AA: in chinese music. they typically use jian pu . u know the ones with numbers? so if u are familiar with the notations.. u shd be okay.. i had a hard time transiting to jian pu coz i was used to the staff line.. in fact.. i never managed to read the jianpu :p i was asked to play the sheng.. coz i read the notes.. easier it seems for me.. ok.. back to the guzheng..

very melodious instrument irregardless how awful the player is :p that's teh saving grace.. hahaha.
but have to tune the instrument all the time coz for every tune (they change 调) and because of that you have to move those wooden ridges which hold the strings up and down as per indicated by the 调..that's the most troublsome part of playing the instrument, imho.. but coz u are trained in the piano and the trumpet. ur ears are sensitive and aware of pitchin.. so tuning is not an issue to u.. as for the techniques.. hmm pretty much quite standard.. need practice, as usual..

guitar. ha.. i am lousy in te sense. i tried once and twice.. then i give up. coz fingers darn painful! :p.. so in the sense, i would not touch the strings :p:p

i prefer woodwind and the percussion.
percussion, the xlyophone and the set drum are ultra cool!

and our dearest mejo plays the er-hu? :p
that onei also cannot. touch nia. hand pain! hahaha.. :p

french horn is claimed to be one of the hardest instrument in the symponic bands/orchestras. and they need ultra thin lips to play it really well.. quite unique the sound..