(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

autum : thanks.. will try..

pink : hahaha. i use that.. also no use.. and the best part is maybe becos her papa's face is big / wide hor.. she like to slap her papa.. sigh..

astro : me too.. melting..

pink: she is not afraid of anything.. not tat i know of so far.. even "gargar" she also not scared.. she will scold flies, ants etc when she see them on the floor.. she even like to wave off houseflies when we eating outside.. jialat.. now the only thing is the "cane" i din go buy.. but use the ballon stick.. haha.. to threaten.. til i cannot tahan.. i whack.. den i feel bad.. cos got marks one.. but for a while la..

Ash: Asher seems to be sleeping slightly on the lesser side.. 8.5 hours at night.. and 2 hours in the day.. all in all. 10.5 hours..
kids this age needs abuot 11 - 13 hours plus one day nap of 2 hours,

--------
1. Age-appropriate nap schedule for your toddler

The first tip is to make sure you are napping your toddler at the right time. Some people are surprised to know that toddlers do not typically transition to just one midday nap until 15-18 months, on average. At many daycares, for example, they tend to transition many toddlers to one nap around their first birthday. While this may be okay for some (my first did, in fact, transition to just one nap around his 1st birthday), it can have disastrous results for others. Not only may it make a very cranky toddler, but they may not nap long enough because they are overtired and they also may not sleep through the night.

If your toddler is still taking 2 naps, a typical schedule might be 7-10-2-7 (that’s wake at 7, naps at 10 and 2 with a bedtime at 7pm). A one-nap schedule might be 7-12-7. Please review how much sleep your toddler needs.

---------------
the above paragraph affirms what i think MIGht be why Asher wakes everynight at 3am to cry (and not for milk).. he is overtired in the day..because from the time he wakes up at 3pm .. till his bedtime at 10pm.. it is a soli 7 hours interval.. which is draining on the kid. though he might not appear that way.. and as a result , his night time sleep quality is affected..
some signs u can look out for to indicate a possible lack of sleep, dark eye circles.. not feedig well.. ash's a thuumb sucker like teng.. so when teng gets tired, he will suck his thumb.. does ash keep sucking his thumb?
somtimes teng gets hyper. and start giggling and laughing nonstop liek some insane pple.. that means he is over tired.. (pity though. he is cute when he does that!)
will it be possible for u to try to push asher's bed time forward? to say around 9pm? one hour earlier.. then his whole day of sleep is 11.5 hours. more appropriate for his age..

this is a very useful at a glance sleep website for toddlers
http://www.slumbersounds.com/baby-sleep-patterns-info.htm

astro : i remember u told us before that our kids at this age needs 12 hours of zzz.. and i realise that if T zzz for 11 hours at nite.. that is if she zzz at 9pm and wake up at 8am.. in the afternoon she will zzz only 1 hour.. and refuse to continue her nap.. hahaa

nana: tiff is having enough night time sleep.. 11 hours is good!.. each bb's sleeping pattern is really unique although there are some general guidelines which we can follow.. as long as she is happy, not cranky, sleeping thru the night.. eating well.. everything is ok

she has enough to eat for lunch? coz sometime they wake up coz hungry..

nana: alternatively. bring forward her naptime.. meaning.. 8pm to 8am.. then maybe easier for tiff to sleep 2 hours stretch.. if u want lah..

astro : oh.. u mean stretch the nite sleep time.. she will zz more in the noon.. i will try.. hehehe.. but by 8pm.. she just finish dinner only.. hahahaha..

nana: no lunch? erm.. maybe try to reduce the amount of milk she is drinking. to let her have lunch lah..then she can sleep longer and better for noon nap..

astro: tk u for your advise. its really helpful. i've always find tt A dun sleep enough. will try to put him in bed earlier. sometimes its my fault actually cos i wan to watch particular tv programme. keke!!

astro : hahaha.. u know that she is taking like 780ml a day right? I wanna cut down.. but everytime she finishes up her milk like hungry ghost i can't bear to cut down on her milk.. haha

nana: coz tiff not enough solids (one big meal at lunch is missing?).. hence she is devouring her milk .. so try cut down. to allow her ot have more solids.. and when she starts having more solids. she will cut back on her milk already..

ash: happy to be able to help by googling information off the web.. a lot of trial and error needed to find optimum sleep for kids

astro : i c.. thanks! only on weekends if i am busy.. den i dun give her lunch.. in sch.. teacher says she eats alot.. now i wonder is it good or bad..

let me share with u her schedule as far as i know.. u see eat too much a not.. i scared she fat like me leh..

7.30 - milk 210ml
8.30 - bread / cereal in sch
11.30 - rice , noodles , pasta in sch
12.45 - milk 180ml
3.15 - bread/cake
3.45 - milk 180ml
whenever i pick her abt 6.30-7 she always like very hungry already..
7.30 - dinner
9 - milk 210 ml (if she did not eat much dinner i always make 240ml

*210 ml after making becomes 240ml..

dread of gg bk to work next week. maybe rested for too long. ML finally ending this week and i b returning to work officially on monday. Will send little D over to BP tmr to try out. I will oso need to stay overngt to jaga him just incase MIL cannot cope. Actually i believe MIL is able to take care of both boys just dat we are concerned she might be too tired. Dats y we suggested to stay overngt one of the weekdays to help out.

Somehow i feel D is more attached to me since im taking care of him soley by myself. I dunno if he can used to staying wif MIL. I hv intro pacificer but he rejected...

Ash, Little A needs u to pat him to zzzz?

astro, the weather todae is damn damn hot!! I wanted to go jpt but gave up the idea cos its too hot to bring D along.

hmm.. i think rae also lack of sleep leh, she sleep 2 hrs in the afternoon, sometimes 1.5 hrs.. and nite, she sleeps at 9pm or sumtimes 9;30 and wakes up at 7:30am.

nana: how come u dun give Tiff Lunch.. i tot they are at the age where they need their meals one.. cannot skip? Will she tell u she is hungry if u dun give her lunch? rae will scream for food when she is hungry, she will say "Mum Mum" damn loud and in a very assertive tone.

nana: erm. i need more info.. like how much rice, how much pasta.. and when u mean 210ml.. can i assume it is powder meant for 210ml of water.. and ignoring displacement.. coz if not.. it becomes all difficult to count.. the fluid intake..

astro: thinking back, i do notice sometimes at 9pm, he looks tired. but after a while, becomes awake again. n he has been refusing to change into pajamas.

ash: if me, i just put him in cot. give his cloth napkin..look at him, within 5 to 10 minutes or so.. and he will fall sleep, sucking his thumb..then i can leave the room..

with ellie and my mum.. i dunno why. they like to pat him in his cot!.. so with ellie and my mum, they need to pat teng to sleep..

so there u go lah :S
differeiented treatment by teng again..

ash: yep.. there u go. u spot the signs urself.. at 9pm.. asher is tired liao.. but give him some times.. he gets a second wind.. and become like dragon again.. at this age.. the toddlers can do that..

bbjie: stay at home, turn on aircon.. and make it like the Artics!
i can get cold cheng teng. but i need to be out in the HEAT to get that.. i too lazy to move! i am just staring away at the clock.. wasting my time..:S

ash: on days when teng gets cranky.. for god knows what reasons.. he was like that a week back. now ok liao..that time.. wake up and threw bolsters at us and laugh laugh laugh.. i will bring him to my bed and ask him to SLEEP.. coz i am very tired these days. no mood to 'play' with him.. miser always say leave him alone.. and let him get back to sleep himself coz teng can.. then i always tell him 'easy for u to say. coz teng always mama!.. never papa mah! like that i how to sleep?!'

astro, u better take less those cold stuffs since u r preggie now. I just blast the fan to the highest volume and blow directly at me.

i promise to start my new bedtime routine w A TONITE! another thing i've juz started is read a book b4 bed. tried it last time but no patience. now he IS interested!

astro : yes.. its powder meant for 210ml of water.. rice, noodle or pasta would be abt 1/3 - 1/2 bowl of those ikea bowls

ash : yes.. lunch for her .. just now i said no lunch erm.. i meant weekend.. paiseh..

star: teng. when hungry.. he doesn't say anything one. he will suck on his thumb.. and go quiet.. only when i ask. are u hungry? he will nod his head furiously and say yes.. :S

Ash, reading before bedtime is v gd and effective. At least it works on ah bian...he will ask for storybooks and after reading for half an hr...he will get sleepy and my job is done!! haha.

astro, ya u rite...the kids will only mama and not papa.

ash : i read somewhere it says that.. once the kid is tired.. quickly put them to zzz.. otherwise.. once they off the tired/yawning period.. they will be doubly awake liaoz..

ash: ya reading before bedtime is good.. i move Rae's libary to a height that she is accessible, so everynight, i ask her to pick her own book or a book she wants us to read to her. cos i lazy to go bend down and take a book for her lah..hahah

astro: haha cute lah teng, what happen if u ask if he is hungry, he will cont to suck his tongue and dun make any noise?

nana: erm. ikea bowl is how big..?

bbjie: but when papa is around.. once teng wakes up.. from say noon or in the morning. after mama once.. he will go 'papa where?' :S

ash: great.. but the new bedtime routine will take time.. so need to have patience and perserverence on it
btw, choose a book which is short hor.. else by the time finish reading.. also late liao :p

astro mei, ah bian is super sticky to hb for anything. I oso dunno y. But its gd for me cos now i hv to attend to D. So now hb takes care of ah bian and me takes care of D.

bbjie: just the feeling of not well. and feeling body warm etc.. so i am gulping water down..

star: he will smile brightly, nod his head furiously and say 'yes' or 'yes, hungry'..
today purple train over run his schedule.. gosh.. so packed and rushed.. i feel like dying rushing to and fro.. cannot lah. so next lesson starting at 930.. and teng goes off at 1130..(for his lunch and nap).. same like GUG.. he still cannot tahan full 3 hours leh..

when we reached home already 1230, time for nap! ellie said he finished his lunch in supersonice speed.. and went to bed.. wah. cannot lah. not good like that rush.. must tweak the hours..

astro mei, im oso gulping down water now dat im at hm cos i a "shui tong"...cannot live w/o water. furthermore the weather is sooo hot todae. I think the most enjoying is my laundry drying out on the bamboos. They will be dried and hot when i bring in later!!