(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

SQ, Pax,
actually there is no harm to let our kids continue drinking the before-3yrs-old milk. can continue until finish, then change to next stage milk.

Pax,
saw your qn on angpow packets. nope i didn't buy. i got from here there everywhere. haha. from aunts/cousins and even my neighbour gave me some.. most are old-stock so that's why i got a lot of normal size ones.

Autum
i still hv 5x 1.8kg tins!! too much liao bcos Jo already cut down her milk intake.. overstock that time when Carrefour had 10% storewide discount.. that was like 1+yr ago!!

autum,
at giant.

star,
not planning to change her to the green one yet.

pax,
just bought yesterday, coz i just finished her 6th tin the last round of offers too.

AAA,
Same Esther also very easy fall asleep. Within minutes but Dylan took much longer time. But he is indepenedent. He can stay in the dark room himself and roll here and there.
Maybe try to cut down on Ayden's day time sleeping hours.

Astro,
Wa, Yh so well fed. Good job, that's the blessing although he fall sick often.

Teng is heavier than Esther leh. I think Esther around 18kg.

bbmar,
heehee, I too scare to be cow. Hence dun say it out as i know many will hate me.

Pax,
just tt for the tuppers. Thanks.

QQ,
Most cc for our kids age is full. Have to put in waiting list. Nevermnid, just put down lst.
It's good to if nanny can help to take care your baby. Maybe ask her to try, if can't then look for alternative.
Also if your mil is ard then get her to help to fetch Tian. Or go to your fren's house if same cc as your fren?
I got a neighbour her child cc fren parents is nice to ask the parent to send the girl to their house lst then they bring the kids together to cc. Cos my neighbour dun have car and very rushing for them.

pax,
wah, u stock up so many tins!

QQ,
hmm.. if I am you, i will go for maid. yes, i know all the considerations etc.. not safe etc.. but you never know until u try.

pax
u bought a year ago and you still have so much left?! i can oni imagine how many you got

autum
that's prob cos of your v pleasant experience. someone like hj would prob recommend otherwise :p

wow, forum is up..

QQ,

check the thread i started on giving away expressed milk, wow, really no biz man... sad!! sigh! anyway, i will give more to the elder X lah...

kaexin,

Gain IQ promo where? Me wanna try gain IQ for X liao..

SQ, Pink,

ask u huh, i recently my little X always cranky at certain hours leh, is it colic huh? he drink full, change diaper, carry him, he still not satisfied... wow liao, i very tired, every time cranky from 6pm up to 8pm...

mist
sounds like wor. since you've tried everything else. and boys are more prone to it.
hey, what's your little x name ah?
i din catch your posting on it wor...

SQ,
actually i hear/know of more success-maid-stories than bad stories. Even the bad stories, are not that terrifying. It's only 1 or 2 extreme cases like maid abuse the kids. To me, everything else is a matter of expectations.

My maid is actually a very forgetful person.. and she can leave EJ's briefs lying at where it is, on the sofa, on the TV console etc, after taking it off to change EJ.. Last time, she can leave the wash cloth on the sink after cleaning EJ and changing to pajamas.. I told her countless times, but still, she can forget... so to some people, this is intolerable.. and of course i get angry/unhappy too, but after a while, i also start to accept that she is like that. It's not like she purposely want to leave the brief/cloth there. But i still scold/nag la..

Of course, the terrifying stories are enough to deter many from hiring maids.. but still, looking at things rationally, there are actually more successful cases than bad maids.

AAA, Autum,

Calcium deficient? That is not quite likely since she drink at least 500 ml of milk majority of days. Hmm... unless she isn't absorbing it...

Yar, agreed about the maids. My old maid may have been acceptable to other people. Afterall, she did have 6 years of working experience before coming to SG. The new one, although we would rate her as good, is kinda of forgetful and careless, like leaving mothball chips on the floor after cleaning the shoe cupboard, newspaper clumps for cleaning glass on toiletries shelf and once I told her to clean up YT's puke on the high chair and floor while I go and clean YT up, I came out to find that she cleaned the floor but left the puke dripping from the high chair. The last incident would probably earn her some scolding and I did went to talk to her but not really scold cuz i know it is because she do things so fast that she din even observe her surroundings. I guess some times we may have inadvertantly put intentions into actions that are not meant to be intended. Like someone may think that the maid purposely leave the puke around. My cousin's maid, who is very good with the kids and does everything was actually a transfer maid. She got kicked out after only a few days simply because she is too hardworking. She finish her chores in the house and went out to do some gardening but got locked out of the door. It pisses off the employer so much that she got sent back to the agency. Maybe the employer thought she is going to ran away. Case of misinterpreted intentions.

mejo/autum
actually what you all just described about the maid leaving puke on the high chair and underwear lying around is exactly what my hb would have done. so i'm not surprised. ha!

my hb can clean up YE after she ate biscuits, yet leave the floor untouched. then we'll come back home to find tons of ants. or he can leave his undies on the sofa. he claimed it's clean when i scold him. yucks.

aiyo huingee
yday when star and mummies talk about kids falling sick, i was still thinking they better recover fast cos cny coming

dylan in school today? are you still engaging the service of nanny?

SQ: is YE ok? back home now?

Yesterday was a false alarm for rae, she was crying so badly for Nai Nai that her body temperature raised and they thought she was having a fever. She cried for almost 1 hr until teacher called and asked her to bring her back cos they thought she was not feeling well.
Lately, she inisit on bringing this carebear backpack to school.. isit a security thing for her har?

Autum/Kaexin: i still have like 3 tins when i last stocked up in Guardian.. so i think should be just nice when i finish these 3 tins.

Pax: u really stocked a lot, sell lah, cos i dun think jo can finish all the tins.

SQ,
slight cough, slight running nose. I still let him go school as it's 2 hrs only.
Yes, still engaging nanny service. Actually nanny now more busy. She will let Dylan eat lunch at 10.30am, then bring him to sch. Then 1pm she fetch dylan and then let him take nap.
Yesterday me and hb on leave we went to peek at him after his class. Hb never seen his son in the school before as the class is 11am.
Heehee, Dylan was shocked to see us. Nanny's son went to pick him up. Lucky he didn't want to go home with us.
Asked the teacher how is Dylan doing, she said he is very happy in school.

had a talk with teachers today. they agreed that tian was traumatised by a boy in the same class. at the same time, there were other small cases that we din know who told us the truth or who didn't. either tian or teachers. i will talk to tian again. the choice is her. i mean, pm class has oni 3 kids in one class, teacher said she can try if she wants. if tian wants then will try, if not, still will withdraw.
hb is not v happy, i am neutral. to me every school has its own pros and cons, as long tian likes. (or nobody there to traumatise her).

Tian woke up crying cause she said dun want to go school. yesterday din go school le, today still same? anyway told nanny no school already. she got a shock. she must b thinking this jay really nasty and fierce..

apparently, jay said teachers were trying to escape frm responsibilities, trying to talk story oni. not facing the truth/reality.
so, he still believe what tian said.
anyway, i am neutral, i will see what tian told me and see if i can see the whole picture.

Autum, i know your choice of maid is clear!! i know.

i also put maid in my #2 choice list.
we need to balance a bit, and see how.
i also need family support de. sometimes this kind of things, jay can also affect my decision. we need to talk....
actually, i am v bad..
i wanna wait till 5th month, then i know boy or gal. then decide. if gal, maybe i get a maid? boy? i dump him at infant care.
steady boh?

mist
does small X keep on crying after u carry him? did u try to see if its due to wind in tummy? other than that, i also cant think of anything esle that can cause him to keep crying, so i'll categorise that as colic...

im very bored.

Mist,
Wait till X reach 3 years old then change the milk powder to those after 3 years old.

star,
I still got 1 tin of 1.8kg left. But went to grab of tins of 1.8kg again. After finish all these then change to Gain Kid. Think it's ok to overlap abit.

QQ
why different arrangement for different gender ???

has your ON stuff arrive?

i only get to drive when i go back office with mr tan ..then drive back home around lunchtime. hopefully the items arrive and i get to use the car to drive over to NUS.

by the way, the disney sets' shipping is not cheap ..i estimate it will be about $12plus per set. each set costs USD$10..after conversion its about SGD$14plus + shipping, it shd cost about SGD$27 per set. i asked cwg to repack, if not more ex. Shannie bought a set from BP thread at SGD$32 per set. phew....still cheaper ba

huingee, i also dunno why.
i feel that girls may need more attention, boys can drink milk fast and easy to go to sleep (my thinking). easy to take care, can be tough! go Infant care bah.

as for gal??sekali same as tian, dun drink milk.... then will become sang poh? i dunno le.. haven't told jay my thinking. hee.

Pink, the ON stuff, will arrive next week woh? cause just gave instruction for vpost to send today. waited for drugstore order mah..
this time i think our shipment is cheap! good leh. haven't calculate.

morning all..

Mist: cld little X be over tired? did u take note of the timings when he wake and fall asleep.. that age.. kids must be back in bed within 2 hours.. else they become over tired.. and the more u try to coax them.. the harder they cry wor..

having said that I am zomblified.. yh waking up twice in the night.. i think my milk supply low that when he first wakes. not enough for him. he wakes less than three hours later.. so tired..

i have blocked nose again. chiam. better dun start another round of sickness :S

QQ: every morning i have to cook up excusees to coax teng to go LV.. his momentum has been broken.. wld start crying in the cab.. he wld say he wants to go to the zoo.. then i ahve to say ok.. we need to ask the teacher if we can go to the zoo.. wah. sian.. brain juice dead... not particularly inventive to cook up all the 'lies'..haiz
then put him there.. if i go out of his sight. he calms down.. if he sees me.. WAIL again. wah liew.. just dumb him there

so tian .. starting new school already..? meanwhile staying at home?

astro, stay at home.

tian said, no boy boy in school... go to school without boy. i told her not every boy is like that boy, teng teng is a boy right? she said, teng is a good boy. haha!! but she said cannot go teng's school, it is an adults (da4 ren2)'s school. haha!
hb said wanna try RP.

QQ,
If your mil is coming on and off having maid is a good option.
If you want to put infant care, must go to a centre can put both kids inside. Tian and baby.
Boys can be difficult to take care too. Dylan dun like milk and is picky eater too.

QQ: i think.. woodlands is terriby short of good chilcare centres/playgroups.. think sembawang more.. but so far away.. wah liew..
ha.. teng is in da ren school.. hahaha..

which reminds me.

AA: teng is 1m 5cm - 1m 7cm. dun have a ruler.. so aga aga.. disppointing i thought he was much taller.. aiyoh..

QQ,
your "reasoning" is funny lah, haha!! Not neccessary boys will be easier or not fussy with food. Reyden is definitely not easier and a fussier eater than Reyes.

SQ: hb leave undies on sofa?! wah liew..:p miser leaves yh's diapers around. i buay tahan liao. if his undies on the sofa. he ganna yelled at by me.. but miser is quite a 'cat'// meaning.. he keeps himself clean. but his surroundings.. he dun really bother.. haiz.. good and bad lah. else i lagi stressed..

QQ,
although primary duty of maid is to take care of baby, but having a maid helps to balance my family life too. in the sense that, i have someone to cook dinner for me everyday, and clean up. Plus weekend, got extra help, so i can rest. Of course not everyone is lazy like me.. but i think u also quite lazy de (*siam)! actually it all boils down to what you want and can accept.

For me, i know that without a maid, i won't cook de. We used to eat takeaway food everyday.. and that is why EJ started eating chicken rice so young! But when #2 comes along, cannot le.. cannot everyday everybody keeps eating takeaway food. So having a maid helps in my family life in that sense. But in the process, I got to teach my maid how to cook, and then tolerate bad food when she cooks wrongly la. hahah..

SQ,
what you said about your hb leaving stuff lying around.. that's why after a while, I 'accept' my maid.. cos if I think rationally, if she is my family member and not a maid, i also will just grumble grumble, but still accept mah. So for my maid, this is her flaw and she knows it too.. her forgetfulness. Many times I lament to her.. i told her I dunno how to help her. Cos this kind of things, cannot write down de.. write down also won't help. haiz..

Astro,
hahah.. no la, u not as lazy as me. You cook nice stuff for Teng last time mah. I cook simple stuff for EJ or let him eat chicken rice! :p

QQ,
actually hor, I would feel that, if the baby is difficult, it's better to send to Infant Care.. and easy baby, better to let maid take care. Because if the baby is difficult, chances of the care-giver lose patience with the baby is higher.. so in an IC, the teachers won't luan lai, even if the baby is difficult. But at home, with a maid, the maid may "abuse" the baby if the baby is difficult. hahaha.. my logic makes sense?? but then, you won't know if u have easy or difficult baby, until you have the baby!!

before i go lunch,
yes, autum. your words punch into my heart. i m the lazy type le.. how u know?
haha! but my mum tot i am the hardworking type. cause she said i can throw tian to a 24 hour nanny, no need to take care at all. haha!!
but i think i am lazy type.
i dun do housework de..

brb after lunch. hungry now.
haha!!!

Autum: and what are such chance of this repeating for bally? i hope it is high :p:p
hmm then is there a night time childcare for yh.. i need my sleep!

Autum,
I'm still thinking of whether getting a maid next year as Esther entering into primary school next year.
If got maid, everyday when reach home the food is cooked and can immediate eat. Then maid can help to wash dishes, clothes etc. Then i have time for both kids.

But abit bu she de nanny, she dotes on Dylan and she is very nice. Moreover, might start cc for Dylan next year hence prefer nanny to be around in case Dylan get sick easily.

QQ
u are more hardworking than me definitely. i dun like to do housework :p

i agree with autum, having a maid balance up my life. mr tan used to be against the idea of having a stranger in the house but now he realised the importance of having a maid in a lazy family...he said his wife is not the sian2 qi1 liang3 mu3 type, kaoz he's also not the house hubby type lor!

i find that if maid can bond with my kids and i can sense that she is genuine, i can overlook minor negative pts. like this rina a bit 'unaware' type, too happy go lucky, she put her legs on another chair while having her meals, my mum said dun respect us..i will tell her off later

Astro: Teng is not overweight for his height? I think anna is close to 1m bhah, but she weighs only I guess 14kg? Or is she underweight??

QQ: I agree with Autum re maid or IC.. Difficult babies go IC, easy bb can stay at home with maid. Then if that maid still luan lai, then she really CMI liao..

RR, HN, QQ: QQ, Same with RR and HN, Ayden is more fussy than anna.. Anna is an easy baby, ayden is a difficult bb..

QQ: For maids, need to have the "close-one-eye" attitude. No one maid is perfect. So if you have one that is 6/10, be happy; if got 7/10, you're very lucky; if got 8/10, you're very very lucky and be happy and you have to keep her with all your means liao..